Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All things Debs/Grad related

• 02-07-2013 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭

Well, I dunno, I felt the LC forum was in need of a thread for this topic, it's a significant part of the whole Leaving Cert experience :P Posts about it in the OT thread get lost n' stuff, so with debs season approaching (mine's in two weeks), get discussing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

That reminds me I still need to pay for my ticket..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

All I have are tickets I have no idea what Im doing about anything else..
    Hopefully its a long Summer >.<

deise_girl wrote: »
    All I have are tickets I have no idea what Im doing about anything else..
    Hopefully its a long Summer >.<

I have tickets and a car rented! I don't even know who I wanna bring tbh. Mine's in September though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

My debs including transport, tickets, dress, hair/makeup, hotel room for the night...
    Adds up to a grand total of €75
    Beating the recession since 1995 :cool:

Disclaimer: alcohol not included :P

Mines in September too thank god :P
    Ahh transport, thats in the minute detail section like what I should do with my hair atm.
    the biggies atm are dress and who to bring, even if I can settle on one of those..

Best thing about being a guy is that I can't really go wrong with a suit. The big thing is who to go with because you need to be able to have a good time with them.

peekachoo wrote: »
    My debs including transport, tickets, dress, hair/makeup, hotel room for the night...
    Adds up to a grand total of €75
    Beating the recession since 1995 :cool:

Disclaimer: alcohol not included :P

What?
    We have to buy 2 tickets and they alone cost €100
    Tiz hard times lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

My grad isn't till' like November so no ticket or nothing yet! Going to the grad with someone else in August though, just need to get a suit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

What?
    Tiz hard times lads

€100 each ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

What?
    Tiz hard times lads

Ours were €120 for the two aswell alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Royaler95

Does anyone know what the dinners consist of ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

ours are €70 each,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

€35 for my single ticket :D

Joys of being alone!

Lads will a black skinny tie and black suit make it look like im going to a funeral? Dates dress is black and white.

Wear a dicky bow instead :D

noooo skinny black ties are the best, go with it :D

Oh and it's because im on the committee so I got 2 tickets for free. The tickets are actually 60 each :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Go with the dickie bow! I've always had a bit of a thing for them.

Our tickets were €70 each (last year's were €65) and I only bothered/had the money to buy one so no date crisis for me thank god! I've had the dress since just after Christmas, bought it in a Debenhams sale in England, £79 reduced to £22.50, I couldn't resist such a bargain! Helps that I'm in love with the dress too I suppose.

yes :D

Black and white is gonna be classical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

Only bought the one ticket,which was €60 and the money that I would have spent on the second ticket is goin straight into my savings for the Ireland v New Zealand match in November :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Well, I dunno, I felt the LC forum was in need of a thread for this topic, it's a significant part of the whole Leaving Cert experience :P Posts about it in the OT thread get lost n' stuff, so with debs season approaching (mine's in two weeks), get discussing! :D
    There used to be an ongoing one over the last couple of years, but it was getting awful long anyway; a fresh start may be no harm. ;)
    Depends on the cut, really, but you can't go too far wrong with classical black and white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Our tickets were €72 each and I bought two. €144 ... Have a date sorted though so all I need is a suit, box of chocolates and a corsage then I'm sorted. Transport is included in our tickets with two party buses taking us to the venue then the nightclub and back to the venue for breakfast before heading home. I genuinely cannot wait for it.

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Our tickets were €72 each and I bought two. €144 ... Have a date sorted though so all I need is a suit, box of chocolates and a corsage then I'm sorted. Transport is included in our tickets with two party buses taking us to the venue then the nightclub and back to the venue for breakfast before heading home. I genuinely cannot wait for it.

These tickets sound sooooo expensive lots of people saying their tickets were 70 euro alone without their dates tickets :eek: do you all get really fancy dinners or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Grey suit anyone?

My suit is grey ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

HugsiePie wrote: »
    These tickets sound sooooo expensive lots of people saying their tickets were 70 euro alone without their dates tickets :eek: do you all get really fancy dinners or something?

Our tickets were about 140 for the two, including an optional tenner for 2 copies of a photograph at the hotel. This included a meal of a soup starter, some chicken in white wine sauce wrapped in bacon for main course and dessert, which I've forgotten (looking forward to the food immensely :D ). Also, champagne reception and transport, so I guess that's what it covers. Can't wait! :D

Turkey and Ham FTW!

My suit is grey ;)

Is that a hint? ;)

Ours is that price and it just includes the 3 course meal, the band, then the DJ and a bar extension.

Is that a hint? ;)

Grey suits are the bomb
    The joke was that I'm a girl :D

Grey suits are the bomb
    The joke was that I'm a girl :D

:pac: I got it!

They are tbh, you're one of the few that agree!

Jade. wrote: »
    Ours is that price and it just includes the 3 course meal, the band, then the DJ and a bar extension.

Hmmmmm, I guess my debs will consist of a kebab, fruit salad and a CD player :p
    :pac: I got it!

They are tbh, you're one of the few that agree!

I keep getting ads at the bottom of my screen for suits :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Hmmmmm, I guess my debs will consist of a kebab, fruit salad and a CD player :p
    Sure you might be as well off, could be more fun ...

The tickets includes a photographer at the hotel, three course meal, candy cart, band, bus transfers, a ticket into the Forum nightclub and a breakfast buffet afterwards. Tbf I think it's a good deal especially when you have the whole lot covered and all you need is a suit/dress, a date if you're taking one and gifts.

Ours is probably the most expensive. Our photographer is charging €65 for the pictures :eek:

Our hotel is 45 each including breakfast, dinner, photographer, red carpet champagne arrival, band, DJ, nightclub, and balloons and all that stuff nobody wants. I guess we got a good deal compared to the rest of you? :D

Mine is a tenner cheaper :P
    That being said I have no idea what my debs is going to consist of :o

Why is everyone having breakfast?! :pac:

Jade. wrote: »
    Why is everyone having breakfast?! :pac:

because it's mandatory that after a night on the tiles, one must enjoy a big diiiiirrrtttyyy greasy breakfast :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Tipperary though...

Prodigious wrote: »
    Tipperary though...

it's in kilkenny. <.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Are you from Cahir and are ye having your debs in the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? That will be shocking.

are cahir having theirs there too? :eek: I live near cahir but we're going there!

Lucky how yee all have bar extensions or nightclubs etc to go too.. I dunno what happens to us after 2 when we're kicked out of the hotel. Possibly roaming the streets for 5 hours waiting for the nearest shop to less breakfast rolls, how fun >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭yournerd

I paid 87 for 2 tickets and thats just dinner. nothing else :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 df123

I realise that this may be a stupid question but ye know the way the lads bring their dates mother flowers or chocolates or whatever? Do girls who are asked to a lads debs just bring themselves or what like? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

df123 wrote: »
    I realise that this may be a stupid question but ye know the way the lads bring their dates mother flowers or chocolates or whatever? Do girls who are asked to a lads debs just bring themselves or what like? :P

... I completely forgot about bringing the chocolates to the parents.. :o Lads only bring chocolates to the parents when going to the girls' grad, right? Like, when going to the lads house, doesn't the lad and the girl return to the lads house before the grad? Don't know if that makes any sense or not.

df123 wrote: »

Regardless of who's debs/grad night it is, the lad will always pick the girl at her house and then meet everyone at the hotel or wherever the event is held. The lad will buy chocolates for the mother and a corsage for the girl. Girls who asked someone to their debs/grad night, you do not need to buy him anything. You could get him a pint or a shot at the bar but nothing formal with parents and family.

Is €70 a decent budget for renting a suit?

What does it include? If shoes are included along with shirt, tie, trousers and a jacket then it's a pretty damn good bargain. If shoes aren't included, it's still a good price.