Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

krudler wrote: »
    41, some guesses, the rpg and sports ones. I'm not really sure why anyone would think a game with a screenshot with Batman in it would be anything other than...Batman?

what about the one with Gauntlet IV actually written in the screenshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

But it's got hot babezzz on the cover :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

36 , not so bad, bit of guessing, Gauntlet IV was the hardest one !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

5050-1.gif
    fluked the sports ones mind you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

what about the one with Gauntlet IV actually written in the screenshot

or the one with Fred Flintstone in it, I was sure it was Andre Agassi Tennis :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Yeah, some games just scream, "Don't even open me, RUN FAR, RUN FAST!"

pal-boxart.jpg

cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

krudler wrote: »
    pal-boxart.jpg

cough.
    Meh. The Americans had it worse.

MegaMan2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Heh. Just saw a fox walking on the road. And not in a "crossing the road" way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Many cocktails had tonight in the VCC in Dublin (check it out, if you can find it and also put up with the massive hipsters that is).
    Now to make some slightly drunk retro purchases on ebay that I'll regret in the morning.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Good thing Smyths was closed then, you couldn't buy one (or two) of the Pokemon 3dsXLs!
    So, the morning after, what you get? Subscription to Tapestry Monthly? Used underwear from Japan? 2 cases of Hershy Bars?

Steve SI wrote: »
    Many cocktails had tonight in the VCC in Dublin (check it out, if you can find it and also put up with the massive hipsters that is)...

I have a feeling I'll be dragged there as soon as the missus gets wind of it. She loves anything 1920's. I'll be the grumpy, out of place looking guy in the corner nursing an expensive pint of Guinness and resisting the urge to murder everyone around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,423 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The cocktail loving side of me (is there any way of saying that without sounding gay?) really wants to try the place out. I read they even recreate some cocktail ingredients which are no longer made. Sounds amazing.

But yeah, I can imagine it being full of rather annoying individuals.

Ok, so i didn't go too mental with the drunk retro purchases last night but on the Airsoft side of things I now own many more weapons (another SCAR-L, a second 1911 with full metal upgrade, a Glock and a handheld grenade launcher and grenades ) and some miscellaneous Airsoft items.

As for the cocktail club, it's worth a visit for sure if you enjoy cocktails and they do indeed make some long forgotten cocktails and cocktail ingredients.
    Now, 11.50 Euro per cocktail is on the high side and if you spend a few hours in there you will spend quite a bit of cash as most of the cocktails are not massive unless you get a bowl of punch(which is also decent). The food is also excellent and not that pricey so worth trying the various things they make.

It's also worth dressing up a little to get the full effect of the 1920's atmosphere and book a table if you can instead of just dropping in.

Steve SI wrote: »
    ...11.50 Euro per cocktail...

Ah here. Leave it out.

Master of the Universe

Hah! Nothing like getting a bit tipsy and buying a load of guns :D

Careful importing, I'm out of that scene a long time now, but do remember hearing words that the DOJ were going to limit importation to shop owners only. Not sure if that came into affect at any point though.

11.50 a pop? Ouch. Sounds like an expensive evening indeed.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Hah! Nothing like getting a bit tipsy and buying a load of guns :D

Careful importing, I'm out of that scene a long time now, but do remember hearing words that the DOJ were going to limit importation to shop owners only. Not sure if that came into affect at any point though.

11.50 a pop? Ouch. Sounds like an expensive evening indeed.

Most of the Airsoft stuff is coming from Ireland and a small bit from the UK so no bother there. Sometimes customs will hold onto the Airsoft gear but as long as you can prove its airsoft and under 1 Joule your grand.

Yeah, pricey cocktails all right. Was over 170 Euro for just the cocktails I drank myself :eek: Add the food on and what herself drank and it was not the cheapest of nights. They really should drop the prices a bit or make the cocktails a bit bigger.

Master of the Universe

14 cocktails? You lush! :pac:

Haha, they're not the biggest though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Oddly, I was out on Friday night, one of our number was retiring and so out we went.
    So, it was pints of Bulmers, Jameson and a sneaky Jack Daniels as well as talking shop for 4 hours, then to bed.
    Woke the next morning, got wife out to work then checked in here then I blinked and it was 12!
    Haven't done that in a while!

..I'm out of that scene a long time now...

Me too. It was a lot of fun but collecting and keeping up with the gear costs a fortune, and it's a real time sink when you get into it, between travelling, playing, maintenance, shopping, etc.

I've sold most of my gear now, with the exception of a couple of nice handguns, my marui chrome desert eagle and a lovely full metal beretta M9, as well as just enough kit to get by if I ever want to go and have a day out.

I think I'd prefer paintball though TBH. I got sick of people not taking their hits in airsoft. It took a lot of the fun out of it. That and there are too many kids in the sport.

Master of the Universe

Yeah, you really do need to have an honest bunch for a proper game. I had some amazing games over the years though. The best by far were in Predator up the north. That site is huge. I remember one time back in 2006 a bunch of us from boards went up there in a rented mini bus. Must have been 100+ people on the site in total. There's something pretty bizarre about standing in a forest up in Northern Ireland dressed in full military gear with a gun :D

Between modding the forums and all that IAA committee stuff it was turning into a full time job. I buggered up my leg and took that as a sign it was my time to leave.

I never did sell any of my guns. So I still have a g19, Mac 11 and two FN FALs knocking about the place. One of the FALs I converted into a L1a1, trilux scope and all...had to harvest some real parts to get it all to work.

Other FAL is made by JAC..you know those first gen airsoft guns that used a gas tank like paintball? Always meant to refurbish it but never got around to it.

I do miss it though, great way of staying fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Been playing the zombiu demo and i have to say im quite enjoying it. Didnt enjoy playing with the wiimote at the beers last month but one player on the pad is a lot better.

Might buy the full version when it drops in price

Master of the Universe

Are WiiU games still shockingly expensive? Last time I was in looking at them, they were all about 55 euro. Crazy alltogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Are WiiU games still shockingly expensive? Last time I was in looking at them, they were all about 55 euro. Crazy alltogether!

Still expensive alright
    I dont mind paying for games that last like zelda but i wont waste money on games that only give a few hours play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I have a new goal, I've been buying some toys and stuff recently

I now wish I collect the entire visionaries toy line, only 12 figures and 3 vehicles. Nobody else here is really into collecting toys are they?

Master of the Universe

I collect Starcom. I had originally just wanted to replace the ones I had when I was a kid (and sold off) - got a little carried away though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

great news got a free game on psn.i was messing around in the ps store and happened upon a section where it told me i could download a free psp game.
    crap selection with only one game i didn't have, mod nation racers.

Nice to get something for free though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I'd forgotten Airsoft was even a thing. A lot of my friends went Airsoft crazy about four years ago, and bought loads of the guns. Lately I was around in one of the lads' places playing a few games. I got up, and went to the jacks. As I was leaving he said "Best just ignore the machine guns in the bath". I laughed it off and thought nothing of it until I got there, and sure enough he was telling the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

What the hell are Airsoft grenades? How do they work? Same with the shotguns, are they just slugs filled with airsoft pellets?