If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Great report Beef well done.

Yeah - you had it tougher alright - well done for digging in.

Your family is lovely. Mad. but absolutely lovely. Did I say they were mad? And that other one - Say no more. ;).

Was laughing to myself in work about the Alan.Alan.Alan.Alan.
    loved that video.
    Say hi to D for me. (Not to G though :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Really enjoyed reading that report. The videos just cracked me up especially the second one. Visions of you looking for AMK in the pub that night.

Delighted you got such a good result after all the training. You've set the bar high Beef. We'll done again.

What's mad about the whole scenario was that the whole bingo bus, mother included calls him "Beef".

Had a slight surreal feel to the whole night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Well done Beef, super running. Time for a log title change alright :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Thanks folks. I might not change the log title at all to be honest! A reminder of where my goals began is no harm I reckon. :)

Since Sunday the missus has been at me to get myself checked out after the fainting episode and she's starting to get on my tits. :)
    I knew I shouldn't have feckin told her! She herself has a congenital heart defect and thinks I'd be an idiot not to get a heart screening done. I'm not allowed run any more marathons until I get it checked apparently. :D I've health insurance with Laya who offer free heart screenings for members so I've sent off an email to see what's involved. Has anyone here ever got anything similar done I wonder?

Beef wrote: »
    Thanks folks. I might not change the log title at all to be honest! A reminder of where my goals began is no harm I reckon. :)

Since Sunday the missus has been at me to get myself checked out after the fainting episode and she's starting to get on my tits. :)
    I knew I shouldn't have feckin told her! She herself has a congenital heart defect and thinks I'd be an idiot not to get a heart screening done. I'm not allowed run any more marathons until I get it checked apparently. :D I've health insurance with Laya who offer free heart screenings for members so I've sent off an email to see what's involved. Has anyone here ever got anything similar done I wonder?

Funny you should mentioned it. During a standard health screening last year an anomaly was spotted on my ECG. Got referral to Cardiac consultant who had me do echo and stress test. he reckoned the result of ecg were not of a concern but the echo test did show up something different. He spotted that I have a bicuspid aortic valve and ordered an MRI. The funny thing is that all during this my biggest concern seemed to be ...but can I run?

MRI scan came back and he advised just an annual checkup and continue with the marathon lark.No need to change my lifestyle. I hadnt suffered chest pains apart from the odd pang and very rarely light headedness(which could have been tiredness too)

Glad I got checked out though so I recommend you do the same. A pal of mine found out he had a major heart issue by accident in recent years.If he hadnt he'd be most likely dead by now. So take any sign seriously and get it checked.

There's no family history on my side but cardiac guy said it is somehting that you could go through life with it and never notice. Worth knowing about it though so that you can keep an eye on it.

Don't forget rule number 1 of marriage. The wife is always right (even when she's not!)

On this occasion though I think she is right.;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

Yeah I would recommend you going for a check up. I myself last year went into my GP with chest pains and light headiness, so the GP did a ECG and something showed up, next thing I knew I was in the back of the ambulance on way to the hospital!! In the hospital after they ruled out a heart attack :D I did an echo and stress test all came back clear, thank god but had to stay in overnight as a precaution, I was never given a reason for the pains or weird reading from the GP ECG but I do plan to go for yearly checkup’s as a result. Its mad cause on the way into the hospital all I was thinking was would I be able do my run that night!!

RedRunner wrote: »
    Funny you should mentioned it. During a std health screening last year an anomaly was spotted on my ECG.

Not to make a mockery of the topic, but that's very open of you to volunteer the fact that you had an std.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

RedRunner wrote: »
    Funny you should mentioned it. During a std health screening last year an anomaly was spotted on my ECG.

Didn't realise they'd do an ECG when screening for std's !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Not to make a mockery of the topic, but that's very open of you to volunteer the fact that you had an std.:eek:

That's what I was thinking :)

Jeez....and not a digger in sight yet!

Standard Health screen....Standard health screen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Been off the beaten track a while Beef...well done on the race. You didn't let the hammer stop you when I'd say it woulda been all too easy to pull up !! Ease back a bit for a while, maybe get a plan for the cork city half? I'm finding the reduced mileage much easier on the body and its easier to fit the runs ins...just something to keep you ticking over till you ramp up for Dublin maybe?
    Well done again...hang that medal up somewhere you can see it everyday !

Cheers Mr. W! You were up early (or late ;)). Struggling with a touch of man-flu since the weekend. Nothing too serious but still much worse than what women would have to endure. :pac:

Thursday 10/04
    1.8 miles @ 10:20 mpm

Said I'd try a 2 mile recovery. Left hamstring felt like there was a weight hanging from the end of it so I had to stop and stretch it out again.

15 mins foam rolling (very ouch) and some stretching/rolling on a sliotar. Recovery will take its time I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Well done C, sounds like a tough race, but you got stuck in and got a great result. Well deserved!

You should really get an NCT done at the doctors, I'm sure everyone was saddened to hear about the man that died after London marathon on Sunday, it seems he was a seasoned runner and did the marathon in a good time. Definitely a lesson to us all to get checked out, especially if your body is giving you warning signs like fainting.

Howdy stranger! Great to hear from you and I hope your keeping well ahead of your own 'marathon'. ;)

I've given in to ye, I'm going to the doctor this morning for an NCT and I booked in for a heart screening that comes free with Laya in June. To be honest I'm more worried about my left hamstring tendon which is flaring up again. More physio and ice/exercises I think.

Sunday 13/04
    Tempo 4.85 miles @ 8:15mpm
    9,8:27,7:23,8:04,7:04 (less than a mile)

This felt great and the hamstring didn't give out too much.

Monday 14/04
    4.2 miles @ 8:26mpm

I was looking for trouble. I did this in the racetrack (for horses, not 400m :)) and had the family in tow. I was doing 3 laps of the course while they strolled around so did these too quick. Hamstring was not appreciative. Eejit.

Thursday 17/04
    4.85 miles @ 9:10 mpm

Took things a bit easier this morning. Like I said I'm off to the quack so am working from home and used my normal commute time as running time. I need to find a job more local.
    I think I'll get a rub down this weekend if possible or next week at the latest and then formulate a plan for my next race. It will need to be over a shorter distance in any case and we'll be moving house in the summer too (final mortgage approval landed the day after Manchester :D) so I've no idea how I'll be fixed time-wise. I'm sure I'll find the time somewhere if it means an earlier start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Dude WTF :confused: I had to double check but yes YOU RAN A MARATHON less than 2 weeks ago. WHY ARE YOU DOING TEMPO RUNS ON A DODGY HAMSTRING 8 DAYS AFTER RUNNING A MARATHON :eek:

Oh God I know I'm a massive tit! I was going to not even put it up here cos I knew id be given out to! :o... I felt great though and was running free.
    Anyway lesson learned so I'll be taking it easier for a few weeks. I'm hoping I got away with it. Would I be allowed to do a 10 mile easy run at the weekend? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Oh God I know I'm a massive tit! I was going to not even put it up here cos I knew id be given out to! :o... I felt great though and was running free.
    Anyway lesson learned so I'll be taking it easier for a few weeks. I'm hoping I got away with it. Would I be allowed to do a 10 mile easy run at the weekend? :)
    :D Your muscles are like racehorses - they don't always know what's best for them and sometimes you just have to grab a hold of the reins, drop them in and get them to switch off whether they like it or not!

10m is too long. Hal higdon recommends running for no longer than an hour I think.

If it's good enough for the king ...... ;)

Perfect - I'm such a robot, I love following plans. That'll do nicely.

Back from the doctor and thankfully I'm not dying. :D
    They were extracting blood, urine, shaving me :o and hooking me up to machines. It's the most medical attention I've received since I got my tonsils out when I was 5. ECG was clear and the doctor (who's a bit of a character and former marathon runner) told me to just go back training and improve on my time. Cheeky fecker! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

:D Your muscles are like racehorses - they don't always know what's best for them and sometimes you just have to grab a hold of the reins, drop them in and get them to switch off whether they like it or not!

10m is too long. Hal higdon recommends running for no longer than an hour I think.

If it's good enough for the king ...... ;)

Good girl, the man needed to be told:D

Perfect - I'm such a robot, I love following plans. That'll do nicely.

Back from the doctor and thankfully I'm not dying. :D
    They were extracting blood, urine, shaving me :o and hooking me up to machines. It's the most medical attention I've received since I got my tonsils out when I was 5. ECG was clear and the doctor (who's a bit of a character and former marathon runner) told me to just go back training and improve on my time. Cheeky fecker! :D

Did you not tell him you had already commenced training?;)

I did actually! He ran off laughing. :)

The log is gone to pot!

Sat 17/04
    60 mins steady

Tue 22/04
    4 miles easy

Wed 23/04
    Session 7 miles w/ 3 @ 10K pace
    Didn't intend doing 7 but anyway. Was just hoping for 3 7 minute miles as that's where I'd like the next 10k race pace to be at. 6:50,6:52,6:55

Sun 27/04
    10 miles steady

Mon 28/04
    4 miles v easy

Tue 29/04
    25 mins on the wife's exercise bike :eek:

Anyway the middle toe on my left foot is in shíte and unless it gets 2 days rest after any longer runs I'm in a good bit of pain, so my activities have been severely curtailed. I need to get the time to book into the physio but for now it will be ice and day-on / day-off...

Tonight there is a 4 mile road race in Cahir which I'm going to try and make. PB from last year is 29:18 so that will have to go, toes or not toes. :)

The log is gone to pot!

Sat 17/04
    60 mins steady

Tue 22/04
    4 miles easy

Wed 23/04
    Session 7 miles w/ 3 @ 10K pace
    Didn't intend doing 7 but anyway. Was just hoping for 3 7 minute miles as that's where I'd like the next 10k race pace to be at. 6:50,6:52,6:55

Sun 27/04
    10 miles steady

Mon 28/04
    4 miles v easy

Tue 29/04
    25 mins on the wife's exercise bike :eek:

Anyway the middle toe on my left foot is in shíte and unless it gets 2 days rest after any longer runs I'm in a good bit of pain, so my activities have been severely curtailed. I need to get the time to book into the physio but for now it will be ice and day-on / day-off...

Tonight there is a 4 mile road race in Cahir which I'm going to try and make. PB from last year is 29:18 so that will have to go, toes or not toes. :)

Best of luck. Is your toe trouble new?

Thanks Sam - yes I've never had anything like it before so I really should get it checked. A couple of weeks off would probably sort it but I'm not going to do anything as sensible as that unless it falls off. :D

My friend developed a very painful toe after DCM, physio sent her to chiropodist and after a few visits and much strapping it came good!

Wednesday 30/04
    Morrison's bmw 4 mile race. 27:49

On my phone at the moment but I'm quite happy with this. I had no idea where the start line was so ended up in ridiculous traffic and couldn't take advantage of the fast looking first half mile. The 'I RAN 10 K WITH RAY' ladies I passed must have started at the very front. :rolleyes: The next 2 miles were up a gentle climb on a very quiet road and I was tipping along grand at 7:10 ish pace I think. The last mile was lightning once we got over a bit of a pull and I was happy with the way I finished with a final mile of 6:26. Much better than your usual Wednesday night session. Hamstring held up and the toe is not too bad. Good day at the office I think. Well apart from doing my entire warm up with a snot flapping out of my nose it was a good day!

Great stuff, big PB there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

Wednesday 30/04
    Morrison's bmw 4 mile race. 27:49

On my phone at the moment but I'm quite happy with this. I had no idea where the start line was so ended up in ridiculous traffic and couldn't take advantage of the fast looking first half mile. The 'I RAN 10 K WITH RAY' ladies I passed must have started at the very front. :rolleyes: The next 2 miles were up a gentle climb on a very quiet road and I was tipping along grand at 7:10 ish pace I think. The last mile was lightning once we got over a bit of a pull and I was happy with the way I finished with a final mile of 6:26. Much better than your usual Wednesday night session. Hamstring held up and the toe is not too bad. Good day at the office I think. Well apart from doing my entire warm up with a snot flapping out of my nose it was a good day!

i did this race myself last night, hectic start but once you got past the first few 100 metres it was grand. just behind me at the start about half way in the crowd there were two kids (5/6 years old max) on bikes!!! i dont understand how the parents could think that was a good idea but anyway. i did it in 30-40ish, 2mins faster than last year but still i was disspaointed with my time, i thought i could have gotten closer to 29 just no life in the legs for some reason.

well done on your pb, great time.

1399918310455.jpg

Haven't posted in ages but I've been doing some bits and pieces. Still haven't got to the physio and my foot has been at me on and off but I can manage it by alternating between the static bike and running. Going to change the runners too.

27 miles of running last week and I was glad to get that much done. :eek:

30 planned for this week including an 8K race in Poulmucka this Friday. I know career_move is a fan of this one. ;)

Next week I start training for my next goal race - the Boston Scientific Half in Clonmel. Great race and I do it every year. Sub 1:40 is the initial target and I'll see how the injury / training goes. Defo going to race a lot more in the build up and use these races as sessions where possible. Longest race will be 10 miles. I have a plan done out on my work laptop so I might post that up for opinions tomorrow if anyone would be so kind as to take a look.