Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Line of Duty (BBC) **Spoilers**

• Registered Users Posts: 5,854 ✭✭✭Rfrip

Found this season all a bit meh....il be honest I actually don’t care at this stage who H is or isn’t. We always knew it wasn’t Ted so I just didn’t feel the intensity and suspense in the previous seasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,351 ✭✭✭✭8-10

The size of the OCG surprised me. Lisa made it sound like Ryan is the only one left and the last 2 episodes have acted like her, Ryan, John and Miroslav were the only members. One week they're pulling off a £50m heist, probably the biggest ever heist in the UK, and the next they're running women and printing fake passports - much smaller time stuff. Then there's Tina and Jamie and all the other low ranking bent coppers. If there's so many corrupt officers right to the top then how can the OCG be that small?

AC-12 at the end asked "Are there any members of the OCG still at large?" and Lisa replies "Not that I know of"

Do they really think it's that small? Are we supposed to believe that? It confused the hell out of me why they didn't lie low after the massive depot robbery. They still have to work on moving the goods so why risk it by going back to small jobs. This post doesn't even have a coherent point because of how confused I was by that season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sirmanga

Weird. Lisa McQueen said she figured out John was a rat by herself. Why would she protect Hastings?

https://www.digitalspy.com/tv/a27332344/line-of-duty-season-5-episode-6-explained-jed-mercurio/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭Talisman

8-10 wrote: »
    The size of the OCG surprised me. Lisa made it sound like Ryan is the only one left and the last 2 episodes have acted like her, Ryan, John and Miroslav were the only members. One week they're pulling off a £50m heist, probably the biggest ever heist in the UK, and the next they're running women and printing fake passports - much smaller time stuff. Then there's Tina and Jamie and all the other low ranking bent coppers. If there's so many corrupt officers right to the top then how can the OCG be that small?

AC-12 at the end asked "Are there any members of the OCG still at large?" and Lisa replies "Not that I know of"

Do they really think it's that small? Are we supposed to believe that? It confused the hell out of me why they didn't lie low after the massive depot robbery. They still have to work on moving the goods so why risk it by going back to small jobs. This post doesn't even have a coherent point because of how confused I was by that season.
    Lisa McQueen was protecting herself - she didn't give them any information they didn't already have. She's not a rat and didn't want to end up like Tommy Hunter.

Earlier in the series there was a small conversation between herself and Corbett that suggested to me that the OCG operates like a modern terrorist group. The cell we have seen has been taken down but there would be other independent cells involved also.

There was also a scene in series 2/3 where Cottan had a coffee table covered in mobile phones which suggested it is a bigger operation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭brian_t

sirmanga wrote: »
    Jed Mercurio has confirmed that Ted did in fact tip off Lee Banks about John being a rat, thus leading to John's death.

Poor writing if he has to come along afterwards to fill in gaps in the plot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sirmanga

brian_t wrote: »
    Poor writing if he has to come along afterwards to fill in gaps in the plot.

At least he hasn't gone all J.K Rowling and said Ted had gay experiences when he was younger.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭trashcan

At least he hasn't gone all J.K Rowling and said Ted had gay experiences when he was younger.

That might explain why he wanted to get rid of the porn on the laptop ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

"Glass houses Patricia" :D

Patricia was some wagon, fantastic acting.

Thought the morse code was a bit silly too and the ending a bit underwhelming. The interrogation scene had built up the tension so well and it was just all solved very quickly in the end.

Jed Mercurio has confirmed that Ted did in fact tip off Lee Banks about John being a rat, thus leading to John's death.

Acccording to the on-screen graphics at the end Hastings remains as Head of AC-12.

There is no way this could happen if he had confessed to his colleagues that he had passed information to a criminal gang that resulted in the death of an undercover policeman.

So therefore he has a BIG secret that is known only by himself and Lee Banks and presumably the last remaining corrupt Senior Officer.

Earlier in this series Corbett justified the killing of the Policemen in the first ambush by saying that they were corrupt and bad.

In the second ambush he made sure that no policemen were killed because there were no corrupt officers among them.

How did he convince Lisa and the rest of the gang that they should kill corrupt officers who had helped the gang but they should not kill any non-corrupt officers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭cml387

While I have some reservations about the end, LOD has re-introduced the concept of event television, something we all watch and share together.

It goes back beyond my time to Quatermass, then the Forsyte Saga, Smiley's People (who is the mole?) and Love Hate for our own little piece of TV history.

For the great 1980's whodunnit, "who shot JR" which I never got into, I read recently that the producers had decided to have JR shot for a ratings boost, and cared little who actually did the deed and came up with the perpetrator later.

That's cheating the audience. LOD did the proper thing and did give us a relatively believable villain which grew out of the backstory.

I'm willing to accept from fans of The Wire that it's plotline and stories were maybe superior, but one would never have the mass effect of a whole viewing public watching the same ting. That was the appeal of Line Of Duty.

Incidentally, Jed Mercurio says tha "Bodies" is his favourite work, a drama seen by few when shown on BBC3, apparently now available on iPlayer for those with access (and I would certainly pay for access, hello BBC!).

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭RickBlaine

H being Morse code for four individual people rather than one person called H is very very contrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

RickBlaine wrote: »
    H being Morse code for four individual people rather than one person called H is very very contrived.

Maybe he was trying to do: Dot Dot Dot Dot Dash
    That is Morse Code for 4.

Or maybe he was trying to say:

Dot Dot Dash Dot Dot Dot Dash Dash Dot Dash Dot Dash Dot Dash Dash Dash Dash Dot Dot Dash Dot Dot Dot Dash Dot

Which is Morse Code for F*** off.

When Corbett died he fired off one shot.

Was that the equivalent of one click or one dot.

Does the name of the fourth senior corrupt Officer start with "E".

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Was that the equivalent of one click or one dot.

Does the name of the fourth senior corrupt Officer start with "E".

I think it meant there was only one corrupt top officer (bent copper) left to get.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He really should have used that to kill one of the group of people standing around him that just murdered him

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

He really should have used that to kill one of the group of people standing around him that just murdered him

You've obviously never had anybody slit your throat from behind, have you?
    It makes it really difficult to focus on your aim.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,682 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Effects wrote: »
    You've obviously never had anybody slit your throat from behind, have you?
    It makes it really difficult to focus on your aim.

You obviously haven't either. Your aim gets better if anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭gilly1910

Cina wrote: »
    The whole hour long interrogation was just so pointless.

I have to admit to a sense of disappointment with the final episode as well, but lets be honest it's incredibly hard to keep everyone happy, and final episodes rarely tend to give you the thrill a minute bumper ride that you were hoping for. It was a satisfactory ending in that Ted was thankfully proven innocent, and we now know that there will have to be another series. All in all a very enjoyable series, and roll on Series 6.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

I think its running out of steam.

Wouldn't it be funny if Dot wasn't tapping out morse code, but it was just the natural twitching of someone dying!

And the idea Dot would be tapping out something as he was dying so someone like Steve could see it later is kind of laughable.

I think they should wrap it up after season 6 and reveal H. And start afresh with a LOD2 investigating a different corrupt police force or something like that.

I think they should wrap it up after season 6 and reveal H.

I thought that Gil was the corrupt Officer that AC12 was referring to as H.

And the newly revealed fourth corrupt Officer was someone different.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,489 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

For a while, I thought that perhaps Dot was trying to blink for G, and not H. Delayed reactions, given he was on his deathbed.

G for Gill.

More likely to be H for Help Me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,682 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Can't see it being anyone other than the PR guy who made the announcement at the end as being the fourth officer. Unless they somehow make Ted the actual bad guy.

If they jettison someone in for one more season as the fourth person there will be no way of selling it legitimately that wouldn't be a rush job and quick exit from the overall arc.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

The more they stretch out the big reveal the more ridiculous it becomes to be honest.
    They are no longer looking for H, just a fourth officer. Convenient that the finger was pointing at Hastings for a long time, although he still has questions to answer re meeting Banks and one or two other things.
    Steve and Kate go from being bumbling idiots (implicating H) to being brilliant (uncovering Gill's role) and probably back to bumbling idiots again. And yet Hastings considers them his best team. Eye blinking and finger tapping to implicate a suspect is taking it a bit far.
    And why is Ted allowed walk straight back into his job despite some seriously questionable behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,733 ✭✭✭ASOT

Drew Harris is H.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,965 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

ASOT wrote:
    Drew Harris is H.

What about Patricia Carmichael?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Colour me confused. I thought the finale established that there was no H?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Colour me confused. I thought the finale established that there was no H?

There is no top bent copper who uses the codename H but there is still one top bent copper and H will undoubtedly become the fans (maybe even AC12's) shorthand for him/her

• Registered Users Posts: 7,733 ✭✭✭ASOT

I was making a joke about the garda commissioner don't mind me lads.