If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Repairable Dripping Atomiser (RDA)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I'd say it could work out as a dripping atty if somebody wanted a cheap one though. Pop out the spike, add a suitable drip tip and off you go. Wouldn't hold as much as the RDA but should work pretty good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

http://www.peleon.pl/category.php?id_category=272

i think this is the dripping version of it.. or at least incredibly similar and priced similarly

think mrplop got it from that site for 11 euro delivered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

http://www.peleon.pl/category.php?id_category=272

i think this is the dripping version of it.. or at least incredibly similar and priced similarly

think mrplop got it from that site for 11 euro delivered

Just ordered one from their, couldn't get the tank thing right, kept getting juice up through the plastic tank air vents.
    Dripping seems better.
    BTW I think the type a eGoT drip tips work with the rta version, not sure as I didn't bother trying one it's only 8 euro more for a new dripper version.

I have to say, this eGo rebuildable is most definitely the WORST thing I've ever bought. Okay, I made a mistake by opening the damn thing up before even using it but......................I've made numerous coils and wicks - either 1 piece or with feeder wick and not once has it worked properly for me.

As bad as the other tank systems like the eGo-C and iMist were, at least they worked to some extent. No matter what I do with this yoke it just burns, burns, burns.

As you can see from this rant, I spent ages on my latest attempt and I've just nearly choked myself on burnt wick - even after priming.

Straight into the bin with this yoke cos I know I'll keep coming back to it if not and keep burning the throat and lungs off myself!

Rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭newmark

I have to say, this eGo rebuildable is most definitely the WORST thing I've ever bought. Okay, I made a mistake by opening the damn thing up before even using it but......................I've made numerous coils and wicks - either 1 piece or with feeder wick and not once has it worked properly for me.

As bad as the other tank systems like the eGo-C and iMist were, at least they worked to some extent. No matter what I do with this yoke it just burns, burns, burns.

As you can see from this rant, I spent ages on my latest attempt and I've just nearly choked myself on burnt wick - even after priming.

Straight into the bin with this yoke cos I know I'll keep coming back to it if not and keep burning the throat and lungs off myself!

Rant over!

Put it in the drawer and take it out another day.

They do work good when set up right as my one has got better and better since I got it. I slowly brought up the voltage over a couple of days and am using it now on an ego twist at 4volts and its vaping like a dream and the flavour has improved a lot too.

In saying that when it comes time to rebuild, it will probably drive me mad as well as I haven't had much luck with rebuildables myself.

I've put it in the drawer 5 times and tried everything with it. The thing is, I'm pretty happy with the coils themselves as I'm used to the Clockworks RDA.

Have you rebuilt yours yet or is it still as you received it initially? Interested to see how other people who tried to rebuild them got on.

To be fair, over on UKVapers there's been a few people who use the mesh and it works well but there's a few that have had the same issues as me as well.

Feck it, I'll have another go next week again...........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Definitely don't dump it if it works as an RDA - if anything bad ever happens to your real RDA, you'll be glad of a spare.

Yeah, it should work pretty well as an RDA I'd say - just remove the spike and add a drip tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭newmark

I havent rebuilt mine I'm just using it the way it came. Im sure when I do rebuild it Ill run into frustrations as well but I'm gonna vape it until it dies this way first. When I do go to rebuild it I'm going to try do it with mesh. Ill let you know how I get on but might be a week or 2 or 10 even before I get around to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Thin White Duck

Success on this damn thing. 4 turns of 0.2 nichrome, two individual strands of xandreys wick about 1 cm long and an imist wick in the spike. Vaping like a champ with loads of flavour.

When I get a bit more time on my hands I'll try a SS wick in the spike but two piece seems to be the way to go for me with the added benefit of being able to take it apart.

I was trying 4 strands of 1mm wick - same as the RDA. Does it not dry out too quickly with 2?

Must try that when I get a chance with the damn thing again. Fecking torture tool from the depths of hell is what it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Thin White Duck

I was originally trying 4 but found it filled out the chamber too much and restricted the airflow. With the top wick 2 seems to be working - at least for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Got the wick, wire and mesh I ordered from Vapo;
    http://vapo.ro/mods

Dripper is going fine so far and I dont care about the tank but now I have some stuff let the play begin....
    I'l let ye know if I hop it off a wall or not.

decided to try the mesh wick in the RDA again as I was just having a terrible day with it on thursday. im pretty sure now it was just my tastebuds acting up but I wasn't getting the flavour at all

the mesh is actually working very well now. have six wraps of 32awg kanthal which comes out to 1.8 ohms, running it between 4 and 4.6v and the flavour is pretty damn good. it's pretty solid.. i'm not really worried about it coming loose from the posts or anything and it wicks really well. I actually had too much mesh at first and it was pretty funny watching the liquid pouring out the other end of the rolled up mesh after I fired the coil.. was real fast

jesus christ

mesh wicks are definitely the way to go with the RDA
    it's ****ing incredible

my el toro cigarillos has taken on a whole new life. it's not like exhaling a cigarette cos there's no smoke, but if you exhale through the nose.. that flavour, jesus christ.

have 7 wraps of 32 awg kanthal , coming out around 2ohms running it at max on the twist.. so 4.6-4.3v depending on how depleted the battery is. it's amazing though. definitely reccomend anyone who has an RDA to do up a mesh wick and try it out. give it a day to break in properly and after that you'll be in flavour country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Elbow

Mark T arrived........... wish me luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Elbow wrote: »
    Mark T arrived........... wish me luck
    Godspeed.

Attempt 1: FAIL - Ended up with a .8Ω coil, also burnt dinner

what kind of wick are you using and what wire?
    how many wraps of wire on the coil?>

what kind of wick are you using and what wire?
    how many wraps of wire on the coil?>

Fiberglass wick & .15 nichrome, with 5 turns

Attempt 2 is looking promising 1.7Ω, just letting the juice soak into the wick for minute before I try it

pm xandrey over on ukvapers and get some of his wick, better than fibreglass stuff

first coil probably had a short or something

It works! not a huge amount of vapor but it works.

I have some silica wick ordered and should have it tomorrow hopefully, there's going to be a lot of trial and error involved :o

I bought the puresmoker Icon off Geogeeekgirl over on ukvapers she's got 2 of these attys, recommended the dripping setup shown here so thats what I did.

I'm going to leave it break in for a day or 2 before going again, its far from the perfect vape but its a start :o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

jesus christ

mesh wicks are definitely the way to go with the RDA
    it's ****ing incredible

my el toro cigarillos has taken on a whole new life. it's not like exhaling a cigarette cos there's no smoke, but if you exhale through the nose.. that flavour, jesus christ.

have 7 wraps of 32 awg kanthal , coming out around 2ohms running it at max on the twist.. so 4.6-4.3v depending on how depleted the battery is. it's amazing though. definitely reccomend anyone who has an RDA to do up a mesh wick and try it out. give it a day to break in properly and after that you'll be in flavour country.
    Any tips on how you setup the mesh wick, I tried once but it didn't seem to be happening at all for me.

ill take a picture tomorrow

i dont really know what length it is.. i measure out 2x3cm or so, roll it up.. and then keep unrolling it and cutting bits off it lengthwise until it stops over wicking

if it's too fat the juice kinda bubbles around the coils and im thinking that's affecting the vape negatively. need to get the mesh size right so the heating coil vapourises most of the juice as it gets fed

zu14H.jpg

as I said above I think the trickiest part is getting the mesh the right thickness. this might be a bit too skinny. coil is measuring 1.8-1.9ohms w/ 32awg kanthal

Did you ever try using 2mm wick or 3mm wick from Andrei? Does he supply that I wonder?

he had some 2mm when i first emailed him, but only samples. I think he needed a certain amount of interest to order a large quantity.. dont know if he got it

after getting the mesh right in the rda though i dont know if i'll be going back to silica wick

I got a little bit of mesh with the atty, gonna give it a go tonight.

Where's the best place 2 order from if it works out?

dont know tbh, xandrey sent me a free sheet of mesh when I first ordered from him aaaaaages ago

dont know if he still does mesh or if he has any