Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I just want to say, categorically, that I have not hacked Johnny U's account and I am not, I repeat not, posting pro-Edge sentiments here via that path.
    I mean, if I did it'd be cool, but I didn't think of it, nor do I have the skills... :(

Just sayin'

I miss the old days, when we could all slag off Boulder Dash and Sparks....
    The sky was greener then, the grass so, so blue..... good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Another good one from the same artist as earlier:

tumblr_m70ewkaV461qmgyuuo1_500.gif

http://clearlywrong.tumblr.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,426 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »

Your taste in games is awful and your mother smells of elderberries.

Am I doing it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I've never seen one before sir, no one has bit I'm guessing its a boards.ie bitchfest white hole.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

o1s1n wrote: »
    Your taste in games is awful and your mother smells of elderberries.

Well, my taste in games is debatable and as for how my mother smells... well she does spend some time in charity shops... do they smell of elderberries?
    Am I doing it right?

I can't say, that's between you and your porn film director

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I've had an odd compulsion to try chronicles of riddick out despite hating starbreezes other FPS, the Darkness :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Achilles wrote: »
    I've never seen one before sir, no one has bit I'm guessing its a boards.ie bitchfest white hole.

It's feckin handbags at dawn around here lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Doge

Would ye happen to know what kind of power transformer I need to use a Japanese Super Famicom here?

My googling failed and thought ye might be a more direct source of knowledge.
    Thank ye either way.

I'm using a Megadrive Model 1 PSU for my SFC, and its working fine.

I think its 10V, 1Amp and centre pin negative or something, but I'm not 100% sure.

A googly should find the specs pretty easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Doge

o1s1n wrote: »
    Back in work this morning after two weeks holidays.

I want to die! :(

1288847520767.jpg

I am now in guilt mode.... I could of had a Mega CD 2 unit to match my MD2 but said no because, at €40, it was too much given how much I spent over the month... Then I spent 90 euro on current gen games today... :( I feel like I've let retrogaming down, and then the disagreements today... I just don't know who I am anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I only trust Dominik Diamond to review games, none of this Edge tomfoolery.

I had a chat with him on Facetube once, he is a real nice guy, lives in Canada now.

He does seem to come across as an all round 'top bloke'. Does he still write gaming columns or anything game related?

I remember another guy who's reviews I used to like, that of a guy who changed his name by deed poll to Radion Automatic (eagle-eyed pensioners amongst us, namely Adultappleflavouredbeveragemale, will know that Radion Automatic was actually a clothes washing powder).

He wrote for a Nintendo rag and C&VG (before it went crap) I think...

In my day, Radion wrote for C&VG after it went crap.
    I used to read it in the 80's, from 85 to 88 or so, then they had a big redesign and it was more aimed at the "youff", lost interest then.
    Didn't pick up another mag until 1990 and Megatech and the like were previewing the imminent release of the MD in Europe, good times!

I was more of Crash reader back then anyway, while C64 owning scum read Zzap64.

Here is a surprisingly interesting read with the main man himself. You're right, he wrote for Mean Machines, which was alright but I preferred his NMS scribes.

http://www.meanmachinesmag.co.uk/interview/4/radion-automatic.php

I suggest a read of this, the guy is so bloody right about a lot of things it makes almost hurtful reading.

C64 owning scum read Zzap64.

Ahem, I read Commodore Format thank you! .........I only bought Zzap64 when the covertape(s) were good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Magazines? What's that is it an app or something?

I had gotten out of home computer mags before the cover tape phenom' started.
    Actually, I recall having a 1983 C&VG, featuring a cover disk, an analogue record, featuring a game on one side and a track by the Thompson Twins on the other!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Casey120

I recently found all C&VG magazines in pdf format on usenet .
    Nice to read some of that stuff again .

Loved the Thompson Twins! I'd have bought that copy of the magazine for that record! Alas in 1983 I was busy being dropped on my head preparing for my first year of nursery school, chewing Sticklebricks and vomiting Cow & Gate.

It would not be until around 1986 where I would have my first serious brush with video game journalism... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,621 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Actually, I recall having a 1983 C&VG, featuring a cover disk, an analogue record, featuring a game on one side and a track by the Thompson Twins on the other!

At that stage I wasn't even ready for Thomas The Tank Engine magazines.

Dear Adultappleflavouredbeveragemale,

Please tell me the free cover mounted vinyl was this!? (The opening 5 seconds sound like the opening to Ulysses 31 by the way):

Absolute STONKING TUNE! Feckin' LOVED the Thompson Twins. I think by the time I got my first double cassette deck for Christmas and a copy of The Greatest Hits of 1987 and Now! That's What I Call Music 8 on double cassette (mainly for Swing Out Sister, Run DMC, S-Express and 'Crush On You' by The Jets!) that The Thompson Twins were in the twilight of their careers.

However I do recall this song on MTV (back when MTV was good) being squeezed in between Madonna's Like A Virgin video (that was new at the time!) and Doctor & The Medics 'Spirit In The Sky' which was brand new out at the time too!

*sigh* Happier musical times... :(

Good times indeed, we here in the Irish Free State had the pleasure of MT USA on RTE2 with the dear departed Vincent Hanley, brilliant stuff, Pat Benetar, Love is a Battlefield, good times....
    Before Peter Collins and Simon Young came along on The Beatbox.... shudder.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I have issue two which came with a free plastic deely that would mount on your TV so you could keep track of what line of code you were on when typing in the pages of code that came in the magazine.

And on a sad note, my bank of games on my VecFlash have vanished, some sort of memory failure :(
    I will have to try to find the appropriate cable to reflash the thing, see if it works.
    I still have the files for it, including the flashing software and the folder of games I had flashed it with originally.
    Didn't realise it was so long ago, 2004!!
    O1s1n was still a fetus back then!!!
    So, it turns out I have the Veccy longer than much of my collection, as a retro item it is older than the 360, never mind it's full and proper age!

So, to find the cable, a serial cable with a phono socket at the end, then hope my PC has a serial port somewhere!!!
    I think my brother gave me a serial to USB adapter for the original job, will have to dig that out too!!

I emailed Richard to see if he had any stocks of the VecMulti in, in spite of the site saying they were sold out.
    Fingers crossed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,426 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Didn't realise it was so long ago, 2004!!
    O1s1n was still a fetus back then!!!

A 20 year old fetus!

I was beautiful!

35%20A%20Giant%20Dead%20Baby.jpg

That's a shame about your Vecflash. Just passed my own Vecmulti on to Enternow - that's me out of the veccy game for good :(

It was a fun year or two. I shall miss having vector lines burned into my retinas.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The Legend of Dragoon fanboy rage continues:
    C'mon...Seriously, there's so much fail in this review...
    "The Legend of Dragoon is the best game ever. If you are one of the people that think this you are a very bad person"
    => So you can tell if someone's bad or not based on the fact that they like a game? Well THAT makes you a moron, sir.
    You didn't even tried to be a little objective here, you just summed up the game's weaknesses, that's all.
    Legend of Dragoon is at least a good game and one of the greatest RPGs of the PSOne, there's nothing to add here, you can say that you don't like it/hate it but why trying so hard to prevent people from buying this wonderful game?
    Sorry dude, but if it has a solid fanbase and was praised for its original battle system, awesome story/background and general epicness, it's entirely justified, if anything, YOU have a pretty poor taste in games.
    I don't really care about your answer/lack of answer, I have nothing else to do here, if I wanna see **** like this, I might as well read Twilight.
    Have a nice day.

Unfortunately it's become the most popular post on my blog which means it's only going to get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Say what now:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Putting my UG lottery numbers here for reference

588 589 1220 1221 1673 1674 2948 2949 3447 3448