Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Giggs over cleverly for me. Atleast giggs can spot a pass. Id say Fellaini and Carrick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Apologies for the Wrestlemania spoiler last night. I'm usually really careful with spoilers and I hate having stuff spoiled for me but I messed up there.

Sorry for ruining it for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Why are so many/few saying we have great chance? Am I missing something here..

Did pretty well in the first leg, score is 1-1, Bayern missing a couple of important players. It's as good a chance as we could have hoped for, even if a result remains unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

No, it was referencing the fact that despite our horrific midfield options we once again did not address the problems but instead spent £37m on a player we didn't even need.

I'm not happy with Giggs being selected, not because its Giggs per se, but because we shouldn't have to be deciding between Giggs and Cleverley at all. Surely a well funded scouting team with £37million to spend should have been able to find some half decent midfielder willing to play for us?

They didn't, and here we are. So, Giggs or Cleverley for Wednesday night?

Signing Mata has no impact on not able to sign a CM. We have money to spend, world class player was available and we did the right thing by signing him. If the scenario was we just had 40 Million and wasted it on Mata then it would have been a problem. We spent 27 Million on Fellaini and 37 Million on Mata so that means there is money to spend. You don't get the chance to sign players like Mata in every transfer window.

So if we can sign a good CM in the summer then we will have an excellent team with CM and Mata.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Did pretty well in the first leg, score is 1-1, Bayern missing a couple of important players. It's as good a chance as we could have hoped for, even if a result remains unlikely.

And lets be fully honest here, if Welbeck could score, it could've easily been 3-1 to United. The chap missed a sitter and had a goal disallowed incorrectly!

Yeah with Schweinsteiger, Thiago, Martinez out it would be our best possible chance but I wouldn't say we have a great chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

MagicIRL wrote: »
    And lets be fully honest here, if Welbeck could score, it could've easily been 3-1 to United. The chap missed a sitter and had a goal disallowed incorrectly!

2-1 was certainly on anyway, but part of me wonders if 1-1 actually gives United a better shot, stupid as that might sound.

I can picture Moyes going there and just parking the shit out of the bus at 2-1 and being punished for it. Can't do that at 1-1, so a game plan is required.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Why are so many/few saying we have great chance? Am I missing something here..

They are missing Schweinsteiger, Martinez, Thiago (plus Shaquiri, Starke and Contento).

As far as opportunities go, it's a good time to be facing them. Moyes got the tactics spot on last week and made them look quite ordinary tbh.

Bayern are clearly favouries, but it's 90 minutes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Yeah with Schweinsteiger, Thiago, Martinez out it would be our best possible chance but I wouldn't say we have a great chance.

theyre weak at the back even with dante back in the squad. pep doenst do defensive tatics at all. their defence is the possesion they keep

We have a chance better than what we had against the greeks tbh

FutureGuy wrote: »
    They are missing Schweinsteiger, Martinez, Thiago (plus Shaquiri, Starke and Contento).

As far as opportunities go, it's a good time to be facing them. Moyes got the tactics spot on last week and made them look quite ordinary tbh.

Bayern are clearly favouries, but it's 90 minutes...

Yeah this is our best chance but when you said "we have a great chance" I thought you meant we are favs for the game.
    NTMK wrote: »
    theyre weak at the back even with dante back in the squad. pep doenst do defensive tatics at all. their defence is the possesion they keep

Not really. We are facing Bayern team who have lost only 2-3 games in last 2 years.

Bingo. Moyes set up the team superbly - let then have the ball 40 yards out, aggressively get the ball from then at a nearer distance and have the likes of Carrick and Giggs ready to hit Bayren at their weakest - clever balls which puts our pace against their unprotected defense.

Christ when I think what could have been had Danny buried that chance...

Yeah this is our best chance but when you said "we have a great chance" I thought you meant we are favs for the game.

Yep. Emphasis on "chance" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Last Tuesday was a bit like the Mata signing....the doom and gloom was akin to the "we are not signing Mata" campaign and low and behold we got a performance and result of sorts....

I reckon we are going to get spanked 6-0 by Bayern...no chance....no chance in hell.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

What?

Thecon21 wrote: »
    What?

to clarify when we came back to OT down 2-0 and playing some garbage football at the time

last 2 weeks we've looked better even if it was against weak opposition (we looked **** against them too earlier in the season) heading to munich with the score 1-1 against a team who doesnt change its tactics and we have a decent away record

We'll probably go out but we have a chance all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Not really. We are facing Bayern team who have lost only 2-3 games in last 2 years.

Bayern lost on the weekend , had a half strength team out but it was to some mid table German team.
    I definatley wouldn't write united off, also, I think if we do win, it will be almost as good as winning it in terms of laughing at everybody who wrote us off.

I agree with you about the Greeks, I'd rather a 2 goal handicap to them than having to go to Munich and need to realistically get at least two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

to clarify when we came back to OT down 2-0 and playing some garbage football at the time

last 2 weeks we've looked better even if it was against weak opposition (we looked **** against them too earlier in the season) heading to munich with the score 1-1 against a team who doesnt change its tactics and we have a decent away record

We'll probably go out but we have a chance all the same

Oh I agree we have given ourselves a chance from the first leg, definitely.. But to say we have more of a chance in this coming game then we did against Olympiakos at OT is outrageous..

The problem is United need to score, so we will have to come out and have a go, which will delight Bayern, they could play through us on the counter then, could be devastating..

I'm hoping we nick an early goal, then see how we go, big defensive effort needed again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Thecon21 wrote: »
    Oh I agree we have given ourselves a chance from the first leg, definitely.. But to say we have more of a chance in this coming game then we did against Olympiakos at OT is outrageous..

The problem is United need to score, so we will have to come out and have a go, which will delight Bayern, they could play through us on the counter then, could be devastating..

I'm hoping we nick an early goal, then see how we go, big defensive effort needed again..

No matter what, if you want to win a Champions league, that whole post applies to almost any game from this stage onwards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

B0llox.

City and maybe Chelsea yeah - though chelsea are crap up top - but we don't have a team to compete with LIVERPOOL? FECK OFF.

The thing is Liverpool are competing with Chelsea and City and then some. They could win the title yet (hopefully not).

No european football and one of the worlds most inform players plus Sturridge having a better season at Liverpool than Torres career best there has helped them greatly.

They have a world class midfielder in Gerrard, better than anything we have in that area. Henderson was the butt of many jokes last season but he has been fantastic of late and turned into a very good player. Coutinho and Sterling are good also players.

They are in great form and fully rested going into each match. There was no expectation on them to challenge for the title this season so they are not under the weight of fan and physcological pressure. All of these things have given them a much lighter and easier season then the rest schedule wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anybody here going to Bayern game?

Just curious what price for a ticket?

EVENFLOW

Tickets are pricey off resellers
    my season ticket got my friends one for €60 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

And to think back to earlier in the thread...
    Brien wrote: »
    I've been offered a ticket for the game in the alliance arena and for the first time ever I'm thinking of turning it down. It would be right in the middle of 19 Bayern fans and I am so pessimistic that I can't see past us getting hammered. I never took it for granted that a game in old Trafford meant a win but I never was afraid of being there (plus, my main worry, the 4 hours driving home after, with the aforementioned 19 Bayern fans). What would you guys do? Anything to see United play, or is it forgivable to say no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Those quotes from Evra makes me feel like he thinks the players are a big problem, and Moyes seems to think so as well.

People may multi quote Moyes' quotes showing him up as the hypocrite they think he is but let's not be stupid here, he was hardly going to diss the greatest manager and the team of players he'll have to work with as his first order of business as United boss was he, and in fairness to him he has said he will need to buy players top players to get back on track.

He is leaving himself open to looking like a right fool if next season continues like this one though, because it will be 100% on his shoulders if all our new additions don't change our fortunes, and he'll be sacked straight away if it does, I've no doubt.

Those quotes from Evra makes me feel like he thinks the players are a big problem, and Moyes seems to think so as well.

People may multi quote Moyes' quotes showing him up as the hypocrite they think he is but let's not be stupid here, he was hardly going to diss the greatest manager and the team of players he'll have to work with as his first order of business as United boss was he, and in fairness to him he has said he will need to buy players top players to get back on track.

He is leaving himself open to looking like a right fool if next season continues like this one though, because it will be 100% on his shoulders if all our new additions don't change our fortunes, and he'll be sacked straight away if it does, I've no doubt.

It honestly wouldn't have taken much for this team to have been 10 or more points better this season. Some late goals and silly results at home. Obviously no excusing the performances in a lot of games but the games where United would normally find a way to win the players didn't have it in them or Moyes didn't have the right mentality.

Surely all the people who wanted United to not even try in the CL a couple of months back will be delighted with how it's gone? No distactions next season as the new players get used to each other. By a lot of people's logic in here there's no point being in competitions you've no chance of winning so it'll be fine, much better chance in the Europa if the make it.

Its kind of funny but if they scrape a 1-0 win on wednesday they suddenly go from a disaster of a season to champions league favourites.
    Confidence would sky rocket and Id well believe theyd win 5 remaining league games and have a good go in the semis. It may not turn out to be such a terrible year.
    I give our chances on wednesday about 25per cent. Its not that big a deal needing a goal. Bayarn wont sit back pep wont do it. There will be the odd counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭bradlente

Pressure's on Spurs tonight anyway,after the news today maybe they won't care as much.Sunderland really need a result too so hopefully an upset is on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭kippy

jane82 wrote: »
    Its kind of funny but if they scrape a 1-0 win on wednesday they suddenly go from a disaster of a season to champions league favourites.
    Confidence would sky rocket and Id well believe theyd win 5 remaining league games and have a good go in the semis. It may not turn out to be such a terrible year.
    I give our chances on wednesday about 25per cent. Its not that big a deal needing a goal. Bayarn wont sit back pep wont do it. There will be the odd counter.

That's sport and the shorttermist/kneejerkist way of supporting a club, isn't it?
    At the top level there isn't that much to differ between massive success and massive failure (relatively speaking)

(This United team wont win the CL by the way)

kippy wrote: »
    That's sport and the shorttermist/kneejerkist way of supporting a club, isn't it?
    At the top level there isn't that much to differ between massive success and massive failure (relatively speaking)

(This United team wont win the CL by the way)
    I highly doubt they will win the next game. But they have a better chance of winning it than man city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Liam O wrote: »
    It honestly wouldn't have taken much for this team to have been 10 or more points better this season. Some late goals and silly results at home. Obviously no excusing the performances in a lot of games but the games where United would normally find a way to win the players didn't have it in them or Moyes didn't have the right mentality.

Surely all the people who wanted United to not even try in the CL a couple of months back will be delighted with how it's gone? No distactions next season as the new players get used to each other. By a lot of people's logic in here there's no point being in competitions you've no chance of winning so it'll be fine, much better chance in the Europa if the make it.

The "name one good thing he's done all season" brigade have been a real highpoint this season.

- Bought a central midfielder
    doesn't matter he's ****

- bought Mata
    doesn't matter not a central midfielder

- tied Rooney down
    doesn't matter too much money

- brought through Januzaj
    doesn't matter, how could he not have brought through such a talented youngster sure we gave Pogba his chance

- crushed Champions League group
    doesn't matter, **** group

- pulled off exceptionally rare comeback in ECL second round
    doesn't matter, Olympiakos are ****

- drew 1-1 with Bayern Munich in ECL first leg
    doesn't matter, Bayern weren't interested, get hockeyed in second leg, should be beating Bayern anyway

- best away record in the EPL
    doesn't matter, (can't actually think of a reason why this doesn't matter but presumably there is one)

and on, and on.

Couldn't help but laugh when United scored to go ahead against Bayern, just turned to the lads I was watching it with and said "sure it doesn't matter a ****, he'll get literally no credit for it from half the people watching anyway". Lo and behold...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

jane82 wrote: »
    counter.

If United win on Wednesday they will be 4th favorites for the champions league.