If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

joujoujou wrote: »
    Was there? Where? I was there, there was no frost whatsoever. :p

I saw one last night as well, it was moving and gritting, overtook it and kicked the throttle. :pac:

Random and pointless post but jous next post will be 1234 on his post count :pac:

I'll get my coat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

YbFocus wrote: »
    Did you not know there was frost last night??

And I saw a grit lorry parked on the side of the road last Thursday!

Windiest frost I've ever encountered :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

dgt wrote: »
    Windiest frost I've ever encountered :pac:

Honestly there was snow here last night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Problem is not people driving slow, but problem is that majority of tools behind the wheel have no idea why they driving slow. Some talking head on TV said to drive slowly and they do, even if only less then 10% of country actually effected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,669 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Damn, I got such a Bug for an RC buggies... Looks like a lot of damn fun!
    Anyone know anything about those things and how expensive those things are?

Don't do it.
    I was into those yokes years ago and had the price of a very decent car soaked up lying in the garden shed.
    I sold the lot off for a fraction of what they cost. Lots of them never used. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

===The impotence of some of them is just mind boggling....==

Maybe you not their type

cabb8ge wrote: »
    Maybe you not their type

What? :confused:

vectra wrote: »
    Don't do it.
    I was into those yokes years ago and had the price of a very decent car soaked up lying in the garden shed.
    I sold the lot off for a fraction of what they cost. Lots of them never used. :(

Thats sort of what I am afraid off too. Specially when I got more then enough expensive Hobbies. I was looking at something like this, but now I know that it is out of my reach as it does not come with batteries. The power I would want would mean at least another 100eu for battaries alone:
    http://radiocontrolledshop.ie/electric-rc-buggies-electric-remote-control-truggies-rc-atv-s/3003-xt2e-brushless-electric-buggy-1-8-4wd-rtr-c-xtm-xt2e-032227037750.html

Still though, some impressive stuff these little electric things can do! 45mph! :eek:

Scroll to 2:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

What? :confused:

Impotence. :p

CianRyan wrote: »
    Impotence. :p

Its a Navan thing, I wouldn't expect a lot to understand :p

Thats sort of what I am afraid off too. Specially when I got more then enough expensive Hobbies. I was looking at something like this, but now I know that it is out of my reach as it does not come with batteries. The power I would want would mean at least another 100eu for battaries alone:
    http://radiocontrolledshop.ie/electric-rc-buggies-electric-remote-control-truggies-rc-atv-s/3003-xt2e-brushless-electric-buggy-1-8-4wd-rtr-c-xtm-xt2e-032227037750.html

Still though, some impressive stuff these little electric things can do! 45mph! :eek:

Scroll to 2:45

Buy a nitro one and go to Bandon and race it

Is there a Race track for them in Bandon? Would Nitro be better way? I am sort off not a fan of that and looks like Electric ones like this are much more simple and forward then Nitro?

Toss of a coin as to which one would be the cheaper option.

https://www.facebook.com/TheCRCCC?fref=ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

YbFocus wrote: »
    Did you not know there was frost last night??

And I saw a grit lorry parked on the side of the road last Thursday!

yea lastnight i overtook them gritting at 120kph on the M2 ashbourne bypass ..:rolleyes: front of my car got was like getting hit with a a grit machine gun..

there was no ice anyways .does anybody in the business know if you can actually get enough grit down on the road to make a difference to traction or where they just doing a half assed job by driving too fast (120kph+) as I suspect they were. Im guessing from my farming days spreading slurry they should be going slower to ensure adequate coverage..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Is there not normally a thread at this time of year about posters car plans for the year car upgrades and what cars they hope to get. I thought that was a good thread last year. Was it locked for some reason or why is it not up this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

ECU Update at ford Friday
    4x Vredisen Sessanta tyres in early feb
    RS clutch as soon after as i can manage

Then some suspension and brake gubbins before the summer

ECU Update at ford Friday
    4x Vredisen Sessanta tyres in early feb
    RS clutch as soon after as i can manage

Then some suspension and brake gubbins before the summer

I have to say judging by the sounds of this, and a few others on here, the summer meets/meet is gona be fookin deadly! :D

Bpmull wrote: »
    Is there not normally a thread at this time of year about posters car plans for the year car upgrades and what cars they hope to get. I thought that was a good thread last year. Was it locked for some reason or why is it not up this year.

There was a thread called Car Plans 2013. Here's what I had in my list:

Tax - Done
    Tyres - Done
    Terraclean - Not going to bother as it doesn't clean the valves. Going to get walnut shell blasting done instead.
    New coils - Don't need them. Issue was down to the turbos, not coils.
    Service - Oil service done only. Next one being done next week with turbo and air filter/cabin filter/plugs being done maybe next month.
    Remap - Yet to be done
    Hopefully get the wastegate rattle sorted - Will be fully sorted next week.
    Maybe spruce it up a bit by painting the calipers and hubs - Done
    M3 Lip spoiler - Done
    CD Changer - still looking for a 2nd hand unit as new ones are nigh on €1,000.
    Sort out the angel eyes in the passenger headlight - Done - there was a more powerful bulb in the driver's side which madethe passenger side look bad but I put in 2 new bulbs and they are perfect now.

New Plans for 2014 -

- Front turbo replacement - being done next week
    - JB4 remap
    - Wallnut shell Blasting
    - Braided brake lines
    - Brake service - upgrading fluid at least and possibly upgrading pads all round
    - Gearbox oil change
    - Alloy refurb (this is being put on the long finger until I can secure a set of alloys to replace them as I need the car every day.

There was a thread called Car Plans 2013. Here's what I had in my list:

Tax - Done
    Tyres - Done
    Terraclean - Not going to bother as it doesn't clean the valves. Going to get walnut shell blasting done instead.
    New coils - Don't need them. Issue was down to the turbos, not coils.
    Service - Oil service done only. Next one being done next week with turbo and air filter/cabin filter/plugs being done maybe next month.
    Remap - Yet to be done
    Hopefully get the wastegate rattle sorted - Will be fully sorted next week.
    Maybe spruce it up a bit by painting the calipers and hubs - Done
    M3 Lip spoiler - Done
    CD Changer - still looking for a 2nd hand unit as new ones are nigh on €1,000.
    Sort out the angel eyes in the passenger headlight - Done - there was a more powerful bulb in the driver's side which madethe passenger side look bad but I put in 2 new bulbs and they are perfect now.

New Plans for 2014 -

- Front turbo replacement - being done next week
    - JB4 remap
    - Wallnut shell Blasting
    - Braided brake lines
    - Brake service - upgrading fluid at least and possibly upgrading pads all round
    - Gearbox oil change
    - Alloy refurb (this is being put on the long finger until I can secure a set of alloys to replace them as I need the car every day.

Jaysus **** that BMW is a fecking money pit! :eek: All I did to my scooby was oil change, alternator belt and break pads.

Lovely car m8, but you must be getting very good deals on the drugs from your supplier for resale as that car needs a lot of cash!

Toss of a coin as to which one would be the cheaper option.

https://www.facebook.com/TheCRCCC?fref=ts

I did some research and looks like electric all the way. I got few quid put away as part of my Xmas Present, but I dont know how will Misses Shadowhearth react to it now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have to say judging by the sounds of this, and a few others on here, the summer meets/meet is gona be fookin deadly! :D

Gonna do a cheap upgrade on the brakes.

Keep standard calipers but get some blue stuff pads braided lines and possibly some grooved and dimpled discs.

Suspension wise all i need is a uprated rarb and shocks

RS injectors after the summer or during

Gonna do a cheap upgrade on the brakes.

Keep standard calipers but get some blue stuff pads braided lines and possibly some grooved and dimpled discs.

Suspension wise all i need is a uprated rarb and shocks

RS injectors after the summer or during

I've a few little bits an bobs ready for mine now, hopefully by the summer I'll have some aero skirts and a front splitter on it, along with said bits and bobs, also considering painting the rocker cover the same as the car, although I never done it before and I'm sorta meh about it, on the long finger then we have an aero suspension set up, drops it by 10 mil and whatever else comes up along the way!

Jaysus **** that BMW is a fecking money pit! :eek: All I did to my scooby was oil change, alternator belt and break pads.

Lovely car m8, but you must be getting very good deals on the drugs from your supplier for resale as that car needs a lot of cash!

Most of the stuff there is to get the car to my liking. The car didn't need the spoiler, brakes painted, coils, CD changer, JB4 remap, braided brake lines, gearbox oil change, brake pad upgrade. They're all because I want to.

I don't smoke and I rarely drink and I don't buy lego :P You might be happy with the power you have but I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I don't smoke and I rarely drink, I don't buy lego but by God am I anal :P

Big Nasty wrote: »

Have to be when you're a part time detailer :P

Most of the stuff there is to get the car to my liking. The car didn't need the spoiler, brakes painted, coils, CD changer, JB4 remap, braided brake lines, gearbox oil change, brake pad upgrade. They're all because I want to.

I don't smoke and I rarely drink and I don't buy lego :P You might be happy with the power you have but I'm not.

From all that list only 3 items that are the things you mention "lovely optional stuff". The rest of it is pretty much running costs or failures.

I do agree, each to its own, but my **** that car eats money.

I bet your cleaning product yearly budget is twice bigger then mine Lego budget lol :P

From all that list only 3 items that are the things you mention "lovely optional stuff". The rest of it is pretty much running costs or failures.

I do agree, each to its own, but my **** that car eats money.

I bet your cleaning product yearly budget is twice bigger then mine Lego budget lol :P

What 3 things?

My cleaning products are paid for through detailing and valeting. I don't use the money from my main job for that. Also, it's now 10% the cost it was before I did the Gtechniq job on my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

To copy the MM:
    Road tax (up this month ****e!)
    Rear tyres some point (before the high horses arrive, they are still well legal but not matching brands so get a matching set anyway.)
    Would like to get the wheels refurb but same as MM need to pick up another set first!
    After that just usual maintenance, and I'll wait and see what extras i'll get done. Cash is looking like it may become tight!
    Would love to get the paint corrected at some point.

On the RC front, I would love to get one, not sure if I would have the time to dedicate to it.

MM how much would you charge for a full paint correction, I was speculating it the other day and I figured i'd shop around, or diy it so yeah!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    The three spoke Saab alloys are like marmite alright.
    Similarly the pepperpots on a gtv.

I'd be keeping those Saab alloys though unless you get offered good money, in a few years there'll be demand for them.

Pepperpots on a gtv are just wrong, and need offsets, so they probably crack 50% of the time
    What the f*ck has gombeens on the road going so f*cking slow for no reason whatsoever??? The impotence of some of them is just mind boggling.... How can such stupid f*ckwits be allowed drive??

Is this another sh*tty campain from c*nty gabo telling those sheep to slow down?

F*cking failures the lot of them :mad:

I was in Navan today, they drive strange up there tbh :D
    Its a Navan thing, I wouldn't expect a lot to understand :p

Not many understand about Navan, but they do have good shoe shops :)