Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 24,578 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    You have no business having no doms after that workout!

Bluewolf has been training while you haven't. You'd get DOMS from noting 17 reps in your log.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Waiting for new prog so working away on old

Gym at home 10 11 deadlifts

Deadlift 3 x 2+2 @ 6 rpe
    104kg xxx

Tempo Bench 3 x 6
    40kg xxx
    Much better with 34kg warmup instead of 30 cos my new plates arrived

Tri pushdowns 2 x 3/fail 8-15
    12, 12, 12 bc superset for 3 sets not 2

Lat pull down 3 x 3/fail 8-15
    13, 13, 13

No faffing today serious business

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

first ever learn to lift session with hanley & gymfreak was today 7 years ago. whaaaaat

Did a few bedtime 100kg squat singles bc i felt like it
    Barely parallel ill have to do more stretches
    Need to stop dancing around with heavy weight before actually squatting

• Registered Users Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

bluewolf wrote: »

Dancing with a heavy barbell is always dangerous, not only just before squatting.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Ah here. You always do this. I hate you.:P:P:P

Go from squatting 70kg to lashing out a 100kg just like that. As if it is NOTHING. Just like brushing your teeth before bed like.

You have magic legs!

Pity my back can't keep up. If I stop "letting the bar bully me" on the way back up I'll be set

Gym at home 13 11

Bench 3 x 3/fail. 44kg 3x5

DB Fly
    7.5kg 3x 12 xxx
    Ss
    Core leg extensions
    X 20, 20, 15

Lunges 34kg 4x12 xxxx
    Ss
    Knee push ups
    4x12 not today

Purple band Lats
    Black band tris
    4 x 12 xxx only time for 3 sets today

Gym at home 14 11

Squat 70kg 4x6
    Xxxx
    Got excited after 3 sets then realised it's 4 today

Bench 3 x 3/fail 30kg with pause
    3x12 xxx

Rows 7.5kg 3 x 8-15: 12, 12, 12

Lunges (forward) 3 x 3/fail 30kg
    3 x 10 xxx

I wrote to do 80kg on the squats today but I was so stiff during warm ups I decided to stay low and focus on form. I did an absolute ton of stretches and ankle work today and it showed in the video compared to last time's

Gym at home 15 11

Tempo RDL @310
    50kg 4x6 xxxx

Chest exercise of choice 4 sets
    Knee push ups x 15, 14, 15, 15

Tri pushdowns black band 3 x 10-20
    12, 12, 12
    Backward lunges 30kg 3 x 10-20
    12, 12, 12
    Threw in some DB bicep curls also
    7.5kgx2 x 8, 8, 8

Leg Curls: banded setup
    3x 15 xxx

New prog gym 17 11

Squat
    1x1 6 RPE 84kg x
    5x5 7 RPE 70kg xxxxx

Bench
    4x8 6 RPE 34kg xxxx
    Tried a few reps of 40kg and went nope. 34 got v easy tho. Maybe needed more warmup

Horiz Row of choice
    3x4/fail 8 - 15 15, 15, 15

Got my new 5 day program. It looks like a bit more work though today was grand. Those 70s suddenly got light and I'll be happy to increase them next week.
    Unless I regret the 5 days and start crying by the end of the week. Stay tuned

Twisted my knee or something at the weekend
    Niggled before squats yesterday while warming up but was fine squatting. Woke up with a pretty sore knee this morning. RICE and ibup seem to have done the job. Think I'm getting old
    I didn't want to lift today, wanted to read my new book and sit around eating cookies and being tired but decided to at least try

New prog w1d2 18 11

Deadlift10x1 7 RPE
    104kg xxx xxx xxx x
    CONV DEADLIFTS ARE EASY AGAIN
    All my old cues came back to me again and after the first couple singles it was so easy. My back was actually sore before I started, just when setting up and stuff and I was dreading it but absolutely zero back issues once I got cracking. Yaaaaas. It has taken a while to get back to normal deadlift feeling after the first lockdown but I'm back

Tempo Bench @310 5x3 6 RPE
    40kg xxxxx
    Prob shouldn't be doing tempo heavier than normal but for sets of 3 it was easy too

Tricep Extension 2x3/fail 8 - 15 did 3 sets 3x12
    Vrt Row of choice3x3/fail 8 - 15 12,12,12

Lol doubt its cos you're getting old.

Look at DTP.....nineteen SEVENTY NINE!

I’ve a serious case of Dyscalculia. It’s actually 1997.
    I’m old

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    I’ve a serious case of Dyscalculia. It’s actually 1997.
    I’m old

Aw bless...you've forgotten when you were born.

New prog w1d3 20 11

High Bar Squat
    3x3/fail 6 - 8 60kg x 8,7,6
    Ss
    Push-Ups 3x 4/fail 6 - 12 (knees)
    12, 12, 12
    Stop doing knees down for no reason u big chicken
    Far too easy. Far too lazy

DB Fly 3x 4/fail8 - 15 with 7.5kg dbs
    15, 15,15
    Row of choice 3x 4/fail 6 - 12 single arm 7.5kg db
    12, 12, 12

Maybe ill try the 17kg dbs for Flys next week if I'm not ded
    2 more workouts to go but it's the weekend yay

New prog w1d4 21 11

Tempo RDL @310 4x5 6 RPE
    60kg xxxx

Chest exercise of choice 3x3/fail
    6 - 15 (Bench today 30kg)
    Actual reps: 13, 13, 11

Triceps exercise of choice (Skulls today)
    3x3/fail10 - 20.
    Actual reps: 9, 9, 9
    Will have to do them more and get 10+

Leg Curls 3x3/fail10 - 20
    3 x 10 xxx

Easy nuff

New prog w1d5 22 11

OHP (Seated or Z Press if height an issue) 4x8 7 RPE
    Barbell: 8, 6, 7, 7
    These used to be easy at 25kg?!

Push-Ups * MyoReps 15 - 20
    Knees down again given I need to do 20 reps
    First set 19 reps
    So:
    4 reps, # sets : xxxx
    Switching to half height full push ups (shoe under forehead) or I'll be here all day: xxxx
    Reduce recovery to 10s: xxxx
    Close to failure

Seated band face pulls 3x15 - 20 9 RPE
    Purple+black band:
    15, 15, 15

DB or Band Curls 3x 2/fail 10 - 20
    7.5kgx2 as strict as poss: 10, 10, 8
    Bro curls yay

Bent Over Lateral Raise 3x15 - 20 9 RPE
    Using just the 2kg plates:12, 12, 12
    RPE @ end of sets was "oh jesus christ'

Slightly harder than yest maybe but grand
    Rest again tomorrow. Looking forward to the deadlifts next week. What?

Myo-reps involve first performing an “activation” set, where a relatively lower load is lifted to near-failure, typically in the 12-30 repetition range. Then, a series of lower-rep “back-off” sets are completed with the same weight, e.g., 3-5 reps. These sets are repeated using 20-30 second rest intervals until the individual can no longer complete the targeted number of reps.

Edit: on second thought I think my arms are falling off

Helloooo core doms

Tis the season

Prog w2d1 25 11

Squat
    1x1 6 RPE 90kg x grand keep it here next week
    5x5 7 RPE 74kg xxxxx

Bench
    4x8 6 RPE 40kg xxxx
    Make sure to warm up properly as 34 was too easy

Horiz Row of choice
    3x3/fail 8 - 15

Need to do these later

Prog w2d2 26 11

Deadlift 12x1 7 RPE
    110kg xxx xxx xxx xxx
    Focus on setup hitting the legs again

Tempo Bench @310 5x3 6 RPE
    40kg or 44kg
    44kg xxxxx

Tricep Extension 2x3/fail 8 - 15
    3x12 xxx
    Vrt Row of choice3x3/fail 8 - 15
    3x12 xxx

Very happy with deadlifts. Soon I will be able to stroll around casually picking up 145kg again. It still takes a few goes to focus on setup and concentrate hard before I lock in the cues a bit more naturally but it's going well. 100% in the legs again

Work at RPE 0 for a good chunk of the week :D

i don't get it :o

I just guessed by the timeline you were doing it during your day.

Oh! actual work.
    i do these workouts during lunchtimes!

Oh! actual work.
    i do these workouts during lunchtimes!

I multitask during meetings that some people set up so that they can try convince others they are contributing anything, i.e. pointless nonsense

Prog w2d3 27 11

High Bar Squat
    3x3/fail 6 - 8 64kg xxx

Push-Ups 3x 3/fail 6 - 12 (NOT KNEES)
    3/4 height: 7, 7, 6

DB Fly 3x 3/fail8 - 15
    15, 15, 15

Row of choice 3x 3/fail 6 - 12
    12, 12, 12

Could have done with a nap instead

prog w2d4 28 11

Tempo RDL @310 4x5 6 RPE
    60kg xxxx

6 - 15 (Bench today 34kg)
    Actual reps: 13, 12, 10

3x3/fail10 - 20
    Actual reps: 12, 10, 8

3 x 10 xxx
    Got himself to just hold the band and adjust pressure while I do the curls :D

I was eyeing up the blkbox 10kg bumpers on sale yesterday but didn't get them. Now they are sold out. I was very sad. Soooo I bought the 25kg ones as they were the only ones left and reduced price. So now I can lift up to 174kg! In theory like. Deadlifts have been going well so will be good to push them some more
    Still on the lookout for fractional plates but they are sold out or mad money

prog w2d4 28 11

Tempo RDL @310 4x5 6 RPE
    60kg xxxx

6 - 15 (Bench today 34kg)
    Actual reps: 13, 12, 10

3x3/fail10 - 20
    Actual reps: 12, 10, 8

3 x 10 xxx
    Got himself to just hold the band and adjust pressure while I do the curls :D

I was eyeing up the blkbox 10kg bumpers on sale yesterday but didn't get them. Now they are sold out. I was very sad. Soooo I bought the 25kg ones as they were the only ones left and reduced price. So now I can lift up to 179kg! In theory like. Deadlifts have been going well so will be good to push them some more
    Still on the lookout for fractional plates but they are sold out or mad money

Fractional plates readily available on eBay

The ones that aren't for dumbells are over 40 or 50 quid as well for a pair. Strength shop ones are Ok but then shipping brings it up
    I'll think about it anyway I suppose I'm OK for the mo