Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

People who talk over others.
    I had to go to my sisters workplace to print off something from the internet that I need for applying for my licence. We had been shopping beforehand so she left her bags down and asked her co worker at reception if she could use the computer, no problem she says. That's fine. Co worker gets up and my sister asks me for the website. I had a bit of a mental block so I couldn't really think, next thing this wagon of a coworker starts looking through all of my sisters bags exclaiming "Oh were ya shopping?!" I'm standing here trying to talk to my sister telling her different websites and every time I try to speak this girl starts talking!!! "oh those are lovely leggings where did you get them!"
    "Try the rs--"
    "Do you think they'd fit me, they'd look lovely with my top!"
    "Do you mi--"
    "And ya got them so cheap!"
    She stopped once I started to roar to my sister over her talking. Think that was the only way she got the message.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cienciano wrote: »
    It'll have to be a 4 seater, so probably an audi a4 or a CLK

The brother had a CLK320 for a few years. A mighty yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Ryan Sheridan started that way.

Eddie Redhead too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭KungPao

People saying "Oz" for Australia and "Stateside" for the United States.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

KungPao wrote: »
    People saying "Oz" for Australia and "Stateside" for the United States.

:mad:

People saying John is 'out in' Australia/Oz bugs me. It's like equating it to being out in the back garden.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

MJ23 wrote: »
    Eddie Redhead too.

Are you talking about Sheeran?

His new song his cringeworthy. Funky Ed Sheeran is embarrassing. Sing more maudlin ****e about your feelings or something.

Omackeral wrote: »
    People saying John is 'out in' Australia/Oz bugs me. It's like equating it to being out in the back garden.

what about ' The Ukraine'?

;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

People who invite you over to their place for dinner, then text you an hour beforehand to ask what you want from the Chinese takeaway! :confused:

When nobody ever invites you over to their place for a nice Chinese :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Czarcasm wrote: »
    People who invite you over to their place for dinner, then text you an hour beforehand to ask what you want from the Chinese takeaway! :confused:

Or people who never invite you theirs, even though you've had them over loads of times.

Lesson learned.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Jake1 wrote: »
    what about ' The Ukraine'?

;):D

Funnily enough I started a thread on that in the Geography forum (yes, there's a geography forum) over 2 years ago. So either this is a gas coincidence... or you're a major creep!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75898173

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

This bugs me, too. It's really annoying actually! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

AulBiddy wrote: »
    People who talk over others....

People talking over others are absolute pr**ks.

I've been in team meetings in work where people (including people I was quite good friends with) have all been talking over each other. It boils my blood, as our team leader would be sitting there waiting for them all to shut the f*** up. (He was too nice to tell them to.) Meanwhile, I couldn't get a word in because there was no point when nobody was listening to anyone. Around about the fifth meeting, I started getting really annoyed and began aggressively shushing everyone :pac:

Also, when it's in social situations, if people are talking over each other I just decide they're not worth talking to or hearing and I just stay quiet and leave at the first opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

whirlpool wrote: »
    This bugs me, too. It's really annoying actually! :pac:
    You'd be even more annoyed if you were subjected to my cooking! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭bronn

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Can I come?

Love to see that Bono graffiti.

Driving thru certain part of Dublin a few years ago, and saw one that said
    "Micka Foley does the sunbeds":D
    I wish the educational graffiti (attached below) was still there at Windy Arbour aka Na Glasáin Luas station. Says everything about Churchtown really . :D I can just picture it. Someone losing their mind at the another gawping trog on De Luas;
    Trog: "Ah jaysus! De 'H' is missin' from de HHHarbour. Der must be a lo' o' stupid fooks around heyor."
    Local pedant: "NEVER AGAIN SHALL THIS TRAVESTY OCCUR! JEEVES! FETCH MY SPRAY PAINT."

arbour_zps74815c00.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Katie Taylor's monotone voice on that ridiculous insurance ad. And her bullsh*t about God helping her win fights.

She sounds brain damaged. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Posted a letter last night with a 60c stamp on it. Didn't know stamps had gone up. Dammit, hope it gets there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

I ring someone, they're not there, I leave a voicemail asking them to call me back.

They call me back, I'm not there, they leave a message asking me to call them back

I call them back, they're not there, I die a little inside

When will the vicious circle ever end??? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Or people who never invite you theirs, even though you've had them over loads of times.

Lesson learned.

My family used to have a tradition of holding out big Christmas parties and New Years eve gatherings, no holds barred... with catering services and good food, drink, gifts and what have you and so forth, every year - easily amount to 300+ people.

Majority of these people, you wouldn't ever hear of again til the next party of the following year - personally see them as nothing but a bunch of fecking moochers.

Pretty much all stopped now, instead we just hold up the occasional BBQ in Summer, and Xmas Dinner, with close friends and family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

When will the vicious circle ever end??? :confused:

When you just text them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

When you see shoes on the floor and the right one is on the left and the left one is on the right. I don't have OCD but it just annoys me.

I ring someone, they're not there, I leave a voicemail asking them to call me back...

I refuse point-blank to use voicemail at home, in the office or on the cellphone. It is a clunky, archaic, inefficient pain in the hole.

<CLICK> Hi, both Jim and his telephone are gone walkabout right now, so this is his fridge. I'm not very good at this secretary stuff, but I'll take a message and try to communicate with him as best I can when he gets back, probably by sneakily allowing his chicken kievs to partially defrost, thus giving him a dose of the galloping scutters, the poor fella. That'll probably cover the gist of it anyway. Take it hawndy noy, keep 'er lit. <BLEEEP>

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The term ' team leader ' and the way some Irish people buy into the whole happy-clappy , ' I eat sleep , go to the gym and socialise At work ' and basically my company owns me and I have no identity outside my company bullcrap ,.. Grow a pair ! ..... Rant over

Oops69 wrote: »
    The term ' team leader ' and the way some Irish people buy into the whole happy-clappy , ' I eat sleep , go to the gym and socialise At work ' and basically my company owns me and I have no identity outside my company bullcrap ,.. Grow a pair ! ..... Rant over

Yes, I know the type. I call them the Compulsory Fun Obergruppenführeren. They have to be organizing charity tiddlywinks matches, piñata-walloping or else in the gym sweating out the deadly toxins that have accumulated after the West Coast Cooler they had last night when they were "Maaad out of it!!" at some blasted company do or other. I believe the reason for it is if they are alone in silence for more than five minutes they start to see themselves for the vacuous planks they are, and the Void starts to roar up to them. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The use of the word awesome to describe things which would struggle to inspire a passing interest let alone awe.

"My new socks are like, awesome!!"

No, they're really not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The use of the word awesome to describe things which would struggle to inspire a passing interest let alone awe.

"My new socks are like, awesome!!"

No, they're really not.

This post is just awesome. It's like...amazeballs. Totes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Dort Speak really annoys me. I was Loike there and so was he loike it was Loike a totes awky momo .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Dort Speak really annoys me. I was Loike there and so was he loike it was Loike a totes awky momo .

Indeed. I want to grab them by their silly bird nest hairstyle and shout, "SAID!!!! The word you're looking for is SAID!!!!" :eek:

Oops69 wrote: »

I despise that whole modern office style where the company has a "culture". Go on out of that, this "culture" business doesn't fool me - the CEO may wear a short-sleeved shirt, have no tie and even say hello sometimes!...but he doesn't give a shyte about any of you drones.

Anyway, I know the type...there is one "Lead" where I used to work who took on the role of fun organizer...usually some lame video games session after work (who'd want to stay in work for that!?). And of course, has funny photos attached to his emails - you're so zany!!11! LOL.

I saw a documentary the other day on BBC4 with Rich Hall (I don't find him particularly funny but very good as a presenter for docus) and they were showing these tossers going around on these stupid things in Silicon Valley, it always amazes me how people get so brainwashed by corporations and think they are an integral and valued part of the company.

I'll let you in on a secret, the owners and higher ups of these companies would step over the bodies of their families for money. That's all they care about. They couldn't give two shiits about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Thank goodness it's not just me OldNotWise. Don't get started on the bird's nest hair and dodgy black eyeliner.