Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 8 Transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Hogey007 wrote: »
    given that other people, myself included (in this thread and player watchlist thread) have elaborated on the pro's for getting him, would you care to elaborate on what you base your 1 point assumption as his likely score every week on?

From the viewpoint of a United fan, I can't see him playing full games very often. However, after yesterday, he will certainly be included in the first team squad more often than the reserves at least.

He is way too good for the reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Danger781 wrote: »
    From the viewpoint of a United fan, I can't see him playing full games very often. However, after yesterday, he will certainly be included in the first team squad more often than the reserves at least.

He is way too good for the reserves.
    As a United fan myself I think we could see him starting a lot more games... Moyes could use him as a figure to show the rest of the lads that their starting spots are now not guaranteed.... that needs to happen to bring back the fear of under preforming that was in place under Sir Alex and if he keeps up anything like yesterdays form her as I said is almost undropable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Is there any argument for keeping RVP in at this stage? Subbing hime out for Aguero seems the obvious option at this point, but with City's next 2 games away from home and United's at home, should I hold off at least one more...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Morzadec wrote: »
    Is there any argument for keeping RVP in at this stage? Subbing hime out for Aguero seems the obvious option at this point, but with City's next 2 games away from home and United's at home, should I hold off at least one more...?
    You see United are an unpredictable beast at the minute, they will improve no doubt and with that will come goals for RVP ... personally I think you are mad to still have him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Hogey007 wrote: »
    given that other people, myself included (in this thread and player watchlist thread) have elaborated on the pro's for getting him, would you care to elaborate on what you base your 1 point assumption as his likely score every week on?

It's based on him not getting over 60 minutes each week. So unless he scores or assists he will only get 1 point. Until I hear more from Moyes or see him starting the next 2/3 games I wouldn't get him in. But it's a minor risk for those that do, and at worst you make £0.2 profit off him by next week. As Danger says above he can't see him playing full games, and last thing you want to see is him coming on in the 65th minute every week for a likely 1 point.

I'm avoiding the United and Chelsea MF this year because there is too much competition, but if Januzaj ties down a spot he will fast become a must have. Clearly not just another Raheem Sterling.

roryc wrote: »
    It's based on him not getting over 60 minutes each week. So unless he scores or assists he will only get 1 point. Until I hear more from Moyes or see him starting the next 2/3 games I wouldn't get him in. But it's a minor risk for those that do, and at worst you make £0.2 profit off him by next week. As Danger says above he can't see him playing full games, and last thing you want to see is him coming on in the 65th minute every week for a likely 1 point.

I'm avoiding the United and Chelsea MF this year because there is too much competition, but if Januzaj ties down a spot he will fast become a must have. Clearly not just another Raheem Sterling.

Not regularly anyway. However, after yesterdays performance, surely it will be hard to justify dropping him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Anyone with Sturridge and Suarez this week planning on keeping them both for the time being? I have both and Giroud but want Lukaku, don't really know what to do :confused:

I was about to comment on here saying that I might actually keep my free transfer this week and use two the following week. Then I remembered I jumped on the Januzaj bandwagon last night.

Feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

RVP and Barkley out,

Yaya and Sturridge in
    -4 points but after getting scores of
    2, 0,0,1,2,-,-,-,-,1,2 I need to do something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

roryc wrote: »

fair enough reasoning, can't argue too much on that.

I think most of us getting him in know we're taking a risk, but it's a risk on a 4.6 player and aside from maybe wasting a transfer the risk I feel is very small compared to the potential reward.
    United have a brilliant run of 4 or 5 fixtures now so I feel he's worth the chance, he hasn't pledged his allegiance to any country yet (Belgium or Albania) so the chances of him getting injured over the next 2 weeks are minimal and down to training only.
    You'd have to feel he'll start the next game at home to Southampton and given as you say, he'll have gotten a nice price rise by then, I think it's a transfer worth doing now, rather than a wait and see approach. he will cost 4.9 if you don't do it in the gameweek, if he scores again v Southampton expect another .3 rise.
    I think It made perfect sense for all of us with brady or ward prowse, just get him now and see how it plays out. It won't be a transfer for everyone though, as busts said, he has other area's that need his attention and I think you yourself have ramsey earmarked for your transfer depending on him getting through today.
    even if he does start playing a bit more regularly, there will be the inevitable 1 pointers, given his age.
    But like I've said in other posts, this player is going to be very special, it might be another season or two before he's FF special but I think it's worth the risk, at worst we get a price rise. (and I'm not just jumping on this because he scored yesterday, I said in pre season he'd be a great player, just maybe not this season but he was "one to watch" in the player watchlist thread, and I also said in that thread as soon as I seen he was starting yesterday to keep a close eye on this player)

sorry about the essay reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

My transfers done had 2 free transfers, I shipped out Ben Afra/Aluko for Lukaku/Ravel Morrison.

Happy with that bit of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭q2ice

Anyone thinking of getting rid of Barkley?
    Looks like that Bandwagon could be derailing. Amalfitano would be a good swap.

Scored:
    Ful(A) 2
    Sun(H) 10
    ManU(A) 12
    Ars(H) 4 (half time in that game)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

q2ice wrote: »
    Anyone thinking of getting rid of Barkley?
    Looks like that Bandwagon could be derailing. Amalfitano would be a good swap.

Scored:
    Ful(A) 2
    Sun(H) 10
    ManU(A) 12
    Ars(H) 4 (half time in that game)

I definitely won't be getting rid of barkley soon, he's got 8,9 and 2 in his last 3 games. the 2 being away to city. I wouldn't have expected anything more from that.
    next up is hull at home.
    plus the problem (for me at least) is, I got barkley at 4.5, if I wanted to sell hi not i'd only get 5.0 and if I wanted him back then i'd be paying 5.5 (or possibly more)

the guy you pointed out is doing well, but it wouldn't be at barkley's expense i'd be bringing him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭jolim24601

thinking of selling rooney. bought him at 10.5 and he's at 10.9 now. if he goes down .1 during the week will his selling price for me be 10.7 or 10.6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Had Walcott before his injury, he'll come back into contention now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭jma

jolim24601 wrote: »
    thinking of selling rooney. bought him at 10.5 and he's at 10.9 now. if he goes down .1 during the week will his selling price for me be 10.7 or 10.6?

Your selling price now is 10.7m. If he drops by 100k, then your selling price will become 10.6m. You always bank half the profit, rounded down.

No chance of me dumping Barkley, cracking value and seems to be first choice now. How consistent do you expect him to be for £5.5m?

I'm going to hold my transfer until after the Internationals. Januzaj is too much of a risk imo, I'd be getting him in purely for the price rise. I'll wait and see the news on Ramsey and Brady before making a transfer, although I might bank it. Team isn't looking too bad. Hoping Michu explodes over the next 4 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭jolim24601

jma wrote: »
    Your selling price now is 10.7m. If he drops by 100k, then your selling price will become 10.6m. You always bank half the profit, rounded down.

thanks. wasn't sure if it went both ways. i still think he has some goals in him for sout'on and stoke which are both at OT but lukaku and remy both seem viable alternatives. say what you will about pardew but he knows how to get the most out of his strikers. 13, 8, 13 for the last 3 gws for remy. dayam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭jma

jolim24601 wrote: »
    thanks. wasn't sure if it went both ways. i still think he has some goals in him for sout'on and stoke which are both at OT but lukaku and remy both seem viable alternatives. say what you will about pardew but he knows how to get the most out of his strikers. 13, 8, 13 for the last 3 gws for remy. dayam.

I have Suarez, Sturridge and Giroud. I'm thinking it might not be a great idea to keep two Liverpool strikers on, and I'm thinking of bringing in Remy to replace Suarez.

I think Southampton keep getting underestimated. The odds for them to win against United are 7.00, and 1.5 to lose, but I personally think they have a good chance of winning or drawing. I wouldn't keep Rooney on anyway, but definitely not based on the fact that United are playing Southampton next.

United will hit form soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,103 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Eriksen out Oscar in for me,hopefully he continues to get in around the goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

im gettin on the jany bandwagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

dahat wrote: »
    Eriksen out Oscar in for me,hopefully he continues to get in around the goals.

I did Ben Arfa to Oscar earlier. He seems the Chelsea midfielder most assured of game time and Mourinho will be well aware they lost 1-0 to Everton when he rested him.

It was a toss up between him and Yaya but City's fixtures look tougher and he costs less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,103 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Lemlin wrote: »
    I did Ben Arfa to Oscar earlier. He seems the Chelsea midfielder most assured of game time and Mourinho will be well aware they lost 1-0 to Everton when he rested him.

It was a toss up between him and Yaya but City's fixtures look tougher and he costs less.

Cost was also a factor for me,Mourinho had said he see's him as his no.10,no doubt he will miss a game here and there but i will accept that buying him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I've already done Lukaku & Januzaj in for Rooney & Brady as my 2 FT but that leaves me with 4.4m in the bank! I think I need to take a points hit because surely leaving that amount resting is scandalous!

I should be looking to move on Collins, Whittaker or Chester but tempted to get Oscar in for Eriksen.

What is the deal with Collins gametime anyways, thought he'd be a regular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Can anyone tell me how Ramsey's price went up .1 today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Because enough people got him in yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Very interesting thread re Januzaj. I had almost convinced myself to go for it and get him in for Brady for three weeks or so till Hulls fixtures get better and turn a profit if nothing else, but a dreadful day today (with 10 pts from 6 players) has sobered me up a bit.

Need to tighten up on the he 4pt hits for a while so don't have the transfers to spare for AJ. My only transfer will be getting Ben Arfa out so I'd appreciate advice. Will have 9.1 to spend. Am thinking either Oscar or Michu. Which do yous reckon? Have Eriksen, Ozil, Ramsey and Brady as well. Eriksen is on thin ice at this stage too.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me how Ramsey's price went up .1 today?

Once he reaches the max 3 rises in a game week any further NTI carries over and activates on the Sat night rise, so basically if people were still getting him in since he last road last week he's automatically on a rise on sat night. It's not just his transfers yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

FHFC wrote: »
    Very interesting thread re Januzaj. I had almost convinced myself to go for it and get him in for Brady for three weeks or so till Hulls fixtures get better and turn a profit if nothing else, but a dreadful day today (with 10 pts from 6 players) has sobered me up a bit.

Need to tighten up on the he 4pt hits for a while so don't have the transfers to spare for AJ. My only transfer will be getting Ben Arfa out so I'd appreciate advice. Will have 9.1 to spend. Am thinking either Oscar or Michu. Which do yous reckon? Have Eriksen, Ozil, Ramsey and Brady as well. Eriksen is on thin ice at this stage too.

Cheers.

I went for Oscar. Swansea seem to be struggling with the Europa League. I also think they over achieved last season.

There's a few quite ordinary players at that club. Last season I expected they could be in the relegation battle and was wrong. I still think it could happen this year.