BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I'M IN HEAVEN......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Why do so many great singers die so young? :(

RIP to them all.

Skid X wrote: »
    Why do so many great singers die so young? :(

RIP to them all.

Rock 'n Roll Skid.....

They were the best ever....

I'm off to Philo land when I hit the big blue sky!...

God rest him and Rory...

I'm not such a whitesnake fan....

I always thought they put on the act but didn't pull if off (if you know what I mean)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,879 ✭✭✭take everything

For some reason i love this video. :pac:

Would it be appropriate to suggest to BBC Four that they could play another Thin Lizzy song once in a while?

I love the boys are back, but they could dig a little deeper sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,879 ✭✭✭take everything

Jaysus, Noel Edmonds in a suit.
    Good old Ozzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Lads, I'm sorry, but i'm wrecked from the pints with the 3d people. Goin to bed.

Night night.

Party on.

I remember thinking Noel Edmunds was a rothar......

Forgive me Lord....:(

Wasn't Ozzie great??...

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Lads, I'm sorry, but i'm wrecked from the pints with the 3d people. Goin to bed.

Night night.

Party on.

Sweet Naill Horan dreams Donie.......

:D:D:D

GSWxxx :)

Night night.

Party on.

Fair play, thanks for dropping in!

Sweet Naill Horan dreams Donie.......

:D:D:D

GSWxxx :)

**????***

What the hell?

Grey, what does that mean???

**????***

What the hell?

Grey, what does that mean???

Come back to us on Friday Donie.......:D:D:D

You will be cleansed....:)

(hugsxxx)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

BBC One Sessions: Paul Simon

The man is a living legend.

"And Solitaire's the only game in town,
    And every road that takes him takes him down,
    While life goes on around him everywhere,
    He's playing Solitaire"

*sniff*

*sob*

*soooo emotional!*

Ahem...

This Friday...

21:00: The Byrd Who Flew Alone - The Triumphs and Tragedy of Gene Clark (already mentioned in the thread, I believe)

22.30: The Old Grey Whistle Test - California come to TOGWT

23:30: The Beatles Please Please Me - Remaking A Classic (if you haven't seen this before, you're almost definitely new to the thread. Welcome!)

Then they're all repeated again.

Saturday:

22:30: Motown at the BBC

23:30: Smokey Robinson Live in Hyde Park

00:30: ....sings the Rolling Stones (different people, very few of whom I have heard of, sing Stones songs)

Then it's The Sky At Night!

Sort of a mixed bag, nothing wildly exciting, but some of it could be pretty good.

Lovely stuff, Donie - I like the look of Saturday's Motown/Smokey Robinson/Sings the Beatles lineup

Nothing too taxing, just a nice mix of classic songs and interesting cover versions. That'll do nicely :) I don't know much about Gene Clark but hopefully that programme will be good.

00:30: ....sings the Rolling Stones (different people, very few of whom I have heard of, sing Stones songs)

That's worth watching just for The Jingles. Sublime ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Good performances so far...who knew California had such a hot bed of talent :D

Sad to hear about Linda Ronstadt though :(

The Whistle Test archive seems to have survived very well, compared to TOTP (which is riddled with missing episodes)

Hats off to whoever kept the tapes safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭cml387

James Taylor and Carly Simon and a guitar.

Quite lovely.

Come on BBC Four, you must have a few other Beatles programmes you could show once in a while.

It's alright, the anecdotes about the original recordings are better than the new versions. I like the Beverley Knight Twist and Shout at the end.

Come on BBC Four, you must have a few other Beatles programmes you could show once in a while.

It's alright, the anecdotes about the original recordings are better than the new versions. I like the Beverley Knight Twist and Shout at the end.

The Beeb seem to have Beverley Knight and Paul Carrack on speed-dial!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭cml387

Well I haven't seen this before, to my shame.

It shows that even early Beatles songs had the melodic depth to carry string arrangements.

Here's a bit of Beatles trivia I heard today.

There's a quote often attributed to John Lennon
    Ringo Starr probably wasn't the best drummer in the world, in fact he wasn't even the best drummer in the Beatles!

Apparently it wasn't John who said that it was ... Jasper Carrott :eek: (as a gag, during the 80s)

Everything I know is probably wrong :(

Dead right, Skid. There's gotta be something else. Frankly, I'd prefer if they just played the album.

Here's a bit of Beatles trivia I heard today.

There's a quote often attributed to John Lennon

Apparently it wasn't John who said that it was ... Jasper Carrott :eek: (as a gag, during the 80s)

Everything I know is probably wrong :(

??

Now we can't trust any of your nuggets of "information".

:-D

I like Squeeze, they have some lovely tunes.

Very influenced by Lennon/McCartney but that's no bad thing.

Jesus, Please Please Me lacks a bit of punch!

Oh great

Please please me is a proper great pop song.

I am in full agreement with John Lennon's Aunt Mimi, she knew her stuff
    Upon first hearing an acetate of ‘Love Me Do’, John Lennon’s aunt Mimi supposedly informed her nephew: “If you think you’re going to make your fortune with that, you’ve got another think coming”. However, upon hearing an acetate of ‘Please Please Me’ some time later Mimi told Lennon: “That’s more like it, that should do well”.

http://blogcritics.org/please-please-me-turns-50/