Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,597 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

All about these badboys:

Tracey%20island%20set%201f.JPG

Best Christmas present ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Have the caps done on the main chassis, just the daughter & neck boards to do now. Cap kits are such a time sink, you have to count & allocate all the caps before you even start as sometimes the kits can be off spec. But so far so good on this one!

35d6xy0.jpg

9s3z2d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Playing black 2 as I bought it on release but never actually played it since then. Got the Japanese version of white 2 when it came out and finished that so it's nice to now understand the story :P

Don't think I could handle trying to play through it in Japanese. Although story ain't really Pokémon's strong point, in my oppinion. Apparently my girlfriendo got the broken copy of Emerald exchanged from my xmas present, so that's next on my list. A Pokémon Master's work is never done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I had a couple of them when I was younger. I threw one into an oak tree in the park and it got stuck. I remember crying for ages about it, very stupid child I was. I also melted a Skeletor figure in the fire. He-Man defeated him and threw him in the fire, the bollix!

Yeah all my visionaries are somewhere buried in the back garden I assume!

have a load of figures with red marker on them that were shot back in one of the great wars of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,423 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

EnterNow wrote: »
    Have the caps done on the main chassis, just the daughter & neck boards to do now. Cap kits are such a time sink, you have to count & allocate all the caps before you even start as sometimes the kits can be off spec. But so far so good on this one.]

I dont throw the word legend around lightly - but you my good man are most definitely one. Fair play.

Im amazed that chap was able to be so spot on with the cap kit too!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Toys by the 70s into the 80s was all about Texas Instruments, Speak&Spell and the like.
    I always wanted Simon and will get one one of these days, they are getting expensive though, there is a current remake as a keyring but not the same.
    By the time I hit 12 my world was all about the ZX Spectrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Have the caps done on the main chassis, just the daughter & neck boards to do now. Cap kits are such a time sink, you have to count & allocate all the caps before you even start as sometimes the kits can be off spec. But so far so good on this one!

Fair play dude, that's a lot of work !!

Yeah its very time consuming, easy enough work mind, just takes ages to get through a set of sixty or seventy caps. Still, for what I got in lieu for doing it, I think its worth it :)

/thinly veiled mysterious GET! post

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,597 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

/thinly veiled mysterious GET! post

Reported for trolling.

Cidey won't do anything, now that he has a cab he should be paying attention to the cap kit pics :D

And done...now, to reintroduce blood to my legs. Very impressed with the quality & detail of the cap kit, if anyone is looking for kits be sure to check out console5.com

14qk4y.jpg

ponie.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Cidey won't do anything, now that he has a cab he should be paying attention to the cap kit pics :D

F*ck this, I'm off to Jamma+!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,289 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'm currently doing a Ninja Theory with my game demo. Currently it runs at 45 FPS but when I add in my Parallax scrolling background it drops to 35. I'm keeping the background becausen it looks pretty and if anyone asks I'm saying it feels the same as 60 FPS. In other news Stencyl is a piece of **** for making games in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'm currently doing a Ninja Theory with my game demo. Currently it runs at 45 FPS but when I add in my Parallax scrolling background it drops to 35. I'm keeping the background becausen it looks pretty and if anyone asks I'm saying it feels the same as 60 FPS. In other news Stencyl is a piece of **** for making games in.

Have you tried doing it in Sparrow or going all out iOS raw with some pure Objective-C?
    Objective-C is actually pretty handy to get to grips with and Sparrow itself is pure Objective C code behind the gui.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,289 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Steve SI wrote: »
    Have you tried doing it in Sparrow or going all out iOS raw with some pure Objective-C?
    Objective-C is actually pretty handy to get to grips with and Sparrow itself is pure Objective C code behind the gui.

Would love to but the project has to be done it Stencyl for now. I'd much prefer to code from scratch so I have better control over what I do. Supposedly you don't need programming to use this program but that's horse ****. It's tough to use and inefficient and the game content people that don't know programming can't use it at all and are now doing a different project where they story board the game instead of make it.

Here's a pic of a test level I put together:

237532.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

GASP! Does this mean that Ata is no longer dependent on booze...and naughty thoughts regarding Sera?
    This post made me think...
    frabz-Sera-What-my-Nerdkiller-think-1_zps4d4513e2.jpg
    frabz-Sera-What-my-Nerdkiller-think.jpg

So your saying you cant understand french?

French people I can, french dogs, no I can't

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Sera wrote: »
    "..they're all like , le woof, le growl, le petite bark...and I'm all like ..pfft whatever"
    ..spent the last hour transforming a load of Alternator Transformers between modes so I can photograph them for adverts. Feckin things should be used as an entry test for MENSA , my brian is now fried .(should have googled the instructions before , not after mind you)

No 3ds for me today, just a bit of Puzzle Bobble.
    Think I might have made a mistake passing on the bootleg Bubble Bobble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

dogtanianandjuliette.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Spent the last hour trying to connect an Atari 2600 to my Samsung TV, no dice !!

Works fine on my Sony Bravia TV but that's in the wrong room :)

Tackle it again tomorrow with less head scratching ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Just finished the zombiu demo.

Scared the crap out of me in places and i may have called for my mummy a few times but i must say it was quite good.

I will pick it up soon when i see it cheap

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Just finished the zombiu demo.

Scared the crap out of me in places and i may have called for my mummy a few times but i must say it was quite good.

I will pick it up soon when i see it cheap

Damn, you could have bought my copy from me the other week!
    Ended up taking 36 on trade for it in Smyths!

So after a bit of time with it WiiU is it a worthwhile console?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭MrVestek

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    No 3ds for me today, just a bit of Puzzle Bobble.
    Think I might have made a mistake passing on the bootleg Bubble Bobble!

Was playing Puzzle Bobble the other day via Mame... brought back so many memories of being in the arcades years ago.

This post made me think...
    frabz-Sera-What-my-Nerdkiller-think-1_zps4d4513e2.jpg
    frabz-Sera-What-my-Nerdkiller-think.jpg

Psml at the 'What Retr0 thinks I look like" :D

Why don't you take English as a foreign language?

pj-gallagher.jpg

The PS version of Puzzle Bobble 2, or Bust a Move as the filthy scum suckers at Acclaim insisted on calling it, lived in my greystation, very good it was too.
    The Gameboy version isn't bad either, nor the Neogeo Pocket Color edition.
    It really is a unique beast, a spin off of a legendary classic that is every bit as great as the classic itself.
    The later games in the franchise over egged the omelette a bit though, with different additions to the main game gameplay not fun at all.

So after a bit of time with it WiiU is it a worthwhile console?

I'd say, come early summer, it might be time enough to pick up a preowned one on Adverts.
    New titles will be trickling in on both the physical media and e-shop fronts.
    If you can wait a little longer, the launches of the new efforts from MS and Sony are bound to result in WiiU owners trying to maximise the value if their console by selling, might do well there as a buyer but may have to wait 'til Autumn.

Best bet is to have a look at the European release schedule and see if there is a game you simply must have, either a format exclusive or a multi platform release that is so much better on the WiiU, check the date of the titles launch and make that your deadline for picking the console up.