Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today is friday topic: Who has right of way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Ok I was going to agree with you. But I went back and looked at the video again. The cyclist came fully to a stop first and she continued to roll her vehicle towards him.

That is not the behaviour of someone who is intimidated. That is the behaviour of someone who is trying to intimidate.
    AstraMonti wrote: »
    How can you intimidate a 3tons vehicle with a bike?! She couldn't even hear what he was saying from that far, that was just a show for the camera recording.

She was in the wrong but I'm also giving her some benefit of the doubt here. I'm saying her actions were understandable from the point of view of having made a mistake and being unsure about what to do and then feeling threatened. Her behaviour, wrong as it was, I would see as being a reaction to the cyclist being antagonistic for the benefit of his camera/ youtube.

There was another thread a while back about a guy who had his foot run over by a lady in a jeep outside her kids school. It seems some people are easily perturbed. Ultimately its about what the best thing to do is when rules are broken.

It was his agenda seeking/ inexperienced behaviour that caused the situation that transpired. She could have been a mental out patient due to take her meds...or some cyclist hater listening to somebody on the radio whipping up anti cyclist sentiments ..or worse... it doesn't matter. He inflamed a situation that he shouldn't have. Thats the point.

Last year, I slapped the side of a car that had taken a wide turn and ended up encroaching upon me in the cycle lane. I was coming up behind, although tired after a long spin I could see what was happening but was indignant at the rude behaviour and I chose to keep going. The car kept edging into the lane until I hit the side and threw a withering look at the driver for forcing me onto the path. I could have braked and waited for him to eventually clear but was miffed at inconsiderate drivers that day and made a different choice. He rolled down the window and from his accent, the things he shouted at me and the pristine condition of his car I knew I had picked the wrong guy to get righteous with. I pushed on fast and could tell from the sound of his engine he was attempting to follow me through the traffic. Luckily, it was jammers and I found a few side roads to escape through but for a few moments I thought I was in trouble. That could have been avoided by waiting for him to complete his shabby turn and doing nothing. Who knows how that could have turned out.. from his demeanour he wasn't going to invite me around for tea to discuss the matter.

buffalo wrote: »
    A bit scared does not open the door and start shouting. A bit scared locks the door, maybe opens the window a crack, and drives off at the first opportunity.

Maybe it does. Maybe people do funny things if they are threatened and on camera and they don't know why..who knows ? Maybe its best not to wait and find out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

The film's got it all high drama, good production values, punchy script.
    The actors do start to gnaw on the scenery a bit, but I was drawn into their world. It uses a point of view shot throughout which is at turns disorienting, but also involving.

It has twists and turns. There is the Villainous 4x4 lady, a seething mass of crazy, who will stoop to any low to prove herself right and garner sympathy from bystanders. She has done wrong, but then tries to wriggle out of it in a most outrageous manner that even Shakespeare's Iago would be ashamed of, I'll leave it up to you to enjoy the moment yourselves.

The self-righteous protagonist strongly believes in his own heroism which drives him on in the face of reason where, clearly, discretion would be the better part of valour. He is like a fish out of water, a spaceman who has landed from the stars to live amongst us, but he cannot quite work out how to get along.

I enjoyed this film, it didn't outstay it's welcome, and even included a nice cameo from Passat Guy, who I'm sure you'll look forward to seeing in some more expansive roles in the future.

Rating: 4 thumbs up out of 5

• Registered Users Posts: 9,162 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

beeno67 wrote: »
    Well he did cycle on the footpath or do those laws not count?Maybe we should report him to the guards.
    Maybe we should report the car behind him too, also on the path.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

As an aside, it strange that parking is permitted at the theatre end of that street as it already very narrow and probably would be better converted a one way.

Then we could have something like this. (If we lived in Belgium)

(If you have a short attention span skip the first 2 minutes.)

The lesson is "take the lane and negotiate with the oncoming driver".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

check_six wrote: »
    The film's got it all high drama, good production values, punchy script.
    The actors do start to gnaw on the scenery a bit, but I was drawn into their world. It uses a point of view shot throughout which is at turns disorienting, but also involving.

It has twists and turns. There is the Villainous 4x4 lady, a seething mass of crazy, who will stoop to any low to prove herself right and garner sympathy from bystanders. She has done wrong, but then tries to wriggle out of it in a most outrageous manner that even Shakespeare's Iago would be ashamed of, I'll leave it up to you to enjoy the moment yourselves.

The self-righteous protagonist strongly believes in his own heroism which drives him on in the face of reason where, clearly, discretion would be the better part of valour. He is like a fish out of water, a spaceman who has landed from the stars to live amongst us, but he cannot quite work out how to get along.

I enjoyed this film, it didn't outstay it's welcome, and even included a nice cameo from Passat Guy, who I'm sure you'll look forward to seeing in some more expansive roles in the future.

Rating: 4 thumbs up out of 5

I mostly agree, but I think the director could have shaved 1'46" or so off just to tighten it up a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Now if only there was a Strava segment on Hanover Street he wouldn't have had time to be vocalising.

Nothing beats chasing a KOM to keep one moving! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Having watched some of this guys other videos on youtube i've come to the conclusion that he cycles around town looking for trouble and posts videos about the most mundane of 'incidents'. He is an unbelievably self- righteous little man.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I call set-up!!

This guy is working for Hook & McGrath!

Standing in the middle of the road with his bike roaring at a jeep like he's on stage at the Abbey!

:pac: :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I call set-up!!

This guy is working for Hook & McGrath!

Standing in the middle of the road with his bike roaring at a jeep like he's on stage at the Abbey!

:pac: :D

If he had any sense he would have turned right at the junction so they could hear him at the Bord Gais an then he'd have something better to do with his time :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I have my suspicions about yer one in the Jeep too, I'm sure she was on "Fair City" :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I have my suspicions about yer one in the Jeep too, I'm sure she was on "Fair City" :D

So are all the ones who can't act

• Registered Users Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭buffalo

ror_74 wrote: »
    Maybe it does. Maybe people do funny things if they are threatened and on camera and they don't know why..who knows ? Maybe its best not to wait and find out.

I don't blame you for running (I'd do the same!), but the next cyclist might not be as observant as you and end up under their wheels. Alerting drivers to their mistakes and near misses is something we should all do, though not to the point of shouting at them in the street for two minutes - particular for an adrenaline-free incident like the OP. And I accept the alternate scenario might occur whereby that instead of learning and moving on, the driver decides to take out their rage on another cyclist, but there's not much that can be done about such people.

That the driver in your incident turned out to be a bully instead of someone who can recognise that they're not perfect is probably symptomatic of the type of person who doesn't take care while driving anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This is what should have happened with your wan

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

vicwatson wrote: »

Aye, that was decent, unlike the pair in the OP vid.

That lad in the red though, is that not bad cycling? Should he have stopped like all the other traffic?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,162 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEmmU1j8-Mk
    I dunno, the taxi driver's response made me think of this:

At least the cyclist was more relaxed in that video though!

Darkstrike wrote: »
    That lad in the red though, is that not bad cycling? Should he have stopped like all the other traffic?

What do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

He's a good guy, not your typical fussy, pedantic helmet cammer. Possibly just got confronted with that idiot at a bad moment.

Are you kidding, look at the other videos on his youtube channel, he is an obnoxious a$$h0le going around looking for trouble. Deliberately cycles down middle of lanes looking for confrontation

That the driver in your incident turned out to be a bully instead of someone who can recognise that they're not perfect is probably symptomatic of the type of person who doesn't take care while driving anyway.

That guy would be the exception, in fairness. I'm not sure the onus is on cyclists to warn drivers about their bad behaviour and then hoping something like that wont happen again to other road users - it happens too often. I think the best approach is anticipating something and avoiding it, and I suppose that just comes with experience. Maybe a bit of both?

Making good use of a helmet cam:

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

Fr Dougal wrote: »
    Are you kidding, look at the other videos on his youtube channel, he is an obnoxious a$$h0le going around looking for trouble. Deliberately cycles down middle of lanes looking for confrontation

That is not why cyclists cycle in the middle of the lane. Is this your only basis for calling him an obnoxious asshole?

That guy would be the exception, in fairness. I'm not sure the onus is on cyclists to warn drivers about their bad behaviour and then hoping something like that wont happen again to other road users - it happens too often. I think the best approach is anticipating something and avoiding it, and I suppose that just comes with experience. Maybe a bit of both?

Aye, experienced guys like you (presumably :)) and me can anticipate those things most of the time. I found out a couple of weeks ago that you won't see everything (to my poor face's detriment) and newer road users won't be as aware.

Perhaps what we're missing is road safety education for both cyclists to teach them the dangers, and drivers to teach them the common pitfalls... like some kind of driving lessons? :P My current favourite is people who overtake while indicating left, then stop a few metres ahead. They think they're being considerate, but there's no way I'm going up the inside of someone indicating left, so I have to haul on the brakes.

Making good use of a helmet cam:
    Enjoyable footage and strangely relaxing.

I wonder how our local camera wearing ranters would survive in Manhattan. They would describe every second traffic movement there as a "near miss" that "almost killed me".

He does get very up close an personal with large vehicles and although he moves his head a good bit, he doesn't seem to do it when really required - e.g. when changing position in lane.

(Strangely, in 9 minutes of footage I only recall seeing one other bike).

Aye, experienced guys like you (presumably :)) and me can anticipate those things most of the time.]I found out a couple of weeks ago that you won't see everything (to my poor face's detriment and newer road users won't be as aware.

Perhaps what we're missing is road safety education for both cyclists to teach them the dangers, and drivers to teach them the common pitfalls... like some kind of driving lessons? :P My current favourite is people who overtake while indicating left, then stop a few metres ahead. They think they're being considerate, but there's no way I'm going up the inside of someone indicating left, so I have to haul on the brakes.

Probably not as much as I like to think. Apologies, I forgot about your accident :o. It is a good point, and I probably should take more opportunity to point out a drivers errors rather than shaking my head and carrying on.
    The recent TV ad campaign was very positive, I thought. More people on the road will create its own safety through numbers too.

Yeah that one is a pisser. Just as bad as overtaking you to turn left and ending up cutting straight across because they didn't do it quick enough .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

He does come across as a bit obnoxious. However, come on how annoying is it when sh*t like that happens. I would love to get the chance to talk stuff like that with a driver. We all get crap like this a least once on each bike ride.

She was 100% in the wrong anyway.

Enjoyable footage and strangely relaxing.

I wonder how our local camera wearing ranters would survive in Manhattan. They would describe every second traffic movement there as a "near miss" that "almost killed me".

He does get very up close an personal with large vehicles and although he moves his head a good bit, he doesn't seem to do it when really required - e.g. when changing position in lane.

(Strangely, in 9 minutes of footage I only recall seeing one other bike).

Well at least they could rant until they're blue in the face any nobody would bat an eye :)

I think that the lens has something to do with it. It stretches the depth of field making him seem like he's going faster or covering more distance, and the gaps between vehicles seem too narrow in parts.

Doesn't explain the lack of cyclists though.

I think that the lens has something to do with it. It stretches the depth of field making him seem like he's going faster or covering more distance, and the gaps between vehicles seem too narrow in parts
    I was just thinking that afterwards.

PS - was he a courier?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I think they should marry - imagine the rows :eek:

- imagine the kids.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

I was just thinking that afterwards.

PS - was he a courier?

Dont think so, from his shoes I'm guessing a hipster from Williamsburg :pac:

He does come across as a bit obnoxious. However, come on how annoying is it when sh*t like that happens. I would love to get the chance to talk stuff like that with a driver. We all get crap like this a least once on each bike ride.

She was 100% in the wrong anyway.

More than a bit, I'd say. While thats true, most of the crap is just inconsiderate rather than outright dangerous ( with respect to Buffalos incident )

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Wow, 33 of the 50 most thanked posts are on this topic, which is in three forums (cycling, motors and AH). If you'd like anymore useless info, just ask.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.