Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy - 4 Time Major Winner

• Registered Users Posts: 14,314 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

He doesn't have to win.

I think that is the issues with the analysis of Rory here it is all or nothing.

He is in a process at present where he is on an upward trend and all things are looking good.

He is in a leaderboard with at least 4 players who could shoot a score unreachable - the top 4 including Rory could shoot a 65 or less.

I'd take a loss here , if this trend is the way things are going, a win in a major will do for me.

I'm still fairly confident he will win a major this year. (call it a hunch if you want, as was posted here)

Ya, he really does.

Since the beginning of 2018 he has been in the last group 10 times, 5 of those within 3 shots or less with no wins. His one win in the last two and a half years was Bay Hill, second last group. He needs a win, a significant pattern of play is forming which indicates he cannot get the job done on the final day when in contention.

Upward trend, kinda like dispersion patterns and strokes gained means sweet F all if you keep missing out on top spot.

Let’s agree he is playing well and he is the best player in contention, but even the his most ardent fans wouldn’t be very confident he will get the job done, form over the last two years suggests otherwise.

Whether you like it or not, success in golf is measured by wins, that applies to all golfers.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,283 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Water on 4. All the leaders struggling

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Taking that pin on from rough. Madness in fairness. No need for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Ah that’s just a silly error. Just try and get it into the heart of the green. Obviously it leaves a tough 2 putt but much better option.

No one will be getting lots of birdies so mistakes have to be kept to a minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Rory decision making is poor, why was he not ensuring he was well over that water.

And where was his caddie..

• Registered Users Posts: 20,879 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Dav010 wrote: »
    Ya, he really does.

Since the beginning of 2018 he has been in the last group 10 times, 5 of those within 3 shots or less with no wins. His one win in the last two and a half years was Bay Hill, second last group. He needs a win, a significant pattern of play is forming which indicates he cannot get the job done on the final day when in contention.

Upward trend, kinda like dispersion patterns and strokes gained means sweet F all if you keep missing out on top spot.

Let’s agree he is playing well and he is the best player in contention, but even the his most ardent fans wouldn’t be very confident he will get the job done, form over the last two years suggests otherwise.

Whether you like it or not, success in golf is measured by wins, that applies to all golfers.

In majors.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭OEP

For what it's worth, I think he's wearing a green t-shirt...

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Golfhead65

Has he no green

Jaysus Rory.

His country flag doesn't contain any green

• Registered Users Posts: 27,136 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

A few of them have a browny green streak in the back of their trousers it seems

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Leave the nationality stuff out. Thanks

Keano wrote: »
    Leave the nationality stuff out. Thanks

That include shirt and underwear choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,283 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Great hot on 6. Hopefully start of a move now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,608 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Come on Eddie!

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭rooney30

Birdie on 16, and par par finish should be enough for Rory

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Great 2nd shot by Rory on 16, in his hands now

• Registered Users Posts: 17,873 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Very tough final 2 holes, trouble everywhere.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Ha ha wouldn’t care to be paired with you in the Monthly Medal

he has it covered - green jocks. :P

some clown - aul one

Luck of the irish

• Registered Users Posts: 17,873 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

He'll take that one

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

he looks nervous

But - suppose , he hasn't won that many times recently

• Registered Users Posts: 24,585 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

17th still raises the hair on the back of my neck, 20+ years after I last played PGA Tour golf on the Mega Drive

• Registered Users Posts: 16,252 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Surely a par there

Great drive on 18
    Guess Harry removed the bottles from Rory’s bag

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Fair play he showed steel today, he could go on some streak now

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Stream went just on 17th tee. Brilliant tee shot on 18 anyway.

Should close it out now

Green two putts

And a good few poster will be keeping head down for a while here :P

Seems hunches as good as stats :D

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

He’ll never win again, no form.

Remind me wrote: »
    He’ll never win again, no form.

No chance in a major :D

If he wore green the fecker would have lost - fair play to him stuck to his process. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Happy St Patrick's Day