Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gym Membership - What are you paying?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

It's his money.

If he wants to spend it on that or even unicorn porn then who cares? :confused:

I don't care where he spends his money. I was just saying it's not value and the same can be achieved without shelling out a fortune.

Perhaps you missed my point!!

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

The whole "its his money he can do what he wants with it" aside you'd have to be a total fool to pay that much a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Jebus was he wearing a mask when you signed up.. You're being robbed..

A few sessions with a personal trainer would give you a good routine.

That's over €2k a year.. :eek:

I think the big advantage of crossfit is just that it isn't routine, you're constantly doing different things. Its also small class sizes with plenty of tuition etc. You cant really compare classes with working out yourself in a gym cost wise.
    That said I pay less then 1k per year for a crossfit gym, regular gym and pool.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I think the big advantage of crossfit is just that it isn't routine, you're constantly doing different things. Its also small class sizes with plenty of tuition etc. You cant really compare classes with working out yourself in a gym cost wise.
    That said I pay less then 1k per year for a crossfit gym, regular gym and pool.

One of the points I was making there. Although still expensive at least you have the benefits of a gym and pool, which I would have thought would provide more of a fitness routine than working on individual muscle groups.

Sure either way it's better than doing nothing I guess I'm just amazed at the cost of it.

Good Luck in your efforts hopefully cross fit loses it's appeal and the prices become more realistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,177 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

SeaDaily wrote: »
    The whole "its his money he can do what he wants with it" aside you'd have to be a total fool to pay that much a month.

200+ total fools in my crossfit anyway.

To be honest, I probably shouldn't have posted. Should have known we'd get into a pointless argument over the value of crossfit. It's a branded strength and conditioning program ultimately with a fair amount of personal attention. It's not cheap and - if you really knew your stuff and were highly self motivated as many on this forum will be - you probably don't need to be spending it. But for many people spending it (or slightly less for a limited classes per week package) it's worth it because they achieve consistent measurable progress in terms of their health and fitness.
    Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Although still expensive at least you have the benefits of a gym and pool, which I would have thought would provide more of a fitness routine than working on individual muscle groups.

Hmm, not to be dismissive, but you might not understand what's on offer in a well programmed and run crossfit box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

To be honest, I probably shouldn't have posted. Should have known we'd get into a pointless argument over the value of crossfit. It's a branded strength and conditioning program ultimately with a fair amount of personal attention. It's not cheap and - if you really knew your stuff and were highly self motivated as many on this forum will be - you probably don't need to be spending it. But for many people spending it (or slightly less for a limited classes per week package) it's worth it because they achieve consistent measurable progress in terms of their health and fitness.

Nope , thank you for sharing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭TNT2k_

€250 for 12 months, so nearly €21 a month. Bargain

No reason not to post its a forum open for differing opinions yours is as valid as mine or anyone else's but I bet you wish it was cheaper. :-)

I see the points you're making but you also see measured results outside of gyms amd cross fit studios.

Good Luck with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

€11 a month for a 16 month BD membership.

It's grand.

But I also have access to a fully kitted out S&C gym & a pool at work so it's just a back up for weekends & holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

pay 15 a month for a gym and thats what you get. use of facilities and equipment.
    pay 180 for cross fit then you get more, not only use of the equipment but a high portion of supervised activity, personalized program and one to one work with an experienced qualified team of coaches. the cross fit in sandyford has an onsite physio too as do many of the others.

sure my ben dunnes gym does free classes, but almost 0 one on one and im not convinced of the quality. they have PTs but you have to pay extra for them.

cross fit gym users get a personalized and supervised program with nutrition and tuition for the duration.

at a commercial gym you may get the program written but youre on your own after that no one will motivate you and retest you for the duration of the program.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I agree to a point.

The one thing that Rots my ****e about CF gyms is that after paying the equivalent of a mortgage per month in some cases, you're only allowed be in the premises 20 hours a month.

Many XFitters then have another gym membership on top because for a lot of people, 5 hours a week isn't enough.

To be honest, I probably shouldn't have posted. Should have known we'd get into a pointless argument over the value of crossfit.

I wasn't giving out about the value of crossfit, I simply feel that no fitness programme or facility is worth €2000 a year. I would say that if you shopped around you could quite easily find a much cheaper, equally effective crossfit gym to join. You come across as a bad consumer if you are willing to part with 2k a year when there are hundreds of much cheaper alternatives. You must have money to burn.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I agree to a point.

The one thing that Rots my ****e about CF gyms is that after paying the equivalent of a mortgage per month in some cases, you're only allowed be in the premises 20 hours a month.

Many XFitters then have another gym membership on top because for a lot of people, 5 hours a week isn't enough.

What? You'd think if someone was serious enough about fitness to pay 180 p/m they'd want to use the gym as much as possible.

I can see why people would pay a premium for CF style gym but that would definitely put me off. I don't think the hours would suit me either.

I agree to a point.

This IS annoying. The lack of any open gym times is irritating. I'd definitely use it if it was available. However, there is a theory behind it:

A) Programming and coaching is what you pay for. Coming down to work on your own defeats to some extent the purpose of what is trying to be achieved;
    B) Barring fairly high level or elite focussed training, five good solid sessions a week with adequate rest and recovery around it is enough for people. And additional work might actually be counter productive and affect progress, increase chances of injury;
    I wasn't giving out about the value of crossfit, I simply feel that no fitness programme or facility is worth €2000 a year. I would say that if you shopped around you could quite easily find a much cheaper, equally effective crossfit gym to join. You come across as a bad consumer if you are willing to part with 2k a year when there are hundreds of much cheaper alternatives. You must have money to burn.

Hundreds of cheaper alternatives? :confused: I'm really confused and surprised by this. You're telling me that there are literally 100+ S + C facilities in the Dublin area that are well equipped (bumper plates; plenty of racks, bands, rowers, etc); offer coached sessions; individual attention from an assigned coach; nutritional advice and assistance for much cheaper?

Do you have a few examples to hand? Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,089 ✭✭✭COH

Some people are happy to pay the monthly fee for Crossfit and other semi-private S&C gyms (SDSC, RevFit etc.) because they get...
    - coaching
    - structured programming (in some boxes anyway!)
    - exposure to different types of training
    - Nutritional advice
    - friends
    - an immediate support structure and community feel
    - social events
    - in house competition
    - Good quality equipment for the most part

Anyone can go and do a wod in any commercial gym, a park, their sitting room.... but wod's aren't what they are paying for. Provided they get the above then its actually great value. You may not agree withe the price, but value is entirely dependent on what the person spending the money feels is value. Cheaper than seeing a PT once a week for the same service too...

(This is coming from a powerlifter that works as a PT and trains in a commercial gym btw)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Before I went to college I was paying €520 a year. Most expensive one around but its the only one that I can walk to so I was paying for the convenience.
    At college its €190 from Sept to May(Student Rate) and then I pay €175 for the summer for my gym at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭Barna77

€350 year membership

• Registered Users Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭matrim

Paid 280 for to renew for year in The Markievicz recently

Do you have a few examples to hand? Thanks in advance.

http://eastcoastbarbell.com/membership/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Going to the gym costs me 360 per month, 60 for the gym membership and 300 to have my baby minded.

There is no other way I would get any exercise or time without the kid unless I pay.

I have to accept that it's worth it - it's either stop the rot now or get fatter / weaker / even less balanced.

That's a weightlifting club, right? It's specialist training for the Olympic lifts?

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

€20 per month for off-peak membership. Paid a €60 deposit up front. Before 4pm Mon-Fri and all weekend. I go early so it suits me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

That's a weightlifting club, right? It's specialist training for the Olympic lifts?

Yup. Not comparable at all.

Also the idea of 5 hours a week not being enough for most people is bonkers.

Finally I can confidentially state the majority of ppl who join RevFit see better results in 3 months there than 12 months in a commercial gym.

So, if you're paying €500/year (40/month) for a commercial gym and get better results in 3 months paying approx. €450 in RevFit, who's the time wasting cash burning idiot? Hmmmm.

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chriity139

i pay 55 a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

€32 a month, which gives me access to 2 gyms currently and a third one soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I pay 175 Euros every 6 months .

Hanley wrote: »
    So, if you're paying €500/year (40/month) for a commercial gym and get better results in 3 months paying approx. €450 in RevFit, who's the time wasting cash burning idiot? Hmmmm.

Well, I suppose the question is what the objective is for people? Is it to spend the least to have access to a facility or spend what it takes to get the right facility and / or training support to allow you to achieve your goals?

I suppose it's a fair answer to the question posed, but a lot of the posts in this thread are numbers. What are ye getting for the numbers? :)

I was there spending €175 for the yearly Ben Dunne membership. I maybe managed 25 sessions over the course of the year, and those sessions were unbalanced and ineffective. In short, I got what I paid for. It's only a great deal if you have a clear idea of what you're doing and the discipline to stick to it.

Seems from my limited knowledge that such a product (i.e. Ben Dunne) is actually terrible value to 90%+ of the customers and savage value to the remaining 10% - i.e. the 10% of sign ups who actually avail of the facility multiple times a week on a consistent basis. And actually, within that 10% those that are following a balanced and effective training program off their own bat is a subset again.

I go to ben dunnes 3 times a week. would go more but right now there is no need.

You get out what you put in. If youre paying 180 a month and getting €300 value from it then youre better off than someone paying €175 and never going.

Plus, if you have loads of money €180 is nothing anyway.

Heads up for rolls?

I go to ben dunnes 3 times a week. would go more but right now there is no need.

You get out what you put in. If youre paying 180 a month and getting €300 value from it then youre better off than someone paying €175 and never going.

Plus, if you have loads of money €180 is nothing anyway.

Heads up for rolls?

I wish I had loads of money! €180 is three nights out drinking pints a month (not a huge night out by any stretch!).

so you assume one replaces the other? how naive.
    Hence why i need a cheap gym