Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most insulting thing anybody has every said to you in your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

Oh, it's like a mushroom in a vegetable patch...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

im learnin all these off and im goin to use dem against all yous in the other threads lol

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It wasnt said, more of an action. I was around 10-11 and wasnt playing well for my football team. Its a general rule at underage football that all players must play at some stage. We were in a tight game and conceded a late goal for them to make it 2-0. The manager put me on with not even a minute to go. The ref told the lads on my team to kick it to me from the restart. They passed the ball to me from the restart, i touched it just to control it and the ref blew up for full time :rolleyes:

My manager did get a bollocking from the ref after the match though which was a tad bit comforting :D

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Daniel112

A guy i know failed the pass english paper in the mocks and the teacher said to him " an illiterate foreign national who puked on the page could get more marks than you" so funny :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭im invisible

I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelled of elderberries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

"You are an idiot. Patrice Evra is world class"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

"You're a scumbag for what you did to your girlfriend"

A fat, drunk cow who is a friend of a friend told me that after we got an abortion, the fact that she knew my girlfriend didn't like kids and wanted to get it done herself was lost on her apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Are you in yet?

toexpress wrote: »
    The answer to that is yeah ... hard to tell with a box as wide as that though love innit?

If it's that big, try telling her to leave her tights on next time ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Jeez how long did he know he wasn't your biological dad ? Whats your relationship like with him now and up until you found out

I was 8 months old when he met my Mam, so I'm pretty sure he knew fairly early that he wasn't my biological dad. :pac:
    We talk now, but we've twice gone a year or more without speaking over the last 6 years. We've never been close, but our relationship is no worse than than that he has with my brother (his actual biological son) in fairness. He's just always been an ignorant, grumpy, ill-tempered old bollix. He went through a lot in the troubles in the north in the 70's and 80's so that probably excuses some of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

When I was 8 my sister told me that I was adopted and that the family had found me living with a pack of foxes in the forest, and they felt sorry for me so they brought me home.

She said I used to walk on all fours and act like an animal.

She told me not to tell the parents cause they'd get mad at her for telling me, but that I deserved to know the truth.

Didn't find out she was lying till I was 11.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,804 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    When I was 8 my sister told me that I was adopted and that the family had found me living with a pack of foxes in the forest, and they felt sorry for me so they brought me home.

She told me not to tell the parents cause they'd get mad at her for telling me, but that I deserved to know the truth.

Maybe she was complimenting you on your cunningness. Was her way of saying you were "as cunning as a fox who's just been appointed Professor of Cunning at Oxford University"

An old lady who was my neighbour at home said I'd gotten broad. :)

Or an example of the ones I work with, when I was telling them I was seeing someone. One of them saw me at the cinema with her and he said the next day "She looks almost normal. Must be something wrong with her if she's with you"
    And a girl said something along the lines of "Who'd want to go out with you?"

And those are 2 of the ones I got on with before they left the company. Good job I don;t take things to heart. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭BIG BAD JOHN

I was once told by a girl that she wasn't attracted to me physically but that she wanted us to be friends.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I know that people have said some horrible things to me, but I can't remember them. I can picture the person/people who said it, but not the content.

So, maybe that is just as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Two kids (about eight or nine) stopping in the street in front of me, one of them turning to the other and saying "Wow, look at him he's so ugly".

That (unexpectedly) cut deep.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

You're gay

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Maybe the senior infants teacher who asked my entire class scathingly "Did she cry this much last year as well?" after I started crying when she punished me for something I hadn't done. The two girls who sat on either side of me were talking across me - she turned around and made me (just me, not the other two) stand in the corner of the room, despite the fact that I hadn't said a word. I was 4, bit harsh! That woman hated me because I could already read without her help. Think she's still teaching too :mad:

Also, in 6th class, when a classmate announced "Me and X are having a joint birthday party and everyone in the class is invited, even <languagenerd> and <friend's-name>." Neither of us went - we didn't even like the girl in question. I distinctly remember her pushing past us another day yelling "Move! Cool people coming through!". :rolleyes:

In more recent times: when someone on boards implied that I attend Justin Bieber concerts. Should be a bannable offense :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

I always thought you were an accountant

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

I have an only child and have always longed for another (i have 3 step children much older than my own daughter) I was having a long conversation with my middle step-daughter who was 20 at the time and had a baby of her own. I was telling her about always wanting another child but that her dad and I had decided against it for many different reasons. She than announced to me that it was probably best - if we had a baby, she said, I would never ever talk to "it" or even acknowledge it's existence. I was gob-smacked and stunned and her comment has stayed with me to this day. not so much an insult but a hurtful remark. I can see absolutely no reason for her to say it to my face, as we'd always got on so well, our relationship has deteriorated to this day and we no longer speak - makes me sad :(

(Wow glad i got that off my chest, resume with the funny answers)

I remember when I worked as a barman. someone said something offensive to me. I just said "thanks!" and walked away. Was funny because the guy didn't know what to say after that and the other staff just laughed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

Your face wont fit in around here

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

When I was in secondary school I approached a maths teacher after class telling her I found maths difficult is there any advice she could give (I couldnt afford grinds unfortunatly). Anyway she told me not to worry well work through it together. fast forward a week and she asks a question to the class to which I get the answer wrong. She replied "I know your only pretending to learn so well keep on pretending wont we".

I never had confidence in my intelligent untill I got to university. I really was shattered by what she said and I would love to see her again and giveher a proper response to what she said.

Another thing that was said to me that wasn't really an insult, but most guys know it's just as bad. When on holiday in Spain, 2 Irish girls on 2 separate occasions said I was "nice"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I have an only child and have always longed for another (i have 3 step children much older than my own daughter) I was having a long conversation with my middle step-daughter who was 20 at the time and had a baby of her own. I was telling her about always wanting another child but that her dad and I had decided against it for many different reasons. She than announced to me that it was probably best - if we had a baby, she said, I would never ever talk to "it" or even acknowledge it's existence. I was gob-smacked and stunned and her comment has stayed with me to this day. not so much an insult but a hurtful remark. I can see absolutely no reason for her to say it to my face, as we'd always got on so well, our relationship has deteriorated to this day and we no longer speak - makes me sad :(

(Wow glad i got that off my chest, resume with the funny answers)

That is a pretty awful thing for her to say tbh.
    Is your only child with her dad?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i remember back before computers where cool years ago when early BBS's made love and a-such we have boards...

i was talking tomy best friend in primary school about how the internets gonna get big, websites will be the next big thing and all that; when my teacher asked what i was talking about and said " you dont look like bill gates, can't' afford harvard and you're english is deplorable "

i dunno why but that for me always cut inside, sure i can buy and sell pretty much anyone with computers or Pc related ( ive sppent countless hours reading and learning anything you can imagine; insecurity is a beech ) but still thats to comments like that i will never Ever be good enough....

i bumped into the p**** not too long ago also... turns out my main mans doing a Fetec in ECDL where as im doing my best to become a lecturer... if i can Be good enough. I think the education for teaching are reasonably high but their should be stronger persoanal tests to ensure teachers who cut kids apart mentally and emotionally like that... We should all get a tuurn curb stomping them.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

I was told by my mother in law on my wedding day "Hmmmm, yes your dress is absolutely fabulous, but it would have looked soo much better if you had lost a little bit more weight" I had shed 6 stone for the day.

Kind of should have seen it coming that fast forward 5 years I would be separated from said husband, and no longer speak to his family (a great relief).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Not exactly an insult, I was over for dinner in a friends house a couple of years ago before a night out on the town. After dinner we were in her bedroom chatting and she starts whipping of clothes to get dressed to go out. Now it definitely wasn't in any sort of seductive way, it was just whipping stuff off because we were running late. So I turn around and she's down to a bra and knickers and this girl was fairly well put together, double D's, tight waist etc. I get a raging rush of blood but say, "Woah, I'll head back to the kitchen".
    She just goes, "Ah sure it's grand, it's only you Feisar"

I mean how insulting is that!

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I went into a business deal with a relative 7 years ago. At this fella's request and at the promise of him keeping his end of the deal, I borrowed E137,000 over 25 years, and he knows full-well how screwed I am if it doesn't work out. Since day 1 he hasn't been pulling his weight. I had to do everything with our business, AND I helped him with all his personal problems in life, and today, after a row over nothing, he announced "Thats it, we're parting company".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

newmug wrote: »
    I went into a business deal with a relative 7 years ago. At this fella's request and at the promise of him keeping his end of the deal, I borrowed E137,000 over 25 years, and he knows full-well how screwed I am if it doesn't work out. Since day 1 he hasn't been pulling his weight. I had to do everything with our business, AND I helped him with all his personal problems in life, and today, after a row over nothing, he announced "Thats it, we're parting company".

I hope you're protected enough that you're under no obligation to buy him out or pay him off from the business.
    Sounds like a prick!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

WhiteRoses wrote: »

Oh God that reminds me I used to tell my sister we found her in the septic tank. We brought her in, washed the poo off her, and I begged could we keep her:o

A not so nice woman I know used to constantly get myself and a co worker's names mixed up. One day she did it again, and said that she could never remember my name because I'm so unremarkable looking:(
    Another time a friend told me another girl had been surprised on seeing my OH for the first time, that he was so good looking. Jesus Christ, I'm not that bad:(

• Registered Users Posts: 39 carlowed

my mother in law told me once

"this is not your house, its the councils so shut up"

never been the same since felt so small