Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Got my ticket today in Dorset Street. Section 334. Some other PP holders like myself there and some general customers. Tuesday is a good day to go, before they get more of the general punters coming in from Wednesday onwards.

I am going on Saturday night too, also in 334. Could be two interesting games. Getting to the business end so it is good to see as many games as possible. Every team is potential opposition for us too. Tyrone could easily come through the Connaught quarter-final side of the draw and meet us in the semi-final and they could also come through the other side and meet us in the final. They are not the team they were a few years back, but if they gather a bit of momentum... anything could happen.

Donegal and Galway will be interesting too. If Galway had their shooting boots on, they could have beaten Kerry in their quarter final last year, but they hit a lot of wides. They could certainly put it up to Donegal, though there will be the contrast in styles of football. A good weekend to look forward to for a GAA fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭corny

Flukey wrote: »
    Got my ticket today in Dorset Street. Section 334. Some other PP holders like myself there and some general customers. Tuesday is a good day to go, before they get more of the general punters coming in from Wednesday onwards.

I am going on Saturday night too, also in 334. Could be two interesting games. Getting to the business end so it is good to see as many games as possible. Every team is potential opposition for us too. Tyrone could easily come through the Connaught quarter-final side of the draw and meet us in the semi-final and they could also come through the other side and meet us in the final. They are not the team they were a few years back, but if they gather a bit of momentum... anything could happen.

Donegal and Galway will be interesting too. If Galway had their shooting boots on, they could have beaten Kerry in their quarter final last year, but they hit a lot of wides. They could certainly put it up to Donegal, though there will be the contrast in styles of football. A good weekend to look forward to for a GAA fan.

Hoping to get a freebie for Saturday.:cool:

Just noticed, assuming all goes to form, the quarter final line up will look very similar to 2013. Monaghan V Tyrone and Donegal V Mayo were the fixtures then too. Hope Galway and Kildare mess it up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

€10,000 fine for the fistycuffs before the Armagh challenge - that's money that was sorely needed for the underage and senior teams future dominance of everything .. looks like we'll have to get a bigger wedge of funding next year to make up the shortfall :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ST tickets just landed. 306RR. That'll do. :)

Oh you got the section with the heated seats and drinks dispenser !! :D .. great seats in fairness - haven't seen mine yet but I'm reliably informed we're in 305 (got 307 on Saturday from a straight pick from tickets.ie) which isn't bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Oh you got the section with the heated seats and drinks dispenser !! :D .. great seats in fairness - haven't seen mine yet but I'm reliably informed we're in 305 (got 307 on Saturday from a straight pick from tickets.ie) which isn't bad

I'm in two minds about heading on Saturday. I mean, Tyrone will be in the QF, so there's no danger there in not getting to see them this summer.

You may get to see them again, but they could lose on Saturday. Even if they win, you won't have seen them on Saturday night if you don't go. So you've only one chance to see them playing Sligo next Saturday. Even a replay would not be next Saturday. So seeing Tyrone playing in Croke Park next Saturday, along with Sligo, Donegal and Galway, is a once in a lifetime opportunity. :) I am going to take it.

If you don't go on Saturday, you'll see me there on Sunday. Look over towards 334 from 306. I'll be the guy in the Dublin shirt. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

I'm a little surprised there hasn't been any discussion of the Camogie coin toss debacle, or have I missed it? At least its been partially resolved.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    I'm a little surprised there hasn't been any discussion of the Camogie coin toss debacle, or have I missed it? At least its been partially resolved.

There is discussion about it in the Camogie thread that is running at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,418 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Bernard Brogan is all over the papers today saying what a great team they are now (after beating westmeath) at beating defensive teams and all the super subs we have. Its just a matter of collecting the silverwear now lads, then off to Coppers:D oooh and Kerry for the Holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

danjo-xx wrote: »
    Bernard Brogan is all over the papers today saying what a great team they are now (after beating westmeath) at beating defensive teams and all the super subs we have. Its just a matter of collecting the silverwear now lads, then off to Coppers:D oooh and Kerry for the Holidays.

As far as wind ups go, I give you 2/10 for artistic merit - mentioning Coppers is always good for a laugh. But sadly, you only get .05/10 for degree of technical difficulty, seeing as these are all old AIG interviews from last week, where he said pretty much feck all. Nice try though. :rolleyes:

ProudDUB wrote: »
    As far as wind ups go, I give you 2/10 for artistic merit - mentioning Coppers is always good for a laugh. But sadly, you only get .05/10 for degree of technical difficulty, seeing as these are all old AIG interviews from last week, where he said pretty much feck all. Nice try though. :rolleyes:

A case of having a shot at goal, but missing the target. :) That's something that Bernard doesn't often do. :)

........ What the Vincents and the SOPER's and the BK's can expect to achieve in a given year, is night and day, compared to what the likes of St Maurs and Fingal Ravens can expect to achieve. The same would go for the overall calibre of their players. (With all due respect to the utterly lovely people in Rolestown and Rush. :D )

^^ quoted from the SFC thread but didn't want to clog it up :D

... don't forget during those dark days in the not too distant past those Fingal Raven lads were the ones with an AI Junior medal in their pocket :D - I think there was 6 or 7 involved in the panel Darren Daly, Colin Prenderville, Michael White, Noel(?)Tormey, Darren Kavanagh, ? Boland and possibly Warren Finnegan tho he may have been a Brigids player at the time.

Although my affiliations lie nearer to the airport - living in the boonies I try to take in a few Ravens games - they're competitive enough in the league... champo is a different child altogether

Hey, far be it from me to diss the good people of Rolestown, or their players. I have loads of cousins out there & they'd put manners on me right proper, if I did. There's many a platter of chicken and chips that I horsed into me gob in the Rolestown Inn. Still don't think I'll be seeing any of them in late October, in Parnell Park though.

You can't compare league to champo imo. League games are played all thru the year, even when the big fish are missing their big names. That kinda levels the playing field out for the little fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

^^ quoted from the SFC thread but didn't want to clog it up :D

... don't forget during those dark days in the not too distant past those Fingal Raven lads were the ones with an AI Junior medal in their pocket :D - I think there was 6 or 7 involved in the panel Darren Daly, Colin Prenderville, Michael White, Noel(?)Tormey, Darren Kavanagh, ? Boland and possibly Warren Finnegan tho he may have been a Brigids player at the time.

Although my affiliations lie nearer to the airport - living in the boonies I try to take in a few Ravens games - they're competitive enough in the league... champo is a different child altogether

There's an SFC thread?? I can't find it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Ah, sorry. I thought it was a Dublin SFC that was being referred to!

You can't compare league to champo imo. League games are played all thru the year, even when the big fish are missing their big names. That kinda levels the playing field out for the little fish.

Oh absolutely 100% agree, the champo brings out the full arsenal available to clubs - the stick fighters are cajoled into playing football, I think Judes had a few minors that started in the IFC and finished the year in the Seniors.

The BIL was umpiring last year and commented to his opposite number on the other post about their corner forward yer man hadn't a scooby who the player was 1st time he'd seen him all year!

BTW did anyone do their homework I gave youse on what to rexpect from Fermanagh on Sunday? I must be in the minority judging by the pools thread in thinking that it'll be a lot closer than some might think. I think sheer pace will undo them late on but they'll do themselves justice. Quite looking forward to the other game too .. strictly neutral of course which is one of my redeeming qualities :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

One of many!!!

I've only seen them in highlights they look like a tight unit . I agree that it should be a close one alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Joekers

First time to ever see us playing the mother's county so quite excited about it, be great craic in the house Sunday morning :pac::pac:

Joekers wrote: »
    First time to ever see us playing the mother's county so quite excited about it, be great craic in the house Sunday morning :pac::pac:

Make sure you get the dinner before you go to Croker doubt she'll be in the humour to make it when you get home :D

Stoner wrote: »
    One of many!!!

I've only seen them in highlights they look like a tight unit . I agree that it found be a close one alright.

Yeah I'm gonna head in both days hoping to see 2 decent contests out of the 4. I honestly don't know what to expect from Fermanagh if they're caught in the headlights it could get tough but I've a notion that Mcgrath has a strategy to get them into half time at least still breathing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Going both days too. Poor deal for the fans traveling to play a game at 6pm. But I got my free tickets.

Very little interest for Saturdays games. Or little interest in traveling anyway

Definitely going on both days. I don't know about the rest of you, but I am a GAA fan. :) There's big matches on, so that is a good reason to go. I would describe myself not so much as a Dublin GAA fan, but a GAA fan from Dublin. There is a difference. So I'll be going to both days this weekend, both next weekend, and about as many matches in Croke Park as possible from now up to the International rules match on the 21st of November.

My Dublin shirt will accompany me on all occasions. Usually good for a bit of craic on days that Dublin are not playing. Going into the drawn Kerry v Mayo game last year, a steward quipped that I was a week early and that normally we are 15 minutes late. :) When approaching the ground on other days and someone comments on me wearing my Dublin shirt I normally respond with something like "I have to see who we are going to beat in the final." :) I can also say that it proves that Dubs just don't go to Croke Park for a few match days during the summer, or only go to see Dublin.

Anyway, when Dublin are not playing, I am still a Dubliner, so no harm in wearing my colours. You frequently see shirts of non-competing counties on match days. So if you are a Dub going on Saturday, don't forget you Dublin shirt. :) Up the Dubs!!!

Definitely going on both days. I don't know about the rest of you, but I am a GAA fan. :) There's big matches on, so that is a good reason to go. I would describe myself not so much as a Dublin GAA fan, but a GAA fan from Dublin. There is a difference. So I'll be going to both days this weekend, both next weekend, and about as many matches in Croke Park as possible from now up to the International rules match on the 21st of November.

My Dublin shirt will accompany me on all occasions. Usually good for a bit of craic on days that Dublin are not playing. Going into the drawn Kerry v Mayo game last year, a steward quipped that I was a week early and that normally we are 15 minutes late. :) When approaching the ground on other days and someone comments on me wearing my Dublin shirt I normally respond with something like "I have to see who we are going to beat in the final." :) I can also say that it proves that Dubs just don't go to Croke Park for a few match days during the summer, or only go to see Dublin.

Anyway, when Dublin are not playing, I am still a Dubliner, so no harm in wearing my colours. You frequently see shirts of non-competing counties on match days. So if you are a Dub going on Saturday, don't forget you Dublin shirt. :) Up the Dubs!!!

Yeah that's a good perspective to have - tho the sole Dublin jersey in a sea of the other competing teams screams nut job :D .. reminds me of the Offaly fan that you always see on The Hill or the "John 3:17" if we're taking things to the extreme ;)

I coach underage although they're heading to minor next year, we've recently come up with an initiative to get the club coaches together on a periodic basis to review coaching standards/drills and in play match day scenarios. My current homework revolves around the attacking threat against massed/blanket defences. I was down at BK/Na Fianna last week with my scribble pad and this week I'll be looking to Galway/Donegal and ourselves and Fermanagh for some ideas, I can't wait to get back and do me powerpoint presentation and most importantly use a laser pen pointer .. that'll be gift as we used to say :D

I'm heading in tomorrow too. I can actually enjoy the games and the buzz and excitement of the place, when I don't have that horrible "Oh God, what if it all goes pear shaped for us" lump of coal in the pit of my stomach feeling, when the Dubs are playing.

It's always interesting to see the other heavy hitters, in their first trip to Croker since the league, or see how the surprise teams react to being on the biggest stage of all. But, I never set much store by what I see in the 4th round qualifiers, or the quarter finals, in terms how teams will play if/when we meet them later on in the semi finals or finals. I've seen too many average performances at this time of year, that were light years removed from how counties were playing a month or two later, to judge the odds of their winning Sam, based on what I'll see this weekend.

Yeah that's a good perspective to have - tho the sole Dublin jersey in a sea of the other competing teams screams nut job :D .. reminds me of the Offaly fan that you always see on The Hill or the "John 3:17" if we're taking things to the extreme ;)

Well come join me some day. It'll make me look only half as crazy and there's safety in numbers. Maybe a few others might come too. A gang of Dubs sitting in amongst the other supporters might make them feel like they are being spied on. :confused: There's always a pocket of the opposition on the Hill when we are playing, so we can repeat the dose in the stand with the added element that we aren't even playing. The shock of them seeing Dublin fans when the Dubs aren't playing will really scare them. :eek: It is nice to spread a bit of paranoia. :)

LOL .. hiding in plain sight love it!! ... unlike the Donegal fella up the tree down in Killarney :pac:

If we were hiding up a tree, it would be Oak Park. :) If there are going to be Dubs Boardsies at non-Dubs matches, we could meet up. It'd be easy to spot each other for one thing. :) On Dublin match days, I suppose we are mostly with our own friends before, during and after matches, but we'd be more in need of company on a non-Dubs day. Good to do post-match analysis on the prospective enemy too. :) Looks like there are a few of us going on Saturday: yourself, Stoner, ProdDub and me. I'll be the guy in the Dublin shirt in 334. :) Non-Dubs, subject to vetting, may be allowed to join us. To be on the safe side, we'll speak in Dublinese when talking tactics. :) If you're interested, say it here or PM each other.