Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Yeah; some tasty kerbing on the wheels! :(
    One or two minor ones were of my own doing!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Wheels really suit that car, I know they're from an M5, not normally a fan but they look well on that bus!

Hal1 wrote: »
    Well the seats are easily changed on the focus. I removed the rear bench before to deep clean with a wet vac.

So you could find that section with the middle headrest from a facelift focus (mk1.5, 02-04).

The courtesy light in the rear was fitted to ghia models, but can be easily fitted in if you really wanted.

Ah, to be honest, I wouldn't be bothered getting a third headrest. It wouldn't benefit me, to be honest. It'd just get in the way. I just found it a bit weird, though.

The courtesy light is interesting though. Odd that they intentionally left that out. Never seen a car model like that before (where that was an optional extra).

Curran wrote: »
    Coat in a fallout remover - no names, as was testing and didnt find it great

Ooooohh. I smell trouble.. :P

For a car that hadn't been washed in 8 months it looked quite well! Was it getting much use? I'd have thought after 8 months you wouldnt be able to see the car anymore, for the dirt and dust that'd be on it. :P

the water would bead off the car

Ye call that beading?! :P

F8982C1F442E4EBABD4F72AC48A02FF3-0000333410-0003729370-01024L-DB9D93BA754046DF93C399A08E832029.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ah, to be honest, I wouldn't be bothered getting a third headrest. It wouldn't benefit me, to be honest. It'd just get in the way. I just found it a bit weird, though.

The courtesy light is interesting though. Odd that they intentionally left that out. Never seen a car model like that before (where that was an optional extra).

Ooooohh. I smell trouble.. :P

For a car that hadn't been washed in 8 months it looked quite well! Was it getting much use? I'd have thought after 8 months you wouldnt be able to see the car anymore, for the dirt and dust that'd be on it. :P

Ye call that beading?! :P

F8982C1F442E4EBABD4F72AC48A02FF3-0000333410-0003729370-01024L-DB9D93BA754046DF93C399A08E832029.jpg

Which wax polish combination you using KKV?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I thought I had put these in the original post! :o

Do mine now please :pac:

166man wrote: »
    Which wax polish combination you using KKV?

There's actually no wax on it in that photo. That was taken during it being powerwashed/2BMed to get rid of the polish residue.

It had just been machine polished, but not sure what polish I used on it, to be honest. Hmm.. Curran might know? I remember wanting the most aggressive polish I could get off his site, and it comes in a black bottle.. possibly with a green lid and white squirt top.. :o

I know the name of it I just can't think of it. Drawing a blank. :o I just searched detailingshed again and can't see it there though anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

V34?

You can get V32 also...

CGOpticalv34-500x500.jpg

Lengthy post number 3...

Today I did some... Wax-on, wax-off, trim treating and glass cleaning, along with a little more messing about inside, and cleaning up the wheels a little. I was a fair bit lazier today than the other days.

I realised that the car has a jack, but no brace, so I took the wheel brace from my dads car (also a mk1 focus) but the brace was too big for my wheel nuts :confused: So I just gave the face of the wheels a going over and will give them a proper looking at when I get a decent brace. Also means the wheel wells aren't as clean as I'd have liked (though I did make an effort with some APC and an MF towel or two).

I gave it two goats of AutoGlym EGP (let each coat sit for about 30-40 minutes before buffing off). I also did the wheels, too, but they didn't look as good as I'd hoped (everytime id rub them, break dust from the backside of the spokes would catch on the cloth and smear.. became tedious..). I'll wash polish and seal the wheels properly when they're off the car. Desperately needs some wheel centre caps, too.

810F267DC67447C4AB629D79BB30BB4F-0000333410-0003729382-00800L-64BDC80F60E8445985165F3BF7236013.jpg

64FB3EAFC987495A881F27B696B5C9DD-0000333410-0003729379-00800L-26E8D6D11F974ECAA4EF098A5855B41A.jpg

Then some Autoglym Bumper and trim gel went onto the trim, including the logo at both ends:

6212456B8B21413C817A2E4C8EAF4420-0000333410-0003729378-00800L-BDA68F5A70A447DFA341023C2380E54E.jpg

412F3B99E4D741ADA085E5FDBB366CBF-0000333410-0003729374-00800L-59CE785EEA734DFD8D36BA4F3A39408E.jpg

Finished what I started with the AutoSol.. although, this did require a bit of sanding too, as the Autosol only seemed to go so far on it's own, and the exhaust still needed some cleaning. So I sanded it with some 150 grit sandpaper, which tore lumps out of it. Then went at it with some 1500 grit which smoothened it out a fair bit, and then went at it with Autosol on steel wool to finish it off. It's not perfect, but it's a massive improvement.

D338D135DBE24C1BB620FF22992420CB-0000333410-0003729375-00800L-C405BF417ACF44C0B384DF577F858BF8.jpg

Treat the glass with Turtle Wax ClearVue (also had to use some APC here as the two back windows had some weird fuzziness to them that wouldnt come off with just the window cleaner.

6F774C6D30014F9D822FFBA34A7B17EA-0000333410-0003729376-00800L-9040361A348A4A61BE248A53449732F9.jpg

Hoovered out the boot again and steam cleaned the carpet

02261216EB0C4A25BE29722B92822E9B-0000333410-0003729380-00800L-578E746532A446D188EBDFB408A6A0EC.jpg

Went at the plastics with Meguiars interior quik detailer:

E7D35D5AD509494795FD247892CDBBDF-0000333410-0003729381-00800L-049C17C69E89448D951268B6C7A63D87.jpg

AA17612FB0124295895F49E1F164F4A6-0000333410-0003729373-00800L-C9E05005B33D4047B4B14DFD74D39595.jpg

And then took a photo of myself to celebrate.

28A05E5F962D4F319E552C81EAEF0E73-0000333410-0003729383-00800L-7D76E7C46569431F96EAE47CA175AF5E.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Whenever I polish I use this sealant:
    EGP-500.jpg

Today I Gave My Son a Few Karate Lessons.

At the end of the day he was wrecked, so he has now decided to give up the karate. What can you do. Disappointing. But at least I got the car waxed and the fence painted.

Ok, ok, enough wax on wax off jokes. I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Desperately needs some wheel centre caps, too.

Sorry, completely skipped my mind. Turns out I have, well had one centre cap that broke when I tried to prise it off. Thought I had the full set. Sorry I couldn't be of more assistance :(

The way you have your car makes me so jealous. I hand polish mine, grand out of direct sunlight, but really needs a machine polish. I swear, the previous owner must have cleaned it with wire wool! The swirls would send you into a daze.

myshirt wrote: »
    V34?

You can get V32 also...

No... Maybe I didn't get off Curran but I am confident I did..

It was pretty much this bottle (on the left), with a green unscrewable cap.

sonax-cutmax.jpg

Has the 50cal stuff ever come in that kinda packaging?

Sorry, completely skipped my mind. Turns out I have, well had one centre cap that broke when I tried to prise it off. Thought I had the full set. Sorry I couldn't be of more assistance :(

Ah you're grand, don't be silly. :)

I went to meet a chap in Navan who was selling some on Adverts, but they were too big for my wheels (I knew I wasn't measuring it right :o ).

But I mean, the worst case scenario is a set will cost me €20 on ebay. Hardly the end of the world. That said, the car needs an ariel, too. And a wheel brace. So although these are all fairly trivial items, I'll give a scrapyard a ring and see if anyone can help me out on the cheap.

The way you have your car makes me so jealous. I hand polish mine, grand out of direct sunlight, but really needs a machine polish. I swear, the previous owner must have cleaned it with wire wool! The swirls would send you into a daze.

Yeah, the Rav4 was like that. Was a pain in the ass :(

Do you have/use a machine polisher at all? I find Im never quite as impressed with the results as I feel I should be. I was never happy with the DAS6's efforts on the Rav4 when I was doing it.

However, a day or two later, looking at before/after photos, I really appreciated the difference it made. Bit odd.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Whenever I polish I use this sealant:

Yeah I've still got about 30 of those perfect bodywork giftsets in my room. Needless to say, EGP is my go-to choice for waxing for the next 30 years. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Here's what i did today, the merc and bmw got the irish mammy special

IMG_20150217_160438_zpsjiavfyht.jpg
    IMG_20150217_160446_zpshpnggy8t.jpg
    IMG_20150217_160540_zpslsfmehgj.jpg

@KKV

It couldn't have been 3m fast cut? You can only apply that by rotary, generate the heat to break it down. Don't know if Detailing Shed ever sold it...

3m-fast-cut-plus.jpg

Wasnt it Wolf's that you bought?

Thanks for the inadverted heads up; they need to be assigned to better categories!

Yeah I'm actually just out in my 'detailing shed' now. :p

Its "The Equalizer" by Wolf's. I wanted the strongest I could get and this was recommended. And although it's good, it's still tedious using a DA to machine polish.

Should have bought an orbital. But life goes on. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

No need to dry as CarPro HydrO2 is applied to wet panels. It is diluted down to 1 part product and 3 parts water (ideally deionised, but I used cooled boiled water), and did both my Dad's car and my own with 500ml of the mix!

Do you sell CarPro HydrO2?

Before:

FCBF59E3BC90474AAE2FF6B4AFF3C888-0000333410-0003729632-01024L-AD6FE9FC43E8458E8767DA80D3090BA8.jpg

After:

4E769CED350448E38EED38B9AD8251F6-0000333410-0003729633-01024L-924C14724D6C47BE8F248D54643CEDDF.jpg

Admittedly, the 'after' was taken with a better camera in general, but the first camera wasn't lying too much (no real reflection, badly faded trim and tyres, etc.).

I've a few more I'll post later on. Just about to run out the door at the moment. There's nothing beside the car in the after photo (hence no real reflection) but two lads just walked by it when I looked out the window there now, and I almost got giddy looking at the shine and reflection of the two fellas walking by :D )

Do you sell CarPro HydrO2?

Might do! :P

A real turn around!

[size=-2]Ill get my coat

edit: center caps?[/size]

Yeah, the car only has two (both in the drivers side). I'll have to pick up a fresh set on eBay or something (I presume they'd be too trivial an item for breakers yards to have?).

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Might do! :P

Might have to get a bottle off ya before I leave the big smoke!

myshirt wrote: »
    Today I Gave My Son a Few Karate Lessons.

At the end of the day he was wrecked, so he has now decided to give up the karate. What can you do. Disappointing. But at least I got the car waxed and the fence painted.

Ok, ok, enough wax on wax off jokes. I'll get my coat.

I'm still laughing at that post all day today. Stuck in my head and I keep laughing to myself at the worst times. :D

Today I did no detailing... . :o

110A158ADA76448C97E27BDDB9F07827-0000333410-0003729656-01024L-CA07EF59FE06471CABEEB680B9CE7586.jpg

CCA1F6D9DCB443FF824F90647D53411E-0000333410-0003729655-01024L-BD7AF9D8F6954DB294B9DA39D2B28B16.jpg

483F14E7867746ED891EC2E89E46C797-0000333410-0003729657-01024L-A3315CDE07694A1EB97812C609220C8D.jpg

5B36B21490AB40D9A75EAC59CA670C95-0000333410-0003729660-01024L-AB11BEDEF9D64040B92863D76884A677.jpg

B57B9157D7024921B183C1295703B70D-0000333410-0003729658-01024L-A5B3306B2D2A4A51903F61AE9D093987.jpg

4657059FD7AB4AEC89025D4767D7A610-0000333410-0003729661-01024L-DA344D83BCAB44F58AB07D3F0FC4CBCD.jpg

6A7FD885584E450CA945D967CA656918-0000333410-0003729662-01024L-0C25DA59CD4141EDBFCFBBCA99DE49E4.jpg

41AAA78D344E422F9D182DFC5E9D6607-0000333410-0003729653-01024L-7AF385FAC8484126B22ACBA59DF44875.jpg

01D338AE7F4B4CC8AFE1E31D12CAC5EE-0000333410-0003729659-01024L-D4E96E4F8A8E4B48AA203D2C0024EE66.jpg

1D5D20C38CC34A14962D5842C552D3FE-0000333410-0003729654-01024L-2C29B94244884DF092B3FE73DDE9FB03.jpg

Oddly enough, in some photos it looks a bit dirty (looks like there are circular dirty patches running along the bottom one or two of the pictures? Or is it just me?

Silver is a tricky colour to photograph, and, unfortunately, the place I chose to photograph it is surrounded by more silver, so the reflections aren't very vivid in there, unfortunately (looked good with non-silver cars).

Still have to give the wheels a good going over, and I will when I get sorted with a proper wheel brace, but for the time being, that's all she wrote.

There's a lovely smell in the car now, though. A mix of Clearvue glass cleaner and Chemical Guys fabric clean. T'is rather nice just sitting into it initially. Very fresh feel from it. When you're sitting inside, you really wouldn't think it was nearly 15 years old. Fair play to the previous owners for not abusing it*.

Of course, I have it less than a week and there's a new head unit shoe horned into it without any of the right gear, just because yer man was available in the same half hour that I rang him :D

I might fix that at a later date and get a proper surround, but for the moment I don't pass any remarks to it. I'll see if it starts to grate with me over the coming weeks.

*I say that now, wait til it fails the NCT on something and I go mad about it! :P

Those car mats were €22 in Tesco and are surprisingly good quality. Add a nice finishing touch to the inside, in my opinion.

Looking at some of the photos you can see some of the wear and tear on the car. Back right bumper, etc. but all in all, for a car I paid €1,000 for, I think I did quite well, and I can see myself driving it for longer than I anticipated (originally planned to keep it for 3-4 months over summer for camping, etc. but i've taken a real shine to it (hurr hurr) so I can see myself holding on to it til it starts to give trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭IK09

There is no greater joy to me than spotless door jams.

Bought that wet vac in lidl yesterday. Eger to try it out, obviously on a small area, or else anyone who gets into the car will have a wet bum until next May!

A few dehumidifier bags and plenty ventilation will help with drying.

Reporting back on the vet vac, it's really good, done one of the seats, the mats and the floor. Kind of annoying that you have to put on the spray or whatever and scrub it in, before you vacuum it out. Just one question, what sort of spray would ye use in this situation?

Whatever you go for, make sure that it is low foaming.

Chemical Guys Fabric Clean is a good one.

Depends really, like if there is heavy soiling it will require more detergent. I use CG fabric clean and dilute it accordingly. Say 1 part of cleaning solution to 5 parts water (in a spray bottle with warm water), then rinse repeat if needed.