BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭cml387

Chrissie Hynde is from Akron Ohio, and I remember Stiff records made a big thing of "The Akron Sound", releasing an album of local acts and getting a huge spread in the NME at the time.

Incidentally if you want to get a real flavour of this time in popular music I highly recommend Danny Baker's part autobiography "Going To Sea In A Sieve"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

First saw GParker and the R in Dalymount supporting Thin Lizzy in '78....

They were the top support if I remember correctly...

They were only ok, not that great...

I'd say ye were just hoping they'd hurry up and be done with it until Philo and the band came on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Happy Rock 'n Roll everyone!

I'm a bit "24 hour presumed enjoying myself" late.....

I miss Nils last night...:(

But....All is good!..:)

I have my red shoes on!....

Out with 3d people tonight.

Frankly, i don't like it. :-D

Seems like a good night, beebrock-wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,721 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Out with 3d people tonight.

Frankly, i don't like it. :-D

Seems like a good night, beebrock-wise

Ah Donie, just in time for the good stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I'd say ye were just hoping they'd hurry up and be done with it until Philo and the band came on :)

You have no idea Harry.

It was a day festival, I was there about 12 and Philo came on about 9pm.....I was nearly dead......

But....

I touched the foot of Philo....:)....

Haven't washed it since...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

cml387 wrote: »
    Chrissie Hynde is from Akron Ohio, and I remember Stiff records made a big thing of "The Akron Sound", releasing an album of local acts and getting a huge spread in the NME at the time.

Incidentally if you want to get a real flavour of this time in popular music I highly recommend Danny Baker's part autobiography "Going To Sea In A Sieve"

I enjoyed that, looking forward to the next part.

He had Nick Lowe on a couple of BBC Four shows recently, If you missed them I'm sure they'll be on again soon.

FFS Mott the Hoople - Famous for one feckin song, that they didn't even write :rolleyes:

Are you and WM going to start "daggers at dawn" again??....:D:D:D

:p

You have no idea Harry.

It was a day festival, I was there about 12 and Philo came on about 9pm.....I was nearly dead......

But....

I touched the foot of Philo....:)....

Haven't washed it since...:pac:

Were there any other decent bands playing on the day, Grey?

One of the very first songs I recorded on my tape recorder from that Top Twenty program,Sunday evenings on Radio One,was Roll Away The Stone.

blasphemy.gif

Were there any other decent bands playing on the day, Grey?

Believe it or not Harry, Boomtown Rats were the bottom of the bill,

Stockton's Wing were higher (pluggy in violin...very different then)

And Graham Parker.....

That's off the top off my head so far...

Legend has it (maybe we'll hear) is the reason Bowie suggested the song to them was because he thought they were so brilliant.

Believe it or not Harry, Boomtown Rats were the bottom of the bill,

Stockton's Wing were higher (pluggy in violin...very different then)

And Graham Parker.....

That's off the top off my head so far...

770821_poster_thin_lizzy_don_bolster.jpg

£4 in! Those were the days.

Edit: More here

http://www.thinlizzyguide.com/tours/dates/1977/770821.htm

cml387 wrote: »
    Legend has it (maybe we'll hear) is the reason Bowie suggested the song to them was because he thought they were so brilliant.

Bowie also offered them 'Suffragette City' before he recorded it himself. They turned it down because they felt they couldn't 'ride his coat-tails' forever.

Skid X wrote: »

The lad who designed that poster was called Martin Keaney Skid....

The things you remember......I had it on my wall!....

Em, I may have "borrowed" it off a hoarding....:D:D:D

Wow Skid, that poster brought me back!!!!!!!!

I was earning 17.20 a week in those days Skid, four tickets cost me a weeks wages!....

Best ever though!....

I have great close up photos I got off a lad who did photos for the Hot Press...Black and white photos....:)

Edit: More here

http://www.thinlizzyguide.com/tours/dates/1977/770821.htm

It was only a few months after the great Sandy Denny died :(

:(

You're spot on there Harry....

Highly recommended reading, Ian hunter's book.

I'll buy it for Harry for Christmas.......:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

blasphemy.gif

I'm only thanking this for the gif!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm only thanking this for the gif!

Donie, stop reading Boards when you should be trying to convert the 3D lads!!...:D:D:D

(hugs and sympathy! xxx)

Thunderthighs...great band name!

And MTH go down as not great mimers....

The lads look a bit ropey giving the interviews....*except for Roger T*

Rock 'n Roll may not be the best ad. for longevity...

Imagine that!

Mott The Hoople AND Queen on the same bill!

*soils self*

Thunderthighs...great band name!

Went to school with her.....

Fionnula.....:eek:

*soils self*

Getting Mick Ronson on a free transfer ... nice.