Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Line of Duty (BBC) **Spoilers**

• Registered Users Posts: 10,268 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Didn't cop that the new recruit was the little pr!CK from the first season.

"Bent b@stard" indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Jamemid

The Morse code thing was ridiculous.
    This season has been relatively poor compared to the rest TBH
    So stupid. He's dying and can't talk but remembers Morse code .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

As Jill was setting him up, why did she save him revthe grounds for the search? Was it because she knew he had gotten away with 50k and didn’t want that to come up or was it she wanted to prevent it collapsing the case down the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Tbf the Morse code thing is no more stupid than the blinking ever was

• Registered Users Posts: 32,404 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

brian_t wrote: »
    "Urgent exit required"

Well, it worked for Cottan.
    Maybe that's why she had to run to the loo...it could have been a wee note to herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Happy4all wrote: »
    Maybe he was his father
    I and the poster i quoted were referring to Lisa McQueen after she had Corbett's throat slit.

As for Hastings crying when he found out who Corbett was, you had me all :eek: for a moment there, but no, Corbett was about nine or 10 when his father was killed. Then Hastings arrived on the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    As Jill was setting him up, why did she save him revthe grounds for the search? Was it because she knew he had gotten away with 50k and didn’t want that to come up or was it she wanted to prevent it collapsing the case down the line.
    Wondered that too.

Also, was it established why Hastings actually did visit Lee Banks?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Sunrise_Sunset

I felt like she wanted to make it look believable that she had Ted's back, knowing that they'd easily come up with more evidence. I'm sure the new evidence was leaked to them via her anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I was thinking this because she saved him but then left the room with a grimace on her face - my thought, once it all came out, is that she did it because she may have been asked later why she didn't spot it herself?

Tbf the Morse code thing is no more stupid than the blinking ever was

I didn't find it that outlandish tbh. Steve had already seen the video footage previously. In the still picture his attention was drawn to the way Dot's hand was positioned, which probably jogged his memory, and he realised it wasn't just hand twitching it was morse code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Wondered that too.

Also, was it established why Hastings actually did visit Lee Banks?

Hastings isn’t in the clear yet. There’s that 50k, the disposal of the computer (his porn defence was ludicrous) etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭trashcan

cml387 wrote: »
    Just as aside, if you liked Stephen Graham as John Corbett, look out for him in an upcoming C4 drama (which has an Irish angle) called The Virtues starting on May 15th.

Written and directed by Shane Meadows, of This is England fame (which also featured Stephen Graham and Vicki McClure). Should be worth a look.

On tonight's finale, I'd agree that there were too many plot holes this season. Lisa McQueen for one. Her actions were too inconsistent. I was expecting some reveal about what she was really up to. How did she seem to have a link to the higher ups iin the gang when in the first episode she seemed very much subservient to Corbett. Why did Bigaloe get immunity and a new identity when she didn't really seem to have given much in return ? Did Ted really pocket fifty grand - totally out of character for him. Also, would someone with Ryan's background really be accepted into the police force ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭brian_t

Hastings isn’t in the clear yet. There’s that 50k, the disposal of the computer (his porn defence was ludicrous), Lee Banks, etc.

Did you not catch the on-screen graphics at the end.

Hastings got some written warning and he returned to head AC-12 again.

ThAts something else - head of anti corruption is found guilty of misconduct and is let carry on ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭brian_t

trashcan wrote: »
    Did Ted really pocket fifty grand - totally out of character for him.

No he gave it to Corbetts widow at his grave.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,404 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Written and directed by Shane Meadows, of This is England fame (which also featured Stephen Graham and Vicki McClure). Should be worth a look.

On tonight's finale, I'd agree that there were too many plot holes this season. Lisa McQueen for one. Her actions were too inconsistent. I was expecting some reveal about what she was really up to. How did she seem to have a link to the higher ups iin the gang when in the first episode she seemed very much subservient to Corbett. Why did Bigaloe get immunity and a new identity when she didn't really seem to have given much in return ? Did Ted really pocket fifty grand - totally out of character for him. Also, would someone with Ryan's background really be accepted into the police force ?
    I don't disagree with most of that... Hastings didn't pocket the 50k well not for himself he was giving it to Corbett's widow at the end..

ThAts something else - head of anti corruption is found guilty of misconduct and is let carry on ?

He's on his final warning.

gmisk wrote: »
    I don't disagree with most of that... Hastings didn't pocket the 50k well not for himself he was giving it to Corbett's widow at the end..

Yes he was giving the money to Corbett's widow at the graveyard.

Yes I did. He’s still not in the clear for the last corrupt officer although he probably isn’t.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

So steve starts out saying it's morse code. .... standing for H. Then immediately says that the 4 dots stand for the 4 bent coppers (Gill, Dot, Hilton and someone else)

What? So is it morse code or not? And what a leap to make. And essentially if true were in exactly the same spot we were in before. We have a bent copper to be caught, only the letter H isn't important. Hmmm I dunno. I'll still watch it but hmm

What background is that? He was a minor so would have no criminal record, and if he did I'm sure it was scrapped by the corrupt officers he was working for.

I’ve thought H was fairly meaningless for a while. Anybody work out what the morse code actually was?

No he gave it to Corbetts widow at his grave.

Yes I know that, (or at least that was being heavily implied) but he didn't know who Corbett was until he was interviewed, and he want fessing up about the extra fifty grand up to that point. Not the actions of someone squeaky clean you would think.

Hrududu wrote: »
    So steve starts out saying it's morse code. .... standing for H. Then immediately says that the 4 dots stand for the 4 bent coppers (Gill, Dot, Hilton and someone else)

What? So is it morse code or not? And what a leap to make. And essentially if true were in exactly the same spot we were in before. We have a bent copper to be caught, only the letter H isn't important. Hmmm I dunno. I'll still watch it but hmm

https://www.facebook.com/bbclineofduty/videos/2856798091212163/?__tn__=kC-R&eid=ARDpxwSAteX--P19dfYSE7ZvayAC1tB962z1kN5tPExGNTRuBzpJPCpVK1rw5uLiEYiWoNcj_2TswcZQ&hc_ref=ARSCwYKLRnXS8ielye_dsa8BKvm359oapScX5kPgl4REy0hwz7mtiN5gz_QF70eXCV0&fref=nf&__xts__[0]=68.ARAVsc72FZWTNOkCKE3dQNswEwsDag__xGEiU8TXbvaLF5QGwnHfJyH1lgkjiqUat2QuUCKtr9sqG6YczP16fQylzlqy49jxrLh-bdm012Fl8nfnfoO4DzKhYT8hA6mk_3YRpoi-ULBo401RrKezCsqhcWqMAS7O7NSXn3HDy_xvFDW0XxhPaYdOejOtvweA5hUxbG1ofRNFUVyEsJHyAUrSxbQtGoz__IYmnoIsf7txoZyhJ1rlCzbQO1pY1Hp_Z9dfc369E3c8mFNbZ_cqIHfg431gPLBACMsZCALYDcwaenW_ZEIKy62nAmF8dCSr5GHGJ5ywSKYpNAet1dTTEJxRageaOlOAhS9qY9B0k1IbCYVpXemaPDfa8YfRc3iKldY

What background is that? He was a minor so would have no criminal record, and if he did I'm sure it was scrapped by the corrupt officers he was working for.

Pretty sure Steve made some comment earlier in the season, and didn't they have his face on screen and were discussing him ? Maybe I'm misremembering.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

4 dots represents the letter H.

As previously said how did Steve realise that dot was covering code from a screen shot?

Was good enough, but I think this horse has run it's race now and needs to be out to grass. There is nowhere near the intensity of the first 3 series.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Ted spelling "definitely" wrong wasn't explained either. It can't be coincidence

That was put to him, and he said it was deliberate, as he'd noticed the misspelling by H. Charmicheal wasn't buying it.

I don't think it can turn out to be Ted at this stage. Why would 2 of his supposed "H" accomplices try so hard to frame him and take him down?

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

I like the show a lot and will watch again, however I always thought the dot extraction was a bit “Hollywood” did the armed coppers expect to shoot the gaff up rescue dot and ride off into the sunset?

And then.....red haired young copper, Tina I think, was going to do what? Stab gill and stroll out of the building shrugging her shoulders? Hardly a die hard brainwashed fundamentalist so what was her exit strategy going to be?

Aside from that, the four dots Morse code was a bit of a leap