Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All things Debs/Grad related

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

You guys are not serious that I have to pay for all this crap? I think all my money will be going to the bar thanks very much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

Sadly by the end I was ready to fall asleep at the breakfast table. Made it to the bus and slept the whole way home

Apart from one stop where a guy went to get sick and got to the front of the bus only to vomit on the door. Estimates put him at about 3 seconds too late. :pac:

Being sleepy is no excuse lad, shud have downed a red bull :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Calm it down a *small* bit, lads! ;)
    Ciaran bring me to the debs
    Ah here, he has enough to be doing without trying to find a rainbow corsage for you! :p
    And lads, the Debs that involves the bracelet isn't til thursday week so keep your randy hats on :P
    0_o

Ciaran, more seriously: a Newbridge bracelet would be a lovely gift for someone who's a bit special to you: doesn't matter if ye're going out, could just be a good friend, someone who means a lot to you and this is a really nice way to say that.

Might be a bit OTT for just a casual arrangement to go to the Debs together though?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Ah here, he has enough to be doing without trying to find a rainbow corsage for you! :p

No randy its ok. I'll settle for one of those newbridge bracelet he's handing out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 CiaranMac11

someone who's a bit special to you: doesn't matter if ye're going out, could just be a good friend, someone who means a lot to you and this is a really nice way to say that.

Might be a bit OTT for just a casual arrangement to go to the Debs together though?

Exactly thats why I'm only getting my own debs date the bracelet because we're really close ... AND STUFF ;)

I still get mine though right?

Exactly thats why I'm only getting my own debs date the bracelet because we're really close ... AND STUFF ;)
    In that case it sounds like a lovely idea, and I'm sure she will really appreciate it. It will certainly last a hell of a lot longer than a corsage! :)
    I still get mine though right?

These are the kind of bracelets Corvo really likes, Ciaran! ;)

Fluffy-handcuffs-005.jpg

How much do they go for on ebay?

They are fabulous however.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 CiaranMac11

Beautiful Love-cuffs there randy :P
    Just realised there's this issue regarding wrist dimensions... I can hardly ask her that without giving up the surprise... a watch would be a safer bet maybe?

Ask a friend to find out

Or rob her house late at night and take all her jewlery. You get the size and the loot pays for the bracelet. Problem solved.

Beautiful Love-cuffs there randy :P
    Just realised there's this issue regarding wrist dimensions... I can hardly ask her that without giving up the surprise... a watch would be a safer bet maybe?
    If her ma can keep a still tongue, enlist her help.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭a0ifee

is there any point getting a second ticket if you don't think you'll have anyone to give it to?
    its another 65 euro like..

Two glasses of champagne and two dinners :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭a0ifee

that's pretty tempting alright.."oh where's your date?" "in the bathroom, i'm just minding their seat for them, and their drink, and their meal. might mind their dessert too" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Kairi8436

Basically my debs will be in 10 days time and I still have no date. At first I didn't mind because my girlfriends were going solo too, but gradually they've all bagged dates and now I'm alone! I go to an all girls school so the only fellas I know would be boyfriends of mates really- there is no one, really no one that I can ask ( I don't even have siblings whose friends I could ask!) :( Please help me, I really don't want to go by myself when all my friends have someone to go with and I'm self conscious enough as it is. Should I just not go at all?? I don't want to disappoint my parents after they bought me the tickets but I just can't see any other way out of it. I really need some advice as this problem has been getting me down all summer :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Prince Charming (me) is currently awaiting a pm from you!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,175 ✭✭✭dee_mc

say it to one of your friends, get her fella to bring a friend for you?
    or just go on your own, it always ends up being a 'group of friends' night rather than a 'date' night anyway
    don't just decide to not go because you don't have a date, it's YOUR night...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Give an idea of where you're based and you might find some luck on here.

In the meantime, try not to let it get you down. You could also try asking your friends to hook you up with the mates of their boyfriends.

dee_mc wrote: »
    say it to one of your friends, get her fella to bring a friend for you?
    or just go on your own, it always ends up being a 'group of friends' night rather than a 'date' night anyway
    don't just decide to not go because you don't have a date, it's YOUR night...

that's what everyone tells me, that its a group night, it's just I dread the moment when I have to walk in by myself and sit down to dinner with the couples, after that it'll probably be grand, i'm just not good with ''bridget jones''' moments :) thanks for the advice though, I might try asking one of my friends to bring someone, I just hope its not too short notice.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭ArtOfEscape

It depends on your group of friends I suppose, but I was the only one of a group of four without a date at my debs and I had a great night. There was nobody I wanted to invite and I would have hated to be worrying about him all night, making sure he was having fun. We spent the night as a group and for the few slow songs they danced together I took photos or went to the bar to get a drink.

Hope you have a great time, whatever you choose!

Kairi8436 wrote: »
    that's what everyone tells me, that its a group night, it's just I dread the moment when I have to walk in by myself and sit down to dinner with the couples, after that it'll probably be grand, i'm just not good with ''bridget jones''' moments :) thanks for the advice though, I might try asking one of my friends to bring someone, I just hope its not too short notice.
    Ah but when you think about it, you'll walk in with your friends anyway!
    I spent most of the summer before my debs abroad having agreed with my single friends that we'd all go as a big group. Predictably enough by the time I came back almost all of them had arranged dates (just like your friends!) one of them even brought her cousin rather than go solo!! I ended up going with a friend's brother because he had a spare ticket, but to be honest it didn't make any difference, we all spent the evening together as a big group anyway.
    I'd say suss out your friends' male friends and see if any of them would like to go, most lads would be delighted to go to a debs, what 18-19 year old would say no to a great session and a free dinner? :D
    I suppose it's nice to have a date for the photos etc but don't miss out on the night if you don't find someone to bring, just take a deep breath and enjoy the night!

Good point from ArtOfEscape there, but also remember many people will bring dates on a purely platonic basis so you won't necessarily be sitting out the slow sets at the end of the night!

dee_mc wrote: »
    Ah but when you think about it, you'll walk in with your friends anyway!
    I spent most of the summer before my debs abroad having agreed with my single friends that we'd all go as a big group. Predictably enough by the time I came back almost all of them had arranged dates (just like your friends!) one of them even brought her cousin rather than go solo!! I ended up going with a friend's brother because he had a spare ticket, but to be honest it didn't make any difference, we all spent the evening together as a big group anyway.
    I'd say suss out your friends' male friends and see if any of them would like to go, most lads would be delighted to go to a debs, what 18-19 year old would say no to a great session and a free dinner? :D
    I suppose it's nice to have a date for the photos etc but don't miss out on the night if you don't find someone to bring, just take a deep breath and enjoy the night!

thanks, you've actually calmed me down quite a bit :) my friend did suggest the cousin thing because i'm quite close to a few of mine but not sure if I could admit to the family that i'm that desperate! I'm on a mission now anyways to ''suss out my friends' male friends'' and i'll see how it goes- I suppose it would be a shame not to wear the dress! thanks for your help

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭aimzLc2

Kairi8436 wrote: »
    thanks, you've actually calmed me down quite a bit :) my friend did suggest the cousin thing because i'm quite close to a few of mine but not sure if I could admit to the family that i'm that desperate! I'm on a mission now anyways to ''suss out my friends' male friends'' and i'll see how it goes- I suppose it would be a shame not to wear the dress! thanks for your help

definitely go no matter what! you will have loads of fun , honestly if you get your friends date to bring his friend he might be happy to have a mate there while you are hanging with your girlfriend , i know at my debs while the girls hung out all the dates did too :P i was in an all girls school too :) and its not like you are making an entrance , everyone just goes in as a group , even when we had dates we were all in a group , i'm sure you will be so happy you went and if you are stuck bring the cousin, not the end of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I don't think I could live with the shame of bringing a cousin.

I only have one male cousin and hes way too young but if i got along really well with my cousin and i thought we would have a fun night i don't see the 'shame' in bringing him with all your friends and their dates,just say hes a friend? if you have nobody else to bring ,it might be nice for company. Everyones different i suppose..

I think it's probably a lot easier for girls to do that than lads tbh; a guy would get a fair amount of slagging from his mates if he arrived to his own debs with his cousin, I'd say. Whereas for a girl, bringing her cousin would be more seen as bringing someone to escort her / dance with her / see her home safely, etc.

It's one of those areas where there's a bit of double standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

If you couldn't find anyone else to bring in time twud be better than wasting a 60/70€ ticket.

It's not like she's bringing one of her parents or something :pac:

I think it's probably a lot easier for girls to do that than lads tbh; a guy would get a fair amount of slagging from his mates if he arrived to his own debs with his cousin, I'd say. Whereas for a girl, bringing her cousin would be more seen as bringing someone to escort her / dance with her / see her home safely, etc.

It's one of those areas where there's a bit of double standards.

Fair point i suppose , but tell your mates its a friend? maybe i am different but none of my friends have ever seen my cousins, they wouldn't know.

Daniel7740 wrote: »
    If you couldn't find anyone else to bring in time twud be better than wasting a 60/70€ ticket.

It's not like she's bringing one of her parents or something :pac:
    Agreed!
    I think the real key is admitting he's a cousin who's also a close friend, and that you're bringing him because you don't want to be tied to a date for the night... nothing wrong with keeping your options open!
    Bringing a cousin and not admitting you're related would be a bit weird though IMO :/