Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭flashinthepan

raven41 wrote: »
    Have bought tyres in Bray Honda and recently in Cotters. Just ring and give them your tyre size and they'll tell you what they have in stock . Cotters not exactly out the door this time of the year. Its a drive in drive out service and they will fit the tyres while you wait..
    Cheers
    I was looking at Bray Honda Center and read a poor review of same

So in the end I took the wheel off and threw it in the car and went up to Cotters
    Great service was there about 20 mins in total as you said not out the door
    it was early though

Went for the Michelin road 5
    Got home and put the wheel back on then the rain came down
    Would have been the perfect opportunity to test but had to get back to work

I will get the front changed too as its also about 7 years old
    So might take a trip to Bray Honda as I have since heard from a friend who says they are fine

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Went for the Michelin road 5
    Got home and put the wheel back on then the rain came down
    Would have been the perfect opportunity to test but had to get back to work

Take it handy for a couple of 100 miles or so.

blade1 wrote: »
    Take it handy for a couple of 100 miles or so.
    Yeah they said that alright to take it handy :-) for a bit

Coolant dripping from weep hole of water pump on my mastiff with a while.
    Took a closer look today.
    This is the seal that's the issue.

IMG-20201210-150153-2.jpg

This is where the fun begins :o

It's the same engine as a Yamaha SZR660 and Tenerie XTZ660.
    I can't find the seal on its own so I think it comes as part of the whole water pump which is no longer available to order.

Screenshot-20201210-182153.jpg

Screenshot-20201210-182210.jpg
    Anyone got any idea how to get around this?
    I can't see any number on the seal itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭dubal2008

Where are you based. If in Dublin pop into my work place Hydraseals in Ballycoolin as it looks like a simple oil seal, if it has two springs back to back we still might have one... we would also have all the orings and bearings

dubal2008 wrote: »
    Where are you based. If in Dublin pop into my work place Hydraseals in Ballycoolin as it looks like a simple oil seal, if it has two springs back to back we still might have one... we would also have all the orings and bearings

Hi dubal, I'm down the bottom of the country unfortunately.
    It's a single spring seal.
    Yeah I'd probably be better off changing the bearing as well now that it's out.

Seal is about 21mm outer, 13mm inner and 4mm thick.
    IMG-20201211-052843.jpg

Bearing is an NGK but most of the number is worn off.. possibly 5001 or 5004

IMG-20201211-054116-01.jpgcheck notebook

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

I'll stick my neck out on it being

12 x 21 x 4 seal - (Yamaha 93101-12173)
    12 x 28 x 8 - 6001 bearing - (Yamaha 93306-00105)

The other seal is 11H-12438-10 which if you search around should be a few quid. Look up 15-3401 - https://www.mvh-shop.de/Water-pump-seal-repair-kit

Here's my working out:

Take the 1996 - XTZ660 (TENERE 660) water pump

https://www.centretunemotorcycles.com.au/partFinder/fiche/yamaha/1996/xtz660-tenere-660/water-pump

Compare with the 2003 - YFM660R (RAPTOR 660) quad bike water pump

https://www.centretunemotorcycles.com.au/partFinder/fiche/yamaha/2003/yfm660r-raptor-660/water-pump

It looks like the housing cover is a slightly different casting, with three ribs instead of smooth

https://images.cmsnl.com/img/products/water-pump-assy_big3YF1242000-01_f4d6.jpg
    https://images.cmsnl.com/img/products/water-pump-assy_big3YF1242000-02_8f85.jpg

https://i.ebayimg.com/imagehttps://www.ebay.com/itm/333760678853s/g/glEAAOSwyaFfibXr/s-l1600.jpg

But otherwise the fixings and the o-rings as well as the gearwheel are the same if you compare the part numbers. I'd say they're interchangeable complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

The Yamaha Raptor had a 660, Probably the same or very similar engine.
    Aftermarket kits are available for them.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/401994869892

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Hi dubal, I'm down the bottom of the country unfortunately.
    It's a single spring seal.
    Yeah I'd probably be better off changing the bearing as well now that it's out.

Seal is about 21mm outer, 13mm inner and 4mm thick.
    IMG-20201211-052843.jpg

Bearing is an NGK but most of the number is worn off.. possibly 5001 or 5004

IMG-20201211-054116-01.jpgcheck notebook
    Into little isl to Abbey seals with it and they will sort you and then round the corner to reliance bearing and they should have that bearing too. Many the time I've visited one after the other and gotten sorted in ten mins instead of paying loads more and waited ages for sh1t to arrive.
    Ps: myself I'd give some thought to instillation of that bearing, shouldn't be witness marks on the inner race like that, might be nothing but seems off to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭dubal2008

If in Kerry direction go into KK Hydraulics on Rock Street

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭H_Lime

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    So I never got the new owners cert for my bike. When I bought the bike (2nd hand) well over a month ago it was posted off by the old owner. Whats the process now? Print off a RF134 form, get it stamped by a Gardai and sent it off?
    You did see/sign it yeah? In most cases like this the previous owner has just been a lazy fock and not posted it. Ask him straight out did ya post it if yes fill out the form.

When I buy i bring a stamped env, sign and seal it there and ask can I post it. Most lads have been OK with this. The ones who weren't I asked can we post now and have not had an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Yeah he did say he posted it but that was on the 13th of last month so they should have got it by now. I signed it and I have a photo of the signed doc.

Type in your registration number on the motor tax website, it will tell you if they received and processed it.

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/changeOwnership.do

Been checking that every day for the last 2 weeks. They haven't received it.

That puts a different spin on things then. The RF134 form is no good to you as you’re not the legally registered owner. You need to get an affidavit signed by a a garage, bike needs to be with you to do this, you then go to a peace commissioner to get it signed and send it off to Shannon, I had to do it twice over the years.

The alternative is to get the seller to apply for a new logbook, and meet at the post office and send it by registered post to Shannon.

FFS what a pain in the neck. Is there a form for that?

Yeah there is. I can’t find it online. Ring your local motor tax office, they’ll know the form and can email it post it to you. It’s an affidavit for not receiving the logbook after a change of ownership.

You won’t get the logbook for about 2 months with option A as Shannon mist write to the current registered owner and give them 30 days to reply. They only reply if they still have the bike. Only after that will the process of getting you sorted once and for all commence.

H_Lime wrote: »
    You did see/sign it yeah? In most cases like this the previous owner has just been a lazy fock and not posted it. Ask him straight out did ya post it if yes fill out the form.

When I buy i bring a stamped env, sign and seal it there and ask can I post it. Most lads have been OK with this. The ones who weren't I asked can we post now and have not had an issue.

I sold an old Avensis a few years back, met the chap at the local shop which is also the PO. Had an envelope pre-addressed and stamped, when he signed it he asked if he could take the form, I replied that I didn't want any tolls coming back to me and stuffed the form into the envelope and posted it straight away.
    Saves hassle on all sides both as a seller and a buyer.

Rang the motor tax office, well it gets even better. Turns out the bike was written off by an insurance company. So now I have to go to my local Honda dealership, get them to write a form saying its safe to drive. Then email all that to Shannon and hope I get a form.

Jesus :eek: This is turning into the project from hell for you. Have you done a history check on it? So by you having to go to Honda it will cost money, Shannon won't give a book until they see the letter from Honda, all the while the seller has the cash. Was the seller someone you knew or someone on Donedeal?

Donedeal, the bike was as cheap as chips, I knew it was dropped when I bought it (wasn't expecting it to be written off though). I am guessing it wasn't worth the insurance company repairing it so they wrote it off. So now I have to see how much Honda Bray are going to charge me for said letter. First time buying a secondhand bike and it was cheap so I didnt do a history check. Well that showed me :)
    So not too bad a cost from Honda (60e) so they will have it for a few hours and go over it. Health check from them with a letter. If thats the worst of it then I dont mind. Dropping it in tomorrow

I can see now why it was as cheap as chips, they wanted to offload it to someone who was oblivious to its history. We've all dropped bikes at some stage in our lives, it was probably written off economically, cost of repairs versus the value of the bike as you say yourself basically. Always do a history check if from a private seller and always check out on motortax.ie if there was a recent transaction of sale, i run from those if inside the last 3 months as it's usually a red flag if a private sale. €60 is good going, at least they will give you a general idea of what they think it needs and it's certified, peace of mind. Any idea when they can do it for you? I have the NCT for my car after, another lash of money down the drain.

They had a cancellation for tomorrow so they can do it tomorrow. I am curious to see what they say. I have the fairings off as I am repairing them for spraying. The rest of the bike looks a bit rough but it does drive straight. The frame is straight from what I can see, no cracks. Brakes work fine, the rear arm for the rear wheel has a dent in it but seems ok apart from that.

Best thing to do, with the fairings off, they can see more of the bike. What year is it? An NSR 125 i think i seen somewhere? It's all cosmetic by the sounds of it, and if you have the time and skill then the costs are minimal. Tiny cracks on the frame are the big thing they will probably look for, if the frame is in any way compromised it's curtains. Is the dent something you can get out with a slide hammer?

Thanks dubal,macplaxton,CJ and H lime for the replies regarding my water pump.

Those parts that ye linked is where I'm having a problem with.
    I think they are for the later xt660z engine which is different to my xtz660.

Whether some of the parts are the same or not I can't tell.
    The mechanical seal looks the same but I'm not certain.
    The seal with the white on the inside... where's that off?
    I don't seem to have that in my pump from what I see.

Yeah she is a NSR125, I have given it a good look over and the frame looks decent but then again I am not a mechanic. Worst case it needs the rear subframe, I don't think I can fix that dent. They aren`t expensive to get from what I can see.

Sorry for the delay getting back to ya. F**king car failed the nct :mad: The NSR125 were more expensive to insure than a 250 one time if I remember correctly, such was the frequency with which they were involved in accidents. If it’s easier to replace ya possibly the best thing to do. Hopefully the bike gets the all clear from the Honda dealer

Those parts that ye linked is where I'm having a problem with.
    I think they are for the later xt660z engine which is different to my xtz660.

Whether some of the parts are the same or not I can't tell.

You can tell what is identical from comparing the part numbers. Let's try again:

https://www.centretunemotorcycles.com.au/partFinder/fiche/yamaha/1996/xtz660-tenere-660/water-pump
    https://www.centretunemotorcycles.com.au/partFinder/fiche/yamaha/2003/yfm660r-raptor-660/water-pump

1996 - XTZ660 (TENERE 660)|||||2003 - YFM660R (RAPTOR 660)

WATER PUMP|3YF-12420-00|1|1|5LP-12420-00|WATER PUMP ASSY
    O-RING|1WG-12439-00|2|4|1WG-12439-00|O-RING
    CIRCLIP|99009-12400|3|10|99009-12400|CIRCLIP
    BOLT, FLANGE|95027-06012|4|11|95027-06012|BOLT, FLANGE
    GASKET|90430-06014|5|12|90430-06014|GASKET
    BOLT|91317-06020|6|5|91317-06020|BOLT
    GEAR, IMPELLER SHAFT|3YF-12459-00|7|13|3YF-12459-00|GEAR, IMPELLER SHAFT
    PIN, DOWEL|93603-16219|8|14|93603-16219|PIN, DOWEL
    O-RING|93210-77363|9|15|93210-77363|O-RING
    CIRCLIP|99009-12400|10|16|99009-12400|CIRCLIP
    BOLT|91317-06045|11|17|91317-06045|BOLT
    HOSE (not on diagram)|3YF-12576-00|(30)|18|5LP-12576-00|HOSE 1
    HOSE CLAMP ASSY|90450-32015|12|19|90450-32015|HOSE CLAMP ASSY
    |||21|90450-32015|HOSE CLAMP ASSY
    HOSE 2|3YF-12577-00|13|20|5LP-12577-00|HOSE 2
    JOINT 1|3YF-12469-00|14|22|3YF-12469-00|JOINT 1
    BOLT|91317-06020|15|23|91317-06020|BOLT
    O-RING|93210-33006|16|24|93210-33006|O-RING

|||2|3YF-12450-00|IMPELLER SHAFT ASSY
    |||3|5LP-12422-00|COVER, HOUSING
    |||6|93306-00105|BEARING
    |||7|5LP-12421-00|HOUSING, WATER PUMP
    |||8|93101-12173|OIL SEAL
    |||9|11H-12438-10|SEAL, MECHANICAL

Without seeing them back to back, the closely matching numbers - prefixes 3YF > 4SU > 5LP - are possibly just a change in material or minor feature (such as case ribbing) that wouldn't stop it being changed completely.

But the shaft is prefixed 3YF and the dowel pin hasn't changed number, and the engine-driven gear and circlip is identical, so that points to no change in the diameter of the impeller shaft.
    The seal with the white on the inside... where's that off?
    I don't seem to have that in my pump from what I see.

That's one part of the two-part water pump seal assembly 11H-12438-10 (number 9 on the list - green arrow)

535949.jpg
    535950.jpeg

macplaxton wrote: »
    You can tell what is identical from comparing the part numbers. Let's try again:

1996 - XTZ660 (TENERE 660)|||||2003 - YFM660R (RAPTOR 660)

WATER PUMP|3YF-12420-00|1|1|5LP-12420-00|WATER PUMP ASSY
    O-RING|1WG-12439-00|2|4|1WG-12439-00|O-RING
    CIRCLIP|99009-12400|3|10|99009-12400|CIRCLIP
    BOLT, FLANGE|95027-06012|4|11|95027-06012|BOLT, FLANGE
    GASKET|90430-06014|5|12|90430-06014|GASKET
    BOLT|91317-06020|6|5|91317-06020|BOLT
    GEAR, IMPELLER SHAFT|3YF-12459-00|7|13|3YF-12459-00|GEAR, IMPELLER SHAFT
    PIN, DOWEL|93603-16219|8|14|93603-16219|PIN, DOWEL
    O-RING|93210-77363|9|15|93210-77363|O-RING
    CIRCLIP|99009-12400|10|16|99009-12400|CIRCLIP
    BOLT|91317-06045|11|17|91317-06045|BOLT
    HOSE (not on diagram)|3YF-12576-00|(30)|18|5LP-12576-00|HOSE 1
    HOSE CLAMP ASSY|90450-32015|12|19|90450-32015|HOSE CLAMP ASSY
    |||21|90450-32015|HOSE CLAMP ASSY
    HOSE 2|3YF-12577-00|13|20|5LP-12577-00|HOSE 2
    JOINT 1|3YF-12469-00|14|22|3YF-12469-00|JOINT 1
    BOLT|91317-06020|15|23|91317-06020|BOLT
    O-RING|93210-33006|16|24|93210-33006|O-RING

|||2|3YF-12450-00|IMPELLER SHAFT ASSY
    |||3|5LP-12422-00|COVER, HOUSING
    |||6|93306-00105|BEARING
    |||7|5LP-12421-00|HOUSING, WATER PUMP
    |||8|93101-12173|OIL SEAL
    |||9|11H-12438-10|SEAL, MECHANICAL

Without seeing them back to back, the closely matching numbers - prefixes 3YF > 4SU > 5LP - are possibly just a change in material or minor feature (such as case ribbing) that wouldn't stop it being changed completely.

But the shaft is prefixed 3YF and the dowel pin hasn't changed number, and the engine-driven gear and circlip is identical, so that points to no change in the diameter of the impeller shaft.

That's one part of the two-part water pump seal assembly 11H-12438-10 (number 9 on the list - green arrow)

535949.jpg
    535950.jpeg

Thanks Mac, it would be great if they are a match as that set is widely available and I had been checking it out already.
    The seal with the white inner seems to have a diameter of 25mm whereas my old seal is 20-21mm.
    However I'm not too concerned about that seal as already pointed out by one of the lads I can pick up one somewhere.
    Also I think it's the same seal that Yamaha use on the gear shifter shaft of several 125's.

I suppose the mechanical seal is worth a shot and hope for the best that it fits.
    I'm just wary as it's not listed as a part for gen 1 XTZ660 anywhere.
    Now, is that because is was only available one time as part of the whole pump or because it doesn't fit,I don't know.

So an update on my bike, not as bad as I thought some of things I knew about and some I didn't.

Needs replacing:

Front Tyre (was planning to do this)
    Front/Rear pads (had a set ready to go)
    Fork seals at the front
    Left handlebar is bent and will need replacing

Apart from that its OK, the handlebars may be tricky to get from Honda but the chap said if I get secondhand ones he will fit them. Once all the above is done he will give me a cert.

Try a few bike breakers, one of them is bound to have the handlebars. That aside the rest is just consumables from the sounds of it.

I suppose the mechanical seal is worth a shot and hope for the best that it fits.
    I'm just wary as it's not listed as a part for gen 1 XTZ660 anywhere.
    Now, is that because is was only available one time as part of the whole pump or because it doesn't fit,I don't know.

Those mechanical seals are similar to the Honda Polo Mint ones, just make sure you use non-silicate coolant in it afterwards, the silicate type eats the ceramic seals.

Rockoil Kool XL is non silicate as is Honda Type 2 blue coolant (car)
    Lots of coolant has silicate and will lead to the problems you had.

I dont know any bike breakers in Dublin only car ones. Know of any ones in South dublin?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/283754352544

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭goblin59

Could always goes Renthal handlebars

I dont know any bike breakers in Dublin only car ones. Know of any ones in South dublin?

these guys are in Aughrim in Wicklow
    http://www.firstchoice-bikebreakers.com/

City Spares, delivered there a handful of times, Daniel Cotter is the commander in chief (The boss) he'll look after ya or if he can't he'll point ya in the right direction

macplaxton wrote: »

535949.jpg
    535950.jpeg

FFS, I've just copped that the seal with the white on it was still stuck in the propeller
    shown below.
    Didn't spot it as it was oily and dirty.
    So that's the ceramic part :rolleyes:
    Makes sense to me now :pac:

Screenshot-20201213-092416-2.jpg

@CJ I'll get onto my local for some non silicate coolant.

Looks like Fowler's have the YZM Raptor parts in stock.

Screenshot-20201213-054153.jpg

That mechanical water pump seal is expensive as is the oil seal.

Even an aftermarket kit is only £44.10 plus post.

https://www.quadbikeswales.co.uk/yamaha-yfm660-raptor-01-05-moose-racing-water-pump-rebuild-kit.html

or

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/333768375117