Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I think you're confusing history with politics :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Bambi wrote: »
    The gold and the crest is nice but the image is just a bit too much
    Bonniedog wrote: »
    Noooooooooooo!

I had family involved in Tan War and afterwards, but I do not like associating sport with history and politics.

Shinners try to cash in, quite successfully, with their "City that fought an Empire" jersey.

One of things I like about the Dubs, and GAA in general - and indeed rugby if it comes to that - is that they are inclusive.

Leave the citizen Smith school yard politicization of teams to the laughable 'ultras' that follow LOI.

That's nothing to do with Dublin GAA. I was just stating that the colour scheme is nice. I do loathe "AIG Blue".

If that shirt existed without the sublimated photos I would own it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Bambi wrote: »
    I think you're confusing history with politics :confused:

Haha yeah two totally different things, not.

If its one thing I've learnt from the 1916 celebrations is that we've been fed a very particular 'version' of history by the political system, that excludes a lot of what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Haha yeah two totally different things, not.

If its one thing I've learnt from the 1916 celebrations is that we've been fed a very particular 'version' of history by the political system, that excludes a lot of what actually happened.

Indeed. Best not to have a close relationship between politics or history, and sport.

There are lots of other outlets. Although try telling that to people who think that bringing political party flags and banners to the Hill has got anything whatsoever in the wide earthly to do with what is taking place on the pitch.

You would think we were living in Burma or North Korea where there were no other outlets for this! It also seeks to give the false impression that all Dublin supporters are supporters of whatever issue the interloper believes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I'd be a fan of keeping political and military jiggerypokery as far away from sporting events as possible. I think the Brits obsession with their poppy is way over the top. Forcing everyone from SKY sports presenters, to weather forecasters, to non British guests on Graham Norton's sofa to wear one, is cultural bullying plain and simple.

I was dreading the 1916 celebrations, as I was sure it was going to be one side or another ramming their opinions down everyone elses throats. But I was pleasantly surprised by how it all went. One of the best things to come out of it, wasn't the re examining of what happened in 1916, but re examining how we look back on the past itself. Just look at how fans from different counties look back on matches that finished an hour ago. Good luck getting a consensus there. So what hope do we have with 'proper' history that took place decades ago? Accepting that is the first step on the road to properly examining the past imo.

That being said, the GAA does actually play a role in 1916 and beyond, what with the first Bloody Sunday, Sam Maguire, Her Maj visiting Croke Park etc etc. So I am ok with their getting their spake in, so to speak. I'm just not sure if I want it to be involving a jersey. It's just too easy for special interest groups to hijack it, as we've already seen with the 'city that defeated an empire' geansai's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

...........................Shinners try to cash in, quite successfully, with their "City that fought an Empire" jersey.

One of things I like about the Dubs, and GAA in general - and indeed rugby if it comes to that - is that they are inclusive. .....................

I was wondering where that particular jersey came from ......... I think like a lot of other ordinary supporters I'm a bit uneasy when I see it worn around Croker. I remember posting last year or maybe the year previous about a group of them in The Cusack that genuinely made me embarrassed as a Dub with their carry on

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I was wondering where that particular jersey came from ......... I think like a lot of other ordinary supporters I'm a bit uneasy when I see it worn around Croker. I remember posting last year or maybe the year previous about a group of them in The Cusack that genuinely made me embarrassed as a Dub with their carry on

The Sinn Fein shop on Parnell Sq sells them. You can buy them online too. They don't have any official GAA logo, or Dublin GAA crests on them. So as long as you aren't breaking any copyright laws, pretty much anyone can come up with any jersey design they want, and fob it off as a GAA one. :rolleyes:

I'd much prefer one of the 'Kerry Me Bollix' jerseys. They are pure class. :D

Ah jaysis I guessed as much, thought it might've been a clever marketing strategy from the fellas that used to sell cheeky charlies or the xmas wrapping paper.. any sign of those crepe paper hats making a comeback

The wrapping paper lads made out like bandits during the 1916 festivities. They must have thought Christmas had come early, if you'll pardon the pun.

When I was in town on Easter Monday, they were flogging Michael Collins jerseys. They had that famous black and white photo of him, taken in Portobello Barracks, in all his military garb. Now, I'm as big a fan of The Big Fella as the next person, but there is no way I am rocking up to Croke Park, with a picture of a langer on me back. :eek: I don't care who he is !

There were no Dev jerseys. They must have all sold out. :P

Lovely .. just went and bought 2 tickets for Cnoc 16 for Sunday

3c291534b2889fa86d3d163785a8b173.png

ProudDUB wrote: »
    ......There were no Dev jerseys. They must have all sold out. :P

A Rugby man anyways :rolleyes:

Conal Keaney has called it a day. As true and loyal a son of our fair city, as you'll ever find. Thanks Conal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    Conal Keaney has called it a day. As true and loyal a son of our fair city, as you'll ever find. Thanks Conal.

Great way to go out.

Definetely one our best in recent times .. from a football perspective it's a pity in some ways he wasn't that 4-5 years younger where he could've rode out the fact of Gilroy not fancying him with the football strategy that he was to employ post startled earwigs

Footballs loss was hurlings gain, he was a massive influence in getting them back to the big table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Couple of good memories of Keaney playing.

Always sticks in my mind that he was the only man still trying towards the end when Tyrone tore us asunder in 08. ****e day for Dublin but it summed up his attitude.

Also, I was in the Hogan stand right next to him when he struck that massive point from the sideline in the League final win over KK. Capped a great day.

If we'd had Keaney the year he had the motorbike crash we'd have taken Tipp in the semi finals. No doubt about it.

My best memory of him is a league or Walsh Cup game in Parnell where he came in and put one of the Galway fellas flat out. Ref was on his way to send him off I'd say but the Galway lad managed to lift a hand off the ground and remonstrate on Keaney's behalf. Something to the effect that "Jaysus, there was no malice in it boss!"

Who would have wanted Keaney hitting you at 35mph :-)

Thanks big fella, as someone else once said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Definetely one our best in recent times .. from a football perspective it's a pity in some ways he wasn't that 4-5 years younger where he could've rode out the fact of Gilroy not fancying him with the football strategy that he was to employ post startled earwigs

Footballs loss was hurlings gain, he was a massive influence in getting them back to the big table

He always gave 100% either in hurling or football and was solid and reliable in both.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

corny wrote: »
    Couple of good memories of Keaney playing.

Always sticks in my mind that he was the only man still trying towards the end when Tyrone tore us asunder in 08. ****e day for Dublin but it summed up his attitude.

Also, I was in the Hogan stand right next to him when he struck that massive point from the sideline in the League final win over KK. Capped a great day.

A lot of people here may have cottoned on that I have a wee small grá for Ulster but that 08 Tyrone team. Wow. Greatest I've seen? Probably.

Great teams alright, that kerry team was good too, I think it was a good rivalry, bit of nostalgia building up too, that Tyrone team had its issues, but they were great to watch when it all clicked.

They are coming again too, but last night was a blow to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

The 08 side was a strange one. Weaker than the 03 & 05 editions. It was very much a syngery and weaker individually than the previous editions (imo) but my god were they something to behold when they got going.

That 08 final is one of the best games I've ever seen and (apart from our 2) my favourite end to a final. That's how I'd love to win one and the end of that game summed up that Tyrone era as a whole- relentless.

That Kerry team was ridiculous too mind.

Strong enough team named. Interesting positional switches all around.

Still no sign of MDMA. AI club finalists are usually back by the semi final stage. Was that knock he picked up in the club final serious? Cian was limping at the end of the Rossie game too. Gulp !

CfmTwDmXIAEiFep.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Strong team that.

Andrews at CHF. Interesting.

Have been critical of Rock but he has really stood up in last few games when his place was probably on the line.

So what Donegal will turn up boys! I reckon they won't show their game face this early and could be a pretty open contest with them maybe throwing a few shapes for later on in the year.

Dubs by 6/7.

Andrews at CHF. Interesting.

Have been critical of Rock but he has really stood up in last few games when his place was probably on the line.

So what Donegal will turn up boys! I reckon they won't show their game face this early and could be a pretty open contest with them maybe throwing a few shapes for later on in the year.

Dubs by 6/7.

Was just thinking that myself about Rock. He is benched for the first time, CC takes his place and when he comes back, he has two of his best games ever & not just with the frees. Can't be a coincidence, can it?

I wonder if the less than orthodox line up is down to wanting to have strength on every line, in the event of Murphy going roaming. I think that he is Donegals ace in the hole. We don't really know where he'll go, or where he'll end up. I somehow doubt if Gallagher will have him playing as deep as he has been in the past.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Was just thinking that myself about Rock. He is benched for the first time, CC takes his place and when he comes back, he has two of his best games ever & not just with the frees. Can't be a coincidence, can it?

I wonder if the less than orthodox line up is down to wanting to have strength on every line, in the event of Murphy going roaming. I think that he is Donegals ace in the hole. We don't really know where he'll go, or where he'll end up. I somehow doubt if Gallagher will have him playing as deep as he has been in the past.

My take is that Gavin and Gallagher see one another as their main adversaries, above even Kerry and the Ulster teams.

2014 was a massive running kick in the bollix for JG, but one he has taken lessons from. People write off and belittle the Donegal boys at their peril.

Tomorrow shall be interesting!

Gallagher wasn't involved with Donegal in 2014. He walked away a couple of years before. So he doesn't get to claim the credit for what happened back then imo. McGuinness does. I would say that Jim Gavin would definitely consider him to be one of one of his main adversaries, given that the core of his squad won an AI fairly recently & reached another final a couple of years later, beating us along the way. But I doubt if he would consider him to be his main rival. Gallagher's managerial record so far, while has been the one in charge, doesn't really warrant it.

I think Mayo and Kerry have suffered the most from the 2014 adjustments.

The 2013 semi with Kerry was a great game, but leaving Brennan on Cooper until half time would not happen now.
    We no longer have a religious belief that the Dublin brand if football will overcome any opposition, Kerry in 2013 was a great win, and I know it was 7 points and seemed closer but really the lads took too long to make changes

moving MDMA into a defensive roll against mayo last year, and in the final Cooper was subbed when he started to struggle, D O'Sullivan was closed down when he started to get a grip, MDMA again followed Donaghy into the box.

IMO had Donegal not beaten us in 2014, last year ROC would have been left on his own to defend the kerry onslaught at the end of the game and cooper might have stayed on for longer.

We can still be completely outfoxed, but I think changes happen faster now.

For a defender if you get a yellow you are subbed, get skinned twice in a row then you are subbed.

Stoner, I think that the 2014 defeat was a game changer. The'dy have been beaten by Kerry anyway. So cross yourselves we missed that chaps!

As things stand now, they are standing on the mound pitching any ball you want. And none of them have the hitters to take it. No one will beat Dublin this year, or maybe even next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

No one will beat Dublin this year, or maybe even next year.

Preface that with 'should we match their intensity'.:)

Signs are definitely better than they were 2012 & 2014 but still... we won't know for sure until August/September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Why do match programmes list teams in the orthodox 1-15.
    Shouldn't there be a bit more nuanced about it at this stage
    Show teams in the actual formations they play in most of the time?

It is a minor thing I know, but it annoys me!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.