Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Can catch it here Stoner not much coverage tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I've TG4 highlights recording, if only I could understand them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

GAAman wrote: »
    Assume everyone here has seen this already?

A politician who can't spell his own county properly :rolleyes:

Would be unfair to taint all Rossies with this clown trying to make a bit of free publicity.

Of course if the clown was trying to make the proper analogy, it would be if the game was moved to Navan and Roscommon supporters only found out when they arrived in Dub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Look on the bright side, years ago if that had happened, the Dubs would have wrecked the train on the way home :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

In all the controversy about Sunday the match itself is being forgotten. As a Rossie living in Dublin I had to drive to Carrick myself on Sunday, and driving down in the torrential rain, through Longford I wasn't really looking forward to it.
    It turned out to be a great game, played in a really good atmosphere with two great sets of Fans. With nothing at stake both teams had a chance to give a run to guys who hadn't featured much up then and this made it much more interesting - we were delighted to see Donie Shine do well in his first game this year, and Ciaran Mullooly at no7, a great u21 talent. I'm sure Dublin were very happy with their young squad too.

Fair play to all the Dubs who travelled, hope ye enjoyed it in the end - we Rossies are really looking forward to our trip to Croker on Sunday - will be great to try out our young team on a decent pitch which will suit our style of play.

Sure maybe we'll meet Dublin again in two weeks with two full strength teams :) Didn't think we'd go from Div 4 to 3rd in Div 1 in 5 years so anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Would be unfair to taint all Rossies with this clown trying to make a bit of free publicity.

Of course if the clown was trying to make the proper analogy, it would be if the game was moved to Navan and Roscommon supporters only found out when they arrived in Dub!

Not to be pedantic or anything, but there are plenty of trains and buses to Navan from Dublin. If you had 4 hrs notice, you could get there from Dublin no problemo. Move the game from Croke Park to somewhere that has no bus or train service from Dublin & see how the Rossies get on.

Methinks that the buses and the 10 euro charge or not is being over played. Some eegits are even trying to use it as a stick to beat us with, like yer man in the link on the last page. At the end of the day, its just 10 quid. As much as a shambles as yesterday was, we Dubs do have pretty easy when it comes to getting to games. Even so, they are missing the point in all this.

What blows me away is that HQ had a hand in all this. If it was just the Ros Co Board making a dogs boll0cks of it, fair enough. But did ye see Padraig Hughes defending the mess? Said that the pitch had a lot of standing water on Sat night, but they decided to adopt a wait and see approach and "hope" there would be no more rain over night. I take you have never heard of this new fangeled thing called a weather forecast," there big guy? They are all the rage these days. :rolleyes:

And if they were so concerned about the Rossies getting to keep the game at home, due to the big crowd, how come it never occurred to any of them, how was was that huge crowd, (that was already in Roscommon) supposed to get to Carrick on Sunday morning? Why did they only start contacting the bus companies and Irish Rail AFTER they had made the decision & announced it? God forbid, they arrange all that the night before and, have the arrangements all ready to be announced at the same times as the venue change. I suppose having people know exactly where they stand with transport, would make too much sense.
    Look on the bright side, years ago if that had happened, the Dubs would have wrecked the train on the way home

I'm typing this from a holding cell, in an underground bunker just east of Kinnegad. I'm perfectly happy to stay here, until the Donegal game is over. again. We're having cockroaches races and games of 'pin the tail on the rat.' It's much more fun that watching that shyte again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Not to be pedantic or anything, but there are plenty of trains and buses to Navan from Dublin. If you had 4 hrs notice, you could get there from Dublin no problemo. Move the game from Croke Park to somewhere that has no bus or train service from Dublin & see how the Rossies get on.

Methinks that the buses and the 10 euro charge or not is being over played. Some eegits are even trying to use it as a stick to beat us with, like yer man in the link on the last page. At the end of the day, its just 10 quid. As much as a shambles as yesterday was, we Dubs do have pretty easy when it comes to getting to games. Even so, they are missing the point in all this.

What blows me away is that HQ had a hand in all this. If it was just the Ros Co Board making a dogs boll0cks of it, fair enough. But did ye see Padraig Hughes defending the mess? Said that the pitch had a lot of standing water on Sat night, but they decided to adopt a wait and see approach and "hope" there would be no more rain over night. I take you have never heard of this new fangeled thing called a weather forecast," there big guy? They are all the rage these days. :rolleyes:

And if they were so concerned about the Rossies getting to keep the game at home, due to the big crowd, how come it never occurred to any of them, how was was that huge crowd, (that was already in Roscommon) supposed to get to Carrick on Sunday morning? Why did they only start contacting the bus companies and Irish Rail AFTER they had made the decision & announced it? God forbid, they arrange all that the night before and, have the arrangements all ready to be announced at the same times as the venue change. I suppose having people know exactly where they stand with transport, would make too much sense.

I'm typing this from a holding cell, in an underground bunker just east of Kinnegad. I'm perfectly happy to stay here, until the Donegal game is over. again. We're having cockroaches races and games of 'pin the tail on the rat.' It's much more fun that watching that shyte again.

The main reason put forward for the late decision was the business-owners in Roscommon town and that Roscommon GAA deserved to have the All-Ireland champions in town on their own pitch. It seems these concerns took precedence over the health and safety of players.

I am a long-time supporter of the GAA, involved at local level, but it is debacles like this that lead many to label it as the Grab-All Association. A bad day for the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Godge wrote: »
    The main reason put forward for the late decision was the business-owners in Roscommon town and that Roscommon GAA deserved to have the All-Ireland champions in town on their own pitch. It seems these concerns took precedence over the health and safety of players.

I am a long-time supporter of the GAA, involved at local level, but it is debacles like this that lead many to label it as the Grab-All Association. A bad day for the GAA.

I completely agree with a lot of what has been written. But what benefit is it to the GAA that local hotels / bars / pubs get business? I don't really see how the GAA made money from moving the match. I must be overlooking something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I completely agree with a lot of what has been written. But what benefit is it to the GAA that local hotels / bars / pubs get business? I don't really see how the GAA made money from moving the match. I must be overlooking something??

To be fair its not the GAA it was the Roscommon County Board, they certainly made a pigs ear of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Indeed. A good question might be, do any leading members of the RCB have businesses that might have benefitted from the eh, oversight.

Mmmmm. Some extra curricular research is called for :)

salmocab wrote: »
    To be fair its not the GAA it was the Roscommon County Board, they certainly made a pigs ear of it.

The two of them are as bad as the other. The decision to move or not to move the game, was for the Ros Co Board. When it was painfully obvious, that they were oblivious to using a bit of basic common sense, or even listening to weather forecasts, the GAA should have stepped in and forced the issue.

No one in the GAA, or the ref, had the balls to step in and call an end to the nonsense and get the game moved earlier. Which is a pity, as I'd say the crowd in Carrick would have been a lot bigger, had people had some certainty as to the venue and could have made their plans accordingly, if they had enough notice in time.

salmocab wrote: »

I got the impression from Paraic Duffys comments that it wasn't the match referee that made the decision - "an inter county referee" was his quote - any chance Roscommon have one (Patrick Nellan) ? .... if that's the case then the GAA were complicit

On a side note .. I attended 2 club games the weekend both of them were played in slop - while the wider issue maybe that Hyde Park isn't fit for purpose there was very few pitches that could've held that amount of rain.

Oh and yeah ..compare and contrast Carrick and Tralee .. Paul Murphy sez in his post match interview that it got very warm 2nd half and the pace dropped in the Kerry/Cork game :eek:

Edit ... and don't forget the state of the pitch for the Ros/Mayo game either .. we'll agree that there was no way that match should've taken place .. but then again wasn't there a big parade in the town a couple of hours before throw in, so that decision was borne from ulterior motives too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Don't be so defensive again now on Sunday boys. None of this new Leinster style mass defence. :p

Heard they're thinking of playing 1st to 3 wins .......

Yeah, it was weird watching spectators standing in shirt sleeves in blazing sunshine in Salthill and Tralee, while we were freezing our asses off in Carrick. You raise a good point about the over all standard of county grounds & what the GAA can or should do to put their foot down on standards. The Mayo game should not have gone ahead in the Hyde. It is a miracle that no one broke their leg. Ditto with the Armagh/Tyrone broadcast afterwards.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Heard they're thinking of playing 1st to 3 wins .......

Good long game so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I hear donegal have decided to drop the pretence and train with an oval shaped ball :p

Are Donegal gonna park the bus?

And will they charge a tenner a head?

I'll get me coat.....

There has been a glimmer of the potential for Donegal to play a more expansive game with players in more orthodox positions. Without downplaying the opposition - I thought Donegals 2nd half performance v Galway last year was as good as I've seen them play in a football sense .. and that was under Gallaghers watch. I have a feeling that the opposition have an overarching impact into the way Gallagher lines out his team and the individual skills are curtailed for the good of the team.

I'd sincerely doubt whether RG will be prepared to roll the dice on a wider gameplan .. would be interesting to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

DoctaDee wrote: »
    There has been a glimmer of the potential for Donegal to play a more expansive game with players in more orthodox positions. Without downplaying the opposition - I thought Donegals 2nd half performance v Galway last year was as good as I've seen them play in a football sense .. and that was under Gallaghers watch. I have a feeling that the opposition have an overarching impact into the way Gallagher lines out his team and the individual skills are curtailed for the good of the team.

I'd sincerely doubt whether RG will be prepared to roll the dice on a wider gameplan .. would be interesting to see
    Bernard Brogan looked very lonely as the only Dublin player in the Donegal half last time they played. Hopefully Gavin will be a little more adventurous this time around and give him some company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Bernard Brogan looked very lonely as the only Dublin player in the Donegal half last time they played. Hopefully Gavin will be a little more adventurous this time around and give him some company.

I know thats a jab but its actually an interesting point. When Dublin lost to Donegal in 2014 they defended by withdrawing quickly and not putting much pressure on them in their half. It didn't work.

A couple of weeks ago they hemmed Donegal in while gradually withdrawing to defensive positions. Basically all 14 players gathered in a small area because they knew the ball wasn't going to be kicked over them. Options cut down Donegal were unbelievably ponderous as a result. Interesting to see does RG have an answer Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

corny wrote:
    I know thats a jab but its actually an interesting point. When Dublin lost to Donegal in 2014 they defended by withdrawing quickly and not putting much pressure on them in their half. It didn't work.

The jab was landed on the Donegal thread, that was a hook.

Stoner wrote: »
    The jab was landed on the Donegal thread, that was a hook.

That's a relief. I thought the poster was wanting Jim Gavin to find Berno a hooker. :eek:

Hooks, hookers, jabs, jabbers...and who do we pay the 10 euro to? I'm confuzzled. :confused:

corny wrote: »

A couple of weeks ago they hemmed Donegal in while gradually withdrawing to defensive positions. Basically all 14 players gathered in a small area because they knew the ball wasn't going to be kicked over them. Options cut down Donegal were unbelievably ponderous as a result. Interesting to see does RG have an answer Sunday.

I was going to respond to that but I can't be bothered. Good god it was absolute cack. I'm still annoyed over it!

On an unrelated note, Wouldn't this be much better in Breffni? Or is that just me.

This game being at Breffni, or Clones, or Tullamore, or any other neutral venue would be BRILLIANT. God, just imagine the atmosphere ! As would the Rossie/Kerry game, if it was held in Limerick or somewhere like that.

I feel sorry for the Rossies going up against the big boys in the their first ever Div 1 game in Croker. Kerry don't travel for All Ireland semifinals, never mind league semi finals. So the only company they'll have, will be the pigeons, about 70,000 odd empty seats and me. I know they played the Div 2 & 3 finals in CP. It was a ghost town then too.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    This game being at Breffni, or Clones, or Tullamore, or any other neutral venue would be BRILLIANT. God, just imagine the atmosphere !

True. Be pretty dismal wherever it's on.

I'm not one of those tedious whingers who moans about Dublin's 'home games' (:rolleyes:) in Croke Park. Just think it's needless dragging everyone up to HQ.

Cavan's an hour (if you're slow) from Dublin, 1.5/2 from Donegal. Be grand that.

Croke Park is sad when it's a quarter full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Croke Park is sad when it's a quarter full.

I don't think there's a more pathetic sound in world sport than when they play that fanfare over the PA system as a team runs out to a ripple of polite applause.

corny wrote: »

Spot on 100% .. matched Donegal numbers in their own 45 leaving them no where to go .. pushed up on kickouts leaving the long punt as the only choice. To compare Dublin tracking their runners, to Donegals tactic of turning their back to the ball and running full pelt back to their own 45 was a complete misrepresentation of what happened 2 weeks ago imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I am looking forward to the Kerry v Roscommon game. I might go home after that one.
    Just so that I can have the satisfaction of turning off the telly during the Donegal match and shouting I am not watching this sh*te!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I had to get the car in for the NCT this weekend.
    Lady on the phone said Sunday 4pm was available. It was a no brainer really.