Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Couldn't agree more. For all the flaws of Joe Molloy, Gilroy, etc., nothing has me reaching for the dial more than the sound of Richie's sneering voice.

I just automatically switch to Spotify if I hear he’s on.

He has made me listen less and less the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

That seems a bit over the top. One upmanship is rife in the media

not between co-presenters, it should not be. the "banter" is very rarely humourous and its just awkward one upmanship on this show, maybe its just bad chemistry and they are doing their best but any time I have listened to it, its potent, just bad gags. much better when guests are in. banter stuff might suit a certain audience like yourself and previous poster.

Isn't there similar turnover over at 2FM and Today FM (also a DOB station granted).

Is that a question or a statement? I know I'll be asked but it would be laughable if you were to say RTE staff turnover was comparable to Denis's stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,503 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

not between co-presenters, it should not be. the "banter" is very rarely humourous and its just awkward one upmanship on this show, maybe its just bad chemistry and they are doing their best but any time I have listened to it, its potent, just bad gags. much better when guests are in. banter stuff might suit a certain audience like yourself and previous poster.

Well, you're obviously an expert on radio presenting etiquette.
    You should write to them and tell them what they're doing wrong.

They must be doing something right, a lot of people who have been listening 'less and less lately' for years are still tuning in frequently it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,503 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Is that a question or a statement? I know I'll be asked but it would be laughable if you were to say RTE staff turnover was comparable to Denis's stations.

Which has had more turnover over the last 5 years I wonder? Newstalk or 2FM?

I don't have the answer but I wouldn't be surprised if they were similar.

They must be doing something right, a lot of people who have been listening 'less and less lately' for years are still tuning in frequently it seems.

I know you are a huge fan, which probably means you should be tuned in at this stage. It's like pissing against the wind discussing flaws of this show on this thread as you, and you only seem to have some alert set up which jumps to its defence no matter what someone has to say and it generally results in a snide baiting remark like the above before you report the poster and then some ban. Enjoy the show this evening x.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

deisedude wrote: »
    Ritchie comes across as downright condescending with pretty much everyone on the show
    Yeah, his flippant, sarcastic nature became tiresome really quickly. He needs to dump the "cool lad down the back of the class cracking smart ar$e jokes at teacher" persona.
    I would apply this to now former OTB guest Darren Cleary, little runt.

I know you are a huge fan, which probably means you should be tuned in at this stage. It's like pissing against the wind discussing flaws of this show on this thread as you, and you only seem to have some alert set up which jumps to its defence no matter what someone has to say and it generally results in a snide baiting remark like the above before you report the poster and then some ban. Enjoy the show this evening x.

Christ, here we go again.
    'Discussions' = whinging and complaining and any counterpoint means I'm working for the show.

You're entitled to give out about the show, I, or others are entitled to defend it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 391 ✭✭Professor Genius

'Discussions' = whinging and complaining and any counterpoint means I'm working for the show.

You're entitled to give out about the show, I, or others are entitled to defend it.

Yeah but without the caustic sarcasm. You need to learn to stop defending the indefensible.

See the below?

That's not discussion, that's a snide remark. Understand now?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I rarely listen now but over the last few years when I have I always get a vibe from the "bants" no matter who it is, it's never very good humoured stuff where they have chemistry and natural flow of chat, it always one-upmanship and generally just bad natured alpha male bollocks. Bad put downs, I know more about this or that and you're sh*te at this and that but no real humour ever, nothing that would make you laugh. I'd say as a workplace its toxic, turnover of presenter staff is huge. You could not expect otherwise under Denis O Brien.

Other than when Ritchie's on I've never got this.

As for the turnover of staff out of the main presenters only Parkinson has left and you could argue he moved up in the World with his podcast.

See the below?

That's not discussion, that's a snide remark. Understand now?

Christ on a bike, can people not just have a civil debate about the show without resorting to fighting with each other?

For what it's worth, I find the tone of this thread fairly negative. In my opinion, there's a lot of carping about presenters and some over the top comments but that's a person's right and I don't get too worked up about it.

The show is holding its own numbers wise so it's doing alot right and when compared to the competition out there - Radio 1 on a Saturday and Sunday or Game On - it's streets ahead of the rest.

That's your opinion and you're entitled to it, but I just don't see what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Christ on a bike, can people not just have a civil debate about the show without resorting to fighting with each other?

For what it's worth, I find the tone of this thread fairly negative. In my opinion, there's a lot of carping about presenters and some over the top comments but that's a person's right and I don't get too worked up about it.

The show is holding its own numbers wise so it's doing alot right and when compared to the competition out there - Radio 1 on a Saturday and Sunday or Game On - it's streets ahead of the rest.

It only holds its own due to the lack of alternative options. I quit as a 2019 resolution but was back listening to some of the shows within four months because I fell behind in just knowing about the main news in my favourite sports. I have Dunphy for soccer and Wooly for GAA which is great because neither are woke but I’ve had to get my rugby from OTB because I’m not mad about the other options. I’m hoping Ricky Gervais’ performance last night was the rallying call for the woke backlash many (most?) have been waiting for. Ultimately it could indicate to the woke folk of Newstalk that we like sport for sport’s sake and couldn’t give a sh1t about the social context around it. Nollaig na mban paper review? Give me a fcking break. Hope that doesn’t transgress on your SJW tendencies TMH ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

I see the power rankings are back. Rather than repeat myself I'll just leave this comment from a few months back here.
    Not a Gaelic fan, but Eoin Sheahan's Gaelic power rankings reek of a Kerry man pissing on other counties from a height by telling them how bad they are.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    It only holds its own due to the lack of alternative options. I quit as a 2019 resolution but was back listening to some of the shows within four months because I fell behind in just knowing about the main news in my favourite sports. I have Dunphy for soccer and Wooly for GAA which is great because neither are woke but I’ve had to get my rugby from OTB because I’m not mad about the other options. I’m hoping Ricky Gervais’ performance last night was the rallying call for the woke backlash many (most?) have been waiting for. Ultimately it could indicate to the woke folk of Newstalk that we like sport for sport’s sake and couldn’t give a sh1t about the social context around it. Nollaig na mban paper review? Give me a fcking break. Hope that doesn’t transgress on your SJW tendencies TMH ;)

This post is useful because it shows the hypocrisy of people giving out about the show all the time and then getting upset with their claims are challenged here.

Also, on Ricky Gervais. I found that interesting, he gave out to the attendees at the GG for using their platform advocating for various things while he himself uses Twitter extensively to highlight trophy hunting (which he is right to do). Also, he tweeted earlier today saying that he himself is a Liberal so I'm not sure he is the figurehead you are looking for.

I see the power rankings are back. Rather than repeat myself I'll just leave this comment from a few months back here.

It's a humorous piece. Sheehan has shown himself recently to be able to conceive and deliver a joke while keeping a straight face.
    Interesting thing about the rankings is how it riles others on the show when he releases them.

It only holds its own due to the lack of alternative options.

That's bull****. At that time of night OTB's competitors are not other radio stations. Radio listener figures fall through the floor right across the board after 7pm, because that's when people turn on the TV. The only radio show to buck this trend in the country is OTB and it has done so for over a decade. A decade where "alternative options" have grown exponentially for anyone with an internet connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭deisedude

This is some of the biggest piece of bollox i've read i've read on this thread and thats saying something.

Using terms like "Woke" and "SJW" only makes you sound like a tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Oh, this should be good!

giphy.gif

Edit: ha-ha! I hadn't seen the predictable replies before I posted the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I’m hoping Ricky Gervais’ performance last night was the rallying call for the woke backlash many (most?) have been waiting for.
    well considering he's done the Golden Globes several times before, and this was probably his weakest and least biting/critical performance, I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭rrs

Kilbane doesn't be on much.. Other commitments? Nathan Murphy is annoying as presenter. Molloy a good presenter but very PC. Though not many of them I'd rate.
    Tommy Rooney does be on OTB Am sometimes, he's good. Johnny Ward good for banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Agree they are ridiculous. Especially when they are judged by your man. Fills a time slot for them I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

rrs wrote: »
    Kilbane doesn't be on much.. Other commitments?

Dancing on Ice.

With respect to your opinion, that's a load of horsesh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Haha, I didn’t anticipate such a reaction to that! I don’t see what the problem is lads. It’s fairly well accepted that OTB is very politically correct and I don’t think too many people would argue with that. If you are “triggered” by words like ‘woke’ and SJW, the joke is very much on you. At the end of the day, these people are the drivers of PC madness and are the minority mob the OTB guys would have to answer to if they ever transgress upon modern PC rules which are a real minefield for those of us who consider ourselves rational thinkers. Clearly they too are in the minority here which is unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

At the end of the day, these people are the drivers of PC madness and are the minority mob the OTB guys would have to answer to if they ever transgress upon modern PC rules which are a real minefield for those of us who consider ourselves rational thinkers.

I would call them social justice warriors who have a passing interest in sport :pac: I honestly think that if Gilroy wasn't working on Off The Ball he would be working for an NGO and sending back a video from Africa about all the great work he was doing, whilst wearing a Paddy Power t-shirt.

I would pretty much agree with the person from the post above, Dunphy for the soccer and Woolly for the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

I actually think the powers that be in Communicorp should give Ger another crack at the breakfast show on Newstalk, he'd slot in there seamlessly if one of Cuddihy or Coleman ever departed.

He could even take over from Alan Quinlan doing the sports slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Why do you listen it to it?

I’ve never really noticed that they were overly “woke” or “SJWs”. I get they’ve to be a bit wary of the twitter backlash if a word is said too far out of line but isn’t that all modern radio shows.

I get some lads get their backs up about the “token” women’s part but you just turn off if you don’t like it. Haven’t they been banging on about being signed up to some pro-women‘a initiative for the last while? You can’t say you didn’t see it coming.

It won’t be too long before they’ll have a female co-presenter. Hopefully they’ll get a good one because a poor one will hurt the ratings more than a useless guy.

Honestly, it seems like there’s a large group in this forum who listen to people and shows they hate just to give out about them. Must be exhausting to live a life of perpetual impotent rage.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Why do you listen it to it?

I’ve never really noticed that they were overly “woke” or “SJWs”. I get they’ve to be a bit wary of the twitter backlash if a word is said too far out of line but isn’t that all modern radio shows.

I get some lads get their backs up about the “token” women’s part but you just turn off if you don’t like it. Haven’t they been banging on about being signed up to some pro-women‘a initiative for the last while? You can’t say you didn’t see it coming.

It won’t be too long before they’ll have a female co-presenter. Hopefully they’ll get a good one because a poor one will hurt the ratings more than a useless guy.

Honestly, it seems like there’s a large group in this forum who listen to people and shows they hate just to give out about them. Must be exhausting to live a life of perpetual impotent rage.

Some people are convinced that their world is being attacked by political correctness, women, the liberal media, Greta Thunberg etc. Now add OTB to the list they can rage against!