Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate My Team thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Can somebody tell me this team looks terrible because the more I look at it the more I like it. Obviously Morrison and Redmond may be a gamble but if Morrison were to play he could do well and if not I have hopes with Redmond anyway.

acaj4j.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

roryc wrote: »
    I'm assuming you've mixed up Soldado and Negredo! I think I'll go with Soldado anyway, seems the safest bet in the £9m+ range. My bench is weak, but that's what you get when you spend the absolute bare minimum (£16.5m). Means a cracking first 11 though. I'm still wary of Hazard and Lukaku based on recent Spanish team info, and Bale can obviously still come along and ruin everything. Still don't think you will see many stronger teams than this for GW1.

Sorry ye I meant soldado my head is in a spin with all these new strikers. I'm not going with lukaku but he is a good option. Even if he only plays 1 game you still have a striker playing for one of the best teams in the league at home to one of the worst teams. I also think in your circumstances(no 2nd goalie) your better off not bothering with cech as it will give you the flexibility to move on lukaku, hazard or dzeko(if hes not a starter)

Can somebody tell me this team looks terrible because the more I look at it the more I like it. Obviously Morrison and Redmond may be a gamble but if Morrison were to play he could do well and if not I have hopes with Redmond anyway.

My only fear would be what if aguero and morrison don't start .Its offset however by the fact that you only have 2 chelsea players and assuming you keep cech only 1 of them that you need to get rid of. What are your initial transfer plans for gw 2 and 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

To be honest I think hes a top quality player, saying that even as a Utd fan, he had the second most crosses of any player in Europe last season which I think will lead to numerous assists for Negredo/Dzeko, hes lighting quick also which will give City more of a threat on the break which they never had before! Only thing going against it for me is that hes in Spain squad for that friendly in Equador next week and he has history of home sickness problems! Was him or taking a chance on Kagawa for me, will wait and see if Kag is picked by Moyes on Sunday before deciding for sure!

I'm gambling on Nani.. feel like he's going to be back on form this season under Moyes..

Word has it, the board offered Nani out to Monaco behind Moyes' back and he snapped. Called a conference between him and the board and tore them all a new one. Rang Nani himself directly and explained what happened.

Moyes obviously wants him in the squad, and if the 11/12 season is anything to go by he scored nearly 200 points..

Kag still needs to prove himself in my opinion.

My only fear would be what if aguero and morrison don't start .Its offset however by the fact that you only have 2 chelsea players and assuming you keep cech only 1 of them that you need to get rid of. What are your initial transfer plans for gw 2 and 3?

Well I'm confident that my bench is strong and everyone could fill a role although Brayford may be the least trustworthy.

It would depend on whether my players play or not. I could easily downgrade Cech. I'll see if Aguero plays tomorrow, if not it's back to the drawing board. I could see myself bringing in Walcott and Dzeko for Aguero/Giroud/Morrison or Redmond and another 7/7.5 forward.

Well I'm confident that my bench is strong and everyone could fill a role although Brayford may be the least trustworthy.

It would depend on whether my players play or not. I could easily downgrade Cech. I'll see if Aguero plays tomorrow, if not it's back to the drawing board. I could see myself bringing in Walcott and Dzeko for Aguero/Giroud/Morrison or Redmond and another 7/7.5 forward.

I'd love to go with aguero myself as I think hes as good as any striker in the league but will be adopting a wait and see approach with him. You seem to like this lad redmond what sort of player is he. I dont know too much about him and have never seen him play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭macheda

macheda wrote: »
    Cech

Mertesacker,Turner,Lescott

Miralles,Dyer,Hazard(C),Walcott

Dzeko,Lukaku,Van Persie

Subs
    Davis
    Brayford
    Thomas
    Chester

Any thoughts on this team above!!

Finding it a lot harder starting off this year!!!

Anyone???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

What's your thinking behind Dyer? Swansea have a horrible start and he's not a goalscorer.

Also, I would swap Cech/Lescott for Hart/Terry if you can find an extra £0.5m.

As for RVP, I don't think he's worth £14m (even if Bale goes) but if you do have him you have to go with Anelka IMO. Otherwise you are too top heavy and are forced to play the likes of Dyer. Put it this way - Dyer and Anelka are the same price, who do you think will score more? And with RVP you are forced to play some weaker players, make sure they are the right weak players.

You could have Nani and Anelka for the same price as Dzeko and Dyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

acaj4j.jpg

I like it because you've gone with different options. Everyone seems to be basing teams off what did what last season, and that's fine, but sometimes you gotta' think about who's going to be good this season as opposed to who did well last.

I'm not sure about Aguero though, just because City have gone utterly mad this summer with spending, and I find it hard to see where/how he'll play constantly, which is shame as I love the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭bezuaua

HART

ZABALETA
    IVANOVIC (will swap him for coleman after GW1)
    KOSCIELINY

HAZARD
    WALCOTT
    MIRALLAS
    NOLAN

SOLDADO
    DZEKO
    ASPAS

SUBS:
    DAVIS
    CHESTER
    M.TURNER
    RAVEN MORRISON

1M left in the bank. Team built considering 3 initial GW's. Questions remains... Mickey T or Collins (both 4.5) / Aspas or Berbatov ?

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭j timber

. Sorry for my basic question but would like some advice on my team.thanks in advance

I'd love to go with aguero myself as I think hes as good as any striker in the league but will be adopting a wait and see approach with him. You seem to like this lad redmond what sort of player is he. I dont know too much about him and have never seen him play?

Redmond is a pacy winger and can cut in or go down the line. He can also play in the hole but I see him as playing from the left and cutting in or going down the line for Norwich. He's been ripping it up in pre-season and offers something different to both Snodgrass and Pilkington (who is also seemingly injured. Well not in the Irish squad due to injury anyway which may be why he's starting so much but he's still been playing well). He was also one of the few players who came out of England's under 21's summer with positive feedback.

His stats for the last 2 seasons aren't spectacular with 7 goals in 2 seasons and only 2 of those last year and 6 assists but I think he could make a good start this year. Chris Hughton also was the man to give him his break at Birmingham so there aren't many who know his potential better than he would and they beat Swansea to his signature.

I'm not sure I can advise anyone to bring him in but I'm seriously tempted to have him myself as a bit of a gamble that can always be rectified anyway. I've been catching bit and pieces of their pre-season to check in on Mickey and the 2 frontmen and he's looked sharp starting 5 of their 6 matches so far and coming on as a sub in the other with an assist and plenty of shots and crosses. We'll see how he does tomorrow but ye've been warned now :pac:

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I like it because you've gone with different options. Everyone seems to be basing teams off what did what last season, and that's fine, but sometimes you gotta' think about who's going to be good this season as opposed to who did well last.

I'm not sure about Aguero though, just because City have gone utterly mad this summer with spending, and I find it hard to see where/how he'll play constantly, which is shame as I love the chap.

Yeah I might just wait and see for a week or two with him. We'll see if he plays tomorrow. If he does I might just take a punt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭orkkukunkku

[IMG][/img]dlv0.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I'm quite happy with this. What do ya think?

I have gone two last season with one playing keeper always from big clubs. It has worked very well.

Biggest question is Terry nailed 180min for gw1?

Should i downgrade Shaw or Kim to get Ivan which I prefer more than Terry? Is Ivan even nailed when Azpi comes from international duties?

I was planning to transfer Terry (if nailed 180min) to Zabaleta after Gw1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Hi lads, Any opinions on this team would be much appreciated..

2dul65y.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

irishfeen wrote: »
    Hi lads, Any opinions on this team would be much appreciated..

You've only got one player for the dgw. Baker doesn't count.
    You need to get in at least one more Chelsea player or maybe Benteke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭clint123

Thoughts on this lads ?

Vorm
    Toure Ivanovic Mertesacker

Michu Wilshire Mata Sterling

Benteke RVP Aspas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

clint123 wrote: »
    Thoughts on this lads ?

Vorm
    Toure Ivanovic Mertesacker

Michu Wilshire Mata Sterling

Benteke RVP Aspas

Who are your subs? Vorm has tough fixtures so Id ditch him. Defence is good. Dont like Wilshire, good player but not a good FF player. Sterling and Aspas are rotation risks although I do like the look of Aspas from what I've seen in pre-season. You need some Chelsea attackers for week 1 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Scrappylad

Any Thoughts. I'm very undecided this year.
    Untitled.png
    how to print screen on pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

I'm assuming you've mixed up Soldado and Negredo! I think I'll go with Soldado anyway, seems the safest bet in the £9m+ range. My bench is weak, but that's what you get when you spend the absolute bare minimum (£16.5m). Means a cracking first 11 though. I'm still wary of Hazard and Lukaku based on recent Spanish team info, and Bale can obviously still come along and ruin everything. Still don't think you will see many stronger teams than this for GW1.

1zqf0uu.png

why dzeko and lukaku? both have question marks on whether or not they will start or am i missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭bezuaua

Last version! Team for 3 initial GW's.

1.0 in the bank.

Opinions?

s02l.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

Any thoughts on my selection?
    Not sure about Oscar yet, will decide later in the week if it looks like he'll be selected.
    Would be planning to keep him for just a couple of weeks anyway.

GK
    Davis
    £4.0
    Cech
    £6.5

DF
    Toure
    £5.0
    Mertesacker
    £5.5
    Collins
    £4.5
    Coleman
    £5.0
    Turner
    £4.5

MF
    Oscar
    £8.5
    Mirallas
    £7.5
    Morrison
    £4.5
    Walcott
    £9.5
    Hazard
    £9.5

FWD
    Soldado
    £9.5
    Giroud
    £8.5
    Dzeko
    £7.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭macheda

What's your thinking behind Dyer? Swansea have a horrible start and he's not a goalscorer.

Also, I would swap Cech/Lescott for Hart/Terry if you can find an extra £0.5m.

As for RVP, I don't think he's worth £14m (even if Bale goes) but if you do have him you have to go with Anelka IMO. Otherwise you are too top heavy and are forced to play the likes of Dyer. Put it this way - Dyer and Anelka are the same price, who do you think will score more? And with RVP you are forced to play some weaker players, make sure they are the right weak players.

You could have Nani and Anelka for the same price as Dzeko and Dyer.

Absolutely zero thought put into dyer, I've taken your sound advice about anelka/nani instead of dzeko/dyer.

I think i'll stick with cech/lescott because i'm not sure if terry will play both games.

Yeah RVP is one i'm gonna be tinkering with up until the next weekend. Could make my overall team much stronger by taking him out. I just think that he is nailed on points and there is too many question marks at the moment over the likes of dzeko/soldado/hooper/van wofswinkel/bony.

Thanks for the advice much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

darego wrote: »
    why dzeko and lukaku? both have question marks on whether or not they will start or am i missing something?

Nope, you're right. But I'm basing this on Pellegrini saying that Dzeko is his number 1 - you would assume he will at least start the first game. City have a decent start so it's worth the risk imo. Fantasy Football Scout seem to think he will start too. As for Lukaku, he has a DGW against two weak sides, so even if he doesn't play both he should definitely play one.

The rest of my team is solid with no 'risky' players like Nani/Kagawa etc, so barring perhaps Hazard I should be able to focus my first change on either Lukaku or Dzeko out, and can look at whichever of the new forwards looks good to replace them (Bony, the Wolf etc).

Obviously we need to look at new info that comes in before the start of GW1, like Torres not going to Spain etc, but based on current info I don't mind taking a risk on those two at the start.

bezuaua wrote: »
    Last version! Team for 3 initial GW's.

1.0 in the bank.

Opinions?

s02l.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I like it but my opinion probably doesnt count as much as its more or less the same team and strategy I'm persuing. You have 2 or 3 different players to me I particularly like Nolan for the first 3 gws a great choice and I may try and get him in to my team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,114 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Here we go,looks a pretty strong team to me,Likely to either upgrade my sub keeper or shift Cech altogether after wk2.

7ec914fc3d34c7efa29de8000bda0eb6.png

Obvious issues around Lukaku and Hazard that most have but my defence looks strong a few GW

Dzeko i am keen on and Bony plays Utd first who are leaking goals so quite easy he will score,Michu and himself should combine well this season

Utd coverage will come in after the WC as i wanna see how we line up especially around the front line,Zaha and Nani look well priced to do well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

dahat wrote: »
    Here we go,looks a pretty strong team to me,Likely to either upgrade my sub keeper or shift Cech altogether after wk2.

Obvious issues around Lukaku and Hazard that most have but my defence looks strong a few GW

Dzeko i am keen on and Bony plays Utd first who are leaking goals so quite easy he will score,Michu and himself should combine well this season

Utd coverage will come in after the WC as i wanna see how we line up especially around the front line,Zaha and Nani look well priced to do well

Same team as I have currently bar I have Soldado and I have Leacott instead of Zab. I've decided Lukaku isn't worth the risk.

I notice you've benched Turner and are playing Coleman. Would you not play the home player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,114 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Lemlin wrote: »
    Same team as I have currently bar I have Soldado and I have Leacott instead of Zab. I've decided Lukaku isn't worth the risk.

I notice you've benched Turner and are playing Coleman. Would you not play the home player?

Not actually set yet,likely to captain Hazard,playing Turner is quite likely.

dahat wrote: »

good team but i wouldnt waste a precious early transfer on a keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,261 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Nearing a final draft now.

6wAvPj.jpg

Going with only 2 Chelsea players slightly worries me but I feel Lukaku will not get much game time with Torres now not travelling with the Spain squad. Would've liked to have Coutinho in there but Nolan is in at the moment for his good fixtures. I may try to get a City defender but I'm happy enough with the defence. Any thoughts/opinions?