Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

organic farming

• Registered Users Posts: 21,226 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not sure if Leonardite or Leonardite fertiliser is available in Ireland, it should help. Your post shows up the damage that can be done to soil. The soil microbiology is very complex and we haven't taken cognisance of it over the last 70 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Packrat

Yes. I know that. My post was badly worded.

However, they couldn't carry that stocking rate without all the bags.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 11,258 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I know an organic farmer that would be at that level if allowed. All home produced feed.

They rely on protein crops, multispecies swards, and tilling.

Cows out in January too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

The main thing is look at what other countries eg Austria, Denmark, are doing in this area and don't try an reinvent the wheel. Use of organic products in school meals and any public body canteens. The whole baby food market, where the adults are quite sensitive to what they are feeding their young child.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tractorporn

That is possibly the driest farm in Ireland though. Cows weren't fully housed at all last winter only in at night. The Farm manager is some operator.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,258 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I was invited over to look at the mss by the manager a good while back.

I brought the spade with me. I only really did so when a regen sort of agronomist visited here and had his spade with him to have a look.

The mss ground was like walking on a parlour mat. The spade went in like butter. It's a bit sandy feeling in the profile.

If you're in that area go back to Poulpeasty. It's all really top class grazing land. Anywhere where there was old community milk co-ops you know it's naturally good land. There's veins of basalt rock under some and if it's not too close to the surface it's really good land. Some of the most prosperous dairy farms you'll see in the area have basalt underlying their land.

Edit: Aidan O Brien horse trainer Ballydoyle, Coolmore. Came from Poulpeasty. And further useless trivia Walter O Brien a self proclaimed genius of Scorpion 🇺🇸 drama series came from further along the road. Both from farms.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Durrus Boy

Lads,

Anyone who applied this year for converting to organic, just wondering have the governing bodies come to inspect you yet??

I appreciate they're under pressure with all the new applicants but applied to IOT late '22 and still haven't been contacted....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭893bet

I applied around the same time and had inspection 3 January with IOA. Now I was one of the first to apply. I had registered with the body and had paperwork done before the agrifood but ever opened etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Diarmuid B

I had mine last early June with the IOA. The inspector that came said he had over 300 new applicants in his area on top of all his farms from last year that rolled over into the new scheme. They’re under mental pressure so you could be a while waiting

SNM as Nicole Masters says if an advisor calls to your farm without a spade to dig a hole, go and look for a new advisor.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,677 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The agricultural shows across the country offers a unique intersection between farming and non farmers. An organic roadshow with local produce could tour the shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I came across this earlier - a list of organic cattle and sheep sales at Carrigallen mart.

Inspection next week, yikes. Hate the thought, but ok once I get into the books over the weekend. Have bad memories of a Dept of Ag Inspection by a blackguard 30 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,835 ✭✭✭endainoz

Organic inspections are grand John, I always felt they're not out to get you or anything. As long as all the paper work is up to date you'll be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Will the Organic Scheme be opening again this year do ye think?

Im thinking of entering.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭tanko

Just got an email about this, all organic operators will get the same email id reckon. A good idea for sure, organic farmer definitely need a sales network like this but for it to work it will need plenty of active users. The certification bodies already post ads for stock for sale but hopefully this will have a wider reach. Getting an official launch at the ploughing this week apparently.

This was supposed to be in place last year. What will happen now is that if you are looking for a stock derogation if there is stock of the same breed as what you are looking for on that website your derogation will be denied.

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Site looks ok, it functions similar to the likes of DungDeal with the lists and sections. I take it as a positive plus it's free so what have you to loose by sticking an ad up for stock that you'll be selling

Don't think there is much if any stock derogation allowed anyway. Haven't checked the site yet. I suspect we have each a sperate id.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭893bet

I got one to buy 2 heifers for breeding. Didn’t buy yet and not sure I will even. Wasn’t too hard to get it. Only in conversion.

I have gotten one many times for breeding heifers, just a form to fill out. Will only work for breeding heifers though.

It will be a lot harder get a derogation for heifers from now on and once the volume of derogations granted goes down it will be used as a stick to abolish the derogation altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Cran

Needs an app I think but will give it a chance, threw some fodder & grain have here for sale for the craic.

Would I be right in saying it can only be fully converted or in conversation farmers that can use the service? Even so, it will be tough for the volume of sales here to be higher than DD due to its sheer volume of users in general. I'm not sure about it being a lot harder, definitely possible though of organic breeding heifers are easier to source. Are you speculating about this or do you know for sure?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭massey 265

Tried 2 get on this organic hub 2 day but had no success.718 ads on done deal organic cattle for sale to day and majority of them are not organic either full symbol or in -conversion.iogfa site is good with low numbers,organic trust very lo numbers ,leitrim organic co op have very few also ,it wont be difficult for organic hub to be an improvement on these i.m o.

Organic trust emailed me my own login for it a few days ago so didn't have to register. Like everything, I'm sure it'll have a few teething problems, but hopefully it'll be successful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Packrat

Question.

I bought 2 full stamp organic yearlings last Oct/Nov time.

I'm year 2 conversion, won't be full stamp until May 24.

If I now sell these heifers in calf, - are they full organic or what is their status?

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”