Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Anti-austeriry really annoy anyone else?

• 13-04-2013 2:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0413/381224-5-000-people-attend-anti-austerity-march/

This kind of marching etc really bugs me. The St Paddy's day parade in KK was dire enough, but at the very end these kind of eejits came up along at the end to ruin a family day with politics.

The whole thing annoys me. Marching around with the tri colour trying to incite a rebellion against the government. You'd swear we had it hard in this country.

I accept this is going to be a very unpopular post, but I just wish there were more people who just got on with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

El Spearo wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0413/381224-5-000-people-attend-anti-austerity-march/

This kind of marching etc really bugs me. The St Paddy's day parade in KK was dire enough, but at the very end these kind of eejits came up along at the end to ruin a family day with politics.

The whole thing annoys me. Marching around with the tri colour trying to incite a rebellion against the government. You'd swear we had it hard in this country.

I accept this is going to be a very unpopular post, but I just wish there were more people who just got on with it.

Dont worry Bill Cullen will save us all...............oh no wait,hes suddenly lost his memory too.:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

We have it hard thanks to constant bad decisions our over paid politicians are making.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Not really, austerity is much more annoying that anti-austerity. When even the people who decided on the austerity measures feel they were too strong, it's good to see people protesting, whatever the form.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Shamozzle

So you like paying taxes?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭El Inho

We have it hard thanks to constant bad decisions our over paid politicians are making.

thats great, but you realise 'we have it hard' because of previous groups of politicians too?

plus we don't have it hard. we just don't have it as easy as some people would like.

we, the irish people, need to get over ourselves.

Shamozzle wrote: »
    So you like paying taxes?

No, nobody does. But I do understand that it is my responsibility to pay taxes. Just like it is in every country.

It's clear nobody likes taxes, but by god they love complaining about them.

thats great, but you realise 'we have it hard' because of previous groups of politicians too?

plus we don't have it hard. we just don't have it as easy as some people would like.

Thankyou Bill..for that lovely speech...:pac::pac:

Now go and ask BOI or even KBC for a loan of 9 million euro.;)

Just realised I gave this a very asian title :P

paddy147 wrote: »
    Thankyou Bill..for that lovely speech...:pac::pac:

Now go and ask BOI or even KBC for a loan of 9 million euro.;)

that whole Bill thing wasn't funny the first time, but keep trying.

Speak for yourself!! I have it bloody hard now as a result of bad decisions made by people who made themselves out to be experts with over paid spin doctors who aren't accountable for anything at the end of the day. By politicians i mean all of them, not just the shower there at the moment.
    Get over ourselves??? What bloody planet are you on ffs?

That's a very broad generalisation. Parents of special-needs children might disagree with that, especially if they're already dealing with financial strain as a lot of people are.

I personally don't earn a lot of money and have had to pay a lot more tax. I think this is unfair as I'm not responsible for the problems I'm paying for, and I think it's even more unfair that people a lot worse off than me have to suffer. This is especially galling because politicians and many high-level bank officials receive disproportionately high salaries.

If anything, I think people in Ireland should protest more, including myself.

Just realised I gave this a very asian title :P

So that's where you are? Come over here for a while and see what's going on.:rolleyes:

that whole Bill thing wasn't funny the first time, but keep trying.

Will do Jackie.;):pac::pac:

Sorry but I won't be budged on this. We've become a country of moaners. The one thing we still had was not turning into rioters like the greeks. And even that might be lost soon.

I've felt cuts in many places, but it's just a matter of get on with it. You can either moan and endure or brave it and try be happy. Im the latter.

Sorry but I won't be budged on this. We've become a country of moaners. The one thing we still had was not turning into rioters like the greeks. And even that might be lost soon.

I've felt cuts in many places, but it's just a matter of get on with it. You can either moan and endure or brave it and try be happy. Im the latter.

Well good luck with that, hope it goes well for you. If you're feeling flush you can bail us all out.

That's the key word there. I don't know your exact situation but I'd be very surprised if you haven't felt cuts as badly as many other people in this country.
    Do you think they should get on with it instead of saying that maybe already vulnerable members of society shouldn't have to pay for the mistakes of the rich and powerful?
    Do you know, or care about people who might be much worse off than you, or do you only care about your own situation?

Even Ashoka Mody says things were taken too far with austerity measures: do you know better than him?

Sorry but I won't be budged on this.become a moaner.Im the latter.

Yep,you have become one indeed.:pac:

At least you are now being honest to yourself,so thats a step in the right direction to you getting help.;):pac::D

paddy147 wrote: »
    Yep,you have become one indeed.:pac:

At least you are now being honest to yourself,so thats a step in the right direction to you getting help.;):pac::D

editing like that would get you a great job in the papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I knew it, i always suspected Phil Hogan was on boards.. hello Phil

is calling me well known people actually a trait of ye or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

is calling me well known people actually a trait of ye or what?

Pipe down Phil

• Registered Users Posts: 28,680 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You're dead right OP

We should all just sit there, shut up and bend over when demanded while those imposing these decisions are completely insulated from the impact and creaming off the top for themselves, their relatives and their mates.

After all, who are we to question our bunch of publicans, teachers, lawyers and career politicians. Sure wasn't Enda the "European of the Year" - is that not enough for us?

And sure just because I'm alright at the moment, feck everyone else. It's ok though - if I get hit in the next budget, or my employer decides to lay me off, I'll just "get on with it" too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

If you're not willing to listen to other opinions,why did you post on a discussion forum?

Swan Curry wrote: »
    If you're not willing to listen to other opinions,why did you post on a discussion forum?

wanted to see what other opinions are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Its like getting stuck in a lift. The likes of Richard Boyd-Barrett would just stay there and whinge about getting into the lift. Normal people would be trying to find a way of salvaging the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Prettyblack

It does annoy me. It's a way of getting the less well off riled up so some other political party (because it is all politics) get their agenda forward.

What annoys me is people saying "I'm not responsible for the banks" etc. well I'm not responsible for the roads but I still pay road tax, I'm not responsible for RTE but still pay a TV licence, I'm not responsible for nurses but my taxes help pay their wages.

Most of the moans come from people who don't really understand how the finance sector, or government, works - I'd like I see the socialist party try and run the country, pretty soon they'd be doing the same thing as there really isn't any other way to do it. Like it or lump it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Are you a carer?
    Are you on the cancer bus from Donegal to Galway a few times a month?

The elite are chipping away at it............ they'll have you as a serf eventually, but shur just " endure or brave it and try be happy".

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

"Just get on with it" as in sit idly by as those at the top line their own pockets while demanding sacrifices of everyone else? F*ck that.

The day Bertie Ahern is completely and totally cut off from any form of exchequer expenses whatsoever will be the day I will consider scaling back my protesting. Until then, they can shove their austerity up their arses. If it's not austerity for EVERYONE, it shouldn't be austerity for anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

Austerity is made up word by people who like to spend other peoples money to get what they want. If you can only spend what you have its called budgeting.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Fattes wrote: »
    Austerity is made up word by people who like to spend other peoples money to get what they want. If you can only spend what you have its called budgeting.

Fair enough. How much more would we have to spend on worthwhile things if we stopped pouring money into bankers' pensions and salaries, and cut people like Bertie Ahern, cited by a tribunal as a potential crook, off from totally unwarranted perks and expenses which he is still receiving despite no longer actually working for us?

Seriously, how can you possibly be ok with that?