Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoenix Park Concert - Swedish House Mafia *** READ POST 121 BEFORE POSTING***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

I was at this gig as well. I seen very little trouble. I thought it was extremely badly organised though. I have been to Oxegen twice for weekenders and never seen the chaos trying to queue for toilets and drink there or anywhere and I've been around a while (in my 30's)
    We queued for about half an hour to three quarters of an hour for a toilet. People were pushing/shoving and threatening each other to get into the toilet. There were no stewarts about and I'm guessing they were totally oblivious to what was going on. There simply was not enough toilets and everyone was bursting. I mean who would use one of those porter toilets any other time. I was telling my friend I'm not queueing again, that we can find somewhere else as when I was trying to get into the toilet, some girl was pulling me out and I didnt even look around in case I got a puch off her, she was screaming her head off.
    We couldnt find anywhere else to go second time so we ended up back there again, this time two girls were rolling around in the muck killing each other over the toilet.
    Queueing for drinks was long winded as well, more pushing and shoving, I realised after a while that the only time to go for a drink was while an act was playing.
    I seen some young guy lying on the ground not showing much life and vomit beside him and youngsters trying to get help for him, it seemed to me like this help was taking forever to arrive....
    Other than that I just seen people having fun and the odd person off their head with eyes rolling, wandering around on their own banging mindlessly into people.
    I did get searched coming in and so did the other girls ahead of me so I thought that end of things was pretty well taken care of from a female point of view.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

clearly were not there if you are saying that, if you were you are blind

I was at one of the gigs yes, your point?

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭sarabroderick

I was at one of the gigs yes, your point?

this thread is not about one of the gigs it is about the SHM gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Turning into a 'my music is more credible than your music' thread. Time to unfollow!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

It used to be just E's and hash in the late nineties early 00's it was all about genuinely being happy out,hugging and being random in a loved up sort of way,or just chit chat with strangers,but now its wrecking your head on **** you never even heard of or alcohol and coke or head shop stuff until you bash someone get in a fatal fight or a fight..
    Ive noticed a change in concert goers over the years there more brazen and there is an element of hooliganism..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

I wasn't at the gig, but was there many guards at it!? In the future, gigs like these need to be swarming with Gardaí to crackdown on the pill heads and other druggies from ruining other people's entertainment. I don't want to sound like a grinch or anything because I loved going Oxegen, getting hammered and enjoying myself but if we want to prevent tragedies like this in the future, I suggest that everyone be searched upon entry. I know this would take hours to do, but if it was to prevent people getting stabbed or even dying, it would be well worth it. Sniffer dogs are a must.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Wolvis

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Really? Were you at the gig? Al the reports are saying that security was lax. The video of the lads bating the sh1te out of each would suggest that there wasn't enough security.

This, I didn't see ANY Gardai past the gates, only Security I saw were the ones between the barriers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

nbar12 wrote: »
    I wasn't at the gig, but was there many guards at it!? In the future, gigs like these need to be swarming with Gardaí to crackdown on the pill heads and other druggies from ruining other people's entertainment. I don't want to sound like a grinch or anything because I loved going Oxegen, getting hammered and enjoying myself but if we want to prevent tragedies like this in the future, I suggest that everyone be searched upon entry. I know this would take hours to do, but if it was to prevent people getting stabbed or even dying, it would be well worth it. Sniffer dogs are a must.

Why should the State pay for gardai , leaving other parts of the city short? MCD should dip into their profits and pay for the costs of policing at such skangerfests, as is the case across the water. And while there at it MCD should get more crowd control personnel (some of the crushes at the bars were extremely dangerous).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

O'Doodle wrote: »
    I have explored these genres and I simply find them repetitive and boring, period.

what would you say if someone said "all of (insert genre that you like) is boring bla bla..."

Its not valid. I'm sorry if that annoys you.

"period"

in a debate unfortunately you need make valid points, backed up with reason, examples etc.

IE "I find Swedish House Mafia particularly Song X, to be cheesy, repetitive, uninspiring and unoriginal...etc"

Motorist wrote: »
    Why should the State pay for gardai , leaving other parts of the city short? MCD should dip into their profits and pay for the costs of policing at such skangerfests, as is the case across the water. And while there at it MCD should get more crowd control personnel (some of the crushes at the bars were extremely dangerous).

I'm not saying the state should fork out to pay for gardai. You're right MCD should pay for it if they want to protect their image and reputation. Judging by the video that was posted up earlier of two lads fighting in the mud...the steward in the video hadn't a clue what to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭ceegee

The event organisers do get a bill for extra garda cover afaik but, regardless of who pays, if there are 40k people gathered in one area of the city for a concert, parade, match etc then that is where the gardai should be. Especially if there is a high likelihood of trouble (it didnt take much detective work to anticipate problems at Saturdays gig given the demographic likely to attend) Fewer gardai would have been needed on patrol in other areas as so many people were at the concert

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

inevitable outcome, cant blame the promotors, wasnt their fault, security was tight as can be, large security presence, you cant prevent scum being scum sadly

I was at the Stone Roses gig and security was definitely not tight.. The Garda presence inside the concert was extremely light and non-existent afterwards at the Parkgate St exit.

You can't prevent scum being scum but you can anticipate it and deny entry to people who are messy,aggressive / armed.

MCD are the main promoters in the country- they must know that certain types of music attract different crowds. Unfortunately house and rap music appeals to the scummy element more. The majority of the 45,000 attendees were not out to cause harm to anyone but unfortunately the scummy minority were left unchecked and went to town on it.

I was at Bloom in the park a few months back and the gardai were tripping over each other, similarly it seems like there were a lot of gardai around during the Eucharistic congress - its kind of a no brainier that there should have been as many gardai as possible present at all 3 of the gigs in the park just for crowd control etc.

At The Stone Roses I saw loads of people who'd snuck in drink- one guy was falling around drunk (possibly pilled up too) and had 4 cans of cider in the pockets of his jacket. I could've gotten stoned from inhaling secondary weed smoke and ther were a few casualties who'd binged on drink and drugs but no fights that I saw

The only place I saw security in control outside of the entry point was herding the people through the bar area.

I wasn't at SHM but it would appear that they didn't put on extra security or change anything for that gig.

I've been to dance festivals and gigs in England and they have police assisted searches at the entrance, cops with sniffer dogs circulating the crowd etc.

It is a sorry state of affairs that they have to expect trouble at certain gigs but it would be like them having no security at big football matches in England - dumb

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Doinker

don't be such a stickler, he has a point and you'd want to be blind not to acknowledge it.

What point does he have - that all dance music is tripe and everyone listening to it is off there heads?

That is his opinion (which is a sweeping generalisation IMO).
    If he wants to state it as fact, let him back it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

I'm not saying the state should fork out to pay for gardai. You're right MCD should pay for it if they want to protect their image and reputation. Judging by the video that was posted up earlier of two lads fighting in the mud...the steward in the video hadn't a clue what to do.

Saw that myself and at first I was of the same mind, but when I thought about it I realised if in the same situation I'd have likely stayed out of it with the fact that he appeared to be on his own and outnumbered.(not saying that would have been the right thing to do but....) Apples and oranges here maybe but look what happened those stewards at euro 2012 over far less :eek:

There should be a minimum standard of training for anyone employed to steward events, including crowd control and training in how to spot and deal with crowd issues before they develop and policies that ensure stewards own safety and that they do not walk the event alone. I say SHOULD here because that will never happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i remember a riot before a bob dylan concert in slane way back in 84...this knackerism been goin on for ages

Is it true that SHM played this song?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DcfXVL0mh0

If so, this might explain why there was so many stabbings

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

me and herself had a good night but there was just a really uneasy feeling about the place we were actually thinking of leaving during Tinie but we stayed as she loves shm

having been to the 3 gigs security and Garda presence were a joke if you go to a match in croke park you cant walk by an entrance with out seeing 2 guards and 2 security personal but on sat we walked in behind 3 girls one of whom was been carried by the other 2 and they were admitted .... they had been shouting abuse at other girls on the way up and i saw 3 members of security approach them i assumed they were gonna be asked to leave instead he just took one drink off them and walked them to the shortest que as if to say once beyond this point they are no longer my problem no Guards

also you could get into the park right up the the entrance without a ticket loads of scumbags just sitting out there drinking cans roaring abuse when we left with about 15 mins to go in the shm set

the other 2 gigs seemed to go off well but saturday was unacceptable

Doinker wrote: »
    don't be such a stickler, he has a point and you'd want to be blind not to acknowledge it.

What point does he have - that all dance music is tripe and everyone listening to it is off there heads?

That is his opinion (which is a sweeping generalisation IMO).
    If he wants to state it as fact, let him back it up.

The majority of dance music is tripe and a large proportion of attendees at a dance event are using amphetamines, in my opinion an amount disproportionate to that of other music genres.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Ugh.Im.Clashing

This thread is mentioned in an article on Spin.com today: Swedish House Mafia Concert Marred by Violence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

The Gardai for these things are on non-public duty and the promoter pays for them, that's why there aren't enough Gardai, as the promoters are cheapskates. In my opinion the numbers of Gardai for these things should be similar to the numbers used for football matches in the UK, a very sizeable and visible force, that interact for the most part politely with the crowd to weed out troublemakers.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 gillyweed

I have explored these genres and I simply find them repetitive and boring, period. Anyone can create the majority of dance music on their 200 quid Aldi laptop, and I have done.

Absolute rubbish, please share your musical masterpiece.

Predalien wrote: »
    The Gardai for these things are on non-public duty and the promoter pays for them, that's why there aren't enough Gardai, as the promoters are cheapskates. In my opinion the numbers of Gardai for these things should be similar to the numbers used for football matches in the UK, a very sizeable and visible force, that interact for the most part politely with the crowd to weed out troublemakers.

security should be able to do that too we went to a club last night where the bouncers asked ok lads having a good night? on the way in obviously so we would answer him and he can make a judgement on how aware we are at saturdays security checks the only question was have u drink in the bag?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

BaZmO* wrote: »
    And you worked at this one?

When you say that "security was tight as can be, large security presence" I take you mean compared to what's required by law rather than what would've been actually needed for a gig that was inevitably going to attract a certain type.

I was at this one. And yes i felt that there was a large security presence, no less than any other gig, ideally in hindsight twice that would have probably not been enough, how many secuirty do you think would be required to satisfy you that the gig would be well policed? MCD had the legal amount required, and then went over than in the interest of public safety, if you dont think thats enough, I'm not really sure what will?

Unfortunatly, Ireland has a large element at festivals, thats nothing short of scum, I have never been to a festival in any other country in the world that come close to the beahiour at Irish ones, its not MCD/Security or the police's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

security should be able to do that too we went to a club last night where the bouncers asked ok lads having a good night? on the way in obviously so we would answer him and he can make a judgement on how aware we are at saturdays security checks the only question was have u drink in the bag?

There aren't that many actual trained security personnell at these things, many are merely stewards who are hired temporarily for the weekend. Gardai (who are more experienced and have powers of arrest) are far better suited to the task and their numbers should be increased. €2 of the ticket price could pay for about 500 extra Gardai to police the event.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

I should probably add. I wasnt even searched going into Stone Roses.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 mup

I have explored these genres and I simply find them repetitive and boring, period. Anyone can create the majority of dance music on their 200 quid Aldi laptop, and I have done.

Ok, perhaps you have created dance music with just an aldi laptop. Congrats on devoting some portion of your life to creating a piece of music from a genre you consider repetitive and boring. From that it can be readily deduced that you must be one of the saddest, most cynical, misanthropic human beings in the world. Surely you must hate all kinds of music if you choose to use your, I'm sure, astounding mental ability to create a song that you would inevitably hate. That or you visit message boards to tell people how amazing you are. Or else you're lying to enhance your point. Post the song and prove me wrong.

Music is about taste and opinion. Having good or bad taste in music is irrelevant as it is opinion based. Too many people start to dislike bands or artists due to commercial success. I still like artists and djs who've become successful if I genuinely still like their music, e.g. swedish house mafia, while I think a dislike due to commercialisation is ok if I genuinely dislike their newer music, stand up David Guetta and your laughable new offerings with artists like Usher. No I don't like metal but I would never generalise everyone who enjoys that style of music. It has become a cliche but I do actually enjoy most types of music and always have an open mind. I don't like a band like metronomy or SBTRKT because it's hipster and cool but because I really enjoy their music. For the same reason I don't hate a band like one direction because that's the cool thing to do but because I think every member of the band is a vile, vacuous and talentless wanker, especially the Irish lad! However I don't judge the majority of my friends' musical tastes who enjoy their music solely on this.

Similarly, I attended SHM and thought they were excellent. They do perform live, it is not just a cd playing and djing is an amazing talent when you understand the intracacies. I'm from a decent background and I went, I drank and enjoyed myself thoroughly in a large crowd, from varied backgrounds, without being too obnoxious. Some people went and didn't do this. It has nothing to do with the music and all to do with our culture. Idiots drink and take drugs not realising/caring about their own limitations. They become insufferable pricks. This can happen anywhere, there was just a bigger assortment of them in one place here. It reflects purely on Irish soceity and not on dance music. Why can people in Germany, Croatia or Belgium take pills, drink alcohol and stab nobody? I'm not offering a solution to the anti-social behaviour, just defending my taste in music and the reputation that it's being branded with by some in the media.

Your mindset is so narrow and self absorbed, you fail to understand people have varying music tastes. Calling someone a troll on various threads is the lowest level of debate and demonstrates severe lack of intelligence. Leave your riled up emotion at the door if you want debate.

I love the way you keep making a tit of yourself.

Accusing someone of being having a mindset that's "narrow and self absorbed" after pronouncing "all dance music" is tripe.

I see you've revised that bullsh*t opinion and said "the majority of dance music is tripe" - a statement of equal idiocy.

Maybe you can revise it again and say......actually scrap that...would you you do the thread a favour and stop posting altogether. You've contributed nothing to the thread.

Still waiting for "O'Doodle" to post his dance music. I've been looking for some new music so I'm excited about this. Hurry on "O'Doodle".

With this level of anger and emotion amongst dance fans, I see why 9 people were stabbed on Sat night and why so many others had to use amphetamines in attempt to escape from their pathetic existences.

can people stop saying its about the music it aint it was poor organistaion ive been to plenty of dance gigs before and ye you do get "scum" but most people regardless of how they act in their daily life just want to dance and have fun.

This gig was supposed to be over 17's only ..... pure bollix saw plenty younger than that and there was no id check

people who had drank too much / taken too many drugs prior to the event were admitted more than likely wouldnt have happened at the o2 or somewhere else

poorly trained light security presence only interested in confiscating drink (couldnt even take in a bottle of coke or water officially) so you can spend more money once inside the concert

not enough Gardai

not enough toilets for the crowd ..... segregation for the toilets should have been enforced as well

not enough concession stands ques way to long

MCD Need to carry the can here simple as that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

I was at this one. And yes i felt that there was a large security presence, no less than any other gig, ideally in hindsight twice that would have probably not been enough, how many secuirty do you think would be required to satisfy you that the gig would be well policed? MCD had the legal amount required, and then went over than in the interest of public safety, if you dont think thats enough, I'm not really sure what will?

Unfortunatly, Ireland has a large element at festivals, thats nothing short of scum, I have never been to a festival in any other country in the world that come close to the beahiour at Irish ones, its not MCD/Security or the police's fault.

With all due respect dude, based on previous performances I don't there is one person I know who would believe that security would be first priority for MCD. I imagine its way down the list.

The only thing security-related I can imagine they would be concerned about is ensuring enough security to run a gig, so it doesn't have too much trouble IE, the kind of trouble that could threaten their business going forward. It would be naive to suggest otherwise, we all know how corpo's like this work.

Do you work for them or contracted as security or what's the story?

To me its clear that from now on at least, there must be more/tighter security at these things if we are to expect this kind of behaviour. I think this goes without saying surely? It's a public safety issue.

There seems to be a very light police presence inside particularly. I was at Stone Roses and didn't see one, albeit the threat of violence was very low. It was messy but not intimidating. (by the way, extra police should be at promoter expenses needless to say - its their job to ensure punter safety)

Take the whole drinking/drugs thing out of the equation because this will happen anyway. The security issue seems to be the problem.

Unfortunately it seems like something like this needs to happen for any action to take place...oh wait a minute...it has...a few times

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Big Game

You never seen the amount of scallies or wanabee gansters that go to certain English festivals? The continent is much better though, no doubt about that despite the later closing times and the higher prevelance of drug use which says a lot about our relationship with booze imo.