If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

CianRyan wrote: »
    Go find a wet car park and lift the hand brake, your tyre's already fecked. :p

It's brand new actually so it will be patched or possibly plugged to last me afew more months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Hate that feckin "POA" crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

So bored

One of my sisters and her mates are on the beer in Galway tonight......I'd stay home and be bored were I you:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

pred racer wrote: »
    One of my sisters and her mates are on the beer in Galway tonight......I'd stay home and be bored were I you:)

Or go out and get stuck in :pac:
    Last day or employment tomorrow, I have a sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

You can say that again.

You've got weird fookin taste man! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's brand new actually so it will be patched or possibly plugged to last me afew more months

Boooo!
    Wouldn't stop me. :pac:
    Hate that feckin "POA" crap

I know, wrecks my head too.
    Great website for gawking though.

I know, wrecks my head too.
    Great website for gawking though.

Summary of website:
    Here's this cool truck :D that you can't afford.:(

But I like to know what the "can't afford" is :P, rather than poa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Summary of website:
    Here's this cool truck :D that you can't afford.:(

But I like to know what the "can't afford" is :P, rather than poa.

Adjust the price, there's plenty you can afford. ;)

Or go out and get stuck in :pac:
    Last day or employment tomorrow, I have a sad :(

Last day of employment = more time for drivin' :P
    On private tracks of course :pac:

Adjust the price, there's plenty you can afford. ;)

Aye, in the US.
    If it's 2-3k USD to ship a pickup from the US to Ireland, I can only imagine what a peterbilt truck would cost.

Would look cool parked outside the gaff though!

Last day of employment = more time for drivin' :P
    On private tracks of course :pac:

Pfffft aint nobody got time fo dat! :P

Plus i got tests coming up, I showed dgt what my structures test will consist of and his poor neyavan head exploded :pac:

Pfffft aint nobody got time fo dat! :P

Plus i got tests coming up, I showed dgt what my structures test will consist of and his poor neyavan head exploded :pac:

I reckon there's a few that would.
    To paraphrase the godfather (wwf reference), diffin ain't easy.

And if you kids don't know who the Godfather is, look him up :P

I reckon there's a few that would.
    To paraphrase the godfather (wwf reference), diffin ain't easy.

And if you kids don't know who the Godfather is, look him up :P

Well like i said before I aint one of em :P

I didn't choose the diff life the diff life chose me :P etc etc so on and so forth, still getting a fwd car :P you're not gona convert me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

pred racer wrote: »

Didn't realise you were pimpin' dude! :cool:

And your own sister too? :eek:

Well like i said before I aint one of em :P

I didn't choose the diff life the diff life chose me :P etc etc so on and so forth, still getting a fwd car :P you're not gona convert me :P

FWD is not fun...
    Where's the merc you were lookin' at. At least that was ass wheel drive :pac:

FWD is not fun...
    Where's the merc you were lookin' at. At least that was ass wheel drive :pac:

It's gone :( arses to that anyways! (literally) :pac:

No im just sitting and or waiting now at this stage ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Didn't realise you were pimpin' dude! :cool:

And your own sister too? :eek:

I did warn him to stay home!

I wouldn't wish one of my sisters on anybody, 2 of my mates didn't heed my warnings...............and now they're stuck with them:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Question for yas, how much good faith would you expect from a second hand car dealer, outside of a 3 month gearbox and engine warranty?

The new car has a few niggly issues with comfort access not working properly/driver door not always closing, poor fm reception at times, a 3d-like shadow on the rear view mirror etc.

All the above are not technically covered by warranty on paper and I could probably fix them myself, but would you expect them to sort/contribute to the above issues? (after 3 days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Question for yas, how much good faith would you expect from a second hand car dealer, outside of a 3 month gearbox and engine warranty?

The new car has a few niggly issues with comfort access not working properly/driver door not always closing, poor fm reception at times, a 3d-like shadow on the rear view mirror etc.

All the above are not technically covered by warranty on paper and I could probably fix them myself, but would you expect them to sort/contribute to the above issues? (after 3 days)

The way I see any deal on non brand new car - Buyers beware. You can try, you are not going to get hit in your face, but I would not hope much. If anything would be even promised I am pretty sure it would be one of those " oh yeah, we will get sort it out next week" * infinite loop.

In fairness when I mentioned that I couldn't get the door closed on several occasions, they instantly said they would take it back in on Monday, I suppose it's a fairly fundamental thing to be able to close a door. But I'm just wondering if other things are worth mentioning and what's crossing the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

In fairness when I mentioned that I couldn't get the door closed on several occasions, they instantly said they would take it back in on Monday, I suppose it's a fairly fundamental thing to be able to close a door. But I'm just wondering if other things are worth mentioning and what's crossing the line.

Well, knowing car salesman, if you want stuff done as a part of sale get them to do it before sale, as as soon as they got your money you are in "next week" zone.

Try, like I said, the worse they can do - say No. Its not like its your Lady telling you No. You wount be waking up besides your used car dealer for the rest of the life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

No harm in asking :)

It'll come down to
    -how much you spent with them
    -how much they made on that car
    -how much the repairs are lightly to be
    -how important it is what you think of them i.e with good experience will you recommend them to someone else/are you lightly to use them again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Crossing the line? Fookin A I would say it to him. You only have it three days and spent a fair wedge of cash. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Have you put the old one up for sale yet?

It's gone :( arses to that anyways! (literally) :pac:

No im just sitting and or waiting now at this stage ;)
    Ah balls. We will just have to find you another one!
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    No harm in asking :)

It'll come down to
    -how much you spent with them
    -how much they made on that car
    -how much the repairs are lightly to be
    -how important it is what you think of them i.e with good experience will you recommend them to someone else/are you lightly to use them again
    Knowing that dealership I would hold out more hope with them than with most of a goodwill minor repair. They deal mostly in high end stuff and word of mouth so I would reckon they could at least do something.
    Let us know how it goes VM :)

So.
    I'm sitting in work and I realised something, cars are a hell of a lot cheaper in the US than they are here.
    I hate reminding myself of the additional taxes and shipping costs that makes a $2k car a €5k car landed.:mad:

I need to make some friends in america so that I can get the vrt exemption :P

So.
    I'm sitting in work and I realised something, cars are a hell of a lot cheaper in the US than they are here.
    I hate reminding myself of the additional taxes and shipping costs that makes a $2k car a €5k car landed.:mad:

I need to make some friends in america so that I can get the vrt exemption :P

I think cars are a hell of a lot cheaper anywhere else (except NZ as we've seen) than here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

pajor wrote: »
    I think cars are a hell of a lot cheaper anywhere else (except NZ as we've seen) than here!

Not necessarily.
    Alfa gta's go for at least half the price of an equivalent in the uk.
    Anything with a big petrol engine and low mpg is dirt cheap here as well.

New cars are way more expensive here, but older big engines cars are cheap. :)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Crossing the line? Fookin A I would say it to him. You only have it three days and spent a fair wedge of cash. ;)

They're taking it back in the new year, fair play.
    Have you put the old one up for sale yet?

Nope, still flat out at work so will be up soon. One serious and two half serious enquiries so far.

Scortho wrote: »
    Not necessarily.
    Alfa gta's go for at least half the price of an equivalent in the uk.
    Anything with a big petrol engine and low mpg is dirt cheap here as well.

New cars are way more expensive here, but older big engines cars are cheap. :)

There are exceptions of course, I was speaking generally. :)