Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Fabio

I asked could he do a better price for me, the following is a ‘best’ price.

You could get a few jackets for it

0-AA29-AEE-B1-C0-48-B2-B031-48-C4-E396888-E.jpg

BFE84-FC3-9-A8-E-42-BD-B86-D-6-FD45-CF476-BE.jpg

Jaysus. I just ran a long extension lead. It's just for an LED light, wouldn't hook a heater up to it just in case.

If I'm cold then I say to myself that I'm just not working hard enough :P.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭omerin

Anyone know of a relatively cheap way of covering a bike with something more solid then a cover? It will be covered with a bike cover, parked at the side of the house. Have considered the donedeal add below but someone would kill themselves on the brackets at night time and it is a permanent fixture which i don't have room for. Also considered the Arba side entrance canopy but the bike would be too exposed to rain

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikeextras-for-sale/bike-home-folding-motorcycle-cover-free-delivery/26255686

http://www.arba.ie/home/car-ports.html

Looking for a "n" shaped structure that would cover the bike, be solid (plastic or similar), not permanent but not fly away if it gets windy. Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭The QuietMan

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Looking to buy some service parts for the new project bike. Where does one buy the usual (plugs,filters,coolant etc) for bikes online?

Motorcycleshop.ie it’s run by Lee Motorcycles. Free delivery on anything over €50

The people in the public sector really cannot do their job right. My 997cc is now an 899 on the book :mad:

933046-E8-F169-4237-879-C-5-F2-B32-E18-D29.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭goblin59

The people in the public sector really cannot do their job right. My 997cc is now an 899 on the book :mad:

its a custom bike now.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭flashinthepan

But its the public sector its not really a job now is it :-)
    More of a social club

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭H_Lime

goblin59 wrote: »
    its a custom bike now.

Lol:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Had to take the bike to work today first spin on it in about six weeks.
    I probably looked a sight dancing away to some bluetooth tunes in traffic, but it felt goooooood.

This didn't last long!

On the way home, Bike Gard pulled alongside me at traffic lights and told me my rear tyre had a puncture. I *knew* she felt off today, I just put it down to time out of the seat! Thank goodness for breakdown assist.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,860 ✭✭✭✭listermint

https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/74242

Lovely little tool nice indicator check before each ride.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

Motorcycleshop.ie it’s run by Lee Motorcycles. Free delivery on anything over €50

As long as you're not in a hurry. I ordered a few bits last Wednesday and still "processing" and not yet dispatched. Delivery is quick via DPD once dispatched alright though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

listermint wrote: »
    https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/74242

Lovely little tool nice indicator check before each ride.

When I got new tyres the garage gave me mine back in a bag, says they tend to leak so if buying them buy decent ones. They were on my bike when I got it. I've an airline here so handy to check regularly anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭robbie_63

So are bike garages staying open with the new restrictions?

From looking at the list last night it looks like they can,

Have the bike in getting a full service at the moment, don't fancy being without it for 6 weeks!

TobinIT wrote: »
    So are bike garages staying open with the new restrictions?

From looking at the list last night it looks like they can,

Have the bike in getting a full service at the moment, don't fancy being without it for 6 weeks!

maybe phone them ?

listermint wrote: »
    maybe phone them ?

They are closed till Thursday...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,942 ✭✭✭✭GBX

TobinIT wrote: »
    They are closed till Thursday...

Id try calling them anyway might have changed their opening time. They might want to get things in order especially if its gonna be 6 weeks closed.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Well this lock-down isn't great timing, supposed to pickup a bike on Sunday.

Is it from a garage or private sale?

What did you buy?

Lads can one of ye with better knowledge help me out? I’m having a torrid time trying to find a chain she sprockets kit for the GPZ, even Lee can’t source one for me.

Sprockets aren’t an issue but I’d rather buy it all in one go.

tbh ive always bought separately based on best deal overall prices. Got alot of stuff from M&P UK. They seemed to have good stock all the time.

I tried that site, having never heard of it before.

Chain is sorted
    Rear sprocket is sorted.

Front sprocket is the problem now, which one is it?

https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/526-15-front-sprocket-052615
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/524-15-front-sprocket-052415

Here's the chain and rear sprocket
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/630vx094-super-h-d-o-ring-did-chain-623094
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/500-40-rear-sprocket-050040

im of no help with the GPZ im afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭blade1

As long as you're not in a hurry. I ordered a few bits last Wednesday and still "processing" and not yet dispatched. Delivery is quick via DPD once dispatched alright though.

Contact them.
    Seem to have a lot of stock issues lately.
    The last few things I got they weren't in stock so they sent out dearer versions for no extra price.
    The quicker you contact them the better!

I tried that site, having never heard of it before.

Chain is sorted
    Rear sprocket is sorted.

Front sprocket is the problem now, which one is it?

https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/526-15-front-sprocket-052615
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/524-15-front-sprocket-052415

Here's the chain and rear sprocket
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/630vx094-super-h-d-o-ring-did-chain-623094
    https://www.mandp.co.uk/products/500-40-rear-sprocket-050040
    Send a message to the lad you bought the bike off, he'll set u straight.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,504 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

blade1 wrote: »
    Send a message to the lad you bought the bike off, he'll set u straight.

I just rang him, the most helpful man I’ve ever met, I swear to fit he’s an absolute gent.

He told me don’t waste my money the chain is fine, is stayed on the phone while I was doing what he told me to do, everything checked out.

He said would I be interested in a ZX7 though :p :pac:

Thank you.

How is it this information is so accessible but Lee claim they couldn’t source it :confused:

He said would I be interested in a ZX7 though :p :pac:

I'm warning you! :mad: ;)

I asked could he do a better price for me, the following is a ‘best’ price.

You could get a few jackets for it

0-AA29-AEE-B1-C0-48-B2-B031-48-C4-E396888-E.jpg

BFE84-FC3-9-A8-E-42-BD-B86-D-6-FD45-CF476-BE.jpg

I've a cable ran from my other shed.
    I've 4 chargers plugged in at the moment.
    I'm not well up on electricity so a bit worried about plugging so many in and with it being a wooden shed and everything so the power to the shed is on a timer for 3 hrs a day only.
    Will probably get a few sockets fitted for a more permanent solution.

IMG-20201020-142227.jpg

I'm not well up on electricity so a bit worried about plugging so many in and with it being a wooden shed and everything so the power to the shed is on a timer for 3 hrs a day only.

Was talking to a neighbour earlier and he said to put a fuse box in the wooden shed.
    He then gave fusebox, proper cable for between both sheds and a socket.
    Said he'll bring anything else needed and sort it for me when he gets a chance.
    Happy Days.
    IMG-20201022-142447.jpg

The tank wasn’t even bloody empty :eek: :mad:

2145-B19-B-21-B9-4-FE3-9-B4-C-0394-B1-CD0845.jpg

1-D49-E94-E-0932-40-AC-BBE4-D5-BAD2-FA1851.jpg

IMG-20201020-142227.jpg

It seems to be working out well for you? Do you keep the bikes on trickle charge in the winter?