Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

That_Guy wrote: »
    I agree that Bernard should be dropped for sure. He's been poor over the last few games but he always draws two opposition defenders to him which does free up a bit of space for scoring opportunities. Granted, we didn't put any away yesterday but he is invaluable in that regards. He draws a lot of players out of position.

That said, we need scores and he's just not really providing that killer instinct for whatever reason.

I tend to think full forwards should do two things, score or set up scores.

Full backs will be delighted to be dragged all over the place if no ones scoring from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That_Guy wrote: »
    I agree that Bernard should be dropped for sure. He's been poor over the last few games but he always draws two opposition defenders to him which does free up a bit of space for scoring opportunities. Granted, we didn't put any away yesterday but he is invaluable in that regards. He draws a lot of players out of position.

That said, we need scores and he's just not really providing that killer instinct for whatever reason.

The bolded bit above is why you'd want to be really careful about dropping him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Gungadin wrote: »
    Mayo-The Jimmy White of Gaelic Football.
    Foff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Stoner wrote: »
    True but at the end of the day it's not about being fair to McManamon, it's about winning.

And I think Kev puts us in a better position to do so given Bernard's bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

The bolded bit above is why you'd want to be really careful about dropping him.

Does he though? Any more so than any other lone inside forward? I mean Kev McL was sweeping for Mayo but most of the time I remember BB being 1 v 1.

He just doesn't look the same to me, he's lost a yard of pace and for his game that's crucial. He still has that killer instinct for a goal but his easy dispossessions (always seems to carry the ball with one hand) break down a lot of our attacks. He hasn't scored much this season either. Aside from this '2 defenders' theory what is he really contributing to keep him ahead of Andrews, Kev Mc, Mannion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I don't think it's coincidental that berno's underperforming or demise began when alan was both second choice and subsequent retirement. they fed off each other and that innate understanding they had for one another, positioning and reading where one another would be on the field can't be underestimated.

But Alan hardly played last year's at and bernard was performing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Was actually glad i didn't get a ticket in the end after pleading and begging all sources for the past two weeks.

The real moment that sticks with me is the last passage which lead to Connolly putting a wide ball after wrestling the ball of Kilkenny on the sideline.

Kilkenny takes the sideline, we keep possession , we win the game. It was a very selfish move on DC's behalf and totally against the team ethic that Gavin pushes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭omega man

BKWDR wrote: »
    Was actually glad i didn't get a ticket in the end after pleading and begging all sources for the past two weeks.

The real moment that sticks with me is the last passage which lead to Connolly putting a wide ball after wrestling the ball of Kilkenny on the sideline.

Kilkenny takes the sideline, we keep possession , we win the game. It was a very selfish move on DC's behalf and totally against the team ethic that Gavin pushes.

Ref wasn't going to blow on 77 though so I'd imagine we'd have had to hold out for 1.30 or 2 mins after that sideline ball, and having not held onto the ball too well up to that either. I still agree that Connolly should have left it with Kilkenny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

Only in hindsight is it straightforward though. At the time i thought Connolly was right to go for the point. He slowed down the game some more and i thought he'd get it tbh.

The odd thing was Dublin weren't set for the ball going dead. Keeper kicked the ball short and we were chasing shadows up the pitch due to being out of position. I saw Fenton waving his arms furiously asking lads to track back into position. Strange. We should have been set and ready for their kick out. Thats not Connollys fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Purposely stayed off boards until i get to see the replay in full, no doubt all the clowns were out. And my hangover was pretty nasty!

Will watch it tonight and report back - but by God we were shiiiite yesterday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

omega man wrote: »
    Ref wasn't going to blow on 77 though so I'd imagine we'd have had to hold out for 1.30 or 2 mins after that sideline ball, and having not held onto the ball too well up to that either. I still agree that Connolly should have left it with Kilkenny though.

does Connolly take these sidelines often like that or was it just a spontaneous moment of a mixture of idiocy, bravery, arrogance or desperate to be the hero after all the frustration he endured all game?

No doubt he would be able to hit that with his ability but unless you are almost guaranteed to score that you dont risk losing possession when you are a point up with 1 or two minutes to go. Jeez, you can even try work a score.

The more I think of it, the crazier it seems that a player at that level and experience with 14 experienced players around him and his management team 50 yards away would allow himself and be allowed to try that at that stage of the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

corny wrote: »
    Only in hindsight is it straightforward though. At the time i thought Connolly was right to go for the point. He slowed down the game some more and i thought he'd get it tbh.

The odd thing was Dublin weren't set for the ball going dead. Keeper kicked the ball short and we were chasing shadows up the pitch due to being out of position. I saw Fenton waving his arms furiously asking lads to track back into position. Strange. We should have been set and ready for their kick out. Thats not Connollys fault.

Connolly is the Dublin vice captain. That should count for something, when the actual captain of the team is stuck back in the goal mouth. At the end of the day, all of the players are responsible for their own actions, but at such a pivotal moment in the game, the de facto out field captain should be making sure that everyone knows EXACTLY where they should be and, what they should be doing. That $hit wouldn't have gone down if Bryan Cullen was still captain, that's for sure. Such an important role should go to Cian O'Sullivan, or Paul Flynn (lack of form, not withstanding) or Ciaran Kilkenny, lads who be relied upon to keep their head & make sensible decisions, when the game is in the melting pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Finally got to actually see the game tonight after being at it yesterday. It was as rubbish on the tv as it was in the flesh.

McCarthy's black card was scandalous but Lane just loves to send him to the sideline.

Speaking of which Lane had an absolute stinker. MDMA should have had a black card long before he clotheslined the Mayo lad. Keegan should have been booked about 4 times from watching him live. The amount of times he pulled Dermo to the ground in front of the linesmen and umpires was ridiculous.
    COC should also have had a black card in the 70th minute for his rugby tackle and shouldn't have been on the pitch to equalise.

Thought Moran had a great game, looked a right handful and AOS was well marshalled all game.

Small was terrific as was Copper and Fenton got through an incredible amount of work. There were a number of times where MDMA just went awol. I just don't think we can start with MDMA in the replay.

Dermo is getting an awful lot of stick but he put in a serious shift. I counted at least 3/4 times he tracked back and nicked possession back with Mayo looking set to score. Plus Keegan got away with murder yesterday on him.

Kilkenny did my nut in yesterday. Yes I understand he has a role to play but what is he doing back in the fullback line picking up ball. All that did was drag the whole team deeper and left the inside forwards in no mans land. There was too big a gap between them and the rest of the team. He needs to be picking up the ball in the halfback line and no deeper.

I'd also start Kev Mc next time out. Nobody on that panel will be more hungry to improve on their performance and knowing him that's exactly what he'll do. I'd also start Andrews for Flynn to give the Mayo lads a problem to deal with. Yeah he won't work back as hard as Flynn but if his marker leaves him alone he'll punish them big style.

A few minor changes required to beat Mayo but we can certainly do it. Add in a ref that's not Lane and I'm quietly confident.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Connolly is the Dublin vice captain. That should count for something, when the actual captain of the team is stuck back in the goal mouth. At the end of the day, all of the players are responsible for their own actions, but at such a pivotal moment in the game, the de facto out field captain should be making sure that everyone knows EXACTLY where they should be and, what they should be doing. That $hit wouldn't have gone down if Bryan Cullen was still captain, that's for sure. Such an important role should go to Cian O'Sullivan, or Paul Flynn (lack of form, not withstanding) or Ciaran Kilkenny, lads who be relied upon to keep their head & make sensible decisions, when the game is in the melting pot.

Whats he supposed to do ask the referee to stop the game so he can go around to each individual player and tell them to mark up when he kicks it dead?

JRant wrote: »
    Finally got to actually see the game tonight after being at it yesterday. It was as rubbish on the tv as it was in the flesh.

McCarthy's black card was scandalous but Lane just loves to send him to the sideline.

Speaking of which Lane had an absolute stinker. MDMA should have had a black card long before he clotheslined the Mayo lad. Keegan should have been booked about 4 times from watching him live. The amount of times he pulled Dermo to the ground in front of the linesmen and umpires was ridiculous.
    COC should also have had a black card in the 70th minute for his rugby tackle and shouldn't have been on the pitch to equalise.

Thought Moran had a great game, looked a right handful and AOS was well marshalled all game.

Small was terrific as was Copper and Fenton got through an incredible amount of work. There were a number of times where MDMA just went awol. I just don't think we can start with MDMA in the replay.

Dermo is getting an awful lot of stick but he put in a serious shift. I counted at least 3/4 times he tracked back and nicked possession back with Mayo looking set to score. Plus Keegan got away with murder yesterday on him.

Kilkenny did my nut in yesterday. Yes I understand he has a role to play but what is he doing back in the fullback line picking up ball. All that did was drag the whole team deeper and left the inside forwards in no mans land. There was too big a gap between them and the rest of the team. He needs to be picking up the ball in the halfback line and no deeper.

I'd also start Kev Mc next time out. Nobody on that panel will be more hungry to improve on their performance and knowing him that's exactly what he'll do. I'd also start Andrews for Flynn to give the Mayo lads a problem to deal with. Yeah he won't work back as hard as Flynn but if his marker leaves him alone he'll punish them big style.

A few minor changes required to beat Mayo but we can certainly do it. Add in a ref that's not Lane and I'm quietly confident.

Connolly put Keegan on his arse twice in the game. He dispossessed him close to their goal too only to be saved by SOS. Keegan getting a lot of stick and worship in equal measure but in reality the game passed him by. Connolly instigated just as much as he did if not more. It didn't bother either of them.

Agreed Connolly had a good game.

Whats he supposed to do ask the referee to stop the game so he can go around to each individual player and tell them to mark up when he kicks it dead?

Do I detect the faint whiff of sarcasm from your post? :eek:

Say it ain't so mi compadre ! :(

Leadership comes in many forms. The ability to make your wishes known, when it matters most, should be a requisite for getting a captaincy or vice captaincy role. How he does it, is up to him.

Do I detect the faint whiff of sarcasm from your post? :eek:

Say it ain't so mi compadre ! :(

Leadership comes in many forms. The ability to make your wishes known, when it matters most, should be a requisite for getting a captaincy or vice captaincy role. How he does it, is up to him.

Sarcasm...not at all.

Maybe telepathy or a megaphone would be come in handy. Ok that one was sarcasm.:p

Foolish stick to beat him with if you ask me. In hindsight maybe it wasn't the right decision to go for the posts but the lads with All Ireland medals in their arse pockets shouldn't need to be told Mayo might attack when he kicks this. They were caught out and thats on them.

Funnily enough Connolly got closet to putting in a challenge and he had to come from the touchline!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Connolly put Keegan on his arse twice in the game. He dispossessed him close to their goal too only to be saved by SOS. Keegan getting a lot of stick and worship in equal measure but in reality the game passed him by. Connolly instigated just as much as he did if not more. It didn't bother either of them.

Neither of them are angels alright.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

That pass for the second goal :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

So what's the plan for the Keegan and Connolly match up. How does Connolly free himself up more? Do we accept that they cancel each other out and leave it at that? Or accept that Connolly can only get so much off of Keegan?

jon1981 wrote: »
    So what's the plan for the Keegan and Connolly match up. How does Connolly free himself up more? Do we accept that they cancel each other out and leave it at that? Or accept that Connolly can only get so much off of Keegan?

I hear the narrative but it doesn't stand up to scrutiny. Watch the game back, Connolly got on a lot of ball and not once did Keegan get a challenge in, beat him to it or slow him up. As usual he gets credit for non existent work. He did little of note as a defender or an attacker.

The perverse thing is the narrative for Keegan putting Connolly off probably worked the other way around this time. Connolly was ultra aggressive and started more pushing and shoving than Keegan did (probably still fuming from last year). Got away with punches and a clear black card too. It was Keegan who was 'rattled'.

So no they don't cancel each other out. Connolly beat him twice when they were isolated in the game. He's very capable of doing the same again if Dublin can occupy the cover defenders. Easier said than done i fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Paulzx

jon1981 wrote: »
    How does Connolly free himself up more?

Playing topless would probably help:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

I hear the narrative but it doesn't stand up to scrutiny. Watch the game back, Connolly got on a lot of ball and not once did Keegan get a challenge in, beat him to it or slow him up. As usual he gets credit for non existent work. He did little of note as a defender or an attacker.

The perverse thing is the narrative for Keegan putting Connolly off probably worked the other way around this time. Connolly was ultra aggressive and started more pushing and shoving than Keegan did (probably still fuming from last year). Got away with punches and a clear black card too. It was Keegan who was 'rattled'.

So no they don't cancel each other out. Connolly beat him twice when they were isolated in the game. He's very capable of doing the same again if Dublin can occupy the cover defenders. Easier said than done i fear.

Connolly got on a lot of ball alright. Scored 1 point and had 1 good pass. Other than that did very little. Job done for Keegan and Mayo.
    Your dreaming if you think that is enough for the supposed best player in Ireland.
    He has been a constant disappointment in finals and its hard to see it changing in the replay. Keegan has him in his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

ok but Keegans job is to defend, Connolly to score/assist. I think it's clear Keegan did a better job that day. Connolly was not up to his usual standard because Keegan kept him quiet. 1 point from play and an assist is not good enough for Irelands best forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

I am amazed at some of the stuff I am reading online. If I had arrived down from outer space I would be concluding that Mayo won the game handily enough and only need to turn up the next day to collect the trophy.

I certainly hope the mentality of the Mayo supporters is reflected in the team next time out as they will take a hammering. Failing to beat Dublin in Dublin's worst performance in half a decade wouldn't give me any confidence let alone the bravado and bragging I am seeing everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Godge wrote: »
    I am amazed at some of the stuff I am reading online. If I had arrived down from outer space I would be concluding that Mayo won the game handily enough and only need to turn up the next day to collect the trophy.

I certainly hope the mentality of the Mayo supporters is reflected in the team next time out as they will take a hammering. Failing to beat Dublin in Dublin's worst performance in half a decade wouldn't give me any confidence let alone the bravado and bragging I am seeing everywhere.
    Yeah but Dublin were an unbeatable juggernaut!! Best team this century etc etc

Godge wrote: »

I dont know what you are reading but every newspaper saying Dublin didnt turn up blah blah and they will win the replay handy enough.

Dublin are 4/9 and without a doubt favorites so stop talking s hite

Kauto wrote: »
    Connolly got on a lot of ball alright. Scored 1 point and had 1 good pass. Other than that did very little. Job done for Keegan and Mayo.
    Your dreaming if you think that is enough for the supposed best player in Ireland.
    He has been a constant disappointment in finals and its hard to see it changing in the replay. Keegan has him in his pocket.

And guess what Connolly has in his pocket? I'll give you a clue. He has three of them. Lee Keegan, for all his Mr T carry on, has how many? :rolleyes:

Very little to say that Dublin wont produce the same display in the replay. They beat a rubbish Kerry team with so many has beens by a couple of points and we are led to believe this is one of the greatest team ever?

They are a team in decline and have been for the last 12-18 months. Fair play to them for continuing to win matches but it will be coming to an end in a few weeks.

And guess what Connolly has in his pocket? I'll give you a clue. He has three of them. Lee Keegan, for all his Mr T carry on, has how many? :rolleyes:

Well done, common default answer when you have no reply.