Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

o1s1n wrote: »
    Hopefully it'll be up to the visual standard or exceed that of Streets of Rage 2.

And who knows, maybe it'll even bring Ciderman over to the genre finally :D

Don't make me hurt you boy!
    Don't bring that pain upon yourself!
    Besides, I like Batman Returns on the Snes, isn't that enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I need to invest in this game. What the hell is the gem thing about? Where do I show them the money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I was in Dun Laoghaire earlier doing battle with Ulster Bank as they've lost a load of my money just for giggles or something.
    Anyway, I dropped over to Gamestop after the fight to grab a 3DS XL and they had none.

I asked if I needed "anything" else with the XL or if it was good to go out of the box. She said everything is in the box :eek:
    I pity the average person walking in, they haven't a chance of being happy when they get home with their XL.

Edit:
    To make up for the lack of an XL I popped into that model shop on the top floor of the shopping centre and bought a nice little Spitfire model (die cast Corgi job, nice little cheap thing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Only Steve can afford to lose money in a banking fiasco & then drop over two ton on a handheld :D

Kudos on the Spitfire, fecking beautiful things

EnterNow wrote: »
    Only Steve can afford to lose money in a banking fiasco & then drop over two ton on a handheld :D

Kudos on the Spitfire, fecking beautiful things

It's the deal I made with the devil that time :)

Spitfire is just a simple Corgi model, I was looking for a more hefty version but he didn't have anything large and spitfire related.

dsc2363fy.jpg

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/628/dsc2364j.jpg
    http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/3516/dsc2362b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,432 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Steve_SI - it appears, that to my brain, a person's avatar plays as much of a role in identifying them on boards as their username does. I keep reading your posts and thinking you're someone else :pac:

Nice spitfire! I'd love to pick up an Airfix one and give it a go as an adult. Havent made one in about 20 years.

On the subject of that, did anyone see that TV show where James May was looking back at old toys and make a life sized replica of the Airfix spitfire? Was absolutely brilliant.

Steve SI wrote: »
    It's the deal I made with the devil that time :)

I'm hearing great things about the XL in fairness. But I think I'll hold off for the next inevitable Zelda Ltd Edition before I buy.
    Spitfire is just a simple Corgi model, I was looking for a more hefty version but he didn't have anything large and spitfire related.

dsc2363fy.jpg

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/628/dsc2364j.jpg
    http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/3516/dsc2362b.jpg

Have you ever thought about getting into airfix modelling etc? There's some real beauties if you fancy building/painting them yourself.

When I get back into it, I wanna take on a large scale Lancaster Bomber at some stage too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,432 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

When I get back into it, I wanna take on a large scale Lancaster Bomber at some stage too

I was obsessed with them as a kid, along with the B-17.

My fondest Airfix memory is making a huge B-17 model. A mate of mine got one as a gift and didn't want it. I'd spent years drawing them and to make one was really something else.

Utterly glorious yokes too. There's a great sense of satisfaction from building & painting them yourself with models

I've a few airfix models around, including a spitfire nearby.
    I used to be really into it as a kid and had loads of them hanging from the ceiling as well as those lead soldiers but finding the time to make them up these days is difficult.
    The soldiers were a pain as I used to run out of lead all the time and those lead bars you could buy looked cool but were pricey. I used to make the odd trip to the school roof to replenish supplies :eek::pac:

dsc2365w.jpg

@o1s1n
    I must sign up for a paid boards account again so I can pick my own avatar. The default selection is lacking to say the least.

My grandfather was a Lancaster Bomber pilot in WW2. The stories he used to tell about those things were incredible.

Pyongyang wrote: »
    My grandfather was a Lancaster Bomber pilot in WW2. The stories he used to tell about those things were incredible.

Seriously??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I'm hearing great things about the XL in fairness. But I think I'll hold off for the next inevitable Zelda Ltd Edition before I buy.

Is there any word of ltd editions of the xl? That's the only thing stopping me throwing money at a retailer.

@o1s1n
    I must sign up for a paid boards account again so I can pick my own avatar. The default selection is lacking to say the least.

Can't go wrong with Starscream.

Seriously??

Yep. Gods honest truth.

He was also a backup pilot for the Dambusters mission and at one point was put in place to fly the mission but the roster was changed at the last minute or something like that anyway.

I've still got a really nice Lancaster Bomber model my grandfather gave to me as a child before he passed away. He used to say it was a miracle the things would take off in the first place, all the planes back then were so loud and rickety.

EDIT: Was in the middle of writing about it then found this: http://www.richmondandtwickenhamtimes.co.uk/news/9816148.Lancaster_bomber_pilot_joins_Queen_for_memorial_unveiling/

My family were invited to it and met Charlie and Camilla and co. They had a Lancaster Bomber flyover which dropped poppies over Green Park. My aul wan sent me the program from the show and some of the poppies the bomber dropped.

Really cool stuff and nice (at least in my opinion it is anyway) to see these people honoured and remembered. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I was in Dun Laoghaire earlier doing battle with Ulster Bank as they've lost a load of my money just for giggles or something.
    Anyway, I dropped over to Gamestop after the fight to grab a 3DS XL and they had none.

I asked if I needed "anything" else with the XL or if it was good to go out of the box. She said everything is in the box :eek:
    I pity the average person walking in, they haven't a chance of being happy when they get home with their XL.

Edit:
    To make up for the lack of an XL I popped into that model shop on the top floor of the shopping centre and bought a nice little Spitfire model (die cast Corgi job, nice little cheap thing).
    Do you live in the area? I'm only up in Monkstown if you ever fancy a retro gaming session with a semi-local...

Yep. Gods honest truth.

He was also a backup pilot for the Dambusters mission and at one point was put in place to fly the mission but the roster was changed at the last minute or something like that anyway.

I've still got a really nice Lancaster Bomber model my grandfather gave to me as a child before he passed away. He used to say it was a miracle the things would take off in the first place, all the planes back then were so loud and rickety.

EDIT: Was in the middle of writing about it then found this: http://www.richmondandtwickenhamtimes.co.uk/news/9816148.Lancaster_bomber_pilot_joins_Queen_for_memorial_unveiling/

My family were invited to it and met Charlie and Camilla and co. They had a Lancaster Bomber flyover which dropped poppies over Green Park. My aul wan sent me the program from the show and some of the poppies the bomber dropped.

Really cool stuff and nice (at least in my opinion it is anyway) to see these people honoured and remembered. :)

Wow. To the uninitiated, the Pyongsters grandfather was a real life hero so. The things those men done were nothing short of heroic.

It is very very important to see the veterans remembered & their deeds honored I agree. The second world war wasn't the kind of sh1te that goes on today like the oil conquest war on terror etc, these men fought for & won the freedom we enjoy today.

Brave men & women they were, & I for one salute them :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Sorry for interrupting you good folks, but this is great :D

425117_10151038241359333_220709309_n.jpg

Sorry for interrupting you good folks, but this is great :D

425117_10151038241359333_220709309_n.jpg

Haha, it took me a second to get it.

It is very very important to see the veterans remembered & their deeds honored I agree. The second world war wasn't the kind of sh1te that goes on today like the oil conquest war on terror etc, these men fought for & won the freedom we enjoy today.

Brave men & women they were, & I for one salute them :cool:

Cheers ImmediateEntrance, I agree 110%. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Yup, had the Nazi's won we'd all be beholden to the german chancellor, doing their bidding, watching sh1te reality shows to keep us stupid and stuck with games consoles playing little but minigame collections.... oh wait.....

Anyways, well done Pyongyangs Gramps where ever he is, a brave bunch of boys indeed, while they had a war to fight we had an "emergency", and worried about the British invading as much as the Axis powers, deary deary me....

I did hear some reasoning as to why it was a good thing we stayed neutral, not sure if I believe it myself, given our natural opposition to fascism, aside from Cork and Meath people, I'd say we'd have given the Axis hell!
    That said, plenty of Irish boys headed to Ulster or England to sign up for service, did us proud they did.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    That said, plenty of Irish boys headed to Ulster or England to sign up for service, did us proud they did.

And only recently were they declared non-treasonous. Sometimes I actually despair living here I really do

I still say Enternow is a great prison name, I know, I've said it before but it makes me laugh or at least chortle to myself......

"Hi Mr Giant Prisoner, my names Enternow!"
    "DON'T MIND IF I DO!"

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I still say Enternow is a great prison name, I know, I've said it before but it makes me laugh or at least chortle to myself......

"Hi Mr Giant Prisoner, my names Enternow!"
    "DON'T MIND IF I DO!"

Don't chortle too heartily grandad, you don't want to tax the rockers on that chair too much :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Argos just got in some tetris stuff [clickable]
    161-9063299iSPA78UC1246825M.jpg 25-9063323SPA78UC1183769M.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Not quite the same but a guy I went to school with's Grandad was a German spy in Ireland during WWII.
    His heart wasn't really in it though , apparently he was dropped into wexford, spotted by the guards, and identified as a German spy and arrested within hours of arriving in Ireland , by replying "yes, yes I am" when asked , "are you a German spy?".
    There was a documentary about him on TG4 a while back.

Question for the mods. I was gonna dump one of my vitas in the press (the press of doom where things are forgotten)but decided why not trade it for something worthwhile and retro as I already have way to many vitas for a sane person (3).

So can I stick up a vita in the trading section if I'm looking for something retro for it or does it need to be retro for retro?

Cheers

You just reminded me again to remove Burunyanman Portable from my Amazon JP basket. Released in Japan today, the LE is €80.

I'll be buying the perky, and cheaper, PC version instead.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Question for the mods. I was gonna dump one of my vitas in the press (the press of doom where things are forgotten)but decided why not trade it for something worthwhile and retro as I already have way to many vitas for a sane person (3).

So can I stick up a vita in the trading section if I'm looking for something retro for it or does it need to be retro for retro?

Cheers

I was going to suggest you 'gushie' it.

Then I googled gushie and it seemingly means something (something foul and R-rated) other than the innocent childhood memory I have of the word, and the frantic chasing after some item after some lad threw it in the air that would ensue after the word was yelled.

Boo-urns to the Internet destroying yet another childhood memory.

Cheers

No, throw it up there with a clear idea of what you are after, then let the offers come in!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I've a CDi to trade against it!