Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Paul O Connell played 80 mins for Young Munster against Cork Con

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

ormond lad wrote: »

Any chance he can play in the backs against Quins??

Earls has a shoulder dislocation.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

mohawk wrote: »
    Any chance he can play in the backs against Quins??

Zebo is targeting a return for the Quins match. We badly need him.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lockman

ormond lad wrote: »

And he played quite well too.

lockman wrote: »
    And he played quite well too.

Excellent to read. Hopefully he'll be ok for Connacht next week. We need him to have a chance against Harlequins IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

My squad vs quins (assuming earls injured)

1. Killer
    2. Sherry
    3. Botha
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. POM
    7. O'Donnell
    8. Coughlan
    9. Murray
    10. Keatly
    11. Zebo
    12. Downey
    13. Laulala
    14. Howlett
    15. Jones

16. Varley
    17. Du Perez
    18. Archer
    19. DOC
    20. CJ Stander
    21. Sheridan
    22. JJ Hanrahan
    23. ... Dunno. O'Dea if fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I'm not sure Earls is much of a loss

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭jjjd

Rightwing wrote: »

Who would you pick instead? Earls is a massive loss to Munster.

Having watched Munster's backplay this season Earls is a very big loss. He and Zebo are Munster's only two genuine gamebreakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

Jesus

Not much of a loss? Considering how bad our back play has been this year our reliance on himself and Zebo to make something out of nothing has been huge

He's a massive loss

• Registered Users Posts: 5,917 ✭✭✭leakyboots

You've been reading too much of this board if you think Earls isin't a loss. An inordinate amount of posters have it in for Earls.

trouttrout wrote: »
    Jesus

Not much of a loss? Considering how bad our back play has been this year our reliance on himself and Zebo to make something out of nothing has been huge

He's a massive loss

Give me a break.

Has he scored a try, his defense is shockingly weak. The most over rated player in the country.

Zebo on the other hand has scored tries.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

leakyboots wrote: »
    You've been reading too much of this board if you think Earls isin't a loss. An inordinate amount of posters have it in for Earls.

This forum is largely kind to Earls. I've actually found myself fiercely defending the guy on other websites which is not something I would regularly do.

Anyway, a huge blow if Earls is out for a long stretch from a Munster POV.

From an Irish POV I would love to see him get serious gametime on the wing and come back to Ireland showing the kind of form I know he has. I feel he has been living on reputation the last few games and I think he would have been better off in the provincial setup finding his x-factor. It's not that he has done anything badly, just that he hasn't done anything absolutely great either. He has merely been fine which is simply not good enough considering the breathtaking depth we have at wing.

Well maybe they are right. What has he done in the last few years?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    My squad vs quins (assuming earls injured)

1. Killer
    2. Sherry
    3. Botha
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. POM
    7. O'Donnell
    8. Coughlan
    9. Murray
    10. Keatly
    11. Zebo
    12. Downey
    13. Laulala
    14. Howlett
    15. Jones

16. Varley
    17. Du Perez
    18. Archer
    19. DOC
    20. CJ Stander
    21. Sheridan
    22. JJ Hanrahan
    23. ... Dunno. O'Dea if fit.

Hurley needs to come back in at 15.Jones is a shadow of himself this season.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

mohawk wrote: »

Guys on munsterfans are saying Earls has a strained AC joint.
    Hurley needs to come back in at 15.Jones is a shadow of himself this season.

Hurleys form recently is worse. They both have 2 weeks to fight it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Is Murray hurt, did I hear?

I hope he's not, but the consolation of seeing Munster fans here flip out if Williams and ROG were starting might make it somewhat worthwhile...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Jesus, I hope Murray isn't injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

No, that's not right. A lot of people do, however, think Earls is a very good winger but only an average centre. Let's not rehash that argument here, but on the assumption that Earls would have played 13 against Saracens, you could say that Laulala is a decent replacement and that therefore his, loss is not the worst thing that could happen.

Losing Murray, for example, would be a hell of a lot worse because there is no back up

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I hope he's not, but the consolation of seeing Munster fans here flip out if Williams and ROG were starting might make it somewhat worthwhile...

Don't even say that.

Earls' missing will be a huge blow, any game he's been missing, our backline has looked a lot weaker. Zebo would be a bigger loss if he doesn't make it back, but we don't really have the squad to cover any losses tbqh.

Laulala was decent enough in his last couple of games iirc, if he can hit some sort of form, that would be great.

But Keatley has to start at 10. And if Murray is injured, we're fcuked. I'd throw JJ in but there's pretty much no chance of that happening, he probably won't even make the bench.

That's below the belt! :eek:

Fireball07 wrote: »

Don't even say that.

Earls' missing will be a huge blow, any game he's been missing, our backline has looked a lot weaker. Zebo would be a bigger loss if he doesn't make it back, but we don't really have the squad to cover any losses tbqh.

Laulala was decent enough in his last couple of games iirc, if he can hit some sort of form, that would be great.

But Keatley has to start at 10. And if Murray is injured, we're fcuked. I'd throw JJ in but there's pretty much no chance of that happening, he probably won't even make the bench.

We can beat Quins, English rugby will be reeling after today.

England's loss today won't have much bearing on the result. If anything Irish rugby is in a much worse state than English rugby anyway!

Whereas Irish rugby will be on such a high after avoiding the wooden spoon?

Good logic

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Jaysus if Murray's injured I might even sacrifice another goat for ye's...

.ak wrote: »
    Jaysus if Murray's injured I might even sacrifice another goat for ye's...

Don't worry lads, we've got Duncan Williams

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Don't worry lads, we've got Duncan Williams

I know he's not great but there's no need to sacrifice him.

Deano7788 wrote: »
    I know he's not great but there's no need to sacrifice him.

I dunno, might go down well with the rugby gods

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

I dunno, might go down well with the rugby gods

Or it may make them angry :pac:.

[QUOTE=trouttrout;83704641]I dunno, might go down well with the rugby gods[/QUOTE]

About time you admitted to that.