Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Very much like Whelo starting as a half forward and (hopefully) converting to an exceptional midfielder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Am I right in assuming we play Cork/Kerry or Kildare next.? Sorry if already posted.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Dick Clerkin

Yep we play loser of Munster Final / Kildare in the QF August Bank Holiday weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭Justin10

Yep we play loser of Munster Final / Kildare in the QF August Bank Holiday weekend

Curious how you figured this out? I'm clearly missing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Agreed. He may be a hero down in Cork, but it's different strokes for different folks. Today was a great day, but he has a way to go yet before he'll be considered a great manager for us. He still has questions to answer for the manner in which Carton left the team & the nature of the defeat to Galway. I'd question his man management skills too. Maybe we just don't realise how good we had it in that department with Anthony Daly, but its something you have to be very, very good at to be one of the managerial greats imo.

A lot of valid points regards cunningjham has to prove himself absoultey one hundred percent I agree and he's lot lots of work to do and I said this many times after it.

Just to clear up, I don't judge any manager cause he's a cork man many Cork men I critical off, I don't particularly like kerry or Kilkenny but I'm not as many know blinded by patriotic loyalties that cork can do no wrong, I will judge mainly on what I see before me results wise

I never proclaim cunningjham to be the main man in Dublin revolution and if it sounded that way my genuine apologies as I have praised many many people here in the work that has been done in Dublin hurling and no one man can take the credit
    Now before anyone jumps the gone and say ah he's just mellowed I done two years ago a cork Dublin all ireland semi final opening post for the game for the match thread, I'm sure people can look it up if they want
    I paid huge credit to the likes of Harrington and many Dublin volunteer helped Dublin become a force in hurling and I named many local men, and no one man is responsible

Back in January I had huge praise for the late Andy kettle (rip) for carrying on the great work in hurling and indeed football

What I meant by foundation of success is cunningjham has got a quater final in he's ist year with a league semi final by introducing new players and he's trying to go away from daly defensive system and build a pooession game and bring pace in to the team
    The win and the introduction of young player gives him and Dublin, Dublin I mean he's new team he's trying to build a foundation to work off as major changes is needed in daly built a very good team and done well but as the stats show a league and leinster in six years is good yes but not great great manager as mentioned here

I'm not be picky but great manager win all Ireland
    Daly is extremely great man management and builds solid teams but I would not say he's great and he's won things yes but he's also lost

People are fast to say cunningjham failed ucc this year fair enough but daly won two kerry county with Kilmolry but lost one
    He's won few Walsh cup and yes leinster and a league title and with Kilmill in clare won an under sixteen c championship and minor c championship
    He's done well limerick minor this year in solid team but lost munster minor but tippeary were always favourite for that

With clare he got to three all ireland semi final
    Yes he'll take a team to a point but I rate him but I'm unconvincing he is manager to take a team to an all ireland final or win it

Remember he's ist year he lost to limerick in a quarter final to limerick with new team with o grady by four points
    The point was made daly Dublin would hammered limerick Saturday
    Would they do?
    He couldn't do much in he's ist year but cunningjham beat limerick on the go for four years in thurles that doesn't suit Dublin on past history

The second year of daly kk absoultey hammered yes hammered now let's be honest if we're going to say and fair enough Galway hammered Dublin in a replay in cunningjham second championship game let's least say being all fair and equal kk in year two hammered Dublin but then the real real defeat with greatest respect to Antrim was Antrim beating them

Daly got time did he or did he not
    Daly you see fair enough had to build Dublin from a low Base and nobody questions him

Now it's good people questions cunningjham after Galway as it shows the level of expectation in Dublin hurling as grown in they demand more
    But cunningjham is yes with a lot of experience players but imo lot have huge mileage and he's trying to build he's own team

Daly Dublin at their peak were beaten by an average cork with cunningjham as coach
    That tells me for all daly good skills Dublin still lacked something to go the extra step
    Cunningjham knows that too having coached a team to beat them
    He knows Dublin as they are won't win an all Ireland
    He is a winner in he wants to win an all Ireland
    He's yes I agreed played some lads out of position and got some calls wrong and badly wrong but he's trying to find new team

The key for me was Dublin unity to come back and get a win
    People say ah players done it for themselves
    But if they didn't imo it be blamed cunningjham
    The players belived in cunningjham imo as teams come back and win normally do
    It was admitted here he made changes at half time that changed the game

He's brought in the likes of plunkrtt and others
    When I said Dublin were in a good place I didn't mean it's all cunningjham what I'm meaning is they had a league semi and quarter final spot in year one
    He has something to build on in year two

I don't think ye will beat waterford as I think the core of this team while great servants some are past their best
    When daly came in he was working with a lot of lads from scratch so he build loyalty
    Any manager comes in and makes changes there's always a risk of turbulence and things have edgy start
    I'm not sure the exact nature of carton issue but what I based my views on is cunningjham has ucc where he had great success and Ballygunner and both cork team thirteen years ago and two years ago no player yes not one ever had a problem with he's man management or training
    Paul flynn gave an interview six years ago with Ballygunner saying he was brilliant management and coach

Cunningjham it's well known didn't see eye to eye with jbm in the Cusack leaving the panel and him and cunningjham had different ideas to play in jbm wanted old school freestyle hurling cunningjham wanted a short possession game
    However even allowing for that cunningjham never allowed it or did jbm affect their working relationships in cork

Cunningjham left cork only cause he was told he had the limerick job but then limerick changed their mind
    Cunningjham never got the cork senior job or under twenty one as politics are evident in cork hurling and cunningjham was always players man such cork ccb wouldn't give him the job
    Cusack gardiner o Connor deane cocronan etc never never once had a problem with cunningjham so with the greatest respect to Michael carton just cause he is the ist to i am not suddenly going to say it's Cunningham fault when he's record is brilliant over all
    One swallow never made a summer

This isn't just me having rose tainted glasses either, on news talk Denis Walsh the sunday times journalist gave a pod cast October the fourteenth I think last year saying clearly why he never got the cork job

As regards taking the advice of limerick fans at the match they want daly as manager and never wanted cunningjham with the greatest respect not all limerick fans are the best just of management in some thought tj Ryan last year would win them the all ireland after a moral victory to kk and not all want daly

Go to the limerick thread now currently and there is around four that don't want him as manager
    As I said before daly record is far from flawless far far from it
    Now yes the argument of debate could say fair enough he had to build a team but look how long he took

Cunningjham as coach got an average cork team with lot injuries and players left the panel with unlike Dublin no under age provincial success to a league final with jbm year one
    Yes kk hammered them
    But year one cork got to an all ireland semi final
    Year two all ireland final beating Dublin and kk

Cunningjham isn't fan of the direct style but he still coached the style for jbm effective and the short game with Cork to win all Ireland
    He brought in an proven skill coach from mayo football who got to two all ireland final and donie Buckley kerry coach with mayo and horan rate coughlan hugely

The difficulty i had was when I see the likes of humphrey Kellher criticism of cunningjham
    Kelliher be fair created a magnificent blue print for Dublin hurling and has huge part in the development squads etc and work behind the scenes and I said before deserves huge credit

But as a manager he was poor in loosing twelve games in a row and huge defeats to laois he was sacked so my point is its bit odd for him to question cunningjham record which is proven at intercounty senior twice and club and colleges
    Also at ucc he worked with players from clare tipp kk limerick cork you name it, big big name players
    Not one not one player ever had a problem with cunningjham management

In essence it's nothing to do with rose tainted glasses it's based on he's record
    I think of all the management options available he was the best man for the job and all my point is in year one he's done okay and doesn't deserve the critsim at the level it's at directed at he's management when daly was hardly hitting the ground running

Dublin hurling has been making huge improvement and a lot of individuals deserve credit for that

In regards the football congratulations on yere win
    I said it in the league Gavin was the new cody of football in just like Galway shock win years ago changes cody build new team Donegal changed Gavin

He deserves huge credit and I said it here many times for having the ball to say he was wrong v Donegal but he's changes the team since and to conceded just six points v westmeath shows true blanket even allowing for poor opposition

Dublin wont be as naive as last year

If cork loose we play Kildare who well beat but Cork have not a hope of beating Dublin if don't beat kerry

Gavin is ruthless like cody and Sunday showed while performance was off lot to work on just the ideal preparations for the all ireland quarter final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

TTM, I've done my best to hold my tongue but I can do it no more. There's no 'j' in Cunningham!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Am I right in assuming we play Cork/Kerry or Kildare next.? Sorry if already posted.?

I think we could play Fermanagh too if they beat Westmeath, can't play Westmeath again after playing them in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,805 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

EICVD wrote: »
    I think we could play Fermanagh too if they beat Westmeath, can't play Westmeath again after playing them in the final.

It's definitely the Munster loser if they beat Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Fair enough TTM. But you have to understand that people are going to react to your posts in the here and now. You post so much, so often & in so many threads, no one is going to remember everything that you say, or go back and do research on what you have posted about in the past.

Dublin hurling fans are well used to be being looked down & on being patronized by people from the traditional hurling counties. Or being told what to do and what to think for no other reason than they are from KK, Tipp or Cork, we are not, so we should automatically defer to their opinions & their way of doing things and approaching problems.

That is just not on, not when we are the ones that are actually going to the games, are seeing what is happening on the pitch with our own two eyes and hearing first hand, what is happening off it. We aren't relying on Cyril Farrell or Donal Og to tell us.

Add in the fact that we have vastly different sets of history and tradition, as well as players and personnel down thru the years, what works for one county, isn't necessarily going to work for us, all of the time. Yes, Cunningham deserves time and space to be his own man and do things his way. We don't expect or want him to be a clone of Anthony Daly, but that doesn't mean we aren't entitled to express an opinion on him & his decisions.

You are too, but when you fall into your old habit of expressing your opinions on posters themselves & not the points that they are making, that is where the problems occur. It gets peoples backs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I think he was trying him as a replacement for O'Gara due to his size . Once O'Gara got injured he moved from half forward line to full , it worked a bit but not on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Gerlad

Stoner wrote: »
    I think he was trying him as a replacement for O'Gara due to his size . Once O'Gara got injured he moved from half forward line to full , it worked a bit but not on Sunday

You talking about Rock? He was never going to be a first choice option in the Dublin half forward line, only in full forward line. He is there for frees not for his ball winning ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Dick Clerkin

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Curious how you figured this out? I'm clearly missing something.

GAA website under fixtures. Also features in Darragh O'Se's column today in the Irish Times, re the Kerry v Cork game this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

GAA website under fixtures. Also features in Darragh O'Se's column today in the Irish Times, re the Kerry v Cork game this weekend

Good luck on Sunday big man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

keane2097 wrote: »
    It's definitely the Munster loser if they beat Kildare.

Don't think so?

Open draw with the only stipulation being we can't play Westmeath again. What reason would prevent us from playing Fermanagh if they beat Westmeath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭Justin10

Yes and it says Dublin will play a Round 4A winner? Nothing about Cork or Kerry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Do you think this game will be on Saturday night.

So no Brennan this year. I think we'll see McHugh more next year. I think we could do with him.

So we have Mayo, Donegal and Cork on our side of the draw.

Kerry are in the final anyway I think.

Yep. Agree. I was cheering for Donegal today. If we make it to September, I'd much prefer it if Donegal & Kerry faced off in the semi finals.

So if Cork won yesterday we would have Kerry on this side too.

Monaghan would have been made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

I'm not with you?

We can only play Cork, Kildare or Fermanagh in the QF... Provided we win our QF and Mayo win theirs we would play Mayo in the Semi.

Or am I missing something?

If Cork won yesterday, then we would have had both Kerry and Donegal on our side of the draw. It would have meant playing Kerry in the quarter finals, then the winner of Mayo/Donegal in the semi finals. That is a pretty tough road to hoe, just to get to an AI final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭corny

The winner of Monaghan v Tyrone won't lie down for Kerry. They'll have a lot of momentum on their side and will take a bit of beating.

Having gotten a better look at Kerry and Donegal over the last two weeks I'm full sure they won't have enough to beat Dublin. Mayo shouldn't either in truth.

Well yeah, on paper, no one ever has what it takes to beat us. It rarely work out that way for us in reality 'tho....:rolleyes:

With all due respect to Monaghan, Tyrone etc, the spot in the AI final is Kerrys to lose. I expect them to get there again. The road to Sam is littered with counties who had to give it their all on the way to the final & had nothing left in the tank for final itself, resulting in Kerry picking up yet another handy AI win. I'd rather that not happen to us this year, given how hard our side of the draw is.

I meant the side of the draw not who we play.

Ie Kerry only have to play one from that side of the draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Sounds right.

We play Cork/Kildare next, then the winners of Mayo & Donegal/Galway.

Monaghan's win moves Donegal from Kerrys side of the draw to ours. I would dread playing Donegal in the semis(If we get there).

Would much rather have Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Despite the result, and we all know what a confidence boost winning Munster would have been for Cork, but I definitely would have rathered Kerry on our side truth be told come throw-in on Saturday. Moot now.

But jaysus, we would scythe through that Kerry backline all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I saw nothing over the weekend that would worry me as a Dublin supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Slattsy wrote: »

As it may be.

But I like to see Kerry gone from the Championship at the earliest opportunity. Every game closer is a potential victory and another Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Slattsy wrote: »
    I did. Donegal's lack of plan B when they go behind and struggle against the blanket defence. Mayo and Kerry's defensive frailties. You can be sure Rory Gallagher and Eamonn Fitzmaurice will have ironed out those issues by the time they play the Dubs.

Everybody knew the strong points of Donegal, Mayo and Kerry beforehand but now they've all had a chance to see where they are weak and have time to improve things before we meet one of them.