Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Brilliant performance from the lads today winning by 11 points.

Monaghan 1-11 Dublin 1-22.

Cork v Donegal in the one semi-final and Dublin v Monaghan in the other. Cork v Donegal next Saturday and the Dubs v Monaghan on the Sunday.

COYBIB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Who's in the semi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Who's in the semi?

Dublin,Cork,Donegal and Monaghan.

Bret Hart wrote: »
    Dublin,Cork,Donegal and Monaghan.

I feared as much. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Hugely impressive away performance following on from Castlebar. The kick passing was excellent, and it was encouraging to see Bernard get some of his swagger back. I've spent the last couple of months discounting the merits of Tomás Brady starting in the championship but at this stage I've got to be honest and say he is 100% deserving - there's any number of admirable qualities. I'm nearly sure all the front 6 got on the scoresheet so the scores are liable to come from all over. That's 2 decent canings we've given Monaghan now, I hope there's no complacency for next week.

In other news Alan joins up with the panel this week, so there's plenty to be encouraged about going into the Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Enjoyed that. Got to say i love Clones. Great GAA stadium. How good would a championship game be there on a summers day. Would be a great atmosphere but i suppose we would need to lose and go through the back door system and get drawn there. But it would be fun

Yeah last champo game there was against Derry in the qualifiers - curtain raiser was Tyrone/Monaghan in a Junior hurling match .. I can't wipe it from the memory :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Well that was an unexpectedly fun day at the office, after the vomitfest of last week.

It's hard to find negatives after an outing like that, but I'll give it a go. Seeing Philly and Copper sauntering up to take their shots gave me a bad feeling. Put it down to the trauma of last August, but I now get very, very nervous whenever one of our backs stray past the oppositions 45. I hope they don't think they can take off at will like that during the summer. That being said, all of the long distance point taking were an absolute joy to behold. Where the name of God where they last weekend?

Great to see BB, Kev Mc & Connolly working so well together as unit. It's like they have a telepathetic understanding of each other that is wonderful to see. Thought Berno laid off a couple of beautiful balls for others (one was deffo to Flynn) to have a shot on goal. The attempts were saved, but that's ok. The balls were given to the best man in the best position to get the goal and that is what matters overall. If you play those kind of percentages over the summer, odds are you'll come out to the good. Now if only we can get MDMA doing it too ! :rolleyes:

Am a bit sorry we are facing Monaghan again next week. I think we'll learn more about ourselves if we face Kerry or Donegal again, than we will playing Monaghan.

Rocks lack of productivity from open play, or even creativity in setting up chances for others, continues to worry. His accuracy with free taking is great. But with the team that we had on the pitch, those frees would probably be scored by others, so what else does he bring to the table? Great news about Alan coming back. I presume he was working on own training program to keep himself ticking over while he was away. If he is fit & the legs are still there, there is no reason why a player of his undoubted calibre can't be slotted back in where he left off. But you would have to feel a bit bad for the likes of whoever he dislodges (Brady most likely) who has been working his arse off for the past 4 months. Oh well, thems the breaks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Good game today, Fenton played well, blocked, fielded the ball, scored.

O'Carrol was my man of the match, Flynn was a close second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Your lads are flying great result against a very good monaghan side..

Stoner wrote: »
    Good game today, Fenton played well, blocked, fielded the ball, scored.

O'Carrol was my man of the match, Flynn was a close second.

I haven't seen that much of Fenton but yeah was rightly impressed a big physical type too. Wouldn't argue on ROC but Flynner in full flow is a marvellous sight and the early signs are that he's gonna have another big year.

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Enjoyed that. Got to say i love Clones. Great GAA stadium. How good would a championship game be there on a summers day. Would be a great atmosphere but i suppose we would need to lose and go through the back door system and get drawn there. But it would be fun

Great isn't. Dublin will probably be playing already but if you ever get the opportunity you should try to travel down to Clones for Ulster Final day before they move it. Just to see it.

It's superb and it's uniquely GAA. Like the Hurling in Semple.

Unfortunately, the Ulster Council seem to be obsessed with a dick measuring competition and are intent on hauling the Ulster championship to Belfast which will be a travesty on so many levels.

Anyway, here's a great article on Clones by somebody far more eloquent than I.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/don-t-tamper-with-the-perfection-of-clones-on-ulster-final-day-1.1871255

What way did Dubs travel to Clones, up the M1, turn off at Ardee & head toward Monaghan town? Or the M3 via Cavan? We went via Cavan and were expecting terrible traffic jams on the way home, but there wasn't a sinner on the road back to Butlers Bridge. We did stay back the end of the game for about 15 minutes to get a few autographs, but were amazed at how easy it was to get outa Dodge, given the terrible reputation it has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

ProudDUB wrote:
    What way did Dubs travel to Clones, up the M1, turn off at Ardee & head toward Monaghan town? Or the M3 via Cavan? We went via Cavan and were expecting terrible traffic jams on the way home, but there wasn't a sinner on the road back to Butlers Bridge. We did stay back the end of the game for about 15 minutes to get a few autographs, but were amazed at how easy it was to get outa Dodge, given the terrible reputation it has.

I would always go via Cavan myself. The terrible reputation stems from the fact that if Donegal are playing Tyrone or Derry etc the vast majority of match traffic would be parked up and heading back the same way.

Yeah, that makes sense alright. We parked up on the road too & had about a 5 minute walk into town. There were loads of other Dubs cars that did the same thing. When we got back to our car, it was the only one left on the road. I was just surprised at how quickly everyone cleared out, given the traffic rep the town has. I suppose the crowd only being 10, 000 odd had a good bit to do with it too.

Anyway, after such a good experience, I would deffo go back again for the craic of an Ulster final. 'Mon Cavan ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

We breezed out of the place towards Cavan after the match having left it on that side of the town beforehand. Remarkably easy jaunt back home :) I like Clones anyways but when you see a good performance like that it does make it that bit better.

Fenton scored a good goal and put in the decent shift, I hope to see him out again for us. Jack & MDMA continue to frustrate by carrying the ball into trouble and coughing up ball or fouling; that's not the way around the blanket defence. Flynn and Connolly showed how it's done with some beautiful points over the top. My MOTM was Rory O'Carroll - he saved our bacon a few times, especially in the second half as Monaghan sought to cut into our lead. The black cards were nonsense IMO, though I'm willing to give them another look on the Sunday League on RTE player in a bit.

I would prefer a different opponent but if we don't get complacent with Monaghan next Sunday we'll end up meeting either Cork or Donegal

M1 is out my back garden,so I ran with the road to Monaghan,no great hassle getting home either.

I was thinking with Derry & Tyrone going down will Roscommon and Cavan take their place in the 2 year cycle of fixtures .. if so both are in Croker next year ,, welcome to the big time lads ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

DoctaDee wrote: »
    M1 is out my back garden,so I ran with the road to Monaghan,no great hassle getting home either.

I was thinking with Derry & Tyrone going down will Roscommon and Cavan take their place in the 2 year cycle of fixtures .. if so both are in Croker next year ,, welcome to the big time lads ! :D

We got promoted? Woo hoo ðŸ˜႒

.......The NFL predictions thread has so far shown emphatically that Dublin are expected to retain the title. I'd also be of the general view that they'll do so, in fact the biggest hurdle for Dublin in the league to my mind will be to make the top 4 and this will be far from a foregone conclusion. The unpredictability of early season games is the downfall of looking at the likely outcome. Last year we got out of jail a man and 6(?) points down to Mayo, a man down and the last kick of the game win against Tyrone (thanks DC). They were the turning points that got us into the semis, the capitulation of Cork in the semi and dismantling of Derry in the final, and it's worth remembering that both led the Dubs a merry dance in the earlier stages of the league, so yeah get us to April and we'll take it from there.

We'll take that trophy now ...:rolleyes:

Tom Joad wrote: »
    We got promoted? Woo hoo ðŸ˜႒

:o:o Yiz did in my eyes .. lol .. I've always referrred to Down as east Cavan ..

Don't think so. I think we will be away to the two promoted counties (what ever you want to call them :p ) Donegal - and possibly one other county if we are kicking off a new 2 yr cycle.

We had four away games this year. So we are due to have four at home next year. As we played Cork, Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan away, we are due to have them all at home next year, leaving everyone else (including the 2 promoted counties) to be played away. If they are starting a new 2 year cycle, we may only have three home games, but they'll be three out of Monaghan, Kerry, Cork and Mayo.

Clear as mud, right?

Thanks PD ..I'm just running it past stephen hawking for his opinion:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Don't think so. I think we will be away to the two promoted counties (what ever you want to call them :p ) Donegal - and possibly one other county if we are kicking off a new 2 yr cycle.

We had four away games this year. So we are due to have four at home next year. As we played Cork, Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan away, we are due to have them all at home next year, leaving everyone else (including the 2 promoted counties) to be played away. If they are starting a new 2 year cycle, we may only have three home games, but they'll be three out of Monaghan, Kerry, Cork and Mayo.

Clear as mud, right?

I'd be surprised if Dublin are going near Roscommon next year. The Hyde is due to shut down for all of 2016 for redevelopment and the second county ground in Kiltoom hosts a max of 4000. Barring renting out Tuam or Carrick the only home games for us that make sense are against the counties that don't have any discernible travelling support - Cork and Kerry - and teams whose travelling support can be mostly accommodated in Kiltoom, Down and Monaghan.

That is assuming the GAA don't want to leave money on the table..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Hugely impressive away performance following on from Castlebar. The kick passing was excellent, and it was encouraging to see Bernard get some of his swagger back. I've spent the last couple of months discounting the merits of Tomás Brady starting in the championship but at this stage I've got to be honest and say he is 100% deserving - there's any number of admirable qualities. I'm nearly sure all the front 6 got on the scoresheet so the scores are liable to come from all over. That's 2 decent canings we've given Monaghan now, I hope there's no complacency for next week.

In other news Alan joins up with the panel this week, so there's plenty to be encouraged about going into the Summer
    As a Dublin fan ye have a lot to be encouraged with as you say here but aside from other players coming back biggest benefit yr have is ye have an outstanding coach and ones who incredibly humble and honest and when he says something he actually talks the talk combined with a Dublin team that have evolved crucially this league

My example is gavin got it wrong v donegal last year but he had the honestly and balls and courage to admit this and take any pressure off he's players and erase self doubts as he was man enough to know the system beat donegal last year

One key point imo being missed by the media is Dublin have conceded just 2-78 all league and still scored a lot but have the best defensive record in division one and out all division only fermanagh and offaly have slightly better but that's irrelevant due to inferior opposition they played

Dublin are best defensive team in the league
    Imo evolving of this system is huge bonus to fans and there is only two teams win all Ireland kerry or Dublin
    They could meet in a semi final which means some other team will get to a final but I can't see any other winner than these two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

What a difference a week and a half makes!

Saw away at the weekend so missed the game, great to see the comments on this

In many ways this team seems to start to perform when flynn and connelly come into form, they fix the midfield issues, offer options from kickouts , distribute the ball or score if you stand off them.

It's very similar to kerrys galvin and cooper 5 years ago(at their best imo ), although there is only one Gooch, Galvin, Connelly and Flynn are similar from an inspiration point of view the team works and gels best when they are on form.
    With respect to Connelly I'd say the defeat to Donegal last year was notable in that he played well but Dublin lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Stoner wrote: »
    Connelly and Connelly are similar
    You'd certainly expect that :P

We'd take two

Handy in a black card situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Going to give this match 5 minutes, against my better judgement and see how Donegal try to 'play'.
    hopefully its a good game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Slattsy wrote: »
    Going to give this match 5 minutes, against my better judgement and see how Donegal try to 'play'.
    hopefully its a good game though.

Just flicked on there about the ten minute mark, some great scoring from both sides.