If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Exactly, a few hardcore lefties getting together outside Leinster House won't accomplish anything.

Anyway, this will all have blown over in a week or two.

So show us the way!!!. Show us how to do it correctly!!! I am sick and tired of constantly reading comments like this every day, Someone organizes a protest march and straight away you get the same plebs saying "oh Joe Higgins will be there so i am not going" or "ah it will be all unions, hippies and crusties so i am not going".

Instead of constantly whining why don't YOU organize a protest and run it the way YOU want it run. Get the campaign started, get social media involved, get 20,000 people to gather in one place and then get them moving to your destination. Be the Irish Castro!!! Start the revolution with your first protest and show those "HARDCORE LEFTIES" how it should be done.

If you are going to do this please place links to the twitter, facebook pages with the details of your "proper" protest here on boards so we can join you. If you cannot do this then please feel free to admit your failings and slink back under your comfortable middle class suburban rock until the next scandal hits this country and you can come back out screaming then.

i still have my job and house.culdnt give a flying elbow for all this nonsense

Then you sir are a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Biffo The Bare

The only trouble with these new tapes is now our paymasters the Germans will now want every Irish citizen hanging from lampposts.
    We can now whistle for every concession in the future. They will probably want to backtrack on existing concessions.
    I want Drumm and all the other Anglo gobshtes charged and locked up using special emergency powers.

Listening to Morning Ireland this morning, good prediction 1000maniacs.
    How much is the release of these tapes going to cost us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 nero123

Have the independent released today's tapes yet? . I can't see any yet. Fair play to Paul Wililams for getting this out to the public domain. Drumm needs to be extradited and his assets frozen somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

The wording on today's article is interesting. It says they have links between politics and Anglo bankers - new tapes will put "politicians firmly in the spotlight" but the independent investigation team are looking at them first. Its the main article on independent.ie. can't link as on mobile.

SeaFields wrote: »
    The wording on today's article is interesting. It says they have links between politics and Anglo bankers - new tapes will put "politicians firmly in the spotlight" but the independent investigation team are looking at them first. Its the main article on independent.ie. can't link as on mobile.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/anglo/another-day-another-billion-laughs-drumm-29372488.html

As his bank teetered on the brink of collapse, Mr Drumm is heard laughing: "Another day, another billion".

Meanwhile, a separate batch of explosive Anglo Tapes reveal what was really going on as executives scrambled to save the stricken lender.

Anglo management strategised about how to try to keep the ailing bank afloat – and stay one step ahead of the regulators.

Early examination shows evidence of Mr Drumm's willingness to take expedient shortcuts and his use of colourful language, including his references to "Another day, another billion".

The tapes also put politicians firmly in the spotlight.

A fourth senior Anglo executive also enters the frame in these tapes for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Leiva wrote: »
    I was no fan of Brian Lenihan or FF, but the man must be turning in his grave today.

When you see what he was up against when trying to deal with these creeps.

It must have been like trying to catch an eel with boxing gloves on when trying to get a hold of what was going on at Anglo and other gambling banks.

infuriating stuff.

don't be too quick with your sympathies - they could have all been in on it - it has yet to be revealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

There have been no new tapes released this morning, right? Just wanted to check I'm not missing anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

To be honest the tapes, while absolutly despicable, don't reveal anything we didn't already know.

Advocating violence and taking to the streets in rage is not the answer either imo.

What needs to happen is a proper and complete enquiry and criminal investigation to bring these men to justice.

They are no better theives imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,672 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

On an aside thought, I suppose bankers here are now getting more fresh air, going for walks in public parks etc, where they "just happen" to meet the occasional colleague and have friendly chats without the use of phones etc. Can imagine the opening gambit: "er, is that your m/phone I hear ringing?". Re the Govt in-house chats in 2008, it's been the line taken that no notes were taken of what was said during the meetings. I suppose that actaully mean's notes were taken from memory as soon as possible afterwards, all for the purpose of memoirs and biographies, of course, so as to aid historians (snigger's quietly under folded arm).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭listermint

To be honest the tapes, while absolutly despicable, don't reveal anything we didn't already know.

Advocating violence and taking to the streets in rage is not the answer either imo.

What needs to happen is a proper and complete enquiry and criminal investigation to bring these men to justice.

Taking to the streets is the only way to force political opinion into doing anything. You have your head in the clouds if you think giving out about it on the internet will change a thing.

Get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

Why, they tried to take over Europe on two occasions, this time they have succeeded without firing a shot. Hitler must be turning in his ashes.

ah yes, of course somebody was going to bring up the “evil germans/nazis” theme in this thread sooner or later...as many do when they run out of serious arguments...bad enough those anglo irish creeps mocked the ones paying to save their arses and totally unjustified and uncalled for...they should be ashamed basically hang themselves...if they had any honor and decency left in them...

and some personal advice for the op: take some serious history lessons so maybe you can get a better understanding of how and why things happened the way they did in europe over the past 1200 or so years...it is/was far more complicated and screwed-up than you would ever imagine...but that is a different topic altogehter...

(A) This would take 5 years,

(B) This would cost in the region of €1 Billion,

(C) The barristers and other legal professionals would drag this out.

(D) No one would ever be prosecuted over findings.

Line em up and shoot em.:mad:

listermint wrote: »
    Taking to the streets is the only way to force political opinion into doing anything. You have your head in the clouds if you think giving out about it on the internet will change a thing.

Get real.

I did not say ranting on the web will change anything, read my post again.

I said we need to let the authorities handle this one properly. Violence is not the answer.

bumper234 wrote: »
    (A) This would take 5 years,

(B) This would cost in the region of €1 Billion,

(C) The barristers and other legal professionals would drag this out.

(D) No one would ever be prosecuted over findings.

Line em up and shoot em.:mad:

And you know this for a fact?

Again violence will not change anything. Stop acting like this is all new information. We've all known about this all along.

I said we need to let the authorities handle this one properly. Violence is not the answer.

Yeah,

Because they have been doing such a fine job of it over the last 5 years:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Have you been in this country ?

You do know Enda is in charge ?

Again, have you been in this country ?

Again violence will not change anything. Stop acting like this is all new information. We've all known about this all along.

Really?

You knew Drumm had said "Another day, another billion".

Why didn't you tell us when you found out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Please don't reduce this psot to you said I said , I know do you know. It only deflects from the topic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

bumper234 wrote: »
    Really?

You knew Drumm had said "Another day, another billion".

Why didn't you tell us when you found out?

Lets not lower ourselves to petty one-up-ing and snobby replies.

It doesn't help your points at all.

Are you following on from Crusher ??

Anyway, im sure that you can see that doing nothing at all is what allows your political betters to take you for a ride.

The fact that you still have an inane faith in them after all this time actually worries me. I do hope your attitude is prevalent in the rest of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,672 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Wurzelbert wrote: »
    ah yes, of course somebody was going to bring up the “evil germans/nazis” theme in this thread sooner or later...as many do when they run out of serious arguments...bad enough those anglo irish creeps mocked the ones paying to save their arses and totally unjustified and uncalled for...they should be ashamed basically hang themselves...if they had any honor and decency left in them...

and some personal advice for the op: take some serious history lessons so maybe you can get a better understanding of how and why things happened the way they did in europe over the past 1200 or so years...it is/was far more complicated and screwed-up than you would ever imagine...but that is a different topic altogehter...

(tongue firmly in cheek) naw, no rope..... offer them a luger each with one round apiece, the honourable way, not the Anglo-way of exiting with a large bag and a larger job in the next premises.

But telling everyone to calm down and have faith in the government to sort all this out is going to do what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

People are entitled to be annoyed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Ah come on. What about Bertie?

He's still walking the streets after a lengthy tribunal and being caught rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,199 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Caliden wrote: »
    Ah come on. What about Bertie?

He's still walking the streets after a lengthy tribunal and being caught rotten.

Yeah, even though he committed perjury.

The prick is surrounded by guards 24/7 yet they couldn't be arsed arresting him. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

SeaFields wrote: »

This wouldn't be anything new. Suppose it depends on what the tapes reveal but we know they've been in on whatever scam they've been pulling together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Why do you think taking to the streets will involve violence?

You are right. Violence will do nothing but put an extra strain on services like perhaps perhaps ambulance and fire services.

An enquiry will do fcuk all. It might dig at some little truths if we get that at all.

What's needed is a revolution. Overturn the government and get someone new in and start afresh. Corruption is deep rooted and has been since the foundations of the state. Otherwise we'll be back in 10, 15, 20, 30, 40 years time with more scandal and more corruption. Doubt a revolution is going to start tomorrow though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

What's needed is a revolution. Overturn the government and get someone new in and start afresh.

Revolution.
    ?
    ?
    A modern Irish Utopia.