Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

YbFocus wrote: »
    I thought we were seeing the end of the 535 already. As long as it wasn't an alfa you wanted :D

Actually on that topic I was looking at a beautiful Alfa spider 2.0 convertible down in bluebell the other day. Once Golfy is gone (when I will not be without a tear in my eye, she's been part of the family for alot of testing times) I will be expanding to a few cars. My stated aim is to have over 10,000cc in the yard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Great for these lads that can have any amount of cars :)
    So any idea what you want, or a short list?
    Chap down from me has a restored e34 535i, she's a beauty. I'd love one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Max Power1 wrote: »
    My stated aim is to have over 10,000cc in the yard!

I had 10,100 up to late last year, 12,600 including the woman's car. Have only 5200 now!

Great for these lads that can have any amount of cars :)
    So any idea what you want, or a short list?
    Chap down from me has a restored e34 535i, she's a beauty. I'd love one.

I've been thinking(dreaming) of it for a while..
    I want one old classic executive sedan on classic tax like a 500SEL or 450SL Merc. Also a Jag (the 6.0 v12 xj6 comes to mind, as does the v12 xjs).
    Finally a convertible.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I had 10,100 up to late last year, 12,600 including the woman's car. Have only 5200 now!

Yeah including auld Golfy I'm currently at 4900...

With two bikes, Passat and the e60 I have 5,400cc

Over 10000 is just crazy, or your into lorries :)

With two bikes, Passat and the e60 I have 5,400cc

Over 10000 is just crazy, or your into lorries :)

Crazy like a fox ;)

Ah no I just want a few classics or near classics. I'd love a bentley turbo R.

Oh god yes a Turbo R would be nice :)

I've had a hankering for an e36 M3 for quite a while think they have a hard as nails kind of look to them :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

I have 9400 in the driveway.
    Unfortunately only 2500 is mine.
    If I had room (oul lads permission) I'd well go over 10000 on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Cough* over 11,000 ccs in the yard alone..... Including random engines that goes up to well over double that figure :cool: and then the garden stuff and garage stuff, too early to compute!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

God fecking dammit. I am pretty sure that I am getting a speeding ticket after todays trip going home.
    Flipping Twopothouse on Cork Limerick road. Jumped courtroom junction speeded up to jag ass ( wanted to see it better as it was 132 plate jag ass). so all of us traveling 60km/h and on The boarder where it goes to 100km/h a garda in Van shooting away. ****!!!!
    I am sure that in Twopothouse it's 50km/h limit, even so I don't think I was under 60 when catching up to jag even if limit was 60.

So feck, first ever ticket in 9 years in Ireland. Bollox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If you had a spoiler the down force would have pulled you under the limit...

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

God fecking dammit. I am pretty sure that I am getting a speeding ticket after todays trip going home.
    Flipping Twopothouse on Cork Limerick road. Jumped courtroom junction speeded up to jag ass ( wanted to see it better as it was 132 plate jag ass). so all of us traveling 60km/h and on The boarder where it goes to 100km/h a garda in Van shooting away. ****!!!!
    I am sure that in Twopothouse it's 50km/h limit, even so I don't think I was under 60 when catching up to jag even if limit was 60.

So feck, first ever ticket in 9 years in Ireland. Bollox!

Newtwopothouse is 60kph limit so you might be okay. Once your clock was showing under 65 I'd say you will be okay.

ntph.png

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Jaysus, SH must have been given the subaru socks to do that to the lamp post.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It's 60? I am not 100% sure what speed did I go to catch up, but if I did went over it was not much... Bah... How long does it take for ticket to arrive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Saw a god holy beauty of a DB9 '06 with cannonball decals all over it. Spotted in Blackrock. Pity driver wasn't about though, would have loved to hear her purr (the car now, not the driver well if she was a she and was good looking :p).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Before and after pics of my car bodywork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

^^ Looks great. Where did you have the work done?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Veloce wrote: »
    ^^ Looks great. Where did you have the work done?

Chap my mechanic uses, don't know the name of his business tbh! He only takes referrals from a group of mechanics, doesn't deal direct with the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

That's a fantastic job Stheno!! Looks great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Awesome! Great colour too, don't recall seeing pictures of yours before.

Great job stheno. Can we see the whole gtv? :D

That's a fantastic job Stheno!! Looks great :D

I was absolutely thrilled with it, there are a few stone chips on the bonnet that now make the car look shabby, so the bonnet and front bumper are being done in a couple of weeks, I reckon the car will look super. I dropped over to my mechanic to show him, and he was delighted with it too, his son dropped in and asked if I'd gotten another gtv or was it a respray as he couldn't tell!

Having gotten it done, I'm going to keep the car, and do all the little jobs that will really finish it off, replace the back box on the exhaust with a chrome one, replace/get the aerial fixed as it's stuck and won't go up or down, fix the leather in the drivers seat, refurb/replace the alloys, and upgrade the gear knob :)
    Awesome! Great colour too, don't recall seeing pictures of yours before.

I'll post a few up when it's completely done, it has a lovely red interior :) Goes well with the grey

Scortho wrote: »
    Great job stheno. Can we see the whole gtv? :D

When the front is done :D

It looks so well it's even gotten me to think that I should get into detailing it :)

Stheno wrote: »
    When the front is done :D

It looks so well it's even gotten me to think that I should get into detailing it :)

Post it up anyway.
    Definitely do. A bit of an effort at the start (wash detar, rinse, deironise, clay, polish and wax take a while) a big outlay on cleaning items but its worth it as that's only every 4-6 months for the big cleans.
    Then wash every week to two weeks and she's spotless.
    My family are convinced I've gone mad washing a "clean" car every week.
    When they're done properly, they really stand out from the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Got an oil change service, brake fluid and rear pads done by George Dalton this evening. The brakes feel much much better for it. Definitely worth the 100 mile round trip from Athlone.

My car is finally taxed. 599 for 6 months. Ill worry about the other months then.

BF277482_zpsfa385a52.jpg

My car is finally taxed. 599 for 6 months. Ill worry about the other months then.

That'll be me next week...:( :D

I had great fun chatting up the woman at the counter if its any consolation.
    Would you not wait to Septembet?
    The alfa was driven regularly but had no tax since October 2010! :eek:
    Thank Christ tax doesn't follow the new owner.

I had great fun chatting up the woman at the counter if its any consolation.
    Would you not wait to Septembet?
    The alfa was driven regularly but had no tax since October 2010! :eek:
    Thank Christ tax doesn't follow the new owner.

Have to declare it off the road. August is the last month i can do so. It's next Monday that I'll be ready to go. Got a quote for 600 from Axa, 3 years NCB, 325 valued at 2500 (optimistic!) and I'm 25 on Monday. Third party fire and theft with open drive. Not too shabby.