Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most insulting thing anybody has every said to you in your life?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Which part of the UK are you from?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Dboy85 wrote: »
    Was once told flippantly by a councilor I'd never have quality of life...I was 16 at the time. Was cut up about it for years until I realised she knew me for like 5 minutes. I've since had two beautiful kids, a great partner and so far a successful career. The only thing I'd change is my hair line :P Fooking Dr Phil wannabes getting a thrill out of demoralising teenagers.

Bet he didn't get your vote :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

You're the load your mother should have swallowed.

You bucket of scutter.

i wouldnt ride ya if ya had pedals!

but was from a kn****r who i caught doing something they shouldnt have been, so wasnt too insulted!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Smeggy wrote: »
    No he looks like a b0ll0x.... and I'm female hahaha

That made me LOL! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

When I was between the tender age of 14 -17 I had very bad spots, People called me, Wait for it............. Bubble wrap. So I made it my username. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

jester77 wrote: »
    You are nothing like your father.

Old principal I had in primary school who also taught my dad. She didn't like me and was always putting me down, that's the one I remember most.

I found ''You're exactly like your father'' hard to take.

I have a really bad in fact non existent relationship with him and consider myself to be very different from him even though I look a lot like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

'I hope u die a slow and painful death' said when I was 8 or 9... Still hate the person who said it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    I was told I'd make a great Ban Garda. Not Garda. Ban Garda.

WTF?! :mad:

Are you a girl?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Working in the civil service in a cell centre during a very busy period, I specialised in helping people out rather than looking for money from them, so I was one of the few good guys :p

But I had one chap ring and he started ranting, and I always just let people rant because it's obvious they just want someone to hear it. But the guy hit me with the line: "I hope you never have children because I would be ashamed if my father did what you do."

Only time I ever terminated a call and it stays with me always. ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

Feck, people are a whole load of nasty aren't they? I think the insults you receive as a child are the most wounding; children are vulnerable and defenceless against adult bullying.

I was a very fat child and teenager at a time when such were far fewer than today. I can recall almost every jibe and insult I received - far too numerous to recount here. Some of the ones that hurt the most came from adults, who really should have known better. I remember being about 14 and walking the streets aimlessly with some pals when a kid walking past with his parents sent some class of toy spinning in my direction. I stepped out of its way (quite deftly, as I recall, for a large person!) and handed it politely to the kid's Dad. Whereupon he proclaimed loudly, "Jaysus, lucky you didn't stand on it; it would have been crushed with the size of ya!" Cue pals looking into middle distance awkwardly as I die inside.

On another occasion I recall we were discussing some of the more soppy love scenes in "As You Like It" in English class. I was being a twerp, in fairness, and protesting far too much about the desirability of having a man professing such a level of devotion to his beloved. My teacher - who, incidentally, I greatly admired and respected - softened my cough immediately with the comment, "Don't worry, X, I can't ever imagine you being in that situation". The whole class ooh-ed and aah-ed and there were cries of "That's a bit mean", whereupon teacher protested that she merely meant I was fierce and feisty. Hmmmm. I'll never forget the humiliation of having all my worst fears and extreme self-hatred being confirmed, in front of 30 of my peers, by an adult for whom there was universal respect among us.

Ah, that was cathartic. Cheers, OP :D!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

'You are just a Nazi c*** like all other Germans' :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

When I was told my eyebrow piercing didn't suit my face. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Larianne wrote: »
    When I was told my eyebrow piercing didn't suit my face. :(

I was told that too.
    It shouldn't be that insulting, but it is!
    I really loved my eyebrow piercing and thought it looked great!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Lars1916 wrote: »
    'You are just a Nazi c*** like all other Germans' :confused:

There is an old farmer living near me. A German guy bought the old cottage next to him. He was very environmentally friendly, installed a rain harvesting system, solar panels, grows his own organic veg, free range chickens, did up the old cottage and made a great job of it.

One day the old farmer was burning a tractor tyre and about a tonne of black plastic silage wrap sending plumes of black smoke across the German guys house.

Eberhart the German came up to him and started to explain the damage this was doing to his family's health and the environment.

The old farmer took a long drag on his sweet afton and said "there was no word about the environment when ye were burning the jews".

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

One day when I was about twelve I had been bullied in school during break time, lunch time, between classes and on the way home. I was looking forward to getting home for a bit of peace. When I arrived home the first thing my sister said to me was "did you know you were a mistake?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Eberhart the German came up to him and started to explain the damage this was doing to his family's health and the environment.

The old farmer took a long drag on his sweet afton and said "there was no word about the environment when ye were burning the jews".

Good come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

When I was about six, my great grandmother, whom I'd never met before took me for a walk and said 'You're a very fat child aren't you'. The woman was an evil old bitch. I never saw her again after that. Thirty three years later I still remember it clearly.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭omck80

I was at a party and was chatting to this girl who has mutual friends of mine. Anyway she turned to me and said your actually a very nice girl, I always though you were a scumbag!!! And than said but I don't think we could ever be friends!!! Was slightly insulted and amused at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Pottler wrote: »
    "That's too feckin big and there's no way you're putting it in". More dissapointed than hurt. Never forgot it though:D
    Whats that? Your nose into a wine glass.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

I have an English accent. Once in work I was serving a man. Then he turned to a colleague of mine and asked him why they weren't hiring Irish people. Right in front of my face! Fcuking wanker. At least the guy I work with was born in England with a strong Dublin accent so he was able to tell him to fcuk off in a nice way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Opticom

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    There is an old farmer living near me. A German guy bought the old cottage next to him. He was very environmentally friendly, installed a rain harvesting system, solar panels, grows his own organic veg, free range chickens, did up the old cottage and made a great job of it.

One day the old farmer was burning a tractor tyre and about a tonne of black plastic silage wrap sending plumes of black smoke across the German guys house.

Hats off. This has to be post of the month. Thanks for the laugh :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

The one that did the most damage was, like many people, a nasty comment from an adult when I was about 8. I was messing about with a friend in the playground, singing a bit of a song I'd heard on the radio. The teaching assistant, who was about 25, said, "Oh my God, your singing voice is horrible. I'd kill myself if I sang like you."

Don't know why but that stuck with me for years. I was a really musical child but never really joined choirs or got into singing because I had it in my head that I couldn't sing. Ended up only getting bit parts in all the school plays and drama school productions because I refused to do singing auditions for the main parts. I did the grades for flute and piano and used to be so embarrassed during the exams, as we were expected to sing a bit (the examiner would play a note and I'd have to sing a few notes higher). It ruined the whole experience for me. I've always loved and had quite a bit of talent for music and being too embarrassed to sing has always been a handicap.

I hate that nasty piece of work. Who the hell says things like that to a child?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A boards.ie member not so long ago accused me of presently supporting Fianna Fail.
    Overlooking their complete stupidity, I was never so insulted in my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Katgurl wrote: »
    Which part of the UK are you from?

Limerick :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

Someone who didn't know me once referred to me in an email they accidentally copied me on as:
    "a workable inconvenience or something more problematic"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Limerick :rolleyes:
    I've got a funny feeling that was (to her) an insulting question that she was asked, don't think it was directed at your good self ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

Smeggy wrote: »
    Someone told me I looked like my uncle who's the biggest b0ll0x on the planet :mad:

Two different people said that to me too. Everyone knows him and how much of a scumbag he is which makes me feel weird at times, thinking people know I'm related to him.

They said it was some of my facial expressions so I now try to keep my face blank when near home.

A few of my female friends decided to tell me that I was getting fat,but sure it's okay cos Im a man, you can tell men they're fat!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

During an argument between my mam and dad I picked up for my mam... I was about 11 years old.
    He said in reply to me picking up for her "I should have left you cùnts in (insert village name) where I found you's"

The pluralising of the sentence always stuck with me, as before that I was used to him putting her down but not us both....

It wasn't till I was 25 I was informed that he wasn't my biological dad. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

During an argument between my mam and dad I picked up for my mam... I was about 11 years old.
    He said in reply to me picking up for her "I should have left you cùnts in (insert village name) where I found you's"

The pluralising of the sentence always stuck with me, as before that I was used to him putting her down but not us both....

It wasn't till I was 25 I was informed that he wasn't my biological dad. :(

Jeez how long did he know he wasn't your biological dad ? Whats your relationship like with him now and up until you found out