corny wrote: » Don't get upset. I was just repeating what the Roscommon commentator was saying. Honourable defeat for ye anyway. Enjoy it.
Ken Tucky wrote: » Oh god. Last match v Donegal i wanted to tear my eyeballs out. No doubt it will be more of the same. Dublin v Kerry final would be nice though
ProudDUB wrote: » Donegal next? Christ ! Am having a root canal procedure on Tuesday. I know which one I'll enjoy more.
Slattsy wrote: » Roscommon charging fans 10e for the "complimentary" buses they put on !!! Scandalous, shameless and cringeworthy stuff.
corny wrote: » Really poor loss this evening. Fair play to Limerick they took some brilliant scores, especially in the second half, but we left it behind us a bit. I can't understand how Cunningham did nothing to curb the influence of the Limerick sweeper (number 7). Time and again we'd play it short only for our defenders to drop it right on top of him. WTF is the point in that? I actually believe (i'm in a small minority i think) the short puck outs can yield dividends but if the opposition adapts you have to change it. Another consequence of that was McMorrow, Treacy and McGrath did nothing to stop the Limerick backs coming out with it because they were outnumbered. A number of simple overlaps produced loads of their scores. Referee not sending off the Limerick man for striking was a scandalous decision. Had Rushe rolled around on the ground and accepted medical attention he would have produced a red. Shocking stuff.
ProudDUB wrote: » At least Carrick had "proper" toilets, as such. The stands at Hyde just have portaloos. :rolleyes: The venue change wasn't that big a deal, if you were driving. Added about 30 mins more to the trip. No biggie. The biggest kick in the nuts was for the people who got buses or trains to Roscommon and had no way of getting to Carrick. They would have had a stressful couple of hrs trying to figure out how to get to there, until someone decided to get the finger out with the buses. And then, to add insult to injury, the money grabbing hoors charged money for the buses. The whole thing was a shambles.
Nokotan wrote: I thought Carthy was very good today, as were Fenton and O'Conghaile. They've a good mix of physicality and being good footballers. Full forwards were very hit and miss but I suppose that's what comes with the conditions.
windy shepard henderson wrote: incredible stuff to move the game at the last minute today , carrick on shannon must be nearly an hour drive in the wrong direction for dublin supporters today did many on here get caught?
grimbergen wrote: » Care to revisit that last comment now that the highlights show it was a dive by Rushe? Disgraceful carry-on
corny wrote: » No thanks. I'll stand by what i wrote. The League Sunday replay i saw showed the Limerick man hitting Rushe across the chest. He didn't hit him hard and it was in frustration not malice but thats besides the point. Striking is a red card offence. Referee bottled it.
ProudDUB wrote: » Fair enough so. The one good thing the Ros Co Board have done today is to clarify that. What was the traffic like on the way home? After leaving the car park at the ground, I turned right & headed to Boyle to visit some inlaws. I was heading in the opposite direction to Dublin bound traffic, but cars heading into town on the N4, was backed up for a couple of miles.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » I wouldn't really call it fair. My guess is that those fans did not know there were complimentary buses so organised their own. Roscommon should be ashamed and embarrassed at how they handled this.
donkey balls wrote: » This is what happened yesterday morning me and the lads were about 20 mins away from Roscommon station,When news started to filter through that the match had been switched to Carrick.when we arrived at Roscommon station there was no one from the county board there to inform us of what the situation was. A Gardai car arrived on the scene and we asked was there any buses been laid on to transfer us to Carrick,In fairness to both the guards they made calls about buses been laid on but the answer at the time was NO. One of the guards called a local bus hire company who agreed to take us to Carrick for €10 per person,The people on the train agreed to this and we agreed a time at the Abbey hotel. Around 12 I got a text to say that the Roscommon board were laying on a bus and that it was going be at Molloys bakery,At this stage I thought that the bus I arranged was going be covered by the county board. While leaving the Abbey hotel there was no courtesy bus at the bakers,So we assumed that the bus we were on board was going look after the costs. It was only after talking to the driver that he said no arrangements were made,I have since spoken to the owner of the company who will send me the bill for the bus. The story here is there was no communication from the Roscommon county board,The only offer of support came from the ticket inspector on the train who said that our tickets would be valid for the return journey from Carrick-On-Shannon. In my opinion a member of the Roscommon county board should have met us at the station. Instead of us getting info from FB texts etc. This could have and should have been done more professionally, I'm just a normal fan that tried to make a bleak situation better by trying to organise transport for people that came down on the train. There also was a couple that spend €65 on a taxi due to the man been in a wheel chair were the bus could not accommodate them,What did the county board expect us to do ?sit on our hands hoping that something would be done. The bus operator has been in contact with me and is going to send an invoice out,I don't want the €10 back neither do the lads who were with me. But if the county board could make a donation to two charities I'm sure everyone will be happy.
TCDStudent1 wrote: I wouldn't really call it fair. My guess is that those fans did not know there were complimentary buses so organised their own. Roscommon should be ashamed and embarrassed at how they handled this.