Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First year accomodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 timeturner

anyone in house 86?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 ScienceMad

CB93 wrote: »
    81.24 bud, wbu?

oh cool my twin is in your apartment ! I'm in 81.26. what course are you doing? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭CB93

Cool, just down the hall so, I'm doin math, and you?

Yeah :) I'm doing general science :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭CB93

Looks like they stuck all the scientists in our corner :)
    At least 4 in my appartment are doing some form of science :)

yeah ha! and my brother is doing computer science :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

found one flatmate on the facebook page...but am desperate to find more :( :L

cannot wait to start lads, should be a good year :D

ps, 83.04 anyone? :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 themarkjacob

I posted up in the FB group but figured I'd post it here aswel.

Anyone here in 91.01 or even 91 ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭amymak

89.11 anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 HUgy

I posted up in the FB group but figured I'd post it here aswel.

Anyone here in 91.01 or even 91 ? :)

91.05 mate, what are you studying?

HUgy wrote: »
    91.05 mate, what are you studying?

Ah hello! I'm studying computer science, what about yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 HUgy

Ah hello! I'm studying computer science, what about yourself?

MSISS so im sure i'll see you around, good luck finding your roommates!

HUgy wrote: »
    MSISS so im sure i'll see you around, good luck finding your roommates!

Nice one, yeah I'm sure we'll run into each other! You too man, post up in the Facebook group if you haven't: https://www.facebook.com/groups/351147211635409/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Phareon

Hey hey hey, I was 91.05.03 last year, bestest of good luck to all you 91ers. You're gonna have a blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 johnnyboy18

Anyone know when and how you pay for the room? Is it in installments or one payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Knock0ut

Are we seriously expected to pay almost 2 grand for accomodation charges in one payment given 3 days notice? Can't we pay in insallments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

amymak wrote: »
    89.11 anyone?

I lived there last year! Congratulations, you will have a massive kitchen and phone reception :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭amymak

Ash_M wrote: »
    I lived there last year! Congratulations, you will have a massive kitchen and phone reception :P

Oh, good to know! What network was this good phone reception with? I'm with Meteor. How is it in terms of location?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

amymak wrote: »
    Oh, good to know! What network was this good phone reception with? I'm with Meteor. How is it in terms of location?

Eh, my flatmate was Meteor, I was Vodafone, O2 were fine as well.. Like it's not perfect (I'd go to the kitchen for calls) but we could actually receive texts, which can't be said for every flat :P It's facing out on to the road on the corner of the bigger (and better) courtyard. Facing out can make it a little more isolated but it's not a big deal, and it does make it easier to have parties without getting shut down :P It's also a 5 person flat, which means you've more kitchen space, and being on a corner means the living room/kitchen are bigger and better designed as regards layout. Which room are you in?

(Also my flatmate lost a silver locket in the flat somewhere last year and we never found it. So giz a shout if that turns up ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Paralysis

How's 88.06 as a flat? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Dicksboro_man

80.10. ? :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭wibblin

80.14??:D

does anyone know what floor would apartment #10 be on in a modern building? :rolleyes:

There's 3 apartments per floor, so usually fourth floor. Houses 80, 81 and 82 are laid out differently afaik so maybe third floor there?

Also, none of the buildings have an apartment 13 which is a bit strange!

Phareon wrote: »
    There's 3 apartments per floor, so usually fourth floor. Houses 80, 81 and 82 are laid out differently afaik so maybe third floor there?

Also, none of the buildings have an apartment 13 which is a bit strange!

Cheers for that, im staying in house 80, is there anything good or bad about it compared to the rest of the buildings? :P

Also 40 euro "compulsory JCR membership" has been added to my accommodation invoice, is this an absolute must-pay? :( its 40 quid like.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 KoolAidRelic

It's worth it, the JCR are brilliant.

Cheers for that, im staying in house 80, is there anything good or bad about it compared to the rest of the buildings? :P

Also 40 euro "compulsory JCR membership" has been added to my accommodation invoice, is this an absolute must-pay? :( its 40 quid like.. :eek:

Can't say I ever visited House 80, I was in 91 myself. 80's over by reception and from what I heard it was no different to any of the other Houses in terms of craic or banter.

The JCR's not compulsory to join I think, but you will definitely miss out on basically everything if you don't join! I don't know anyone who didn't last year! Seriously though, if you want the best possible Halls experience, definitely join the JCR, the 40 quid will have paid for itself a hundred times over by the end of the year through nights out, events, balls, trips away and tons of free pizza!!

You'll hear all about it on the first day when you meet them all, they're a fantastic bunch of people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

Seriously, the JCR do so much. They are the whole reason for living in halls. All of your big nights out and events will be organised by them. Themed nights like Casino, Halloween, free pizza in Oldham for viewing parties, movie nights, free alcohol on specific events, halls wide games like Assassin etc... It is worth twice the price you will pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Veronica P

Looking for accommodation on a 39A route. Anyone interested pls pm me. Thanks.

You've convinced me lads, JCR sounds gooood :D

Just tried to pay for my accomm + jcr membership but it keeps telling me my card details are incorrect (even though they aren't ofcourse). Has anyone managed to successfully pay with the AIB merchant on the accommodation website today? :confused: