Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

It's what it's all about, at the end of the day.

Tell me, do you spend as much time over in the Mayo thread, rubbishing the performances of big name Mayo players (such as Aidan O'Shea or his brother) in big games, as you do Dublin players in this one? MDMA is a liability. Kev Mc is a one trick pony. Connolly is an under performer. On and on it goes. Where is the oh so intelligent & rational critique of Mayo's players....hmmmmmm ?????? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Kauto wrote: »
    I dont know what you are reading but every newspaper saying Dublin didnt turn up blah blah and they will win the replay handy enough.

Dublin are 4/9 and without a doubt favorites so stop talking s hite

This post below is exactly what I am talking about:
    Very little to say that Dublin wont produce the same display in the replay. They beat a rubbish Kerry team with so many has beens by a couple of points and we are led to believe this is one of the greatest team ever?

They are a team in decline and have been for the last 12-18 months. Fair play to them for continuing to win matches but it will be coming to an end in a few weeks.

What keeps confusing me is that if Dublin were so bad and have been in decline for so long, it must have been some terrible Mayo team that barely scraped a draw with them in injury time. Yet all I hear is how brilliant Mayo are. Strange, very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

ProudDUB wrote: »
    It's what it's all about, at the end of the day.

Tell me, do you spend as much time over in the Mayo thread, rubbishing the performances of big name Mayo players (such as Aidan O'Shea or his brother) in big games, as you do Dublin players in this one? MDMA is a liability. Kev Mc is a one trick pony. Connolly is an under performer. On and on it goes. Where is the oh so intelligent & rational critique of Mayo's players....hmmmmmm ?????? :rolleyes:

I'm reacting to whats written on here and in the papers. I am no fan of either O'Shea. I felt Aidan cost Mayo an All Ireland with his glory hunting runs against Kerry a few years ago. He continually slows down their play and i personally would prefer to bring him on with 20 mins to go but that will never happen. I am a neutral but would love to see Mayo win, not out of any spite for Dublin i might add.
    The dismissive posts on here and in the papers about Mayo is astounding. People talking about Dublin not turning up etc. There is very little between these teams regardless of what the papers would have you believe.

Now dont get me wrong, Mayo will need every bit of luck and more throughout the game to win, not because they are not good enough but because the longer you go without winning one of these finals the harder it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Godge wrote: »
    This post below is exactly what I am talking about:

What keeps confusing me is that if Dublin were so bad and have been in decline for so long, it must have been some terrible Mayo team that barely scraped a draw with them in injury time. Yet all I hear is how brilliant Mayo are. Strange, very strange.

Who has said Mayo are a brilliant side? They are a very decent side in a very poor era of teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

14370050_151287911990566_8091448373660123697_n.jpg?oh=aa2e410a52bc5eb68dfedf96b37ae7a4&oe=587886EF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,078 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Godge wrote: »
    I am amazed at some of the stuff I am reading online. If I had arrived down from outer space I would be concluding that Mayo won the game handily enough and only need to turn up the next day to collect the trophy.

I certainly hope the mentality of the Mayo supporters is reflected in the team next time out as they will take a hammering. Failing to beat Dublin in Dublin's worst performance in half a decade wouldn't give me any confidence let alone the bravado and bragging I am seeing everywhere.

The internet is around long enough, you really shouldn't be amazed if you come across an idiot or two. If those aliens arrived a fortnight ago, then they could be forgiven for thinking Dublin had already won the All Ireland by 11 points.

If you're seeing it everywhere then you're looking in all the wrong places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Kalyke wrote: »
    14370050_151287911990566_8091448373660123697_n.jpg?oh=aa2e410a52bc5eb68dfedf96b37ae7a4&oe=587886EF

what exactly is this supposed to mean? what's the point of a screen grab like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

Connolly got on a lot of ball alright. Scored 1 point and had 1 good pass. Other than that did very little. Job done for Keegan and Mayo.
    Your dreaming if you think that is enough for the supposed best player in Ireland.
    He has been a constant disappointment in finals and its hard to see it changing in the replay. Keegan has him in his pocket.

So the logic is...Connolly scores lots/ Keegan has a bad game. Connolly scores little/Keegan has a good game. They're the choices.

Why don't you actually open your eyes and watch Keegan and watch for his contributions? He didn't do anything. He couldn't stop Connolly one on one and he didn't beat him to any ball.

Statistics 101....correlation doesn't imply causation. Keegan was anonymous. Connolly had a good game.

I'm reacting to whats written on here and in the papers. I am no fan of either O'Shea. I felt Aidan cost Mayo an All Ireland with his glory hunting runs against Kerry a few years ago. He continually slows down their play and i personally would prefer to bring him on with 20 mins to go but that will never happen. I am a neutral but would love to see Mayo win, not out of any spite for Dublin i might add.
    The dismissive posts on here and in the papers about Mayo is astounding. People talking about Dublin not turning up etc. There is very little between these teams regardless of what the papers would have you believe.

Now dont get me wrong, Mayo will need every bit of luck and more throughout the game to win, not because they are not good enough but because the longer you go without winning one of these finals the harder it gets.

See now, that wasn't that hard, was it? You have changed your tune. On the day before the final you stated twice that Mayo are the better team. Two, two sentence posts, with no reasoning to back up such an emphatic statement.

Did Mayo win the All Ireland last year? No. Did Mayo win the league this year? No. Did Mayo win their province this year? No. Did Mayo beat a Div 1 side in their run to the final? No. Did Mayo need a dodgy peno to win their first qualifier? Yes. Did Mayo have a very poor opening 20/25 minutes in their semi final against a Division 3 county? Yes.

So how any of that, would lead anyone to automatically think Mayo are the better team, is delusional. It sounded like classic wind up merchant-ery.

I agree. There is little between the two teams. The results over recent years prove that. Mayo's over reliance on Aidan O'Shea is to their detriment imo. He has many talents, but he is also lacking in many key areas, such as pace, mobility & decision making. But I am not going over to the Mayo thread and lobbing in hand grenades, with no opinions or facts to back them up. That $hit just gets peoples backs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Look any chance you could move the tit4tat point scoring posts to the AI Replay thread please - this constant droning has monopolised discussion for nearly 2 weeks now. I'd like to think that there'd be at least some refuge from all that guff for those that have no inclination to get involved and would rather engage about the Dublin team. Thanks

I am defending the honour of the Dublin team. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Gael85 wrote: »
    Flynner looks burned out. Could do with 6 months off as carrying a few niggling injuries over last couple years. We have very little alternatives at 10 & 12. A great servant winning 4 All Stars in 4 years.

Glad other have seen this. Flynner has been the engine of this Dublin team for 4 or 5 years now and is far more important to the team than Connolly or Brogan in my opinion. If Dublin do come through replay he should be rested and not see action again until next July.

Whatever about trying Brady at full back it is a bit late in the day now and i think Cooper has been very good. The obvious replacement for Flynner is not on the panel, (Reddin) (I would say that being a club mate)). Who played that half forward link role very effectively when he was given a chance

O'Conaighile and Lowndes both are quality players but not sure I would start either. Gavin should have given both more game time earlier in campaign. The one I thought we would get to see a bit of is Con O'Callaghan. He might be young but if he is good enough........ Great pace and an eye for goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Good point Leo but I think Reddin might have lost out to Shane B Carthy and in all fairness he's very close to having Flynns engine I've heard that's the opinion too. Carthy can take on a point too. I was impressed with his improvement this year

I think Lowndes has been given time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

LeoB wrote: »
    Glad other have seen this. Flynner has been the engine of this Dublin team for 4 or 5 years now and is far more important to the team than Connolly or Brogan in my opinion. If Dublin do come through replay he should be rested and not see action again until next July.

Whatever about trying Brady at full back it is a bit late in the day now and i think Cooper has been very good. The obvious replacement for Flynner is not on the panel, (Reddin) (I would say that being a club mate)). Who played that half forward link role very effectively when he was given a chance

O'Conaighile and Lowndes both are quality players but not sure I would start either. Gavin should have given both more game time earlier in campaign. The one I thought we would get to see a bit of is Con O'Callaghan. He might be young but if he is good enough........ Great pace and an eye for goal

Thought Reddin was going well in 2014 and even came on in league final against Derry and scored a point. Def a better footballer than Tomas Brady and very surprised Jim Gavin never gave him more game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

what exactly is this supposed to mean? what's the point of a screen grab like this?

It's living proof that not everyone knows about about perspective.

"This is small but they are far away" as Ted once said.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

LeoB wrote: »
    Hope so, but I wouldnt be suprised if flynn went down the rory o'carroll road, he's gone to the well a lot under Gavin

Bambi wrote: »
    Hope so, but I wouldnt be suprised if flynn went down the rory o'carroll road, he's gone to the well a lot under Gavin

If he gets the opportunity he should definitely bugger off to Oz or the States for a year. Owes Dublin absolutely nothing at this stage.

He's still one of my favourite players to pull on the jersey. Tough physical player who has rarely if ever crossed the line and a brilliant footballer to top it off.

I personally don't think he's struggling with form more from the "Killkenny effect". He was a great positions to receive the ball in attacking areas on a number of occasions but our point guard completely bypassed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

JRant wrote: »
    If he gets the opportunity he should definitely bugger off to Oz or the States for a year. Owes Dublin absolutely nothing at this stage.

He's still one of my favourite players to pull on the jersey. Tough physical player who has rarely if ever crossed the line and a brilliant footballer to top it off.

I personally don't think he's struggling with form more from the "Killkenny effect". He was a great positions to receive the ball in attacking areas on a number of occasions but our point guard completely bypassed him.

My favourite player ever to pull on the shirt. And you're right about KK there.

I'd say if anyone hasn't featured from the QF onwards they have zero chance of being picked in the replay. They're all credible options next season though. McCaffrey as a half forward next year anyone?

JRant wrote: »

Brogan (59th min) and Rock (20th min) missed opportunities to put clean him through too.

Flynn used to be famed for the distances he covered in matches. Its hard to tell from the stands but the groin injuries seem to be effecting that. He seems normal now!

Yes i'm that sad i checked the minutes.:)

corny wrote: »
    Brogan (59th min) and Rock (20th min) missed opportunities to put clean him through too.

Flynn used to be famed for the distances he covered in matches. Its hard to tell from the stands but the groin injuries seem to be effecting that. He seems normal now!

Yes i'm that sad i checked the minutes.:)

He seems to be moving freely enough but maybe he can't put as much practice into shooting since the groin went. I know when I did mine it took an awful long time to get 100% confidence back in it, especially when shooting.

It is also incredibly frustrating to be making those runs time after time and not get put in. After a while you just don't make as many because you know it's completely in vain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I've been banging on about Flynn for 2 years here. Puts in the graft, but he's not scoring and his passing has gone to pot. Its almost like he's afraid to take a risk and just plays safe. Could he play midfield? Midfield isnt all about fielding and high balls anymore, esp how often we play short. Could work.. I'd have Andrews in ahead of him in 2 weeks anyway.

But tbh honest, i wouldnt be one bit surprised if JG kept the same 15.

Same can be said for KK - the boy can kick points for fun but why oh why doesnt he do it more often!!?? How many chances did he pass up on Sunday :(

I said at the fulltime whistle we were lucky to get out with a draw. Even though Mayo kicked the final point, we were shocking up top. I might get slated for this (I will!) but im glad we didnt win the game playing like that. Credit to the Mayo defence, they were tight on their men, but our forwards just didnt perform. I knew once i seen the weather forecast that we could struggle. Even in last years final we squandered a lot of ball.

Disappointed by Rock, apparently he was injured though so maybe an excuse as i thought he seemed to be stabbing at the ball rather than following through. Moot point anyway, he missed 2 handy frees.

1-7 i thought were very good - i cant say anything that hasnt been said. Fenton classy as usual. MD - no comment. Bastic should start.

COC was his usual self, in the refs, umpires and linesmans ear every few minutes. I know MD caught COC around the neck, but COC goes to ground clutching his face :D

Now I grew up watching that Meath team from the 90s, now they were tough, and dished it out in spades - but they could take it aswell. If i could use one word to describe this Mayo team it would be sly. They cant take it. Always moaning and trying to get players into trouble. AOS just moaned all game, what a total fraud anyway. Hopefully Deegan spotted all this from the sideline on Sunday. Im glad he got the gig actually, i like him.

I'm just hoping for a dry day on the 1st of October and a better performance. After that there's no complaints. Oh and a ticket!!!
    Its also my birthday, normally I'd be Michelin Star-ing it - but not this birthday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Pretty fair summation Slats!

Meath would go through you for a short cut, but no matter what happened, they were on their feet. Never stayed down. Only players that were ever taken off in those games had broken something or were concussed.

Sure, Mayo still whinging about 1996 ffs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

corny wrote: »
    I'd say if anyone hasn't featured from the QF onwards they have zero chance of being picked in the replay. They're all credible options next season though. McCaffrey as a half forward next year anyone?

He's the best wingback in the Country so no thanks. Maybe give it a little try in the league but I don't see much point.

Flynn will go down as a great Dublin player but he seems to need a break I would agree. He went from one of the best footballers in the Country to not really contributing much the last 2 seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

He's the best wingback in the Country so no thanks. Maybe give it a little try in the league but I don't see much point.

Flynn will go down as a great Dublin player but he seems to need a break I would agree. He went from one of the best footballers in the Country to not really contributing much the last 2 seasons.

The think is though fellas like Flynn, Brogan constantly under-performing and Kevin Mc (to a lesser extent as the last game seemed to be a blip for him) These lads have a store of reputation build around them and the opposition are wary of them.

Personally I would drop Bernard and Flynn. I wanted Bernard dropped three/four games ago to give him a kick in the @rse.

But as I said they have big reputations which still worry the opposition on it's own.

I think all three lads I mentioned would make better subs at this stage (especially Kevin Mc- he is THE super sub).

I would doubt if Flynn and Bernard would be starters by the time next years business end championship rolls around?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

All this talk of dropping people is all well and good, but where are the replacements? I love winning 4 league titles in a row, but one of my biggest problems with our current predicament, is that we haven't been using the league to blood new players. I'm starting to think that finding Brian Fenton last year, was more by luck than design. I was down in Enniscorthy & Longford. Seeing the likes of Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock, Dennis Bastick, Johnny Cooper etc etc lining out for us, in the first week of January, was depressing.

Drop Flynn, ok, who replaces him, that is tried and tested? Drop Bernard? Ok, who replaces him.....Mannion & O'Gara, haven't started and finished a championship game in 2 years? Cormac Costello and O'Callaghan, they should be our future, but where are they? (I see Paddy Andrews and Kev Mc being a straight swop for each other btw.) Paul Flynn has been under performing for 2 years now. After his poor year last year, mgt should have been working on a possible Plan B, especially as with Alan being gone, our half forward bench option are further depleted. They obviously haven't and that is a worry.

The Berno thing is baffling me. Dunno how you can say he is living off past reputations. He scored 6-19 last year and was in line for Footballer of The Year. You don't need a kick up the hole, if that is your jumping off point. The lack of good ball into him and the absence of Jack Mc in creating goal opportunities, is a big part of why his scoring numbers are down. But there is more to it than that and I have no idea what it is. But what I do know, is that Costello, McDaid and O'Callaghan,( O'Conaigle & Lowdnes too possibly, but they seems to have fallen off the radar completely) are not options and by now, they should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The Berno thing is baffling me. Dunno how you can say he is living off past reputations. He scored 6-19 last year and was in line for Footballer of The Year. You don't need a kick up the hole, if that is your jumping off point. The lack of good ball into him and the absence of Jack Mc in creating goal opportunities

I don't know why you are baffled by it his pace is not the same as it was, and he has not been as accurate kicking his points. He just hangs around waiting for the ball to come to him and hope that it it falls nicely. I think no Jack Mc is making excuses for him. In other words Berno has a tendency to go missing in games these days.

The rest of your previous post I would agree with there was only one game in the league where a lot of second string lads were given a run out where qualification was already assured.

I would like to see mannion and Paddy andrews start instead of Brogan and Kevin Mc. There is no replacement for flynn at the moment even a 50% flynn. Making next year Small could play the Flynn role? He has the engine for it.

Part of me hopes that Jim goes cavalier and throws in O'Callaghan into the starting line up and not tell him until the last minute. He looked very composed in the AI u21 semi-final and looks like a fella who would not be phased by pressure. I know it won't happen though!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Well, I think we have different criteria for how we judge BB and what constitutes 'recently'. I think the 90 second span in last years semi final replay, where he scored one goal and created another out of nothing for Philly, was his finest ever moment in a Dubs jersey. He kicked the winning score in the Monaghan league game. He got Man of The Match in the Leinster Final. That may not be good enough for some. It is good enough for me, especially when you add in the fear factor, his track record against Mayo in particular & how his always being guaranteed extra special attention, opens up chances for others.

That being said, he has had a run of 3 poor games now. (Although, I think he never got the credit for his work rate and, the 3 on 1 man marking situ he often found himself in against Donegal.) The time is now here, to explore our options further in the full forward line. I don't have a problem with that.....my problem is the lack of genuine, viable options to replace him.

The talk of Bernards poor form has taken on a life of its own at this stage. He hasn't been that bad. He had a decent game against a good opponent in the semi. In the final he showed well for it when Dublin were trying to work the ball inside. That stopped abruptly in the second half for some reason. Not his fault. He hasn't had a standout game yet and thats what some folk demand.

Only because 4 (Rock, Andrews, BB, Kev Mc) into 3 doesn't go is place in any jeopardy. Thats not the same as saying he's ****e and should be relegated to the bench as a kick up the arse.

Unfortunately, Berno suffers from Joe Canning Disease. If he is not scoring 2-12 per game, it's off with his head ! :rolleyes: