Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Just on Smalling. I think if he got proper run at CB he be seen in different light to many.

Him playing at RB seems to have him down the ranks, which is unfair. He is poor at RB, but a very good CB, which is his prime position at end of day.

I think you could say the same about Evans and Jones. All three can be great CBs. The problem is they are either injured, or in Jones and Smalling's case, covering for Rafeal or being pushed into midfield to cover to someone else.

Liverpool is a good example of this. Agger and Skrtel aren't world class, but a long run of games together and they become quite solid.

We really need at least one CB to remain injury free for the majority of a season.
    Do we also need to look at the RB position?

UTD have been told they can sign Gundogan for 15m or less according to these guys.

http://sportwitness.ning.com/forum/topics/manchester-united-told-they-can-sign-german-midfield-target-for-1

Great player. No doubt about it. But we already too many players who suffer with regular injuries. I don't think he's worth the risk.

Haha Kew's gone off to compile an epic 20,000 post! We're in for a treat lads :pac:

***Plz b wagz, plz b wagz***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Macca07 wrote: »
    I would totally agree with you, very confident on the ball. Funnily enough, I think heading is the weakest part of his game, which is strange for a player that is over 6ft3".

Himself and Evans are very similar players, a lot like Rio, good with ball at their feet. Jones is like Vidic, throws himself into everything.

I think if we do sign a new CB, their partner at the back will depend a lot on what type of player they are.

I would disagree on Smalling. His best asset is his heading and he is very clumsy with the ball at his feet.

While Evans's best asset is his reading of the game and his ability on the ball but he is not that strong in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

stankratz wrote: »
    Haha Kew's gone off to compile an epic 20,000 post! We're in for a treat lads :pac:

***Plz b wagz, plz b wagz***

My bet it's on liverpool and how great they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Could he be writing a love poem for Mata

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Smalling and especially Jones were signed on potential before someone else snapped them up. The problem was their competition was Vidic and Ferdinand the best cb partnership in the world. They have so little experience at cb despite being at the club a few years. One of them at least should have gone on loan to a Premiership club. We all knew Rio and Vidic were near the end and Jones and Smalling should have been better prepared to take over. Essentially Jones and Smalling haven't developed as cb's all that much in their time at the club. The problem Moyes has is he still has two raw defenders with limited experience who he has taking over next season instead of two players who could have went on loan and came back developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Not that I need to prove it to anyone (especially to you :pac:) but sure look I will give you the satisfaction you crave :P

I will put this in bold so that you understand and you wont need to ask me again.

IN MY OPINION HE NEEDS MORE TIME BEFORE HE IS JUDGED, IT WILL EITHER ALLOW HIM TO PROGRESS TO BECOME AN EXCEPTIONAL MANAGER OR IT WILL BE HIS DOWNFALL.
    HE DESERVED TO HAVE A CHANCE BECAUSE OF THE QUALITIES FERGIE SAW IN HIM (WHO WE HAVE ALL TRUSTED FOR SO MANY YEARS) AND EVERYTHING HE DEVOTED TO EVERTON FOOTBALL CLUB.
    FERGIE HAS DISTINGUISHED MAN UTD BEING TOO IMPORTANT TO HAVE SOME 1 OR 2 SEASON MANAGER TO COME IN AND SPEND SILLY MONEY FOR QUICK SUCCESS, HE WANTS LONG TERM STABILITY AND I AGREE.

Now you never have to ask me again about Moyes. Happy?

Cool, no need to shout. Unless I'm misremembering you were unwilling to answer that question before.

So, you have an opinion on whether Moyes should be kept in the job. You make no reference to what you think the club are going to do when expressing that opinion, only what you think they should do for long term success. That is reasonable.

Now, if the club decide to sack Moyes at the end of the season (and I completely agree that all the indications we are getting point to that being very unlikely) you are not going to change your opinion. You are not going to say that Moyes should have gone. You won't do that because you are not a hypocrite and you are capable of independent thought. In the unlikely event that the club sack Moyes in the summer, you will be in here saying it was the wrong choice for all the reasons you have given above. You won't stop watching or going to games either, because you will still want to see your team play.

So given that that is all true, you can surely understand that there are people who disagree with your opinion that Moyes is the right man for the job. They don't express that opinion with reference to what they think the club is going to do, only what they think the club should do for long term success. They aren't going to stop watching or going to games just because they disagree with what the choice of manager. And that is all normal and understandable. So you really don't need to harp in about what the club are going to do, it won't for a moment change people's opinions of what the club should do.

niallo27 wrote: »
    My bet it's on liverpool and how great they are doing.

Nothing significant about Liverpool and the number 20, so he'll have to go bigger than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

Was Carrick rested at the weekend or what? I thought Fletcher did decent but doubt he'll be playing tomo. As long as Clev aint there, only ICE. Did anyone see he was warming up on Saturday but then Nani came on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Ooh-Burn-Emma-Stone-In-Easy-A-Gif.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Come out of it, January was not wasted. The summer was yes but January no way.

Oh really?

So, Ryan Giggs or Tom Cleverley to play midfield against Bayern then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

no - i think evans is a far superior player than jones or smalling
    but unfortunately he is made of brittle glass
    seems a little lazy and needs more aggression too
    but the other too lads are just squad players imo

Ernest you really do make me feel like a genius recently, Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

keane2097 wrote: »
    He literally can't bring himself to say that adding Mata to the United squad is a good thing for United.

I have frequently said that Mata is a great player and well worth having in any squad. If you are going to snipe like some little child on a playground then at least snipe for the right reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I have frequently said that Mata is a great player and well worth having in any squad. If you are going to snipe like some little child on a playground then at least snipe for the right reasons.

Can you just clarify that you agree that adding Mata to the United squad was a good thing for United?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ok seems like its my 20,000 post I said I do something just different then a chat:)

I decided to pick the Top 10 moments where lets just say I went a bit mental. From neighbours thinking I was insane, to being kicked out of a pub I say these were the 10 moments I went mental most in past 24 years.

and yes I need to get a life:P....................

Lee Martin wins 1990 FA Cup and Fergie's first trophy. Was a Thursday night if I'm not mistaken
    martin.jpg

Mark Hughes scores the winner in 91 Cup Winners Cup Final. We have beaten Barca in European Final ye know
    mark-hughes-007.jpg

Mark Hughes injury time equaliser against Oldham in 1994 FA Cup. United were going for domestic treble same year. Lost to Villa in League Cup Final. Just week or two before that United lost to Blackburn and title race was back on. Had Hughes not scored that we would not just won the cup, but I think Blackburn would have won league too.. A huge goal in Fergies and United start to dominance then
    article-2082861-0F59DAE000000578-621_468x311.jpg

1996 Cup Final. What a goal. What a day. School was lovely that Monday I can tell you.
    article-1326629-0BE0F4DA000005DC-747_634x286.jpg

Ryan Giggs winner against Arsenal. Was some game. Beckham beauty, then they equalise and then the Great Dane saves Bergkamp peno in 90 minute, not to mention Roy Keane sending off. Vieria Woah oh oh!!
    2864400_football_386164c.jpg

No words for this:D
    1999_ogs_ec_score_450x300.jpg

Im sitting with 2 bitter Liverpool friends, in a Liverpool pub and United have been 2nd best for whole game. Up steps a Waterford man not just to score the winner, but in front of the kop. (I got ****ed out of pub after:P)
    jos2.jpg

Bad hangover next morning into work for that one. Was worth it though
    GD7361879%2540Manchester-United%2527s-g-3622.preview.jpg

Was at this game and Vidic puts us 2-0 on our way to getting to number 19.
    nemanja-vidic_g_1890324c.jpg

Van Persie making sure we get our trophy back of the small boys brigade;)
    Man-U-vs-Man-City-1.jpg

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Add another photo onto that post tomorrow !!

Was that Vida goal at OT when Chica put us ahead after 30 seconds? I was behind the goal that day, epic! Who'll be the first to include the whole post in replying?! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

macslash wrote: »
    Was that Vida goal at OT when Chica put us ahead after 30 seconds? I was behind the goal that day, epic! Who'll be the first to include the whole post in replying?! :P

Thats the one. I remember also end of game Fergie bowing to the United fans. Great day. Nervous, but a great day in end

EVENFLOW

Thats the one. I remember also end of game Fergie bowing to the United fans. Great day. Nervous, but a great day in end

It was my first time in OT, will never forget it! Visited the museum the day before and saw the team arriving..

Oh really?

So, Ryan Giggs or Tom Cleverley to play midfield against Bayern then?
    Mata was cup tied, I'm sure anybody of real quality worth buying in an inflated Janury transfer window would have more than likely have played in the champions league so what exactly is is your point? We should settle for a midfilder with no European experiance & pay nonsense money.
    Mata was an exceptional purchase and credit to Moyes for getting him.

macslash wrote: »
    It was my first time in OT, will never forget it! Visited the museum the day before and saw the team arriving..

It was maybe the most nervous I have been, at a game, in OT.

I was one happy man once that final whistle went.

EVENFLOW

Pro. F wrote: »
    Cool, no need to shout. Unless I'm misremembering you were unwilling to answer that question before.

So, you have an opinion on whether Moyes should be kept in the job. You make no reference to what you think the club are going to do when expressing that opinion, only what you think they should do for long term success. That is reasonable.

Now, if the club decide to sack Moyes at the end of the season (and I completely agree that all the indications we are getting point to that being very unlikely) you are not going to change your opinion. You are not going to say that Moyes should have gone. You won't do that because you are not a hypocrite and you are capable of independent thought. In the unlikely event that the club sack Moyes in the summer, you will be in here saying it was the wrong choice for all the reasons you have given above. You won't stop watching or going to games either, because you will still want to see your team play.

So given that that is all true, you can surely understand that there are people who disagree with your opinion that Moyes is the right man for the job. They don't express that opinion with reference to what they think the club is going to do, only what they think the club should do for long term success. They aren't going to stop watching or going to games just because they disagree with what the choice of manager. And that is all normal and understandable. So you really don't need to harp in about what the club are going to do, it won't for a moment change people's opinions of what the club should do.
    I have no issues if you or anyone else has an issue with Moyes at the tenure. But my opinion on the situation stands with the manager and the club as whole, and I have given my reasons like you asked.
    Also, If people a have opinions on what the club should do then that's fine with me also. Doesn't mean I have to agree with them which I don't and vice-versa.
    It just gets tiring when alot of us are spending so much time continusoly reapeating said debate when it has now become fruitless because we all know the outcome for the 12 months coming. The continues negativity is is unbearable at times.

*Edit* And apologies if I came across as shouting.

At the end of day it seems like we all want the same outcome just getting there is the difference between said groups.

Can you imagine Pep's face if Moyes knocks them out of Europe

I'd say if we played this game 100 times we would get a result to put us through maybe 5 or 6 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I have no issues if you or anyone else has an issue with Moyes at the tenure. But my opinion on the situation stands with the manager and the club as whole, and I have given my reasons like you asked.
    Also, If people a have opinions on what the club should do then that's fine with me also. Doesn't mean I have to agree with them which I don't and vice-versa.
    It just gets tiring when alot of us are spending so much time continusoly reapeating said debate when it has now become fruitless because we all know the outcome for the 12 months coming. The continues negativity is is unbearable at times.

Nobody is forcing you to take part in the discussion.

Edit:
    *Edit* And apologies if I came across as shouting.

At the end of day it seems like we all want the same outcome just getting there is the difference between said groups.

Yep, no bother. We're all after the same thing as you say.

Can you imagine Pep's face if Moyes knocks them out of Europe

I'd say if we played this game 100 times we would get a result to put us through maybe 5 or 6 times

I say its about 10-15% chance.

If any team is winning 4-0 tomorrow its Bayern, but I do think we will give them a decent game for some reason.

Still think they will have too much and win by a couple in end.

I would love to get to Half time 0-0 and see from there.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Lucas Moura is savage. Shame we didn't get him.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Nobody is forcing you to take part in the discussion.

Edit:

Yep, no bother. We're all after the same thing as you say.

business-dog-meme-generator-gentlemen-i-think-we-have-an-agreement-b511b5.jpg

People were telling me today that today's fixtures were all but over but tomorrows were the uncertain ones

But it potentially could be the other way around now, surely 3 favourites couldn't go out at this stage

Lucas Moura is savage. Shame we didn't get him.

Forget him. Marco Reus is special. Break the bank!