The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Bikerguy wrote: »
    today i spend 2 hours polishing already polished parts :) clean and shiny --> amazing feeeling i can tell - just she and me... mind****

this is waht came out...

20130608_145317_zpsa8029349.jpg

She is looking double well Ed, good to see you have fallen in love with a yellow bike all over again.

Now get out a ride her instead of cleaning her :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭blade1

At the moment,I am changing the fork seals on the intruder
    photo_zps164e82e8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

KamiKazi wrote: »
    20130608_174937_zpsa5bdc451.jpg
    ]

Nice place for the GoPro. Does it get in your way when crouching down? What do the videos look like?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

The Don wrote: »
    Nice place for the GoPro. Does it get in your way when crouching down? What do the videos look like?

Don't think it'll get in my way, guess I'll find out.

Haven't recorded with it there yet, will give it a go at Donington in three weeks :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Don't think it'll get in my way, guess I'll find out.

Haven't recorded with it there yet, will give it a go at Donington in three weeks :cool:
    Looking forward to seeing some good footage so! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

Collected my new CBR 600 RR and had a few hours happy riding on her. Was brilliant crack even though the weather was muck. Was taking it handy after my off but the bike seemed spot on and I'm sure I will be used to very very soon. Fair play too noel JR for coming along on the spin too make sure all went smooth.

A new gear linkage rod arrived from http://www.sesraceproducts.com/, allowing me to change the R6 to race shift :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭nerrad1983

leppla wrote: »
    Collected my new CBR 600 RR and had a few hours happy riding on her. Was brilliant crack even though the weather was muck. Was taking it handy after my off but the bike seemed spot on and I'm sure I will be used to very very soon. Fair play too noel JR for coming along on the spin too make sure all went smooth.

Good to hear this mate, Stick up some pics when you can!

Looking forward to seeing it on one of the spins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

nerrad1983 wrote: »
    Good to hear this mate, Stick up some pics when you can!

Looking forward to seeing it on one of the spins

Sound nerrad!! No pics taken yet too busy having fun. Wonda boy called out and took one or two I'm sure he will throw them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

fitted new clocks from '10 zx6r, via an adaptor made by some scottish guru - gets me analog tach, gear indicator, TRE.. works a treat!

0D49A262-904C-4290-B126-62EC08C8005A-6999-00000C4F62AFC1A7.jpg

also fitted some tech specs (tank grips) the other day, but no pics unfort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

paddy147 wrote: »
    Whetre is that location?

Looks stunning.:)

sorry paddy only spotted this now, it was taken at the top end of lough inagh, this is right next to the n59 galway to clifden road just before the roundstone turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭dorannoel

Very nice CBR leppla
    Make sore u take it handy on ur own on it untill u get used 2 it but u where no bother on it this evening!

Had a good spin evendough we got piss on!!!

Sound nerrad!! No pics taken yet too busy having fun. Wonda boy called out and took one or two I'm sure he will throw them up.

Laurel and Hardy out yesterday on the bikes....fair play lads, out for a spin in the pissin rain no fair weather bikers here!
    imag0157q.jpg
    Mint 08 mini blade with less then 3000miles on the clock = BARGAIN.
    imag0155sc.jpg
    Noels very clean bandit....

Someone asked for a few pics and words bout the tech specs (pm'd) - sorry about the poor pics, weather not playing ball, so have to make do lousy indoor shots (via phone too..!):

82BCF60C-7EFC-4169-9B78-5C73CA182C57-7455-00000D306DC549CB.jpg

I've not done a huge amount of miles with them fitted, but I'm very happy with them so far. Still coming around to the sports bike seating position, and the amount of leg work needed to keep your arms nice and fancy free, so these are a bit of a cheat :) Definitely helps get a good clamp on, and could feel the arms being considerably better off pretty much immediately. Think they're about 5mm thick, pretty soft, and so have a nice amount of 'squish' to em

B33001DB-A163-46CB-855B-B2902F643340-7455-00000D30757E19AA.jpg

Matching tank grip (sold separately - I'm a sucker), and can about see the new clocks peeking out there.

BAAABF30-981E-48F0-BAEF-16A5FB875F8B-7455-00000D33C2AE9C30.jpg

First to admit, for what they are, they aint cheap. Stompgrips are slightly cheaper alternative, and the internet seems divided as to whats better / preferable. Truth be told, I just preferred the looks of the 'specs. Went for the 'C3' pattern over the more aggressive (and expensive) 'snakeskin' design techspec also do. They also do a cheaper one, but it looks pretty naff imo - and very very thin.

Am I happy with em? Very much considering getting a set for my other bike - if thats any indication :p

PS

Forgot I replaced the tank infill panels (little dimpled plastic bits) at the same time, as they'd gotten worn out / sun bleached or something. Also fitted a bum pad to the seat cowl - which nicely breaks up the big block of silver at the rear (was looking a bit like a spoon or something - old pic - perhaps see what I mean lol)

Have had Stomp Grips on a few of my bikes, great bit of kit for the money

yea in my looking around, I found alot of folks saying its often the very first thing they put on a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Bikerguy

thank you Wossack for the pics. the black is going extremly well with your bike, i will be looking for kinda trasparent version of this, can you maybe share your source of buy?

once again thank you so much.

ed

thanks, no worries :)

I got these from speedycom.co.uk, who were neither speedy by name, nor speedy by nature (and if 'com' stands for communication, they where pretty shit at that too), but think they're the sole importer of them from the US so what can ye do...

not sure they come in any other colours come to think of it actually (or even clear), so you might be looking at stompgrips? sounds like kami is an advocate of them anyway :)

do ye have clear ones kami? read somewhere about it being difficult to get all the bubbles out from under the clear fellas, but no experience myself

Wossack wrote: »
    do ye have clear ones kami? read somewhere about it being difficult to get all the bubbles out from under the clear fellas, but no experience myself

Nope, only ever had the black ones. Heard the clear ones yellow over time, no thanks :(

just ordered the clear1 from US... 48€ i will report back when they arrive.

my bike is yellow blue, no way to work with the blacks.. ;(

Bikerguy wrote: »
    just ordered the clear1 from US... 48€ i will report back when they arrive.

my bike is yellow blue, no way to work with the blacks.. ;(

Would be into a set myself I will have a look when you get them Ed. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Originally Postted by Tomohawk
    I also investigated the high revving at tick over on my Vespa PX200. I've had this problem now since I bought the bike in 2010 and have decided to tackle it for good. I changed the oil pump cap for a new one (thanks to Ebay Israel, a cheap original Piaggio part) The carb slide ain't returning fully so the bike is reving higher at tick over and using a lot more petrol. The new cap didn't solve the problem!! I reckon that the slide arm is slightly bent. I will be popping over to Carl Perkins (the 2T wizard) in Inchicore, during the week to get a new slide arm and try fix it for good...

Follow up from this I went to MC Scoots yesterday, Carl had a look at the problem, turns out the slide arm was okay after all. The fault lay inside the oil pump cover with the oil wheel. It had tiny notches or grooves on the surface from the rotation of 10,000 kms. So Carl retrieved from his carb parts bin a 2nd hand oil wheel that looked perfect. I fitted it to the scooter and its fixed...running fine!

Cost €20 and a few marlboro ciggies (mates rates) and I got a 2nd hand Vespa grab rail thrown in too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭blu3r0ri0n

I put her up for sale, feel sad now :(

blu3r0ri0n wrote: »
    I put her up for sale, feel sad now :(

I was the same Blu3, felt like a spanner feeling sad over a bike. But the taughts off sitting on a newer more powerful bike goes some way to heal the wounds ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I felt sad watching mine drive away last week. And it was only my dad borrowing it for the time I'm in the cast!

So yeah.. I can understand!

Stomp grips arrived today /from US California / tank grips - 60dollars with delivery.. Will update pics after fitting. Probably tomorrow. First they looks very nice and solid. So lets see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭underwaterdog

Bought a Clymer manual. Hopefully I'll get some use out of it at the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭lostboy75

Fitted a new front brake leaver, the one on the bike has been broken since i got it, a year ago. before anyone asks it was only the last inch of the lever that was gone.
    last few months have done a bit with it including repairing a broken panels (success, looks prefect, there was a chunk of it missing) and re spraying that panel (not great, ended up looking more Matt, than glossy, but better then a proken panel, and i enjoyed it. bike is 11 years old so not too worried about de valueing it) tried to clean the carbs, stripped it as far as them, then got worried that i really did not know what i was doing, so i hit the undo button! yes am a little bit chicken. has been a good bit more as well. spend as much time working on it as i do riding it. its not kept where i live, so when i am up there, if its decent out i go for a spin, if not i find something to do. hence more time working on it than riding the last while.

HERE we go ---> STOMP GRIPS

thats how they came in. nothing special. for 954rr

20130625_075412_zpsb82030c3.jpg

Half way through fitting - one side only

20130625_080250_zpsc9dfc684.jpg

final product

20130625_082417_zpsd03e682d.jpg

20130625_095820_zpsdeeb230c.jpg

HOT TIPS ---> whats needed --> rookie --> hairdryer, soap water - for cleaning the surface before the process, patience.

do it while your tank is almost empty - its easier to warm the surface with hairdryer - otherwise you will need to warm up petrol in tank + surface - imagine warming up 15l of petrol --> lol
    1. mark the correct position for stomp grips by using tape --> just to know where to start placing it --> around the edges that you will end up with both sides identical. - sit on the bike and check where your knees are actually holding the tank. easy stuff
    2. warm up the tank and the Stomp grip before apply -
    3. apply stomp grip 1inch at the time, to avoid bubbles! --> just press with finger, simple, little time consuming but very easy process
    4. use tennis ball and roll it on the top of stomp grip to squeeze excessive bubbles left. just press it and rotate, they will come off eventualy
    5. let the stomp grip settle for few hours.
    6. ENJOY the difference!!
    IT TOOK ME ALL IN ONE 25 min --> first time applying suc ha product.

jesus mother christ, anything you wanna know.. this is the best addition i could ever had on my bike, this thing changed my riding!! going almost knee down on simple roundabout its never been so easy... i can almost do it without hands... :))

seriously guys.... this is the thing!!

They do make a hell of a difference :)