Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TODAY FM.....

• 14-01-2013 2:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Is there anyone out there willing to organise a whip round for Today FM as they only seem to be able to afford two albums which they are forced to play over and over and over and over AND OVER (AND OVER) again...... ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FRIDAY NIGHT 80s! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

They could fix the volume on the transmitters around Dublin. I think one of them is louder than the other for the past week now... Very annoying having to turn the volume up and down every few minutes..

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

they love the new song by republic of loose.im browned off from hearing it.heard it four times already today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I've switched to newstalk and Sean moncrief in the afternoons on my commute as Tony Fenton just ruins so many songs with his repetition. Last year leaving work at 14.50 I would sit into the car to the same song starting day after day after day.
    They do great work in promoting new Irish bands to the point of overplaying them. If I here "the John Wayne" or whatever its called one more time I think I'll explode...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭Infoanon

bbability wrote: »
    They could fix the volume on the transmitters around Dublin. I think one of them is louder than the other for the past week now... Very annoying having to turn the volume up and down every few minutes..

Its particularly noticeable during talkshows......afaik the issue is RTENL maintain 100.9 Kippure but Today FM maintain the 101.8 installation which is noticeably louder. Not really an excuse ! alas....

(btw EastCoast have the same issue re 99.9 Vs 96.2 as of late)

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

Very hard to receice it in the Waterford area.They must be cutting back on Tx power aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Tony Fenton used to be awful for it. A couple of years ago you could pretty much guarantee five or six songs that would be played EVERY day that week. Don't hear him as often anymore but he seems to have stopped that now.

Ray D'Arcy was the same for a while, usually with Paulo Nutini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Tony Fenton used to be awful for it. A couple of years ago you could pretty much guarantee five or six songs that would be played EVERY day that week. Don't hear him as often anymore but he seems to have stopped that now.

Ray D'Arcy was the same for a while, usually with Paulo Nutini.

Ray D'Arcy loves playing something he thinks no one has heard before, except if you listen to another station you'll have heard it 4 weeks beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

bbability wrote: »

That's a pain in the ass isn't it, it's been going on for a few weeks at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I dont even bother listening to it anymore, i listen to Hector in the morning (when my brain is up to it) Ryan Tubs from 9 till 10 (i get to work then) and if i can get a listen to Sean Moncrief in the afternoon Off the ball from 7 then thats the radio done for the day. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

gnfnrhead wrote: »

Thankfully haven't heard him in a while but does he still play U2 on a daily basis?

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

soc160 wrote: »
    Ray D'Arcy loves playing something he thinks no one has heard before, except if you listen to another station you'll have heard it 4 weeks beforehand.

He'll also often play a song that is appearing on an ad at that time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

I happen to like Michael McMullen and his Football Show on a Saturday afternoon on Today FM, but there is a new feature called Fanzone on it now with another presenter. Michael is presenting the main show it seems, and I know a lot of people have a problem with his voice and presenting style, but this Fanzone thing is presented by a guy with an even more pompous voice- Johnny Lyons from 98fm. Sorry now, but I'll be turning off after the main show finishes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Today fm is taking its eye off the ball in my opinion. Dempsey and co on brekkie are a good team but they need to freshen things up before things become stale.

DArcy is Darcy, love him or loathe him , what you see is what you get. However It wouldnt surprise me if in the next year or two if he looked for a change. He's been doing the same show for well over a decade now and with marriage and two kids, he may angle for a move back to tv work so he can spend more time with the kids. I think he's done everything he can do with the programme.

As far as his music policy goes, there doesnt seem to be one, he plays what he likes and if it means playing Janelle monae every day for 3 weeks he'll do exactly that. It does become tedious.

KC's show for me is purely a legacy of foley and co. I never thought KC was a strong presenter from day one but preferred him on his own to the gaggle of people he has on his team now.

Fenton, as ive said before is a walking radio cliche, lovely chap but as a presenter he infuriates with his one dimensional presentation, this was very much in evidence while he covered for dempsey. Fenton clearly doesnt prep his shows, sure why would he, he's got a producer ??!!?? again as ive said before Fenton having a producer is an absolute waste of money and a total indulgence.

Cooper is one of the finest if not the best current affairs / magazine host on irish radio, his ability to interrogate senior politicians / bankers is second to none yet he possesses the ability to do the lighter stuff with a sense of humour pat kenny can only dream of.

Colm O sullivan is essentially another KC, only more music focussed.

McLoone does his quirky thing and is suited to late evening.

Floody on planet 80's or whatever you call his show is quite possibly one of the laziest dj's on the radio, listen to his links, they are dreadful. Not far behind him is Tim Kelly who is a poor man's Fenton.

Quite why Eastcoast FM continue to allow Declan Meehan to present on a rival station that broadcasts into their catchment area is beyond me, but then again they allow Rob G to do something similar on fm104. Meehan playing Calvin harris just sounds wrong to me.

Jim O neill continues to phone in his voice tracked links from south africa on a weekly basis with all the charm and spontaneity of yer man on the speaking clock. It is totally and utterly ridiculous that today fm cannot find a jock who lives north of the equator to host this show let alone find an irish jock to actually do the show live from Dublin.

Alison curtis is back at the weekend yet despite her lengthy experience she continues to sound frantic and rushed during her links. I like what they are trying to do with her show but she needs to calm down and for the love of god , stop giving time checks during every link, followed by the phrase 'in the morning', its a crutch Alison ...

Finally Phil cawley, a jock I like and fenton could do well to listen to him. Inexplicably Cawley has lost a quarter of his listeners in the last 12 months, now do people just not like him or is he doing too many OB's at the weekend which tends to grate with some listeners who just want music rather not the hard sell every week.

Louise Duffy has come on tremendously since starting her radio career a couple of years ago but I still find it demeaning for her that she does dempseys traffic reports, if it was a bloke he wouldnt be asked to do it.
    Paula Mc Sweeney has landed 2 jobs at today fm, one as showbizz correspondent on dempsey's show, which really constitutes fluff, and latterly a friday evening slot as a jock. She has agreat personality but really needs considerable help on air. Why Today fm overlooked oceans of experienced talent and opted for another novice is beyond me .. oh hold on .. its pure laziness.

Clearly I listen to the station alot and enjoy the station but Today fm in the absence of a national competitor (2fm)really should be further ahead than it is especially in Dublin, so changes are needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

I presume Louise Duffy chooses to have 2 jobs?
    1 with.Today FM and 1 with AA Roadwatch?

Great post heybaby, I would break it down like this too;

A Team:
    Ray D'Arcy
    Matt Cooper
    KC
    Paul McLoone

B Team:
    Louise Duffy
    Alison Curtis
    Phil Cawley
    Colm O'Sullivan

Needs changing/ treading water:
    Iano
    Tony Fenton
    Jim O'Neill
    "Floody" (cringe)

Then you have the specialist presenters like Michael McMullen, Paul Collins, Anton Savage, Dave Couse etc. Imo they are all good at what they do, but Paul Collins can be very grating. Even the B Team there could be improved upon, bar Louise Duffy, I think she's great.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Colm O'Sullivan has huge potential. His mixup show is really good, similar style to KC, very relaxed and good craic. I like Michael McMullen, really knows his stuff. Only thing I don't like about that show is that god awful phone in they have from 5-6 (not even sure if its still going). Hearing glory hunting fans constantly moaning gets pretty tedious.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭neris

I like michael mcmullen on the football & thought his phone in was good last few years. Can't understand shut that johnny lyons pillock got the phone in. he was awful on 98fm & same today. Today fm now have 2 of the biggest gob****es in sport radio presenting now on

• Registered Users Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭siblers

neris wrote: »
    I like michael mcmullen on the football & thought his phone in was good last few years. Can't understand shut that johnny lyons pillock got the phone in. he was awful on 98fm & same today. Today fm now have 2 of the biggest gob****es in sport radio presenting now on

Is Paul Collins the other?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I never understand the criticism of McMullen tbh. I've always found him to be the best sports anchor in Irish radio. Really knows his stuff and the show is always top quality.

Didn't hear Johnny Lyons' part, but I'd be disappointed if he's doing the phone in. I don't particularly like the phone in, but I think I'd dislike it more if it wasn't Michael doing it.

I prefer Colm O'Sullivan to KC tbh. I have great time for KC, but I think he's better with a team than he is solo. O'Sullivan has serious potential in that slot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

heybaby wrote: »

Finally Phil cawley, a jock I like and fenton could do well to listen to him. Inexplicably Cawley has lost a quarter of his listeners in the last 12 months, now do people just not like him or is he doing too many OB's at the weekend which tends to grate with some listeners who just want music rather not the hard sell every week.

I'd have to admit to being one of these people who cannot stand him. Of all the people on Today FM he'd be the one I'd definitely always switch off when he's on. I find him really insincere and really cringey and patronising when he does interviews with people- with either celebrities or listeners.

I just don't like listening to him at all. He's kind of in the same school of djing as Tony Fenton but doesn't come across as sound as Tony.

I like Colm O'Sullivan though and KC's show is growing on me a lot. I really would like to see Ray D'arcy's show get a shake up though- or at least go back to the more light hearted show that it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

i think its more a case of DOB not knowing what to do with it and really wanting Newstalk to become RTE1, which costs money, leaving none for Today FM. And yes that new fanzone feature is rubbish compared to what Michael McMullen used to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

i think its more a case of DOB not knowing what to do with it and really wanting Newstalk to become RTE1, which costs money, leaving none for Today FM. And yes that new fanzone feature is rubbish compared to what Michael McMullen used to do.

Its a very odd decision. Personally I always thought Michael mc Mullan to be right up there with the Talksport / 5 Live in terms of pedigree as a sportsbroadcaster, Lyons is merely a sports newsreader who likes the sound of his own voice and possesses the ability to be radio marmite.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Heym

Colm still sounds nervous and never seems to know the right point to get out of a link, lots of mumbling and rambling too....

McLoone is very poor. fair enough he knows his tunes.. but having him on during the day covering is a terrible decision. Seems there no direction there at the mo, the talk side of it is winning, but evenings / weeknds needs work.

Louise Duffy is a good presenter? are ya's mad lads?

Heym wrote: »
    Colm still sounds nervous and never seems to know the right point to get out of a link, lots of mumbling and rambling too....

McLoone is very poor. fair enough he knows his tunes.. but having him on during the day covering is a terrible decision. Seems there no direction there at the mo, the talk side of it is winning, but evenings / weeknds needs work.

Louise Duffy is a good presenter? are ya's mad lads?

I think she's very likable, and the promos for her show were hilarious and original.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Jason Todd wrote: »
    I think she's very likable, and the promos for her show were hilarious and original.

"I'm just reelly tired, OK?!" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    "I'm just reelly tired, OK?!" :pac:

She's very likeable alright... heard a few times on a Saturday morning a while back and enjoyed it. I hope she's earmarked as a talent of the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

Difficult to disagree as usual with any comments by Heybaby. Personally I think Today Fm is running on autopilot - don't get Louise Duffy and her apparent inability to connect with her early morning audience . Brekkie Show - well past it's sell by date and needs radical surgery . KC, Sully etc all sound exactly the same . TF and Paul Collins - no idea as I won't listen to them . Alison Curtis is a decent broadcaster and why she stays with Communicorp is beyond me

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

More than 6 months on and the OP's criticism still holds true. I blame Tony Fenton and KC for overplaying any half-decent song in the charts. Both have absolutely destroyed that Chris Malinchak song and Get Lucky. But Fenton has done the impossible and continues to overplay a song released 5 years ago (Elbow - One Day Like This). Not that I ever liked it that much, he just plays it way too much, as if he thinks it hasn't been played in years, when in reality its been days. Paul McLoone taking over for him last week was a breath of fresh air.

And Aingeala Flannery replacing Matt/Anton on the last word is doing an awful job. I was listening to her talking to Sinead Gleeson about movies/tv (a section of the show I like to listen to) with another woman and it sounded like something from Sex and The City. Three overly-chatty women chatting shíte. It was unbearable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

I heard that and hoped Cooper would come back .,her lack of knowledge / research was frightening .