Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Thanks guys for the updates and comments. A far easier afternoon than anyone expected. Just reading Indo online and COS at No6 seems to have worked really well together with Jack Mc's running.

I'd have to admit that I'd be disappointed for Cork because to my mind a strong Cork team is good for football.

So the real business begins now and whether it's hype or not we're rightly favourites. There's a lot of football between now and then but all things being equal I'd personally fear no one bar Donegal. Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'd fear Kerry more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Bit off topic but anyone know where I can get a pair of nice Dublin cufflinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

when ross o'carroll was substituted his replacement gave away 3 score able frees in tandem with 3 or 4 very bad wide's down the other side of the field

That was Mick Fitzsimons who i am quick enough to criticise usually. One of those frees should never have been given, one he was just on the pitch and i can forgive a rush of blood to the head.

Once he settled in - he managed to keep one of the in-form forwards in the league at bay for the majority of the game. I would argue he won a lot more than he lost against the Cork forwards this time around and was impressed with his performance.

He will never get in ahead of Cooper or O'Carroll but there is a battle there for number 2 with McMahon. He tends to think of himself as a forward these days and spends a lot of time trying to boot the ball over with the outside of his boot! Stressful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

ye have a serious team but everything above is true , leinster is so poor at the moment it is not funny and the media will make dublin out to be superstars over the course of the provincial championship what cant be ignored is monaghan will have giving ye ye'r hardest game between now and the august bank holiday weekend where ye could very well meet the likes of mayo donegal cork or kerry ,

i mentioned on the cork thread earlier about dublin being flaky at times , an example today when ross o'carroll was substituted his replacement gave away 3 score able frees in tandem with 3 or 4 very bad wide's down the other side of the field i dont think that would be good enough to see of the likes of kerry in championship mode or even cork mayo, or donegal , i believe the rest of the conutry are miles behind so we really wont be able to judge this side until late in the summer

Let's be honest donegal maybe and kerry and in time Galway but mayo or cork won't come close to testing Dublin in championship

I said it at the start mayo dual management two many chiefs spoil the btoth etc will not work and added fact mayo are tired team and outstanding horan and coughlan are gone and still can't score mayo certainly won't even win connaught and there poor

Seriously now to say cork would cause Dublin problems in championship you have no idea with respect what your talking about if you belive that

I have watched every game almost cork football this year watches them train twice and there miles miles off what's required bar fitness
    Yesterday will have done untold damage to morale
    Galway or meath or monaghan in a qualifier if they meet would cause cork problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Great win, don't care what people saying about it being a bad match to watch, it was great to see the lads gelling together and playing some great football. Kick passing was really on point and thought Fenton is doing well to challenge for hit spot.

Cooper played really well, funny to see him in a more defensive role, didn't get to wander at all. If i had to pick a loose link in the chain it would be philly mcmahon. He didn't click at all, played too far forward and fluffed a load. He looks to show boat it when he should play the simple ball.

That said , Cork's head dropped from early on. Delighted for the 3 in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 BlueSteele78

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Bit off topic but anyone know where I can get a pair of nice Dublin cufflinks?

They sell them on the hill 16 site shop and also on the gaajewellery site. I can't post website links as I'm a new user!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

BKWDR wrote: »
    Great win, don't care what people saying about it being a bad match to watch, it was great to see the lads gelling together and playing some great football. Kick passing was really on point and thought Fenton is doing well to challenge for hit spot.

Cooper played really well, funny to see him in a more defensive role, didn't get to wander at all. If i had to pick a loose link in the chain it would be philly mcmahon. He didn't click at all, played too far forward and fluffed a load. He looks to show boat it when he should play the simple ball.

That said , Cork's head dropped from early on. Delighted for the 3 in a row

Philly has been like that for ages, bit of a worry for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Philly McMahon played very well yesterday. He had a job and he did it very well.

His job was to follow Mark Collins everywhere and to prevent Cork's short kickouts to him and him being able to pick up a lot of ball playing as a sweeper. The role Mark Collins has played this season for Cork is similar to that played by the McHughs for Donegal and Philly McMahon snuffed it out very effectively. It was a very good tactic by Gavin and worked to a tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Well done Dublin, looks like ye will steamroller Leinster again.

In fact the pick of the rest of Leinster would probably struggle against Dublin at the moment. I reckon attendances will reflect this this year.

I don't know what the answer is but I can realistically see Dublin winning 8, 9 or even 10 of the next 10 Leinsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd fear Kerry more.

So would I. Their managers ability and willingness to change game plans and tactics at short notice ( and do it successfully) is truly terrifying. The ability and willingness to be adaptable is vital these days. I'm not quite sure if Jim Gavin is quite there yet, even if some of our worst defensive short comings from last year, were much improved during the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I thought Cian O'Sullivan looked glorious yesterday.
    Just cruised through the game - he'll be vital for us this year, as much as any other player imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Slattsy wrote: »
    I thought Cian O'Sullivan looked glorious yesterday.
    Just cruised through the game - he'll be vital for us this year, as much as any other player imho.

One of the first names on the teamsheet for me too but I actually think he's wasted in that role. Much as Bryan Cullen was in his younger days.

O' Sullivan is quick, reads the game well and is a fabulous man marker. Personally, i wouldn't have him marking space. Also, Cork play very direct football and not the hard running style that might challenge the spare man. Brennan probably won't get back into the side but that role is made for him.

On the Kerry or Donegal? Both of them are a serious threat to Dublin but i hope one of them loses in the provincial championship and we run into both of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I still think Donegal are the team that will cause us most problems.

Kerry will go toe to toe with us and I don't think any team can beat us when they want to take us on, personally.

I've said it before on this thread, but we've always struggled and will continue to struggle against a well organised, blanket defence. The Monaghan and Tyrone games proved it in the league.
    It just looked like the same old problem - no plan b.

Kerry have a full squad now though.
    If Dublins refusal/inability to adapt against Donegal last year was down to stuburnes and not lack of intellect then I'd worry about Kerry less. If the line learned from that game it would be great.
    I was very impressed with Fenton again yesterday, he's up for it, knows when to defend and when to move forward, he also demands the ball. Early days yet but he is the nearest thing I've seen to a traditional midfielder for Dublin for a while. I don't rate any of the other new guys tbh, he looks like he could compete in the air and yesterday he was very unlucky with one attempted effort where he won the ball over his man's head turned and ran up the field only to kick an effort at a point wide.
    I don't want to jinx the man, but he really reminds me of a certain past Dublin player.
    Bastic is playing his best football for Dublin ever IMHO. He tackled very hard yesterday he really took it out of the Cork lads.
    I thought that fitzsimmons did we when he came on, of the five frees given away in the first half I thought three were justified and needless, one was 50/50 and the other was a bad call.

The linesman near the elbow on connelly was terrible, we were very near to him, he missed all sorts of action in addition to the elbow.

Cork looked sluggish. I don't think their setup is great, but I do think they have some great players.
    I rate Mayo. I think they have a great bunch of players that were unlucky against Kerry last year. I don't think they have the right management to bring them forward, indeed they seem to have gone backwards. Regardless I don't see Roscommon staying with them. Decent and all as they were yesterday I couldn't see they lasting the distance with Mayo. Mayo could surprise many this year.

The drop off in Kildare is terrible, McGeenys departure has been a disaster for them. Imagine if the boys in Cork got him. That would be a serious outfit. I'd love to see him succeed somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Cork were dreadfully disappointing yesterday.

I thought they'd have made far more of a game out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

dixiefly wrote: »
    Well done Dublin, looks like ye will steamroller Leinster again.

In fact the pick of the rest of Leinster would probably struggle against Dublin at the moment. I reckon attendances will reflect this this year.

I don't know what the answer is but I can realistically see Dublin winning 8, 9 or even 10 of the next 10 Leinsters.

Leinster football is chronic at the moment. Wouldn't it be far more meaningful to win all of these Leinster titles if we were playing several competitive side in leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Lads

It was a brutal performance by Cork so it's hard to judge, but I was very happy with our performance on Sunday. Someone mentioned that we don't have a settled side, but I'd have to disagree with that. If Jim was picking a championship team tomorrow, most of us would agree fairly quickly on 12 or 13 names. I think Dean Rock, despite criticism of his lack of contribution from open play, has sewn up a place for himself on the basis of another faultless display from placed balls. Cluxton, Cooper, O'Carroll, McMahon, McCarthy, Caffrey, COS, MDMA, Flynn, Connolly, Brogan (B) and Rock are my certainties. I think Kilkenny and McManamon are almost there too. The only decision in my mind is what to do at centre half, and the consequent impact on the second midfielder slot. I've thought for a couple of years that COS is wasted at centre back, and better in midfield, but based on the S/F last year and what we've seen so far this year, I'm changing my mind. COS offers way more at CB than any other player available, and Bastick/Fenton are a very good option in midfield. I see Jim going with Bastick initially, but if Fenton continues his rate of progress he'll pass Bastick by.

Brady, Costello and Fitzsimons will get plenty of game time.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Past30Now wrote: »
    Lads

It was a brutal performance by Cork so it's hard to judge, but I was very happy with our performance on Sunday. Someone mentioned that we don't have a settled side, but I'd have to disagree with that. If Jim was picking a championship team tomorrow, most of us would agree fairly quickly on 12 or 13 names. I think Dean Rock, despite criticism of his lack of contribution from open play, has sewn up a place for himself on the basis of another faultless display from placed balls. Cluxton, Cooper, O'Carroll, McMahon, McCarthy, Caffrey, COS, MDMA, Flynn, Connolly, Brogan (B) and Rock are my certainties. I think Kilkenny and McManamon are almost there too. The only decision in my mind is what to do at centre half, and the consequent impact on the second midfielder slot. I've thought for a couple of years that COS is wasted at centre back, and better in midfield, but based on the S/F last year and what we've seen so far this year, I'm changing my mind. COS offers way more at CB than any other player available, and Bastick/Fenton are a very good option in midfield. I see Jim going with Bastick initially, but if Fenton continues his rate of progress he'll pass Bastick by.

Brady, Costello and Fitzsimons will get plenty of game time.
    Good post, Only thing I would disagree with is the comments on
    Dean Rock, He contributes absolutely nothing to open play, The days of carrying a free taker are gone imo, With Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton there, Free taking duties are well catered for.

pajero12 wrote: »
    Good post, Only thing I would disagree with is the comments on
    Dean Rock, He contributes absolutely nothing to open play, The days of carrying a free taker are gone imo, With Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton there, Free taking duties are well catered for.

Its hard to argue against Dean being on a championship 15 as he was the top scorer in the league. I think Jim has passed the responsibility of the free taking fully to Rock. I only recall Cluxton kicking that one in the final and not others (open to correction - although does it have something to do with Cluxton's heavy leg strapping?)

You could argue that he contributes nothing to open play but in fairness i don't recall after a game thinking , 'jesus dean rock cost us that game'. I think he plays his role well and was decent at both man marking and tracking back when needed. If he hadn't scored 1-52 in the league if might be a discussion, but i think he's done enough to earn a shout

BKWDR wrote: »
    Its hard to argue against Dean being on a championship 15 as he was the top scorer in the league. I think Jim has passed the responsibility of the free taking fully to Rock. I only recall Cluxton kicking that one in the final and not others (open to correction - although does it have something to do with Cluxton's heavy leg strapping?)

You could argue that he contributes nothing to open play but in fairness i don't recall after a game thinking , 'jesus dean rock cost us that game'. I think he plays his role well and was decent at both man marking and tracking back when needed. If he hadn't scored 1-52 in the league if might be a discussion, but i think he's done enough to earn a shout

But that is part of the problem. We don't leave games thinking "jayzus, we had that game won if Deano didn't miss that goal chance" because he never actually attempts to score goals. I've been to every single game this year, including the O'B Cup ones. I can't remember seeing him take one shot at goal. (The one goal he has scored, was a tap in from a move that O'Gara started and created.) For a full forward who has started 12 or 13 games this year, that is shocking, even if his free taking is impeccable.

If CC, BB, DC, Kev Mc, O'Gara etc etc are missing shots, or having them blocked down, or saved, at least they are giving it a go. Rock never does. It's not just about scoring from open play, its about making a contribution from open play. The other forwards (especially O'Gara and Andrews) are out on the wing, taking on their man and winning dirty ball and sending the ball inside. Or they are making runs out to the wing and taking their man with them (usually their best defender if its Berno) and creating space & chances for others. Or they are making runs up the middle & causing chaos, like Kev Mc & MDMA. They are trying to create something. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, sometimes they win a free out of it all.

What is Rock trying to do and create in his position? Surely there is more to it than standing on the 45, waiting for someone else to win the free, that he is going to tap over and get the credit for scoring? When does ever win frees of his own? He didn't win any on Sunday. Berno and Kev Mc won them. In the absence of O'Gara, he'll definitely start this year. But next year, when O'Gara is back, CC has another year at senior level under his belt, McHugh is around, Kilkenny is back to full fitness, Mannion is back, the U21's start to come through...what then? I'd be looking over his shoulder if I were him. I'm honestly not having a go at him. His contributions of the bench in 2013 were truly epic. I just wish he had swagger now, that he had then.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I just wish he had swagger now, that he had then.

I will agree that yes, he seems to have developed a settled role in the team and if Jim is happy for him to play that then who are we to question? As a player you can only do what is asked of you by management. Sometimes it's not pretty. Brogan might have a howler of a day(s) but you know he's there to get you that goal or free. The thing with Dean is that he's been consistent, if anything. You have to remember Gavin is picking Dean ahead of Brogan to take frees, that speaks volumes.

The team will be made up of all different style of players, yes you will have the full forwards who will win you that dirty ball, BB and KMC (and EOG) do that best but i do believe there is a place for Rock on the team list for the championship, after all it is very hard to argue against his points tally and i reckon from the start of the season on he's proved enough to warrant a shout.

What is the situation in relation to Cluxton's right knee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

pajero12 wrote: »
    Even last year with Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton we missed a lot more frees than Dean has this year.

I really don't see how anybody can argue against the inclusion of Dean in the team. With him we are guaranteed to score every scoreable free. In these days of blanket defences and with us certainly going to have beat some blanket defences an impeccable free-taker like Dean is invaluable. Dean does contribute from open play. In the final he scored 3 points from play and won 2 of the frees he scored. 5 points direct from his contribution to open play.

Past30Now wrote:
    Bastick/Fenton are a very good option in midfield. I see Jim going with Bastick initially, but if Fenton continues his rate of progress he'll pass Bastick by.
    I'm very impressed with Fenton but I don't think he's near fully cooked yet. Bastic puts serious hits in early in the game I think he saps the energy out of the opposition, he produced some serious hits against Cork. He's are new Dave Foran IMHO, what happens if Kildare get good again!
    Himself and MDMA seem to have a great relationship, you could see how happy MDMA was when Bastic was brought on, it is a little like the natural order is restored.

I don't know about Rock either, I've seen him spot the runner early and do nothing about it a good few times, B Brogan works harder to get the ball back then he does.

He is a player that could kick 3 or 4 points from play against a blanket defence, he's willing to be the player to get on the end of a patient buildup, he will attempt to score. I don't see him as a goal scorer either but he is possibly our best long distance point taker when on form, but he can slow things up and does not work to get the ball back like the others guys around him do.

I think KK will start and continue through the championship, he's getting better each game and I think he'll continue to get better.

Is there a place for Brennan? We'd have liked him last summer anyway.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    Even last year with Connolly, Brogan and Cluxton we missed a lot more frees than Dean has this year.

I really don't see how anybody can argue against the inclusion of Dean in the team. With him we are guaranteed to score every scoreable free. In these days of blanket defences and with us certainly going to have beat some blanket defences an impeccable free-taker like Dean is invaluable. Dean does contribute from open play. In the final he scored 3 points from play and won 2 of the frees he scored. 5 points direct from his contribution to open play.

How about the argument that we won 2 All Irelands, multiple Leinster titles and two back to back leagues with the frees being taken by other players. I'm not sure that our free scoring rations are so bad, that we have to carry a player for his frees alone. When was the last big champo game that we lost, because our free taker had a bad day at the office? BB and Cluxton had a mare against Donegal last year, but did they miss 7 frees between them, which was the scoring difference on the day? I haven't rewached the game back and never will, so I'll be relying on yer honesty for that. :P

As for Sunday, this is my take on the free winning. (The other half just re watched it for the first time, so I provided the pen and paper.)

Free 1 5 mins CK won it
    Free 2 12 mins CK won it
    Free 3 20 mins BB won it
    Free 4 41 mins Kev Mc won it/ref played the advantage
    Free 5 55 mins BB won it, or the Cork lad touched the ball on the ground, OH's Irish ain't good enough to know
    Free 6 63 mins either Kev Mc won it, or CC won one about 5 seconds earlier and the ref played the advantage
    Free 7 67 mins BB won it

According to the wireless on Sunday, Rock had scored 1-6 from play, coming into the game. His 3 pts on the day, made it 1-9 for the entire league. I'm sorry lads, but its a poor enough return from playing all 70 minutes, in all 9 games, especially when you got a good run out in the O'Byrne Cup just before. I am not arguing against his inclusion this year at all. I trust Jim Gavin. I just wonder if his over all contributions from play, as well as his speed and his work rate (that others have also mentioned) could impact his ability to hang onto that starting jersey on a long term basis, given the incredibly stiff competition for places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 35 players in 9 League games.Appearances+Subs for 2015 League Games

Cooper, Jonny 9
    McManamon, Kevin 9
    Rock, Dean 9
    McCaffrey, Jack 8+1
    Brady, Tomas 7+2
    Bastic, Denis 8
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 6+2
    McMahon, Philip 6+2
    O'Carroll, Rory 7

Brogan, Bernard 5+2
    Small, John 5+2
    Costello, Cormac 3+4
    Fenton, Brian 3+4
    Cluxton, Stephen 6 (4 Clean Sheets. Conceded 1 Goal)

Culligan, Eoin 6
    McCarthy, James 3+3
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 2+4

Connolly, Diarmuid 5
    Flynn, Paul 4+1

Daly, Darren 3+2
    O'Gara, Eoghan 3+2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 3+2
    Andrews, Paddy 1+4

Fitzsimons, Michael 2+2
    Byrne, Davy (Ballymun) 1+3
    Currie, Sean 3 (2 Clean Sheets. Conceded 1 Goal)
    Carthy, Shane 2+1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2+1
    Byrne, David (Olafs) 1+2
    Devereux, Nicky 1+2
    Lowndes, Eric 1+2
    Reddin, Ciaran 0+2
    Deegan, Michael 0+1
    McHugh, Conor 0+1
    Ryan, Philip 0+1

Dublin have scored 8-131 and conceded 4-101 in 9 League games. Scorers 2015 League Games

Rock, Dean 1-52
    Brogan, Bernard 2-8
    McCaffrey, Jack 1-7
    Brady, Tomas 0-8
    McManamon, Kevin 0-8

Connolly, Diarmuid 1-5
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-7
    Fenton, Brian 1-3
    Flynn, Paul 0-5

McMahon, Philip 0-5
    Costello, Cormac 1-2
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 0-4
    O'Gara, Eoghan 0-4
    Bastic, Denis 1-1

Andrews, Paddy 0-3
    Byrne, Davy (Ballymun) 0-2
    Carthy, Shane 0-2
    Cooper, Jonny 0-2
    Deegan, Michael 0-1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0-1
    Ryan, Philip 0-1

Dublin have used 34 players in 5 O'Byrne Cup games.Appearances+Subs for 2015 O'Byrne Cup

Brady, Tomas 5
    Culligan, Eoin 5
    Devereux, Nicky 5
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 5
    Rock, Dean 5
    Small, John 5
    Daly, Darren 5
    Fitzsimons, Michael 4+1
    Bastick, Denis 4
    O'Gara, Eoghan 4
    Hannigan, Graham 3+1
    Ryan, Philip 2+2
    Carthy, Shane 1+3
    Scully, Niall 0+4
    Costello, Cormac 3
    McManamon, Kevin 3
    Molloy, Lorcan 3 (1 Clean Sheet)
    Collins, Niall 2+1
    O'Carroll, Rory 2+1
    Cooper, Jonny 1+2
    Dawson, Harry 1+2
    Lowndes, Stuart 0+3
    Currie, Sean 2 (1 Clean Sheet)
    McCaffrey, Jack 1+1
    Dunleavy, Craig 1+1
    Deegan, Michael 0+2
    Kavanagh, Ian 0+2
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0+2
    O'Higgins, Paddy 0+2
    McCarrick, Alan 0+1
    McGowan, Ross 0+1
    McGuire, Conor 0+1
    McLoughlin, Diarmuid 0+1
    McMahon, Philip 0+1

Dublin have scored 3-80 and conceded 3-43 in 5 O'Byrne Cup games. Scorers 2015 O'Byrne Cup Games

Rock, Dean 0-38
    O'Gara, Eoghan 2-7
    McManamon, Kevin 1-6
    Brady, Tomas 0-7
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 0-6
    Carthy, Shane 0-5
    Ryan, Philip 0-3
    Costello, Cormac 0-2
    Deegan, Michael 0-2
    Cooper, Jonny 0-1
    Culligan, Eoin 0-1
    McLoughlin, Diarmuid 0-1
    Scully, Niall 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Gael85

Jim Gavin managerial Championship/League record played 38 won 29 drawn 3 lost 6 scored 54-612(774) conceded 30-458(548)

2014 Championship Played 5 Won-4 Drawn-0 Lost-1 Scored 9-105(132) Conceded 5-63(78)
    2013 Championship Played 6 Won-6 Drawn-0 Lost-0 Scored 13-99(138) Conceded 5-71(86)

2015 League Played 9 Won-6 Drawn-1 Lost-2 Scored 8-131(155) Conceded 4-101(113)
    2014 League Played 9 Won-6 Drawn-1 Lost-2 Scored 14-138(180) Conceded 11-117(150)
    2013 League Played 9 Won-7 Drawn-1 Lost-1 Scored 10-139(169) Conceded 5-106(121)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Stoner wrote: »
    Is there a place for Brennan? We'd have liked him last summer anyway.

Last season he would have been just another defender asked to perform in the high wire act. Gooch (and the Meath lad in 2013 whose name escapes me) showed he isn't at his best one on one when there's a huge amount of space around him.

This year Gavin has the centre back playing as a spare man primarily to stop dangerous runners. Brennans great at that. Very tidy at moving the ball forward at pace too which helps when you funnel men back.

Definitely a place for him if gets back to where he was but he'll have to prove it first of course.

On Dean Rock? I think he's worth persevering with. Definitely lacks mobility but if they can work him into a game plan he's worth his weight in gold from the dead ball.

Given that, its no surprise he's played a lot of games.

corny wrote:
    Last season he would have been just another defender asked to perform in the high wire act. Gooch (and the Meath lad in 2013 whose name escapes me) showed he isn't at his best one on one when there's a huge amount of space around him.

Michael Newman?

Well if we are to believe some stories the players decided to go forward and leave so few at the back and the manager just took the blame . Certainly McMahon was screaming for lads to fill the space. Maybe Brennan would have arranged things better.

It's a done deal now. But he has a place on the panel imo certainly he plays well against AOS when we meet Mayo.

Dean can on a given day fit very well in with forward play. He's often the one with the balls to shoot from distance.

He's just doesn't do turnovers or defend as well as the others, but he's very good from the deadball and I prefer him taking them to any of the other outfield players.
    I think connolly called Cluxton up to take the free last week purely to frustrate Cork.

Things have been quite too wrt the off the ball incidents on McMahon and Connelly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Meath Centre Forward

corny wrote: »

I presume he means Stephen Bray. Brayer skinned all round him in 2013. Brennan, Cooper, O'Carroll. I wouldn't be too harsh on Brennan. Bray is good.