If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Go bring home the bacon Beef! Have a great day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Best of luck on Sunday Beef :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Best of luck Sunday - hopefully get a few pints with you on Sunday to trade our tales of woe war.
    I'll PM you my number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Good luck Sunday Beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck on Sunday Beef you'll roast it.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Thanks folks. Might be looking for a bit of advice later regarding time. Sore throat today and sweating on and off. Don't feel so great. Will check heart rate tonight before I go asleep. Should I revise my planned pace do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Beef wrote: »
    Thanks folks. Might be looking for a bit of advice later regarding time. Sore throat today and sweating on and off. Don't feel so great. Will check heart rate tonight before I go asleep. Should I revise my planned pace do ye think?

Stick with the plan. Make a call in the race, if you are not feeling easy after 5 miles back off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Fcuk, that's all you need now! If I were in your position I wouldn't make any call on that till the morning. In meantime, plenty of VitC, fluids,and get into bed and sweat the toxins out.(not a medical opinion or recommendation) is what I'd probably do.

You might be absolutely fine in the morning so try not to worry too much.If you were still feeling lousy in the morning then I'd say just ensure you make it round in one piece. Easy to say of course, harder to obey!

Cheers lads. I'm very relaxed about it so I'll see how it goes. I think I'll take your advice meno and play it by ear... Its all from the neck up anyway. :)
    It may be from the very early start and travelling. Only sitting down for something to eat now also. :)

Registration was very quick but there was no expo and no gels on sale. Had to trek across the city to find a running store to pick up shot bloks. Also the trams were not running so we had to walk around and find a bus. let's just say its been underwhelming so far! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Beef have a pint boy. Ur mind is on overdrive. Hit the sack early and drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Best of luck lad & enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Could be the menopause.... nothing that will effect your run tomorrow ;)

btw, your nervous energy will have your heart rate raised anyway so don't bother taking a reading tonight, it'll only wreck your head.

btw, you're nervous energy will have your heart rate raised anyway so don't bother taking a reading tonight, it'll only wreck your head.
    Couldn't agree more. Forget the heart rate tonight.It will be all over the shop sick or not. Just try and relax and maybe ...dare i say it ... ignore boards and the internet for the night!!!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Could be the menopause.... nothing that will effect your run tomorrow ;)

btw, you're nervous energy will have your heart rate raised anyway so don't bother taking a reading tonight, it'll only wreck your head.

Now that you mention it my uterus didn't feel so hot earlier. ;) thanks everyone. Checking outta here for the night.

http://www.marathontalk.com/archive/tonys_trials/the_things_you_hear.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Looks like 3:47:30 chiptime?

I'd say you are happy enough with that? Enjoy the pints, well done.

Yep happy out thanks a lot! Thanks for all your help over the last 4 months. Genuinely appreciate it. I'll buy you several pints at the Dublin marathon beers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done Beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Delighted for you, your hard work paid off. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done Beef. Great performance.Have a great night.

Fantastic running Beef. Delighted for ya:D Enjoy the celebrations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Well done beef enjoy the scoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done Beef (but I prefer mine medium:) )

Seriously man, excellent run especially the way you were feeling yesterday.

Sit back with a pint and enjoy the feeling.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Fair play!

Sunday 06/04
    Greater Manchester Marathon
    26.1 miles @ 8:44 mpm

Where to begin! We had an early start on Saturday morning beginning at 5:30 in order to drive to Dublin for the flight to Manchester. I collected my sister, my mother and my aunt (we had a bigger backroom team than Mo Farah) and off we went bleary eyed but excited. It turned into a very long day with the trams not running and the expo not existing. A nice meal in an Italian later in the evening followed by a very relaxing evening in the room before trying to get some much needed sleep. I felt ****e tbh and woke up soaked in sweat during the night and the same scratchy throat I was complaining of on here. The fact that our hotel room was beside the oxford road train station, 2 pubs and a night club didn't help on the sleeping front either. :eek: I managed to eventually nod off at some stage but woke up early waiting for the alarm on my phone to go off. I felt a bit better after the sleep and had my breakfast of porridge and a banana, as was the plan. Before Cork I could barely eat my breakfast but I was horsing this down not a bother to me. Who thought instant porridge made with boiling water in a hotel room could taste so good! Another bottle of water with dioralyte in it to top up the salt levels after the
    night sweats and I was good to go. We made our way to the race village and queued for the loos and did the usual pre-race arsing around before making our way to our respective start areas. I was feeling good at this point - letting the adrenaline and excitement take care of the mood and going with it.
    Miles 1 -5
    8:36,8:26,8:33,8:36,8:27
    Ah Jaysis! I should be feeling great and the pace should feel lovely and easy. Not the case. I felt ****e and was soaking wet in sweat. What did Meno say? Is it all in my head? What the **** am I doing running near Old Trafford? I was sticking to the plan is what Meno said so shut your whining and re-evaluate after 5 miles. I got to 5 miles and felt much better. It's all in your head. Drive on.
    Miles 5 - 10
    8:34,8:39,8:31,8:32,8:34
    Getting into the groove now and the confidence had returned with vigour. I was high fiving kids and giving thumbs ups to supporters and allowing myself to enjoy the occasion. These ticked by no bother and I couldn't get over how flat the course was. Proper flat and very fast. I was holding back at this point.
    Miles 10 -15
    Still feeling great! I was chewing shot bloks all day and the stomach was holding up fine. Lashing water into me and almost drowning myself on occasion. Maybe it was just me - but the water pouches took some getting used to. Sometimes they were fine - other times I got way too much and almost filled my lungs with water and then there were the times where I got nothing at all out of it. The support was incredible through Altrincham where there were a couple of choirs and the whole vibe was excellent. They made serious noise around this section. The body was feeling good and by mile 15 I was thinking ahead and planning my assault on the last 6 miles. Naive eh? :o
    Miles 15 -20
    8:34,8:32,8:31,8:37,8:39
    At around mile 16 I can remember checking in with myself to see how I was feeling. I reckoned I had enough left in the tank but I was also starting to feel a bit tired. Ignore it and keep going I said to myself, get to mile 20 and see what happens. So in hindsight - it looks like the cruising was over and I was just about starting to dig in at this point I reckon. There was certainly nothing in the time bank to fall back on.

Miles 20 - 26
    8:35,8:49,9:20,9:18,9:45,9:30,9:05
    We went off the beaten track before mile 20 and this was the hardest section of the course, not only for the obvious reasons but also because there are very few people out supporting. A real mental slog for me here and somewhere along mile 21 the hammer started to spasm. Oh bollocks - here we go. I had no choice, just stop and walk and get stuck into it. I dug my fingers in and was probably doing more harm than good but it stopped rattling and off I went again. I was defo not planning any assault now. Damage limitation. A new plan had to be formulated which was to get in under 3:50 at all costs. I eased off the pace slightly and started running gingerly for home. Around about mile 24 I had to walk for a bit and I was disgusted with myself. It was only for 50 yards but I felt very drained and needed to have a chat with myself and clear my head. I made a deal that I could walk for 10 more seconds and then there was no stopping till there was a medal around my neck. This seemed to work and I made it back in to Manchester where the support was unreal. During the last mile I was back to passing some people and saw some people in a very bad way. It's no joke this marathon business and people were dropping. One poor soul was down in a heap at 25.5 miles. So close to finish with nothing! Got down the finishing straight and crossed the line with 3:50 something on the clock but 3:47 something on the watch. Silver medal time but f*ck it there was nothing left and I have no regrets. A big fist pump like a bloody GAA player to go with it and everything! :)

Hung around for a long while afterwards and somehow missed my sister crossing the finishing line - so I got very worried thinking she wasn't in by 5 hours. I eventually managed to track her down to hear her brilliant news about leaving the pacers early and finishing very strong with a smile on her face. What a weekend! We went back to the hotel and had something to eat before heading to meet AMK in Deansgate. After that it's anyones guess...

Also AMK - just for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Nice one. Congrats on a great run:D

What's the plan now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Fair play to you, sure AMK had it easy compared to you, he had only 1 bad mile! Seriously that's a super time, had to laugh about the back room team, hope the mother and Aunt were suitably impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Good stuff beef!

But please tell me that you didn't leave dirty auld king on his own with your mam and aunt????!!

Nice one. Congrats on a great run:D

What's the plan now?

Right now I'm developing alcoholism. :D My wife couldn't come to Manchester so I promised her I'd take her out last night when I got home. And there's football on tonight so I'll probably have a beer while watching it.
    Running wise I plan to race a lot more over the summer. Manchester was my first race this year! :eek: Lot's of shorter races over the summer not too far from me so I'll try getting a time across a range of distances. Looking forward to it. I also need to reconnect with the club. They meet on Monday nights mainly and it didn't suit me to do a club session the day after a long run in the build up to Sunday. Lots to keep me busy. ;)
    SamforMayo wrote: »
    Fair play to you, sure AMK had it easy compared to you, he had only 1 bad mile! Seriously that's a super time, had to laugh about the back room team, hope the mother and Aunt were suitably impressed!

That was only half the backroom team! My mothers friends also tagged along because they fancied a weekend away. It was full blown bingo bus stuff. I couldn't get out of the hotel quick enough to go meet AMK.
    Gavlor wrote: »
    Good stuff beef!

But please tell me that you didn't leave dirty auld king on his own with your mam and aunt????!!

He had enough on his mind trying to fend off another member of our party. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Right now I'm developing alcoholism. :D My wife couldn't come to Manchester so I promised her I'd take her out last night when I got home. And there's football on tonight so I'll probably have a beer while watching it.
    Running wise I plan to race a lot more over the summer. Manchester was my first race this year! :eek: Lot's of shorter races over the summer not too far from me so I'll try getting a time across a range of distances. Looking forward to it. I also need to reconnect with the club. They meet on Monday nights mainly and it didn't suit me to do a club session the day after a long run in the build up to Sunday. Lots to keep me busy. ;)
    Cool. Do the Poulmucky 8k on May 23rd (I think). It's a great race - and Clonmel AC put on a great spread after at the pub out in the middle of nowhere. I did it last year. You'll be able to put all your endurance training to good use.

You need to re-name your log btw :D