Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"THE GRAND NATIONAL" Aintree - Anyone taking a punt on the gee gees?

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭- bo -

Not big into the horses, didn't get to see the Irish National last week but mine was beaten by half a length into second at 25/1. Raging. Wouldn't bother backing anything under 20/1 or so in this one..

Two e/w bets for me -
    Quel Esprit 40/1
    Lost Glory 50/1

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I put a fiver on 3 to win or last. He was grand fav to hoop on the mile signal.
    Didn't trek though and was feets from updown track venting.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Threads merged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Do a reverse forecast on the Walsh horses.

I bet you apply the same logic to buying a car

What's with the attitude? Did you not get the leg over last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not sure what price they are at the moment but I have

£5 EW / Big Fella Thanks .
    £2 EW /Cappa Bleu .

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

mike65 wrote: »
    Do a reverse forecast on the Walsh horses.

There are 3 Walsh horses ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You who I mean! Okay do a tricast :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I guess most offices still pass round a hat/box for you to pick out a runners name? or has that practice died out in recent years?

LordSutch wrote: »
    I guess most offices still pass round a hat/box for you to pick out a runners name? or has that practise died out in recent years?

We did one in work yesterday. I got a 66/1 shot that if he wins (he won't - he's a pig) I get paid 27/1 :rolleyes: :p

• Administrators Posts: 53,567 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Total lottery. Sure you have horses at 100s winning this.

Which is why it's great! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

On His Own has a great chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im on foundations in the first, ive put the house on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Just put a bet on cappa bleu as part of a sweepstake in the shopping centre I work in. I know nothing about racing, but 12-1 odds aren't too terrible, and the girl taking the bet said he's a decent horse. Fingers crossed. :)

Never mind The National, I've got a tip for Ayr on Monday.....
    Open your windows on Sunday!!!!

• Administrators Posts: 53,567 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Chicago Gray E/W.

Would like to see Imperial Commander win, certainly the classiest horse on show.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

LizT wrote: »
    Threads merged

What are the odds on that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

10 euro double 3.25 aintree opening batsman 4.15 on his own
    if it clicks guaranteed week in spain

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Ive got 10 pounds riding on that little beauty over there, c'mon Eamonn!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

5 each way on a breakast roll please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

FTA69 wrote: »
    It's a roulette. Anyone giving out solid "tips" for the national can be immediately identified as a spoofer. People I know who work in bookies hate this day more than any other because you get a plethora of people in with their €2 each way bets asking a million and one stupid questions at the hatch. Due to the clusterf*ck nature of it, it's only good for a bit of a sweepstake in work.

All tipsters are spoofers.

In any given race, different tipsters could tip up to 6 or 7 horses.

People wrongly think of horses as machines like as if nothing could go wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Just put a few quid E/W on Always Waining and The Rainbow Hunter.

It's the only time I ever gamble, so fingers crossed!

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Nodster

Ronseal......great over fences

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Went with Imperial Commander and Roberto Goldback both e/w also put small e/w stake on ForPaddyThePlasterer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

What's the latest you can place a bet in the bookies?

up to the off and about 10 seconds after the start

Could be a late scramble just before the off tho, best to get in there as early as possible!

kfallon wrote: »
    Could be a late scramble just before the off tho, best to get in there as early as possible!

i was in just as the bookies opened, stayed there for a good while, the buzz is great

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Ive just threw 20 euro on all horses to clear the first fence 2/1 with Paddy Power,probably cursed the first fence now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Balthazar King EW. Placed the bet at 11.30 this morning.