Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

You know, after seeing that mk2, I've got to get my one sorted and properly detailed. Its kinda hard to give it the cleaning (and plenty loud pedal) that it needs as its about 300km from where I am during the week (work).

FN, do you know what stove was in that before the Pinto was dropped in as the heat blanket is on the induction inner wing. It looks to be a much better build than quite a few fast road mk2's I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Nice Escort and I presume the bonnet underside with Frank Kelly's autograph will never be cleaned again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Hi folks
    What do people recommend for Matt black dash cleaner? Also interior class cleaner? New car smell spray?
    Mick

Matt black dash cleaner - if you mean cleaner; then a mild dilution of APC. If you mean dressing; a few options; I like Poorboys Natural Look or 50Cal Precision.... but you may not like the bubblegum smell of them if you are looking for a New Car Smell. Both leave a lovely natural look though.
    Interior Glass? cleaner - 50Cal 20:20
    New Car Smell - Chemical Guys have one, and surprisingly its called New Car Scent :p but cannot say if its nice or not, as Ive not opened one yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

ianobrien wrote: »
    FN, do you know what stove was in that before the Pinto was dropped in as the heat blanket is on the induction inner wing. It looks to be a much better build than quite a few fast road mk2's I've seen.

Not 100% sure to be honest, I just know it's mint :P
    mb1725 wrote: »
    Nice Escort and I presume the bonnet underside with Frank Kelly's autograph will never be cleaned again.

It's already laminated over on it :D
    Curran wrote: »
    Matt black dash cleaner - if you mean cleaner; then a mild dilution of APC. If you mean dressing; a few options; I like Poorboys Natural Look or 50Cal Precision.... but you may not like the bubblegum smell of them if you are looking for a New Car Smell. Both leave a lovely natural look though.
    Interior Glass? cleaner - 50Cal 20:20
    New Car Smell - Chemical Guys have one, and surprisingly its called New Car Scent :p but cannot say if its nice or not, as Ive not opened one yet.

I can back 50. Cal's Precision, love it! The CG New Car Smell is terrible IMO, Stripper Scent for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Bloody hell that fusso be only thing holding that old F**d together Hahahahahahaha

Not a Ford man myself but have a sodt spot for the mk2's, our first family car was a 3dr in exactly same colour but with browny red vinyl seats that burn skin of back of legs in the summer.

Great job looks a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I bought my GTi late last year. It needed a bit of work when I got it. The driver's door and boot needed a respray due to deep love marks that I assume came from various supermarket car parks. The paint was poor too, I doubt the previous owner ever gave it more than a dirty sponge, every panel was swirled. The wheels badly needed a refurb too, they're the 17in Denvers so not as prone to kerbing as the 18s, but in this case I think the last owner must have been aiming at the kerbs. The front two were particularly bad, with big gouges taken from the wheels.

It's been a mental year, so I only just got around to getting the necessary work done. I spent last weekend de-ironing, de-taring and claying the car and then I sent it in for the body and wheel work to be done last Monday. I left it there for the week and was very impressed with the results when I collected it on Saturday. The car had been machine polished so I spent a few hours on Saturday applying Hyrdo2 Lite and AG HD wax to the body and then a good coat on the wheels.

In true Galway style, it started to mist as soon as I had finished. Excuse the crappy picture, the light was fading fast and the clouds we're getting darker by the minute, but I think it gives an idea of how it looks - particularly on the driver's side. It has that wet look with a really nice deep shine, the reflections off the paint are lovely:) (you can just see the mist catching on the front of the bonnet).

b297f192-5223-4e20-9ace-00d3b120689b.jpg

I should have taken a before picture of the wheels but this is the result. Minty.

51B45DC7-0CA3-4960-BCA0-3861F67C1618.jpg

The paint isn't perfect, nor was I expecting it to be, but I'm very happy with the results. I'm seriously thinking of investing in a DA and getting to work on the remaining swirls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

First time "snowfoaming" this car.

Tbh, the NCT was that day and I wanted their class powerwasher to get in under the body of the car, arches etc.

** Note the absence of their sponges and brushes, and the addition of my second bucket and mitt ;)

2uihtf4.png

Got my bits there Friday Curran, didn't try them out yet. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭leupold90

Hi folks
    What do people recommend for Matt black dash cleaner? Also interior class cleaner? New car smell spray?
    Mick

Matt dash => Sonax Xtreme Cockpit Cleaner. Nice smell from it. You'll get it from Amazon or the bay
    Glass cleaner => I use the AutoGlym Fast Glass and find it very good. I've heard good things about the 50cal too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

1st time posting on this forum, but have slowly increased my products and am finally ready this summer to do some detailing.

Only had a few hours yesterday but tackled my 2010 Fiat 500. Black paint is hard to keep but it shows up great after some care.

1. Snowfoam with 50cal neutral snowfoam.
    2. 2 Bucket wash method.
    3.detarred and deironed 6 weeks ago so went straight to wax with Chemical Guys Blacklight.
    4. Sealed With Chemical Guys V7.

[IMG][/img]WP_20160725_12_47_23_Pro.jpg

Looks great - just be wary that neither Blacklight or V7 have great protection. V7 will get you to weekly wash, just about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Looks great - just be wary that neither Blacklight or V7 have great protection. V7 will get you to weekly wash, just about!
    Yeah, the V7 is a handy product to have in the arsenal but as you said certainly isnt the longest lasting. I will have to do some research on products for the winter for a bit of longer lasting protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Got at the merc a little this eve, admittedly I was slightly rushing to beat the evening moisture.

My process was:

2bm wash with AG shampoo conditioner
    Fallout & Tar removers
    Rinsed
    Quick clay bar - rushed it a bit so I'll definitely have to do it again
    2bm wash & dry with dry me crazy
    Polished the metal (didn't do the plastic bottom bits) with AG SRP & a meguiars applicator & orange hex pad - I must be doing something wrong though as the hex pad seems to just absorb all of the polish :confused:

Aaand that's as far as I got as daylight & humidity defeated me, I would have liked to get wax on but I have to go over everything again anyway I reckon so would be a waste of wax.

I'm not the greatest for progress photos, I tend to plough on and forget, but here's some of the korrosol doing it's thing on the wheels - I actually cleaned these quickly on sunday with IronX too!

20160726_184939.jpg

And the finished product, you can see where I've polished the wing a little in this one too, there's a lot of oxidation on the car, paint has a layer of guck on it, but comes out really good underneath.

20160726_190458.jpg

Some befores:

20160723_124541.jpg

20160726_184608.jpg

GOPR5954.jpg

And some afters :)

GOPR5956.jpg

20160727_211755.jpg

20160727_195655.jpg

I will go at it again and follow proper procedure, hopefully the weekend if it's nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I must be doing something wrong though as the hex pad seems to just absorb all of the polish :confused:

I read online that you need to prime a fresh or just washed polishing pad because it will naturally absorb polish when it's dry.

Have a look at this detailed thread here: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/35292-how-prime-foam-pad-when-using-da-polisher.html

Looking good Cheensbo, huge improvement. I've a real soft spot for 190Es.

Great work there Cheensbo....you've taken years off it!!

Another Mk2 in for some work. This one we set out to do paint correction on but due to the lack of lacquer on it just ended up giving it a general machine polish using Menzerna 2200 on a Green Hex-Logic Pad, this was sealed with Fusso.

It was quite faded when it came to me:

IMG_20160728_141118_zpsj9apvmii.jpg

IMG_20160728_143603_zpsp3igptap.jpg

Lots of overspray from a previous owners attempted jobs:

IMG_20160728_155356_zpsz1ewpm1j.jpg

IMG_20160728_155828_zps7wtyt2w2.jpg

IMG_20160728_155831_zps0cvyncju.jpg

Gone:

IMG_20160728_155655_zpscdcl8wlu.jpg

IMG_20160728_160338_zpssycu1ky2.jpg

IMG_20160728_160343_zps9ahhr8nt.jpg

Final Result:

IMG_20160728_210657_zpsxdllss8v.jpg

IMG_20160728_210704_zps87cbwvpo.jpg

IMG_20160728_210712_zpsbqtyd5qq.jpg

IMG_20160728_210724_zpsqgszcmtb.jpg

IMG_20160728_210738_zpswdnz4odd.jpg

IMG_20160728_210730_zps0vofsmnl.jpg

IMG_20160728_210754_zpsfkkpxfip.jpg

Good stuff! Must be great having access to a roof. The weather this week seems to be rubbish for doing anything at all :P

shietpilot wrote: »
    Good stuff! Must be great having access to a roof. The weather this week seems to be rubbish for doing anything at all :P

Yeah it's dead handy, completely flat floor too so it's handy for working on cars as well, we're only after moving in really so still a fair bit to do!

Polished the headlights on the XC today after work. They look like new now :eek: The faded look was pretty bad before :)

ATWKXGL.jpg?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

^^ excellent job... They look brand new

Today I did NOT do some detailing. Got up with the intention of spending a couple of hours on the car, but the gold ole west of Ireland weather has put a stop to that:mad:

Yeah I'm still waiting for a nice day to do the full treatment on the Volvo. I don't want to come out and waste product only for it to start raining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Sun's out here, but I'm not doing any work on the car today with the exception of a hoovering. It will be good to middling tomorrow too.

The rain finally stopped and I got a chance to tackle the engine bay, a job I've been wanting to do for ages as it was minging.

Before:

494BD53A-BA1C-4678-831C-30302194AE09.jpg

I doubt it had ever cleaned before as everything was covered with a layer of grime. I hit it first with some BH Surfex HD, using a wheel brush and tooth brush to work it in. It's savage stuff, I only used about a 10:1 concentration but it made light work of all of the gunk. I had covered the alternator and anything electric that was exposed and rinsed the bay with water from a spray bottle - wasn't brave enough to turn the hose on it:pac:

I let it dry and then treated everything with CarPro PERL. I used a 1:1 concentration and it really took things to another level. I'm delighted with the results:)

After:

A3CE42C1-365E-486D-A92C-4972D817EFE4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

So I had two full days of polishing and cleaning the car. Started at 12 noon yesterday and finished up around 4 ish today.

So a few before shots:
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1609_zpsoaw6xcxp.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1613_zpsvmiqiqzv.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1618_zpskinxzh47.jpg

Korrosol doing its thing
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1621_zpsouhajvsj.jpg
    Hard to see on black paint, but can be clearly seen on the ground.
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1620_zpsmkpkmou9.jpg
    Snowfoam
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1623_zpsc7mvgcyb.jpg

Washed the car down using a 2bm and cleaned the wheels. Moved onto polishing. The car wasn't badly swirled but still had a few that would show up on a nice summers day.

The phone couldn't focus with the light directed at the paint work so can't take any proper before pics.

Light pad with a medium compound seem to work best for the level of correction I required.

[IMG][/img]IMG_1631_zps5i2ldons.jpg

After one pass
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1630_zpsrnqb9aao.jpg

I applied masking tape on all rubber and platic strips including all badges etc. and of course I didn't take any pics of all this work :(

Dealership applied GardX to the car and some of it dried in and around panel gaps and badges.

[IMG][/img]IMG_1635_zpstuptj7bx.jpg

A spray of quick detailer and a hog hair brush to soften up and easily removed with a wipe of MF cloth
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1638_zpsvamlmaje.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1640_zpsugsohhgo.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1641_zpscgwmcidk.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1643_zpsdonxa6ur.jpg

After the external, the next job to tackle was the interior.
    Cleaned all rubber mats
    IMG_1644_zpsfatptves.jpg

After a good period ot time hoovering (not showing any before pics I don't want ye to see how much of a pig I can be at times :D)

Moved onto cleaning all plastics. I'm an engineer so would carry alot of dirt and muck into the car a times. With little details on the door cills muck dries in and can be difficult enough to remove. So with the use of 50 cal and a small detailing brush, I just worked it into the cracks and wiped with a cloth.
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1648_zpswivthxnj.jpg

Finished interior
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1653_zpsmejbjm2h.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1655_zpsuaqupmnn.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1657_zpsexl2dkw1.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1671_zpscaftsp7o.jpg

Oh before I forget a quick clean up in the engine bay
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1649_zpstw8totul.jpg

(not a great picture)

So finally onto some finished pics

[IMG][/img]IMG_1674_zpsextkrl6u.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1675_zps0uh1uiq6.jpg

Reflections :D

[IMG][/img]IMG_1678_zpshoslykga.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1680_zpsxcw7kdzm.jpg

Oh clean boot... how could I forget:pac:
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1691_zpseogz5rwv.jpg

Seems anyone cleaning in Cork seems to end up here to take a picture. So I said why not join
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1702_zpsavxcvdcx.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1706_zpsjkakyr3d.jpg

And somewhere a little different
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1711_zps5qhfbfkc.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1713_zpsuybhxvjm.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1718_zpsgox6nkae.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1724_zpsvzz7ek2h.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1726_zpssxpkdzqt.jpg

Picture of the bonnet reflecting the roof structure above
    [IMG][/img]IMG_1709_zpsghpvprs6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Looks great Ron!

Thanks it was along two days but well worth it. I need to get a slightly heavier cut on the compound and pad selection, still have a few small swirls that I noticed today in the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Great job Ron.
    But are we missing what you sealed up the paintwork with.?

vectra wrote: »
    Great job Ron.
    But are we missing what you sealed up the paintwork with.?

Applied two coats of Kleen Freaks Spray Coat. Apply first coat using a Suede MicroFiber going from side to side (east-west). Allowing it time to flash (about 5-7 mins) buff off with a MF. Then the second coat is applied up-down (north-south) direction, again allowing it time to cure/flash and wipe off. Finally I applied Kleen Freaks liquid wax. Due to time of the evening and light issues. I used a finishing pad on the DAS 6 to apply the liquid wax. Again allowing 5 min to flash and buff off. All completed on Friday evening.

Yesterday I had planned on polishing the front and rear bumper but I only have a 5.5 inch backing plate so this wasn't going to allow me to work on the smaller panels. I didn't seal the bumpers on Friday so gave the car a quick blast of a powerwasher and a quick snowfoam. Until I get the 3inch backing plate for the DAS 6 (hopefully someone has one in stock) I won't get near the bumpers. Applied Kleen Freaks Quick Detailer over the entire car.

This should do fine until next weekend when I hope to have a 3 inch backing plate.

I think I want to apply a coating you put on the Passat, but if I do I think I'll miss doing this level of detail.... yes I know people are wondering why I would put myself through this level of work but I enjoy it :)

^^ Great job.
    Car ooks super.

I got her done today. She's a big auld tank of a yoke, legs are in bits :pac:

wash (AG Bodywork Shampoo Conditioner)
    dry
    de-tar (TarX)
    rinsed
    de-iron (IronX)
    rinsed
    claybarred (Bilt Hamber Auto Clay)
    rinsed
    washed again
    polished (medium cut with Menzerna PF2500, 2 passes)
    cleaned down with CarPro Eraser
    sealed with Collinite 845

N70he2o.jpg
    ABvoRb3.jpg
    0oJooWx.jpg
    5FjQmpU.jpg

Great work, it looks brand new.

Made a late decision this afternoon to head to Nenagh show tomorrow, I havent been feeling cars for sometime and was not going to go. So I pulled Astra around and took deep breath and got the bits out for outside wash.

No pics before but suffice to say it wasnt great as I havent officially cleaned it since before Limerick show some 6 weeks ago.

IMG_20160731_205544.jpg
    IMG_20160731_205600.jpg
    IMG_20160731_205610.jpg
    Look even got tyre shine out
    IMG_20160731_205630.jpg

A quick summary:

Snow foam - AB Magi foam
    Fall out remover - AB Purple rain v2.0
    Tar attack - AB just the Tonic
    Wheel spray - AB cherry non acid
    3 bucket wash down - rinse bucket clean water, shampoo and wheel clean
    AmmoNYC shampoo, mix of a few drops of CG honeydew shampoo/AB Purple rain v2.0/AB Cherry non acid for wheels

skim of wax on flat surfaces to top it up - AB Obsession wax

No pics of today's work but I gave the motorhome a bit of a wash. It was AG shampoo and 2BM, stepladders, wheel woolies for under the awning and around the skylights, etc. BH Autowheels on the wheels and tyres, BH Surfix on the mudflaps and wheel wells, dried with a Dry-me-Crazy. It was finished by metal polishing the door runner as it was annoying me.

Jaysis lads - some epic work going on across the country....tip me hat to yiz! ;)

To be honest, I was feeling embarrassed that I hadn't anything to post here for a while......

Weekly wash is overdue on the Focus now! Hopefully the weather isn't too bad tomorrow or Tuesday (yeah, I booked the day after the bank holiday off work because I'm a lazy cnut :pac:)

After doing the engine bay yesterday, I spent about seven hours on the car today, the arms are worn off me!

It got the works, it had been clayed and de-ironed the week before so it was washed, then CarPro Eraser to take off old polish and wax. After that two coats of polish, then Hyro2 Lite followed by a good coat of HD wax. Then I treated all the external rubbers and trim with PERL. Finally the interior got a seeing to. The results.

No, that's not a picture of the side of my house, it's a reflection:)
    af9862fd-a3e3-4f74-bca3-d65676561781.jpg

Awesome shine:
    d58b0a05-4953-459e-ac2b-43c7e1d61be1.jpg

4b1ba1d9-c975-40cb-b052-5338168f9ce2.jpg

9185f25e-2da2-41fc-9897-984aee6c6cd1.jpg

ff6ee9e4-23d2-4e97-92c3-e77eb790caa5.jpg

It's the cleanest I've ever had it, I'm delighted with it. Enjoying a well earned beer now:D

That's one clean golf

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭m-i-m-m-

Gave the gs it's first proper clean today, bought a half decent da polisher since the aldi muck I was using before, differance is unreal. Learning the tricks of the trade slowly but surely... clar bar this time! And a bit for technique research. Still not finished but getting there. 2nd car detailed, addictive to see the difference it can make, esp on a new car you have bought which has only every been washed in a petrol station once a year :)

I need to pick up some some proper pads from detail shed soon for my DA

kPfMQXx.jpg

Nice work - looks like a great colour to work on - say it came up very nicely!!

First machine polish on the focus, still plenty of imperfections left, but improved a bit...

a17d5t.png

2073oua.png

2pzwu9g.png

14435nl.png

2lv1xz.png

24ozwaw.png

2rqghtj.png

Looks very good! Did you end up sealing it and what did you seal it with?

Full process was

2bm wash
    Detar
    De iron
    2bm wash
    Dry
    p40 polish
    Butterwax
    Reattach arms...

Clayed too, forgot to mention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Did some detailing inside and outside on the car today in between the rain.

Got some Dr Leather off Detailing Shed yesterday and used it on the seats today. Very impressed with it, used a light brush to get into the smaller areas and they came up a treat. Still have the back seats to do though!

10xvpef.jpg

After that, a wash, detar, fallout remover and began claying the outside. Eventually ran out of daylight so hoping to finish claying and then a polish and some wax over the weekend.

29vc3z7.jpg

Seem to be having trouble uploading these pictures as they keep rotating(?). Not sure how to stop that from happening sorry folks!

Nice job ^^
    What polish and what wax?

Is that a Brera beside it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

vectra wrote: »
    Nice job ^^
    What polish and what wax?

Now that's where things get a bit tricky. I only have AG SRP polish with me as well as Chemical Guys P40 polish I think.

I bought the OKD Concours wax on Wednesday, was half tempted to not polish it and apply the wax straight onto the clayed paintwork, thoughts?

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Is that a Brera beside it?

'Tis a Brera Spider alright, I'll dig up a picture from somewhere :D